Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Per G. Stensland Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MPH
Date: Sep 1991

Biographical History

Per Stensland, educator, writer and speech-maker, was a native of Sweden. While in Sweden he studied Gunnar Myrdal and Dag Hammarskjold. Very little else is know about his early life at this time.

He eventually came to the United States, where he was on the faculty of several institutions including Kansas State, Texas Technological College, Teacher's College, University of Saskatchewan, New York University, Hunter College, and the University of Toronto. He was a fellow and coordinator of a five year seminar run by the Milbank Memorial Fund. He consulted for World Health Organization, World Bank, European Economic Cooperation (OEEC), Kellogg Foundation, and others. He also represented the International Council of Adult Educators (ICAE) on a number of projects.

His areas of expertise were medical education, particularly community medicine, community development, educational sociology, nursing education, and teaching strategies. He lectured, taught and wrote on all these subjects.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Per G. Stensland Papers documents Stensland's professional career between 1941 and 1983. It includes correspondence, teaching materials, speeches, papers in printed and manuscript format, offprints, conference materials, reports, and newspaper clippings. Stensland led many workshops so the collection also includes correspondence, articles and working papers written by others. A number of the papers are unpublished.

Arrangement of the Collection

The material is arranged chronologically within topics, largely preserving Stensland's original arrangement.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. Collections which are particularly relevant include:

International Council for Adult Education (ICAE)

Subject Headings

Persons

Farrell, James T. (James Thomas), 1904-1979
Gayfer, Margaret
Hall, Budd L.
Kidd, J. R. (James Robbins), 1915-1982
Miller, George E., b. 1919
Miller, Paul A., 1917-
Myrdal, Gunnar, 1898-1987
Robinson, Alexander
Stensland, Per Gustaf, 1913- , Archives
Thomas, Dorothy

Corporate Bodies

International Council for Adult Education
Milbank Memorial Fund

Subjects

Adult education
Educators, United States

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Proceedings.
Reports.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Per G. Stensland Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Per G. Stensland

Table of Contents

Writings

Correspondence

Teaching

Professional

Consultations

Conferences, Workshops and Seminars

Community Development

Speeches

Miscellaneous

Inventory