Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Armin Scheler Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Aug 1967

Biographical History

Armin Scheler (1901-) was a German-born American sculptor and teacher. The bulk of his career was spent in New York and Lousiana.

Born on May 20, 1901 in Sonneberg, Germany, Scheler received his professional preparation and education in the art schools in Munich, Germany. He received his first recognition when he was living in Switzerland in the years 1923 to 1924.

In 1926, Scheler came to the United States and became a naturalized citizen. From 1926 to 1936 he lived in and around New York City where he worked first in the capacity of industrial designer and then as an assistant to various sculptors in their New York studios. In 1936, he became a free-lance sculptor, and set up his own studio in New Rochelle, New York.

Scheler's work has been exhibited at the Whitney Museum of American Art, Corcoran Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., National Academy of Design, Dallas Museum of Fine Art, Philadelphia Museum of Art, and Isaac Delgado Museum of Fine Arts.

Scheler joined the faculty of the School of Fine Arts at Louisiana State University in 1942, eventually rising to become head of the department. In addition to his art, he was a regular contributor to The Magazine of Art, Art in Modern America, and The Southwest Review.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Armin Scheler Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence (incoming and outgoing, filed separately), subject files (exhibition notices and photographs of Scheler's sculpture), and manuscripts of articles by Scheler.

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by sender and outgoing correspondence arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic; within that, exhibition catalogs are arranged chronologically and photographs of Scheler's work alphabetically by title of the work. Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Scheler, Armin, 1901-

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
German Americans.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Armin Scheler Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Inventory