Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Albert Watson II Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Apr 1967

Biographical History

Albert Watson II (1909-1993) was a Lieutenant General in the United States Army. A graduate of the U.S. Military Academy, he rose through the ranks, serving in Hollandia, Hawaii, Lezte, Okinawa and Japan during World War II, and from 1950 to 1953 was on the faculty of the Army War College. He was a corps commander in the Korean War and afterwards returned to Washington to serve on the Army General Staff from 1955 to 1958. He then served as Commanding General of the 24th Infantry (1958-1960), of the Third Infantry (1960-1961), of the Third U.S. Army in Berlin (1961-1963), and of the IX Army Corps (1964-1966). While in the latter position, his last prior to retirement in 1966, he was also High Commissioner of the Ryukyu Islands in the Japanese archipelago.

His awards and decorations include the Legion of Merit, Bronze Star, Army Commendation Ribbon, and Distinguished Service Medal.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Albert Watson II Papers contains material relating to Watson's tenure as High Commissioner of the Ryukyu Islands. The collection consists of correspondence (outgoing only), one subject file (photocopies of Watson's appointment as High Commissioner), clippings (about Watson and the Ryukyu Islands), press releases and photographs of Watson and others.

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence, clippings and press releases are arranged chronologically. Other material is in no particular order.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

See also the Norman D. King Papers for more Ryukyu material.

Special Collections Research Center also has a large collection of published material relating to the Ryukyu Islands area. Please refer to Libraries Search for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Watson, Albert, 1909-1993.

Corporate Bodies

Ryukyu Islands (United States Civil Administration, 1950-1972). -- Office of the High Commissioner.
United States -- Foreign relations -- 20th century.
United States -- Relations -- Pacific Area.
United States. -- Army -- Officers.

Subjects

Military history -- United States.

Places

Ryukyu Islands -- History -- 1945-1972.
Ryukyu Islands -- Relations -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Press releases.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Albert Watson II Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Albert Watson II, 1965.

Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Newspaper clippings

Press releases

Photographs

Inventory