Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Walter Sutton Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: PRB
Date: Jun 2004

Biographical History

Walter Sutton (1916-2006) was an American literary critic, editor, and teacher. He attended Heidelberg College, where he earned his B.A. (1937), and then received an M.A. (1928) and PhD (1946) from Ohio State University. He served in the U.S. Coast Guard from 1942 to 1945. He spent a year teaching at the University of Rochester then in 1946 accepted a teaching position in the English department at Syracuse University. He was made a full professor there in 1959, a position he held for nearly fifteen years, and was named distinguished professor of humanities in 1971. He also served as director of graduate studies (1968-1971) and as head of the English department (1971-1974).

In addition to his teaching career at Syracuse University, Sutton was a Visiting professor at University of Minnesota, University of Washington-Seattle, Princeton University, Colgate University, and University of Hawaii, and lectured at universities and meetings in England, Germany, the Netherlands, and Romania.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Walter Sutton Papers offer a detailed look at the work of an expert in the field of American literature of the Romantic period, modern critical theory, and in the works of Ezra Pound and William Carlos Williams in particular. The collection is divided into three series.

Correspondence-subject files reflect the wide scope of Sutton's scholarly and professional interests and his contacts with students and colleagues. Writings comprises manuscripts as well as correspondence relating to SUtton's publications in American literature and criticism. Memorabilia contains a dissertation by one of Sutton's advisees and several computer disks.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Writings and memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by type; writings are further arranged alphabetically by title.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

An 1850 edition of Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter has been transferred to Rare Books for separate cataloging.

Subject Headings

Persons

Barber, C. L. (Cesar Lombardi)
Brown, Stuart Gerry, 1912-1991.
Dembo, L. S.
Farwell, Byron.
Hudspeth, Robert N.
Laughlin, James, 1914-1997.
Levertov, Denise, 1923-1997.
Long, Robert Emmet.
Oates, Joyce Carol, 1938-
Ojaide, Tanure, 1948-
Pearce, Roy Harvey.
Phillips, Robert S.
Sutton, Walter.
Taggart, John, 1942-
Weber, Brom, 1917-1998.
Weidman, Bette S.
Weimann, Robert.
Williams, William Carlos, 1883-1963.

Subjects

American literature -- History and criticism.
American literature -- Study and teaching.
Authors, American.
Criticism -- Study and teaching.
Educators -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Authors.
Educators.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Walter Sutton Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Walter Sutton, 1992.

Table of Contents

Correspondence-subject files

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory