Collection inventory

---

---

Wayne C. Taylor Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
15 Sep 2009	converted to EAD (LMD)

Biographical History

Wayne Chatfield Taylor (1893-1967) was an American economic advisor and banker. He was born in Chicago, Illinois on December 19, 1893. He received a B.A. degree from Yale University in 1916. He began his banking career with the Central Trust Company of Illinois. In 1923 he became vice-president of Marshall Field, Glore, Ward and Company, investment bankers. From 1935 to 1936 he was the vice-president and trustee of the Export-Import Bank of Washington, DC, and he became president in 1945. He was also a member of the Board of Directors of Encyclopaedia Britannica Films and a delegate for the American Red Cross.

Taylor held many advisory and administrative positions in the presidential administrations of both Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman. In 1933 he began as an assistant to the administrator of the Agricultural Adjustment Administration. From 1936 to 1939 he was the assistant Secretary of the Treasury. From 1940 to 1945 he was Under Secretary of Commerce. From 1948-1950 he was an assistant to Paul G. Hoffman, the European Cooperation Administrator. He was also a trustee on the Committee for Economic Development, the chairman of the executive committee of the National Planning Association, and a consultant to the War Assets Administration. He represented the United States at many international trade conferences and acted as an economic adviser to the European Recovery Program after World War II.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Wayne C Taylor Papers contains materials relating to Taylor's work as an investment banker and economic advisor. Items in the Correspondence and subject files include correspondence, manuscripts, speeches, memoranda, booklets, reports, and newspaper clippings.

Arrangement of the Collection

Items are arranged alphabetically by the name of the correspondent, organization, or subject. Speeches are arranged alphabetically by the name of the organization or conference at which they were given.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Messersmith, George S. (George Strausser), 1883-1960.
Taylor, Wayne Chatfield, 1893-1967.
Benton, William, 1900-1973.
Roosevelt, Franklin D. (Franklin Delano), 1882-1945.

Corporate Bodies

American Red Cross.
Montgomery Ward.
National Planning Association.

Subjects

Marshall Plan.
Bankers -- United States.
Economists -- United States.
Investments, American.

Places

United States -- Commerce.
United States -- Economic policy -- 1933-1945.
United States -- Economic policy -- 1945-1960.
United States -- Foreign relations -- 1945-1953.
United States -- Politics and government -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Memorandums.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Bankers.
Economists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Taylor Wayne C Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence and subject files

Inventory