Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Charles Van Devander Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Jan 1978

Biographical History

Charles Van Devander was an American journalist. He was a Washington correspondent for the New York Post, author of The Big Bosses (1944) on corruption in government, and served as Press Secretary and Executive Assistant to New York Governor Averell Harriman.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Van Devander Papers consist of correspondence, news releases, and typescripts. Correspondence is with New York State government officials and departments, including Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan and Governor Averell Harriman. News releases cover July 1956 to Jun 1957. Typescript contains a few fragments of typewritten material.

Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Harriman, W. Averell (William Averell), 1891-1986.
Moynihan, Daniel P. (Daniel Patrick), 1927-2003.
Van Devander, Charles.

Places

New York (State) -- History.
New York (State) -- Politics and government,

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Governors.
Press secretaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Van Devander Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence

News releases

Typescripts

Inventory