Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRR
Date: 11 Oct 2006

Biographical History

The Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music, founded by Syracuse professor of music and violinist Louis Krasner, has been in operation since 1950. The SFCM brings acclaimed chamber musicians to venues in and around Central New York for a series of concerts each year from October through April. Past performers include the Ying Quartet, Gryphon Trio, Tokyo String Quartet, and Concertante. They also sponsor a young musicians' competition and concert.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records comprises the files of the Syracuse (New York) music society. It includes clippings, constitution and bylaws, correspondence, financial records, fundraising information, grant applications, minutes, printed material, programs, and audio recordings as well as material related to the organization's anniversary celebrations.

Unidenfied/undated material contains either general material not associated with any particular season (e.g. letterheads), as well as items that could not be identified as to which season they pertain. Material related to Identified seasons has been arranged chronologically by season and then, if practical or appropriate, subdivided. In the case of earlier seasons, material has not been further sorted or arranged as there were no clear categories.

Recordings are listed alphabetically by title (which is usually the name of the group).

Arrangement of the Collection

Material is arranged by season. Recordings are listed at the end.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also has the records of the Syracuse Society for New Music as well as the records of Clark Music Company, a local manufacturer of pianos and organs, and Professor Louis Krasner's Collection of Bookplates and Ephemera.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music

Subjects

Chamber music.
Concert programs.
Music -- Performance -- New York (State) -- Syracuse.
Music -- Societies, etc.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Intellectual life.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Financial records.
Minutes (administrative records)
Photographs.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Musicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Syracuse Friends of Chamber Music, 1990-2020.

Table of Contents

Unidentified or undated material

Identified seasons

Recordings

Inventory