Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Television Press Kit Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: –
Date: unknown

Biographical History

A press kit is a prepackaged set of promotional material. In the case of television shows, press kits often include still shots from the show, a page with sketches and brief bios of main characters, a summary of the main themes or aspects of the show, and sample posters, contained in or printed on an illustrated custom folder or packet.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Television Press Kit Collection contains selected press kits for programming for a wide range public, network and cable television stations. Networks represented are ABC, CBS, Discovery, Fox, NBC, PBS, Saban Entertainment, Showtime, Synditel, The WB, and UPN.

Also included are press kits for the Television Critics Association/National Cable Forum, which cover the following cable channels. Not all channels are present for all dates.

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is divided by television station and within that, material is arranged (mostly) alphabetically; in most cases regular television shows come first followed by specials.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of television-related collections. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing. For other press kits, see the Movie Press Kit Collection and the Cartoon Press Kit Collection.

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

American Broadcasting Company.
Columbia Broadcasting System, inc.
Discovery Channel (Firm)
National Broadcasting Company.
Public Broadcasting Service (U.S.)
Television Critics Association (U.S.)
Twentieth Century-Fox Television, Inc.

Subjects

Television -- United States -- Marketing.
Television -- United States -- Public relations.

Genres and Forms

Press kits.

Occupations

Advertisers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Television Press Kit Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Some press kits gift of Steven H. Scheuer.

Table of Contents

ABC

CBS

CNN

Discovery Communications, Inc.

FOX

HBO

MTV

NBC

PAX

PBS

Saban Entertainment

Showtime

Synditel

Television Critics Association/National Cable Forum

The WB Television Network

UPN

Miscellaneous

Inventory