| Return to finding aids search |
Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Apr 2010
|
|
|
| 12 Sep 2022 | collection processed (GU) |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Sutherland, Graham Vivian, 1903-1980. |
| Title: | Graham Sutherland Papers |
| Dates: | 1943-1964 |
| Quantity: | 0.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | British printmaker and surrealist painter. Collection consists of manuscripts and printed material. |
| Language: | English, French, German, Italian, and Portuguese |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Graham Vivian Sutherland (1903-1980) was a British painter who was best known for his Surrealist landscapes.
Sutherland was born in London. He studied art there from 1921-1925 at Epsom College with an emphasis in printmaking, after which he taught at the Chelsea School of Art until 1940. His prints owe influence to artists such as William Blake, Paul Nash, Henry Moore, Pablo Picasso, and Samuel Palmer, and his early landscapes were in a Romantic style. In 1935 he turned to painting and his style evolved into Surrealism. His art was represented in the 1936 International Surrealist Exhibition in London. During World War II he became an official war artist, depicting bomb damage in London in order to promote the war effort.
Sutherland was also known for his expressionistic portraits, painting figures such as Somerset Maugham and Winston Churchill. In 1960 he received the Order of Merit and in 1972 he became a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.
The Graham Sutherland Papers consists of correspondence, exhibition materials, memorabilia, and writings.
Correspondence consists of a personal letter from Sutherland, a postcard to Sutherland, and a notecard to his wife.
Exhibition materials, which make up the bulk of the collection, contains exhibition catalogs from several different countries, and a few exhibition invitations, all of which feature Sutherland's work.
Memorabilia consists of a book about Sutherland and his work, a photograph of Sutherland, and several postcards which feature reproductions of Sutherland's paintings.
Finally, Writings consists of a bound volume containing a variety of Sutherland's notes.
The collection is arranged alphabetically.
Access Restrictions:
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions:
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Persons
Sutherland, Graham Vivian, 1903-1980.
Subjects
Painters -- England.
Surrealist artists.
Genres and Forms
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Invitations.
Photographs.
Postcards.
Occupations
Painters.
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Graham Sutherland Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unspecified, 1964.
Correspondence
Exhibition Materials
Memorabilia
Writings
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous 1957-1959 undated | ||||||||||
| Exhibition Materials | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Invitations 1953 undated | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Catalogs 1946-1964, undated (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Book, Sutherland, Penguin 1955 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Photographs 1960 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Postcards undated - reproductions of Sutherland's work from his 'thorn period' | ||||||||||
| Writings | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Personal notebook undated | ||||||||||