Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

John A. Subhan Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: Apr 1967

Biographical History

John A. Subhan was born August 8, 1899 in Calcutta, India into a Muslim home, and his early education was in that faith. When he was 11 years old he converted to Christianity and later attended English schools in India. He graduated from Allahabad University in 1923 and went on to earn a B.D. degree in 1931 from Serampore College. In 1962 he received an honorary D.D. degree from Asbury Theological Seminary in Wilmore, Kentucky and another that same year from Serampore College. Subhan taught at St. Peter's College at Agra, the Methodist Theological Seminary at Bareilly, and at the Henry Martyn Institute of Islamic Studies. From 1957-1964 he served as Bishop of the Hyderabad Area. After retiring, Subhan moved to Boston and taught theology at Boston University. He and his wife, Dorothy Sinclair Day, had three children.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John A. Subhan Papers include biographical material, correspondence, manuscripts, and published material. Correspondence consists of incoming and outgoing correspondence from individuals and organizations in India and elsewhere. Subject files consists of material on various topics, including Anglo-Indian schools, charges against Bishop Subhan, christian marriage, Hyderabad Conference, and Protestantism. Manuscripts contains manuscripts of articles. Published material consists of a newspaper clipping and a newsletter.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Manuscripts and Published material are arranged alphabetically by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Subhan, John A.

Corporate Bodies

Methodist Church -- India.

Subjects

Clergy -- India.
Methodists -- India.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John A. Subhan Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material

Inventory