Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Edgar T. Welch Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 10 May 1966

Biographical History

Edgar T. Welch (1881-1963) was an American businessman and prominent Methodist layman.

Born in Vineland, New Jersey on January 22, 1881, Welch attended Williamsport-Dirkinson Seminary (now known as Lycoming College) at Williamsport, Pennsylvania. He entered the advertising department of his father's company, Welch's Grape Juice; he later served as secretary and vice-president before assuming the presidency of the company in 1926. Welch remained with the company after it was sold in 1930, resigning in 1935. In 1945, Welch and two partners founded Westfield Frozen Food Lockers, Inc.

Welch was noted for his active participation in many civic and church projects and organizations, especially for his interest in Methodist lay groups.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Edgar T. Welch Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material.

Biographical material contains assorted items relating to Welch's life.

Correspondence includes both incoming and outgoing, as well as a small amount of correspondence of others.

Subject files contain various items of memorabilia, including awards, business cards, literature on the Welch's Grape Juice company, membership certificates, photographs, reference material for sermons, and two scrapbooks.

Manuscripts are those of articles, sermons, and speeches by Welch, as well as a few items by other authors.

Published material consists of articles by and about Welch, and a scrapbook of clippings about Welch and others.

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically, outgoing chronologically. Subject files are alphabetical by subject. Manuscripts are arranged first alphabetically by type and within that alphabetically by title. Published material is alphabetical by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has numerous collections relating to Methodist church and clergy; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings

Persons

Welch, Edgar T., 1881-1963 -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

Welch Grape Juice Company.

Subjects

Laity -- Methodists.
Lay ministry -- Methodist Church.
Methodists -- United States.
Sermons, American.

Places

Westfield (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Scrapbooks.
Sermons.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edgar T. Welch Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Subject files

Manuscripts

Published material

Inventory