Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Gaius Talcott Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: P
Date: 1965

Biographical History

Gaius Talcott (b. 1736) was an American Quaker who lived in New Milford, Connecticut during the 18th century.

Talcott was born on November 2, 1736 to Hannah Ferriss and Nathan Talcott. His father died in 1738 and his mother was remarried to Dobson Wheeler around 1740. In 1766, Talcott married Sarah Caustin (or Causter), daughter of Sarah and Joseph Caustin (or Causter). The couple had two children, Joseph (b. 1768) and Hannah (1770-1791).

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gaius Talcott Letters consists of 17 letters. The collection contains both incoming and outgoing correspondence related to Gaius Talcott.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is divided into two subseries: Incoming correspondence and Outgoing correspondence. Within each subseries, the material is arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Talcott, Gaius.

Subjects

Quakers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gaius Talcott Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Inventory