Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Thomas Y. Crowell Publishers Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MK
Date: 24 Feb 1978

Biographical History

Thomas Y. Crowell Publishers was founded by Thomas Y. Crowell in 1834. The company began publishing books in 1876. The company was owned and operated by the Crowell family until 1968, when it was bought by Dun & Bradstreet; in 1978 ownership passed to Harper & Row.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Thomas Y. Crowell Publishers Records are composed mainly of correspondence with authors, agents, other publishing firms and interested persons.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the records of many other publishers large and small. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Thomas Y. Crowell, Publishers, Archives.

Subjects

Authors and publishers.
Publishers and publishing -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Publishers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Thomas Y. Crowell Publishers Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

General subject files

Inventory