Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Roger Zelazny Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: RT
Date: Feb 1969

Biographical History

Science fiction writer Roger Zelazny was born on May 3, 1937 in Cleveland, Ohio, and spent his childhood in Euclid, Ohio, where he attended school. He edited the school newspaper, in 1954 receving a National Scholastic Short Story award.

Mr. Zelazny graduated from Western Reserve University with an A.B. in English and a minor in psychology, and from Columbia University with an M.A. in English and comparative literature. He was awarded two prizes in poetry at Western Reserve.

Mr. Zelazny moved to Baltimore, Maryland to work for the Social Security Adminstration, where he became a claims policy specialist. During his spare time, he began writing science fiction and, as early as 1964, was awarded a Hugo (an annual award of the Science Fiction Writers of America) for "A Rose for Ecclesiastes." Other prize-winning works include "The Doors of His Face, the Lamps of His Mouth" (1966), "He Who Shapes" (1966), "Lord of Light" (1968), and "Damnation Alley" (1968).

Mr. Zelazny served as secretary-treasurer of the Science Fiction Writers of America during the fiscal year 1967-1968 and is a member of Mensa, an organization for people with a tested high intelligence quotient. He lives in Baltimore with is wife Judy.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Roger Zelazny Papers contain biographical and background material, correspondence, writings, publications of the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA), and published material. Contained in the biographical and background material 1954, 1966-1968, is published matter relating to science fiction conventions and activities in which Mr. Zelazny participated, as well as financial records.

Correspondence, 1954-1969, most of it incoming, is from publishers, literary agents, science fiction writers, and fans. Arranged chronologically, much of the correspondence relates to Mr. Zelazny's writings and science fiction activities, including one group of letters from a fourth-grade class which read "Susi's Magic Pterodactyl," placed at the end of the correspondence.

Important correspondence include: Ace Books, Inc., 1966-1968; Amazing-Fantastic Publications, 1965-1966, 1968; Philip K. Dick, 1967; Doubleday and Company, Inc., 1964, 1966-1968; Faber and Faber Ltd., 1966-1968; Fantasy and Science Fiction, 1962-1968; Galaxy, 1968; Alma Hill, 1964-1967; Hugo Awards, 1964, 1968; Damon Knight, 1965-1967; Robert P. Mills, 1964-1966; Henry Morrison, 1967-1968; New Worlds, 1965-1968; Frederick Pohl, 1963, 1966-1968; Rex Stout, 1968; Ziff-Davis Publishing Company, 1962-1965. A list of this correspondence with exact dates may be found in the first folder of Box 1.

Writings, 1965-1968, are composed of typescripts, holographs, and printed material and are arranged alphabetically by title under the divisions of fiction, non-fiction and poetry. Many of the manuscripts are not dated, and those not titled are arranged alphabetically by the first line of the manuscript. Many of Mr. Zelazny's prize-winning stories are contained in this series.

Material from the SFWA consists of the Secretary-Treasurer's Handbook by Mr. Zelazny and Nebula Award Stories 3, co-edited by Mr. Zelazny. Published material, 1965-1967, included fanzines (magazines published by fans and amateurs in the science fiction field).

Restrictions

Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Mr. Zelazny's periodical and fanzines have been integrated with our science fiction periodicals.

Many other science fiction authors' papers are in our holdings, including Forrest J. Ackerman, Piers Anthony, Hal Clement, Hugo Gernsback, Damon Knight, Keith Laumer, Anne McCaffrey, Frederik Pohl, Robert Silverberg, Kate Wilhelm, and more. Refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete list.

Subject Headings

Persons

Zelazny, Roger.

Subjects

American literature -- 20th century.
Authors, American.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Manuscripts for publication.
Newsletters.
Poems.
Speeches (documents)

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Roger Zelazny Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Roger Zelazny, 1966, 1968, 1991.

Table of Contents

Biographical and background material

Correspondence

Writings

Published material

Inventory