Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Vermont Connecticut Royster Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MPK
Date: Nov 1978

Biographical History

Vermont Connecticut Royster (1914-1996) was a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and editor of The Wall Street Journal from 1958 to 1971.

Born in Raleigh, North Carolina, Vermont C. Royster graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1935. In 1936 he was hired as a reporter by The Wall Street Journal, where a sixty-year career took him from staff reporter to Washington correspondent to the editor's chair (1958-1971). At the time of his death in 1996 he held the post of editor emeritus. He also commanded a U.S. Navy destroyer during World War II.

Among Royster's awards were two Pulitzer Prizes, the William Allen White Award, and the Presidential Medal of Freedom. He also served as president of the American Society of Newspaper Editors.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Vermont Connecticut Royster Papers consist of two parts which have not been integrated.

Part I

Part I contains five series: correspondence; clubs, associations, and committees; writings; published material; and general files. Items of interest in this collection include several typewritten and signed letters by such persons as former U.S. President Dwight David Eisenhower, former U.S. Senator Barry Goldwater from Arizona, former U.S. Senator Robert F. Kennedy, and former U.S. President Richard M. Nixon.

Part II

Part II contains correspondence (primarily with readers of The Wall Street Journal), subject files, manuscripts, and published material. Published material contains items both by and about Royster, including some of his poetry.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence relating to invitations, speaking engagements, and other professional matters are arranged chronologically; the remaining correspondence is alphabetical by correspondent. Clubs, associations and committees are alphabetical by organization name. Writings and published material are subdivided by type and within that are arranged alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of numerous notable journalists; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Eisenhower, Dwight D. (Dwight David), 1890-1969.
Goldwater, Barry, 1938-
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994.
Royster, Vermont, 1914-

Corporate Bodies

American Society of Newspaper Editors.

Associated Titles

Wall Street journal.

Subjects

Journalism -- United States.
Journalism, Commercial -- United States.
Journalists -- United States.
Newspaper editors -- United States.
Newspapers -- Sections, columns, etc.
Newspapers -- Sections, columns, etc. -- Editorials.

Places

United States -- Politics and government, 1945-1989.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Vermont Connecticut Royster Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Vermont C. Royster, 1964.

Table of Contents

Correspondence (Part I)

Clubs, associations, and committees (Part I)

Writings (Part I)

Published material (Part I)

General files (Part I)

Correspondence (Part II)

Subject files (Part II)

Manuscripts (Part II)

Published material (Part II)

Inventory