Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Edwin Edgar Voigt Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Biographical History

Edwin Edgar Voigt (1892-1977) was an American Methodist clergyman and educator. He received a BS (1917) and MA (1922) from Northwestern University; a BD (1921) and DD (1942) from Garrett Bible Institute in Evanston, Illinois; and a PhD from Yale University in 1924. After teaching at both Northwestern University and the Garrett Bible Institute, Voigt served as an associate pastor at the First Methodist Church of Evanston, Illinois from 1932 to 1936. From 1936 to 1942, he was pastor of the First Methodist Church and director of the Wesley Foundation in Iowa City. He became president of Simpson College in 1942. In 1952 he resigned from Simpson and was elected a bishop of the Methodist Church, serving in the Dakota Area district 1952-1960 and the Illinois Area 1960-1964. From 1964 to 1968 he was president of McKendree College in Lebanon Illinois. He was also the author of several books including Biblical Hebrew for Beginners and Methodist Worship in the Church Universal.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edwin Edgar Voigt Papers are arranged in ten categories.

Correspondence-agencies and boards contains items from the various administrative boards and committees Voigt served on, including the Wesley Foundation.

Correspondence-general and business contains other correspondence.

Council of Bishops contains correspondence with other Methodist bishops.

Dakotas contains items from Voigt's time as bishop of the Dakota Area.

Elections contains correspondence related to his election as a Methodist bishop.

Illinois contains items from his time as the bishop of the Illinois Area.

McKendree contains items from his time as the president of McKendree College.

Miscellaneous contains academic materials including lectures and items related to Voigt's various articles and books.

Sermons contains the text of sermons Voigt gave as pastor at Evanston and Iowa City and as bishop of the Dakotas and Illinois Areas.

Simpson College contains items related to his time spent as President of Simpson College.

Arrangement of the Collection

Subjects in each category are arranged alphabetically. Sermons are arranged chronologically.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Voigt, Edwin Edgar, 1892-

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Methodist Church -- Clergy.
Methodists -- United States.
Sermons, American.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edwin Edgar Voigt Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Correspondence-agencies and boards

Correspondence-general and business

Council of Bishops

Dakotas

Elections

Illinois

McKendree

Miscellaneous

Sermons

Simpson College

Inventory