Collection inventory

---

Return to finding aids search

---

George H. Smyser Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
4 Oct 2007	converted to EAD (MRC)
8 Oct 2008	19:I material merged (MRC)
16 July 2018	rehoused and updated (MS)

Biographical History

George Smyser of Utica, New York was an Abraham Lincoln researcher, collector and scholar.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Smyser Papers consist of Correspondence, 1905-1955, of Smyser and his wife, and a collection of Speeches, 1863-1943, mostly about Abraham Lincoln.

Arrangement of the Collection

Both series are arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865.
Smyser, George H.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Biographers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George H. Smyser Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Speeches

Inventory