Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Reynard, Grant T., 1887-1968.
Title:	Grant T. Reynard Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1930-1966
Quantity:	2.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American etcher, lithographer, painter.
Abstract:	Correspondence (1930-1965); a subject file including exhibition catalogs, financial and legal material, and photographs; and published material by and about Reynard (1932-1965).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Grant T. Reynard (1887-1968) was an American artist and illustrator. His illustrations appeared in many national magazines, including Saturday Evening Post, Country Gentleman, Ladies' Home Journal, Cosmopolitan, Harper's Bazaar, Collier's, McCall's, and many more.

Grant Tyson Reynard was born October 20, 1887, at Grand Island, Nebraska, to Stephen Blackstone and Jennie Lynd (Bacon) Reynard. He studied at the Chicago Art Institute, 1906-1907, and Chicago Academy of Fine Arts, 1908-1911. He established himself as an illustrator in New York and for ten years contributed to leading magazines. His increasing interest in painting, etching, and lithography took him to the chief centers of study in Europe, especially to Paris and London. After his return to America, he spent eight summers painting and etching at the MacDowell Colony in New Hampshire. His work is in the Metropolitan, Fogg, Newark, Norton, Addison, and Montclair Art Museums as well as the Library of Congress and New Public Library, and he had one-man shows at the Addison Museum, Montclair Art Museum, Andover, Kennedy and Company, New York, Grand Central Galleries, Clayton Gallery, and Association of American Artists, New York

Reynard served six years on the faculty of the Grand Central School of Art, New York, conducted the Department of Art at Millbrook School, Millbrook, New York, was artist-in-residence at Palo Duro School of Art in Texas, and taught two summers at the University of Texas. He lectured on art to many colleges and clubs, and was a member of the National Academy of Design, Salmagundi Club, Allied Artists of America, New Jersey Water Color Society, Associated Artists of New Jersey, Society of American Graphic Artists, American Water Color Society, Audubon Artists, Prairie Print Makers, and American Artists Group. In 1955, Baldwin-Wallace College awarded him an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters (LHD).

Reynard was also a skilled pianist, the author of a book-length poem Rattling Home for Christmas, and a regular contributor of articles on art to Scribner's and other national magazines.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grant T. Reynard Papers, dating from 1930 to 1966, consist of correspondence, subject files, and published material.

Correspondence is subdivided into incoming and outgoing. Incoming correspondence (1930-1965) consists of 152 letters, dating from 1930-1965. Many of the correspondents are officials of universities and colleges, museums and art associations, as well as artists Norman Kent, Mainbocher, Mahonri Young, and Harry Wickey. Outgoing correspondence consists of 30 letters dating from 1940-1965. Among the recipients are Norman Kent, editor of American Artist, and H. J. Smith, President of Baldwin Wallace College, Berea, Ohio. Correspondence of others consists of five letters dating from 1930 to 1963, and includes that of poets Frances Frost and Edwin Arlington Robinson.

Subject files, dating from 1930 to 1966, include citations and honors, contracts and financial matters, exhibitions, lectures, and material relating to the Edward MacDowell Colony (1930-1964). There is a folder on the Millbrook School, photographs and paintings by others, personal photographs, photographs of Reynard's paintings and illustrations, and a slide.

Published material includes 24 articles about Grant Reynard. Magazines represented include Art Digest, Prints, and American Artist. There are five articles by Grant Reynard which appeared in The Western Artist, Scribner's, and American Artist. Ten illustrations by Reynard appeared in various magazines, listed alphabetically by magazine name. Also included are 107 newspaper clippings about Reynard, dating from 1932-1965; ten clippings about others, dating from 1935-1952; and a book-length poem entitled Rattling Home for Christmas.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically, then chronologically; outgoing is arranged chronologically, then alphabetically. Correspondence of others is arranged alphabetically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically. Published material is arranged alphabetically by title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of artists and illustrators. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grant T. Reynard Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Jan 2001
Revision history: 12 Aug 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
		Incoming
Box 1			Abbott Kimball Co., Inc. 1947
Box 1			Clifford O. Adams 1956
Box 1			Addison Gallery of American Art 1934, 1936-1937 (4 items)
Box 1			Adult School of Montclair 1951
Box 1			Grace A. Albee 1963
Box 1			Woody Allen 1952
Box 1			E. D. Alyea 1957
Box 1			Amarillo College 1955
Box 1			American Artist 1947 (2 items)
Box 1			American Artists Group, Inc. 1956
Box 1			The American Federation of Arts 1931
Box 1			American Watercolor Society 1958
Box 1			Appalachian Mountain Club 1953
Box 1			John Taylor Arms 1952
Box 1			The Art Institute of Chicago 1950
Box 1			The Art Students League of New York 1956
Box 1			Associated Artists of New Jersey undated
Box 1			Association of American Colleges 1950
Box 1			Baldwin-Wallace College 1955, 1960 (6 items)
Box 1			Carl Beetz 1960
Box 1			Fiske Boyd 1956
Box 1			Brooks Memorial Art Gallery 1955 (3 items)
Box 1			Carnegie Institute 1944, 1946-1947 (4 items)
Box 1			Willa Cather Pioneer Memorial 1956, 1964 (2 items)
Box 1			National Collier 1948
Box 1			Columbia University 1940, 1948, 1958 (4 items)
Box 1			Henry K. Dick 1950-1951 (2 items)
Box 1			Dickinson College 1955
Box 1			Drexel Institute of Technology 1948
Box 1			Everhart Museum 1954
Box 1			Ralph Fabri 1955
Box 1			Fairleigh Dickinson College 1954
Box 1			"Fred" undated
Box 1			Clayton E. Freeman 1954, 1955 (3 items)
Box 1			Bronson Goddard 1953
Box 1			Edmund Greacen 1930
Box 1			Bob "Gwathney" 1961
Box 1			Hackley School 1933
Box 1			Charles Hargens 1956
Box 1			John Hartell 1965
Box 1			Morris Harvey College undated
Box 1			Houghton College 1954
Box 1			Arthur Hunter 1949
Box 1			Leotine Huntsman 1932
Box 1			Roma Ives (1955)
Box 1			KRNT 1948
Box 1			Kennedy Co. 1940
Box 1			"Kent" 1955 (2 items)
Box 1			Norman Kent 1955
Box 1			Helen S. Klahr 1934
Box 1			The Joe and Emily Lowe Art Gallery 1962
Box 1			The Edward MacDowell Association, Inc. 1959, 1963
Box 1			The MacDowell Colony 1956, (1962) (3 items)
Box 1			Robert G. McIntyre 1956
Box 1			Mainbocher undated
Box 1			Metropolitan Museum of Art
Box 1			Millbrook School 1965
Box 1			The Montclair Art Museum 1949-1951, 1956, 1958 (5 items)
Box 1			Montclair Library 1957
Box 1			Mount Holyoke College 1932-1933 (3 items)
Box 1			Melanie Martha Muller 1935
Box 1			New Jersey Water Color Society 1955
Box 1			Newark Museum 1934, undated (4 items)
Box 1			The New York Public Library 1932-1933, 1937 (4 items)
Box 1			Agnes B. Noyes undated
Box 1			Joseph H. Oliphant & Company 1955-1956, 1961-1962, 1965 (5 items)
Box 1			Orange County Community College 1956
Box 1			Pearson and Eaton, Inc. 1957, 1960 (4 items)
Box 1			Prairie Print Makers 1954
Box 1			The Print Makers Society of California 1954 (2 items)
Box 1			The Public Library of Newark, New Jersey 1940
Box 1			Marian Ragan 1956
Box 1			Edna Y. Searles 1951
Box 1			Shelburne Museum, Inc. 1963
Box 1			Simpson College 1953, 1955 (3 items)
Box 1			Jacob Getlar Smith 1956
Box 1			Smithsonian Institution 1959-1960 (2 items)
Box 1			South Dakota State College 1956
Box 1			The Stony Brook School 1954 (2 items)
Box 1			Mary Cwoke Swartwout 1952, 1955 (2 items)
Box 1			Sweet Briar College 1931
Box 1			Kenneth Thompson 1958
Box 1			Town Hall 1957
Box 1			The University of Buffalo 1933 (2 items)
Box 1			The University of Nebraska 1942
Box 1			The University of Wyoming 1945-1946, 1948-1949 (8 items)
Box 1			The White House 1955
Box 1			Harry Wickey 1947-1948, 1950-1951 (4 items)
Box 1			The Wilmington Society of the Fine Arts 1956, 1963 (2 items)
Box 1			Louis A. Wuerth 1938
Box 1			Mahonri Young 1947
		Outgoing
Box 1			1940
Box 1			1947 (2 items)
Box 1			1949 (3 items)
Box 1			1952-1956 (13 items)
Box 1			1958
Box 1			1960-1962 (7 items)
Box 1			1965
Box 1			undated (2 items)
		Of others
Box 1			Katherine Disser to Miss Eaton 1958
Box 1			Frances Frost to Hunter House Children undated
Box 1			Mrs. Thornton Hill to Mrs. Eaton 1961
Box 1			Philip James to Mrs. Colwell 1963
Box 1			E. A. Robinson to Dr. [Cushman] 1930

	Subject file
Box 2		Associated Artists of New Jersey 1955, 1960, 1963 (4 items)
Box 2		Bulwark of Liberty, Early Days at Dickinson, Volume 1 1947
Box 2		Citations and Honors 1955-1963
Box 2		Contracts and Financial Matters 1929-1961
Box 2		Exhibitions 6 folders
Box 2		Lectures flyers and brochures (2 folders)
Box 3		The Edward MacDowell Colony 1930, 1937-1938, 1946, 1962-1964
Box 3		Millbrook School 1937, 1939-1941 (5 items)
Box 3		Miscellaneous (2 items)
Box 3		Montclair Art Museum Bulletin 1937, 1961, 1964-1966 (16 items)
Box 3		"Oneone, and Eight Other Tone-Pictures," Louis M. Elshems
		Photographs
Box 3			Paintings by others (2 items)
Box 3			Personal (74 items)
Box 3			Grant Reynard's Paintings and Illustrations
Box 3		Pictures on exhibit March 1938
Box 3		Publicity flyers and material (16 items)
Box 3		Reproductions of Illustrations (3 items)
Box 3		Slide

	Published material
Box 4		Articles about (3 folders)
Box 4		Articles by (5 items)
Box 5		Illustrations by (10 items)
		Newspaper clippings
Box 5			About Reynard 1932-1965 (2 folders)
Box 5			About others 1935-1952
Box 5		Poem, "Rattling Home for Christmas", American Artists Group, Inc. 1941

Return to top