Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Mark Tinker NYPD Blue Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: unknown

Biographical History

NYPD Blue is a police drama from producer Steven Bochco (Hill Street Blues, LA Law) that mixes action with cops' personal lives. Premiering in September 1993, NYPD Blue weathered early criticism from Christian watchdog groups and ABC station affiliates for its adult language and partial nudity to become one of network television's most critically acclaimed programs. The show is widely recognized for its realism, brilliant writing, exceptional acting, and treatment of controversial subject matter. It has received more than 80 Emmy nominations, winning 19.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Mark Tinker NYPD Blue Collection contains Scripts and production notes for most of the seasons (scripts and production notes from Seasons 1, 4, and 10 are not included within the collection). The four-digit production number for each episode is given in parenthesis ( ).

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged in order by season and, within each season, by air date. Production notes can be found at the end of each season.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The collection is currently CLOSED. It will reopen in May of 2020.

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Videotapes of 193 episodes from seasons 2 thorugh 9 have been removed from the collection and shelved in Media Services. Please contact the repository listed above for further information.

Special Collections Research Center has a number of television-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Tinker, Mark.

Associated Titles

NYPD Blue (television series)

Subjects

Popular culture -- United States.
Television -- Production and direction.
Television -- United States.
Television series -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Notes (documents)
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Television producers and directors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Mark Tinker NYPD Blue Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Mark Tinker, director of the series.

Table of Contents

Scripts and production books

Inventory