Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Edward A. Wilson Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: ASE
Date: Dec 1993

Biographical History

Edward Arthur Wilson (1886-1970) was a Scottish-born illustrator, lithographer, and painter.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1915 to 1963, the Edward A. Wilson Papers comprises biographical material, correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia. The collection illuminates Wilson's artistic career, which ranged from book and magazine illustration to the design of advertisements, bookplates, magazine covers, postage stamps, and war posters.

Correspondence-subject files consists primarily of incoming letters, as well as other documents relating to artwork. Among the correspondents are fellow artists (Charles Dexter Allen, C. B. Falls, Fred Freeman, Charles Dana Gibson, Marston Dean Hodgin, Joseph Pennell, Ray Prohaska, William Arthur Smith, Harve Stein); authors (David Bland, Theodore Bolton, Eugene Burdick, Earnest Elmo Calkins, Ashley Havinden, William A. Kittredge, George L. Moses, Harlan Ware); collector Wilbur Macey Stone; designers (Edwin Eberman, Bruce Rogers); editor Frank Shay; and publishers (Bennett Cerf, Storer B. Lunt, George Macy). Organizational correspondence includes art associations (American Institute of Graphic Arts, Boston Printmakers, Guild of Free Lance Artists, Print Club); art galleries and museums (Bezalel National Museum, San Joaquin Pioneer Museum and Haggin Art Galleries); clients (American Artists Group, Dutch Treat Year Book, Cadillac Motor Car Company, Cargoes, Forum, Life, John Morell & Co., Peck & Peck, Reader's Digest, Salmagundi Club); an educational institution (Rhode Island School of Design); and publishing houses (R. R. Donnelley & Sons Company, Doubleday, Doran and Company, Doubleday, Page & Co., Grosset & Dunlap, Houghton Mifflin Company, Rand McNally & Company, Random House, John C. Winston Company).

Artwork encompasses advertisements, book illustration, bookplates (5), magazine cover design and illustration, postage stamp design (2), and war poster art (4), as well as miscellaneous reproductions and one original woodcut. Advertisements are arranged by client name while book and magazine illustration and design work are organized under title. Postage stamps, war poster art, and miscellaneous reproductions are arranged chronologically. Articles and Speeches, both typescript and printed, constitute Writings.

Memorabilia includes photographs and printed material. Images of Wilson in his studio and with ship models as well as prints of two Wilson portraits by Jerry Farnsworth and William Oberhardt constitute Photographs. Printed material comprises articles and reviews (1922-1958), newspaper clippings (1915-1963), exhibition catalogs and invitations (1930-1954), one exhibition poster, and book publicity (1924-1942).

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence-subject files are arranged alphabetically. Artwork, writings and memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by type.

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings

Persons

Allen, Charles Dexter, 1865-1926.
Bennett, Paul A., 1897-1966.
Bland, David (David Farrant)
Bolton, Theodore, 1889-1973.
Burdick, Eugene.
Calkins, Earnest Elmo, 1868-1964.
Cerf, Bennett, 1898-1971.
Eberman, Edwin.
Falls, C. B. (Charles Buckles), 1874-1960.
Freeman, Fred, 1906-1988.
Gibson, Charles Dana, 1867-1944.
Havinden, Ashley.
Heintzelman, Arthur William, 1891-1965.
Kittredge, William.
Macy, George.
Maule, Harry E. (Harry Edward), 1886-
Moses, George L.
Pennell, Joseph, 1857-1926.
Prohaska, Ray.
Rogers, Bruce, 1870-1957.
Rowland, Earl.
Shay, Frank, 1888-1954.
Stein, HarveĢ, 1904-1996.
Stone, Wilbur Macey.
Ware, Harlan.
Whitehill, Walter Muir, 1905-1978.
Wilson, Edward A. (Edward Arthur), 1886-1970.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Commercial art.
Commercial artists -- United States.
Illustration of books -- United States -- 20th century.
Illustrators -- United States.
Lithographers -- United States.
Magazine covers.
Magazine illustration -- 20th century.
Marine art, American.
Marine artists -- United States.
Painters -- United States.
Printmakers -- United States.
Scottish Americans.

Genres and Forms

Advertisements.
Articles.
Book illustrations.
Bookplates.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Artists.
Illustrators.
Lithographers.
Painters.
Printmakers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Edward A. Wilson Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence-subject files

Artwork

Writings

Memorabilia

Inventory