Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Richard Harkness Templeton Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 2001-01-01

Biographical History

Richard H. Templeton (1877-1952) was an American attorney. He graduated from Syracuse University with a Bachelor of Arts in 1899 and also studied law there. In 1901 he passed the bar and began practicing law in Buffalo, New York. He was a lecturer at University of Buffalo from 1910-1925. He was U.S. District Attorney for the Western District of New York from 1925-1935, and also served on the Buffalo Port Authority.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Harkness Templeton Papers consist of correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, and published material. Biographical material is filed at the beginning of the collection.

Correspondence contains both incoming and outgoing letters, as well as letters to and from others. Correspondence of others consists largely of letters written by Templeton's friends to others in support of Templeton's candidacy for District Attorney in 1924. A few other miscellaneous letters to and from others are filed following the District Attorney letters.

Subject file includes correspondence, bills and receipts, photographs, manuscripts, published material and related items. The materials filed by subject often are the subjects on which Mr. Templeton gave lectures or else they are projects in which he was interested.

University of Buffalo contains correspondence, manuscripts, and published material relating to Templeton's many years of association with the school.

Manuscripts contains addresses, lists, notes, and Mr. Templeton's college thesis and notebook.

Published material includes addresses, bulletins, cartoons, newspaper clippings about Templeton and others, programs, press releases, and a report.

Arrangement of the Collection

In Correspondence the incoming letters are arranged alphabetically by author and the outgoing letters are arranged in chronological order. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject or type. The University of Buffalo correspondence is arranged chronologically, while the manuscripts and published materials are filed alphabetically by type. Items in Manuscripts are arranged alphabetically by type. The addresses are further arranged alphabetically by title, and if untitled, chronologically. Published materials are arranged alphabetically by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Dempsey, Stephen Wallace, 1862-1949.
Lehman, Herbert H. (Herbert Henry), 1878-1963.
Lodge, Henry Cabot, 1850-1924.
Templeton, Richard Harkness, 1877-1952.
Wadsworth, James Wolcott, 1877-1952.
Willebrandt, Mabel Walker, 1889-1963.

Corporate Bodies

University of Buffalo.

Subjects

Allegany State Park (N.Y.)
Public prosecutors.

Places

Buffalo (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Photoprints.

Occupations

Lawyers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Harkness Templeton Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the Templeton family, 1966.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject file

University of Buffalo

Manuscripts

Published material

Inventory