Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


The adult education holdings are collectively known as the
Alexander N. Charters Library of Resources for Educators of Adults.

Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 22 Jul 1991

Biographical History

In 1969 the Ford Foundation approved a five-year grant to Syracuse University for the continued availability, distribution, and servicing of materials developed by the American Foundation for Continuing Education and the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, both former grantees of the Ford Foundation's Fund for Adult Education. Prior to that, in 1950, University College (UC) of Syracuse University (SU) had published a series of "blue books" in the field; the University's Library of Continuing Education (LCE) developed and published a number of works in the 1960s; and ERIC initiated documents, which the University had published alone or in cooperation with other institutions. All began to be collected under the general rubric of SUPCE, along with significant works by prominent adult educators and material published by other adult education organizations such as the Fund for Adult Education. Doris Chertow served as the editor for the publications under SU's Vice President for Continuing Education, Alexander N. Charters.

Although SUPCE's federal funding ended in 1975, it continued to release updates to original SUPCE publications as well as publishing the occasional new monograph under its own name and, later, under the auspices of the Academic Institute for Educators of Adults (AIEA) within the School of Education at Syracuse University, until 2008.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records consists of a near-complete set of all material collected or published by SUPCE, along with drafts of some items and some administrative files for both SUPCE and Syracuse Resources for Educators of Adults (SUREA). Individuals well-known in the field of adult education represented in the collection include Robert J. Blakely, Alexander N. Charters, Roger DeCrow, Cyril O. Houle, J. Roby Kidd, A. A. (Alexander Albert) Liveright, Paul H. Sheats, John Ohliger, and James B. Whipple.

Drafts, notes and galleys contains pre-publication versions of a few SUPCE publications.

Publications contains a nearly-complete set of all items published, reprinted, or collected by SUPCE over the course of its existence. Although SUPCE's federal funding ended in 1975, updates to many of its publications as well as the occasional new SUPCE monograph have been released on an irregular basis over the years, under the auspices of the Academic Institute for Educators of Adults (AIEA) within the school of education at Syracuse University. The publications are divided into several subseries which are arranged alphabetically; individual items are in numerical order by their three-letter code.

Note that several of the MSS subseries documents contain lists of SUPCE publications or resources. These were accurate at the time of compilation but naturally may have since been superseded; this finding aid comprises the most complete and current listing. Because a complete list of SUPCE materials does not exist elsewhere, we have taken the unusual step of making the list given here in the finding aid complete, despite the fact that the collection itself is not. Items missing from the collection are indicated by the notation "[MISSING]" immediately following the three-letter code and preceding the title of the item. As of August 2006, Box 9 was missing. All items in that box are therefore marked as [MISSING].

Administrative files and SUREA comprise office files pertaining to the operation of these two organizations, including correspondence, financial records, order logs, and more.

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is sorted alphabetically by SUPCE's three-letter codes, and within that titles are listed numerically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Many of the MSS series documents have been digitized and are available through SCRC Online, our digital portal.

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Blakely, Robert J.
Charters, Alexander N.
Chertow, Doris.
DeCrow, Roger.
Houle, Cyril O. (Cyril Orvin), 1913-1998.
Kidd, J. R. (James Robbins), 1915-1982.
Liveright, A. A. (Alexander Albert), 1907-
Ohliger, John.
Sheats, Paul H., 1907-
Whipple, James B.

Corporate Bodies

American Foundation for Continuing Education.
Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults.
Fund for Adult Education (U.S.)
International Seminar on Adult Education.

Subjects

Adult education.
Educational publishing.

Genres and Forms

Bibliographies.
Drafts (documents)
Essays.
Monographs.
Pamphlets.
Reports.

Occupations

Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

During processing (Aug 2006), Box 9 could not be found. All box 9 items have been marked [MISSING] until it can be located.

Table of Contents

Administrative files

Drafts, notes and galleys

Publications

Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults (SUREA)

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Many of the MSS series documents have been digitized and are available through SCRC Online, our digital portal.