Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

John Trever Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 1 Nov 2012

Biographical History

John Trever is an American editorial and political cartoonist. A graduate of Syracuse University, he was the political cartoonist for the Albuquerque Journal for 35 years, from 1976 to 2011. He has been honored for his work by the Society of Professional Journalists, the Free Press Association, the Overseas Press Club, the New Mexico Legislature and the Albuquerque Arts Alliance, and his cartoons are distributed to more than 350 daily papers by King Features Syndicate.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Trever Cartoons consists of original artwork for more than a thousand editorial cartoons, dating from 1985 to 1996. Subjects covered include the O.J. Simpson Trial, the Iran/Contra affair, the Oklahoma City bombing, the Branch Davidian incident in Waco, the 1992 and 1996 presidential elections, the presidencies of Bill Clinton and George H. W. Bush, U.S. domestic and foreign policy, current issues of the day, and many other events and personalities. In a few cases Trever has annotated an item on the back, indicating the subject.

There are gaps in the collection -- that is, not every single date is represented. In some cases the original was sold or given away, or retained by the donor. For some, but not all, of these missing items, photocopies (annotated by Trever as to date and the disposition of the original) were provided with the original donation. A complete list of dates present in the collection is available in PDF form. In two cases, a cartoon is in the form of a negative transparency rather than original art

Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological, as identified by donor.

Other Related Finding Aids

A complete list of dates present in the collection is available in PDF form.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the collections of more than 200 cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Bush, George, 1924- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Clinton, Bill, 1946- -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Trever, John.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Congress -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- New Mexico.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Elections -- Caricatures and cartoons.
Taxes -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1985-1995 -- Caricatures and cartoons.
World politics -- 1995-2005 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Foreign relations -- Caricatures and cartoons.
United States -- Politics and government -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Artwork.
Cartoons (humorous images)
Drawings (visual works)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Trever Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Trever, 2003, 2012-2015.

Table of Contents

Cartoons

Inventory