Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Roosevelt, Nicholas, 1893-1982.
Title:	Nicholas Roosevelt Papers
Inclusive Dates:	circa 1720-1987
Quantity:	49.75 linear ft.
Abstract:	The correspondence, memorabilia, and writings of journalist and diplomat Nicholas Roosevelt
Language:	Bulk in English, some materials in French, Dutch, German.
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Nicholas Roosevelt (1893-1982) was an American author, journalist, conservationist, and diplomat.

Roosevelt was born June 12, 1893, in New York City. Nicholas's father, James West Roosevelt, was the first cousin of President Theodore Roosevelt. Nicholas received his A.B. from Harvard in 1914. He served as an attaché at the American Embassy in Paris for the next two years, and as secretary to the American mission to Spain in 1916-1917. In the 1920s he was a foreign correspondent and editorial writer for The New York Times. In 1926, Roosevelt wrote and published a book, The Philippines, A Treasure and a Problem, in which he argued against the United States granting the Philippines independence on the grounds that Filipinos were incapable of governing their own affairs. In 1930, President Herbert Hoover appointed Roosevelt to serve as Vice-Governor to the Philippines, but he was released from the post after a few months due to nation-wide protests by Filipinos, who were upset about Roosevelt's depiction of their country and people. Shortly after he left his post in the Philippines he was named minister to Hungary, a post he held for three years (1930-1933).

Roosevelt returned to journalism once he came home from Hungary. He was a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and a writer for its journal Foreign Affairs, and an editorial writer for the New York Herald Tribune, where he was deeply critical of President Franklin D. Roosevelt and his administration. A life-long Republican, Nicholas Roosevelt criticized the New Deal and big government policies.

In addition to his newspaper work, Roosevelt wrote twelve books including A New Birth of Freedom (1938), Venezuela's Place in the Sun: Modernizing a Pioneering Country (1940), Creative Cooking (1956), and Theodore Roosevelt: The Man as I Knew Him (1967). His autobiography, A Front Row Seat, was published in 1953.

Roosevelt retired from journalism in 1946 due to ill health and moved to Big Sur, California. Inspired by an Arizona trip he took in 1913 with his cousin, Theodore Roosevelt (an avid conservationist), Roosevelt became heavily involved in conservationist movements. He was active in the Save-the-Redwoods League and served on California's recreation commission. In 1970, he published Conservation: Now or Never, an appeal for the conservation of Earth's resources.

Roosevelt died February 16, 1982, in Monterey, California.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nicholas Roosevelt Papers consists of Correspondence-subject files, Financial and legal material, Memorabilia, and Writings.

Correspondence-subject files reflects Roosevelt's status as a diplomat and journalist who was involved in both American and foreign politics. Roosevelt exchanged correspondence with a variety of politicians, including President Herbert Hoover, whom Roosevelt served as minister to Hungary within his administration. There are also several folders of correspondence with President Theodore Roosevelt, the majority of which is between Theodore Roosevelt and Nicholas's mother, Laura. Laura and Theodore were good friends as well as cousins by marriage. There is also correspondence with the extended Roosevelt family, including President Franklin D. Roosevelt and First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt. Other material relates to Nicholas's books, including letters regarding progress and comments about the book. Incomplete correspondence or correspondence with illegible names are listed last in the series.

Financial and legal files consists of a small number of book contracts, a lease contract for a boat, expense accounts for a trip to Asia, and a folder of miscellaneous financial items such as invoices and receipts.

Memorabilia consists of clippings, diaries, photographs, postcards, scrapbooks, and other assorted items. Clippings are primarily newspaper clippings of Roosevelt's writings for various newspapers. There are also clippings of reviews of Roosevelt's books. His diaries cover his many travels around the world. One diary to note is that of his trip in Arizona with former President Theodore Roosevelt in the summer of 1913, in which he shares stories regarding the popular President. Also included in this series are the family papers of Roosevelt's mother, Laura D'Oremieulx Roosevelt. The majority of these papers were originally stored in a box with a label that read, "D'Oremieulx-Gibbs records and letters," and therefore have been kept together under that heading. Scrapbooks primarily consist of newspaper clippings of reviews of Nicholas's books, articles and editorials that he wrote, or trips that he took. Other items of note include a program for a reception for Theodore Roosevelt after his return from Cuba fighting with the Rough Riders during the Spanish American War; an oral history of Roosevelt's memories of working with Herbert Hoover; and photographs of Nicholas Roosevelt, as well as a photograph of Theodore Roosevelt.

Writings includes articles, books, book reviews, editorials, letters to the editor, reflections, and speeches. Most of the articles are from Roosevelt's time as a foreign correspondent and editorialist for The New York Times and the New York Herald Tribune, and as a reporter for foreign newspapers. Material for his books includes drafts, corrections, galleys, manuscripts, notes, and research. Books that have significant material in the collection are: Creative Cooking (1956), Economic Forces in the Development of American History (1951), A Front Row Seat (1953), Good Cooking (1959), A New Birth of Freedom (1939), Stream of Liberty (1954), and Theodore Roosevelt: The Man as I Knew Him (1967). Book reviews are by Roosevelt for books written by other authors. Editorials are from his time as an editor for The New York Times and the New York Herald Tribune. Personal narratives and reflections include an account of the Republican Convention of 1912, at which former President Theodore Roosevelt unsuccessfully challenged sitting President William Howard Taft for the Republican nomination for President. Speeches include notes and transcripts of speeches and lectures throughout his career as a diplomat and journalist. At the end of the series are a few miscellaneous items such as the draft of a book chapter for an unpublished book, some notes, and a poem, and a few pieces by others.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is arranged alphabetically by name or topic, apart from Roosevelt's diaries, which are arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nicholas Roosevelt Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Dec 1966
Revision history: 15 Jul 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); 15 Jun 2015 - oversize items rehoused, numbered; minor cleanup on inventory (MRC); 17 Sep 2021 - collection reprocessed, additions added (PRB, DTF); 30 Jan 2024 - name corrected in correspondence-subject files inventory (DTF)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 1		Abbot, Willis J. 1928, 1930
Box 1		Abend, Hallett 1930
Box 1		Academie de Paris 1918
Box 1		Adamic, Louis 1942
Box 1		Adams, Ansel 1950, 1953-1954, 1956, 1970
Box 1		Adams, Brooks 1955-1956
Box 1		Adams, Charles F. III 1929
Box 1		Adams, J. Donald 1956-1958
Box 1		Adams, James Truslow 1938
Box 1		Akers-Douglas, Aretas 1931
Box 1		Albright, Horace Marden 1930, 1946, 1951-1953, 1959-1960, 1967-1969, 1972
Box 1		Alemany, Jose E. 1930
Box 1		Alsop, Joseph and Corinne 1910, 1927, 1930, 1947-1948, 1956, 1964
Box 1		America and England 1930
Box 1		American Commission to Negotiate Peace 1919
Box 1		American Expeditionary Forces 1918-1919
Box 1		American Meat Institute 1955, 1957
Box 1		American-Hungarian Foundation 1930
Box 1		American Newspaper Publishers Association 1944
Box 1		Ames, Charles Lesley 1941, 1954
Box 1		Andrew, A. Platt 1925
Box 1		Aponyi, Albert 1930, 1933
Box 1		Arizona Pioneers' Historical Association 1964
Box 1		Armament Limitation Conference, Washington, DC 1921-1922
Box 1		Armstrong, Hamilton Fish 1932
Box 1		Atchley, Dana W. 1954, 1956, undated
Box 1		Atkinson, Brooks 1965
Box 1		Atlantic Union Committee 1955
Box 1		Auld, George P. 1930
Box 64		Austria 1923, 1932-1933
Box 1		A, miscellaneous 1927-1959
Box 1		Bacon, Robert L. 1930
Box 1		Baer, J.A. 1930
Box 1		Bain, H. Foster 1928, 1930
Box 1		Baker, George Barr 1927
Box 1		Baldwin, Hanson W. 1958
Box 1		Balzer, Robert L. 1956
Box 64		Bank for International Settlements 1931-1933 (2 folders)
Box 1		Batchelder, Charles C. 1927, 1930
Box 1		Beebe, Lucius 1954
Box 1		Benedikt, Ernst 1919
Box 1		Bernhard, George 1931
Box 1		Berton, Claude 1921-1926
Box 1		Bessie, Simon Michael 1959
Box 1		Bingham, Hiram 1930
Box 1		Birchall, Frederick T. 1933
Box 1		Bird, Remsen D. 1953
Box 1		Blair, Floyd 1930-1932
Box 1		Blake, Tiffany 1930
Box 1		Blankenstein, Marcus van 1925
Box 1		Bliss, Robert Woods and Mildred 1932, 1953-1954, 1960
Box 1		Bliven, Bruce 1955, 1957, undated
Box 1		Blum, John M. 1955
Box 1		Book requests 1946 - Roosevelt's requests for books for research (2 folders)
Box 2		Borah, William E. 1938-1939
Box 2		Boswell, Helen Varick 1930
Box 2		Bouton, S. Miles 1938
Box 2		Bowers, Claude G. 1926
Box 2		Bowmann, Isaiah 1928
Box 2		Brashears, Edward 1930
Box 2		Bristol, Mark Lambert 1928
Box 2		British Legation Budapest 1932
Box 2		Brown, Edmund G. 1962, 1965
Box 2		Brown, Helen Evans 1956
Box 2		Brown, Philip Marshall 1954
Box 2		Brownell, George A. 1930, 1932
Box 2		Bruce, William Cabell 1926
Box 2		Burlingame, Roger 1950, 1953
Box 2		Burnham, John B. 1938
Box 2		Buxton, G. Edward Jr. 1947
Box 2		Byers, Horace R. 1950
Box 2		B, miscellaneous 1918-1965
Box 2		California Conservation Council 1948
Box 2		California Department of Fish and Game 1964
Box 2		California Department of Natural Resources 1949-1950
Box 2		Campbell Soup Company 1957
Box 2		Canby, Henry S. 1953
Box 2		Cape, Jonathan, LTD undated
Box 2		Carter, John Ridgely 1914, 1932, 1953
Box 2		De Cartier De Marchienne, Emile-Ernest 1928
Box 2		Castle, William R. Jr. 1925-1932
Box 2		The Century Association 1967
Box 2		Chandler, Lewis Stuyvesant 1932-1933
Box 2		Chandler, Norman 1953
Box 2		Channing, Edward 1915
Box 2		Charles Scribner and Sons 1928, 1932-1933, 1938, 1950, 1953
Box 2		Chenery, William Ludlow 1946
Box 2		Chevalier, John B. 1930
Box 2		Churchhill, Winston 1938
Box 2		Clark, J. Reuben Jr. 1938
Box 2		Clemenceau, Georges 1895, 1923
Box 2		Clemens, Cyril 1978
Box 64		Climate in Europe 1930
Box 2		Cobb, Henry E. 1930
Box 2		Colby, Francis T. 1919
Box 2		Colby, William Edward 1944-1946, 1953, 1959
Box 2		Colby College 1956, 1966-1967
Box 2		Coolidge, Archibald Cary 1919, 1921 1925 1927
Box 2		Coolidge, Harold Jefferson Jr. 1973
		Conservation: now or never - correspondence and materials related to Roosevelt's book
			See also Memorabilia : Scrapbook : Conservation: Now or never.
Box 2			California Department of Parks and Recreation 1961-1963 (2 folders)
Box 3			California Department of Parks and Recreation 1965-1967 (2 folders)
Box 3			Cape Cod 1968
Box 3			The Conservation Law Society of America 1967-1968
Box 3			Dodd, Mead and Company 1967-1969
Box 3			Feedback 1970-1972 - comments and congratulations from friends
Box 3			Grand Canyon 1967-1968
Box 3			Gustafson, Carl O. 1963
Box 3			Hetch Hetchy [Yosemite National Park] 1967
Box 3			Highways 1966-1968
Box 3			Iowa 1968 (2 folders)
Box 3			Monterey Peninsula College 1962-1971
Box 3			National parks 1926, 1950
Box 3			Nelson, Dewitt 1967-1968
Box 3			Niagara Power Plant 1963
Box 3			Storm King Mountain on the Hudson River 1967-1968 (3 folders)
Box 4			Storm King Mountain on the Hudson River 1967-1969 (2 folders)
Box 4			United States Department of Agriculture Forest Service 1967-1968 (2 folders)
Box 4			United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Outdoor Recreation 1967-1968
Box 4			Wilderness Society 1968
Box 4			Yosemite 1928, 1967
Box 4			Miscellaneous 1961-1967
Box 4		Corbin, John 1923
Box 4		Cotterman, C.N. 1926-1930
Box 4		Council on Foreign Relations, Inc. 1928-1933
Box 4		Cowles, Anna "Bamie" Roosevelt 1964
Box 4		Cowles, L. Sheffield 1953
Box 4		Cox, James M. 1929, 1956-1957
Box 4		Creative cooking 1956 - correspondence related to Roosevelt's book
			See also Writings : Books : Creative cooking.
Box 4		Creel, George 1919
Box 4		C, miscellaneous 1923-1966
Box 4		Damrosch, Walter 1938
Box 4		Dana, Samuel T. 1959
Box 4		Darling, J.N. "Ding" 1930
Box 4		Davie, Eugenie Mary "May" Ladenburg 1938, 1954
Box 4		Davis, Adelle 1958
Box 4		Davis, Dwight F. 1930
Box 4		Davis, Elmer 1949, 1951, 1953
Box 4		Davis, Lavinia R. 1953
Box 4		Davis, Norman H. 1932-1933
Box 4		Dawes, Charles G. 1931
Box 4		Dawson, Geoffrey 1924, 1926, 1930
Box 4		Delano, William Adams 1953
Box 4		Derby, Ethel Carow Roosevelt 1927, 1930, 1948, 1965, 1975
Box 4		Desmond, Thomas C. 1938
Box 4		Disarmament 1922, 1930
Box 4		Dodd, Mead and Company 1966-1967 (2 folders)
Box 5		Donath, Leo 1932
Box 5		Doubleday and Company 1962
Box 5		Dougherty, Dennis Joseph 1930
Box 5		Douglas, Lewis Williams 1933
Box 5		Draper, Arthur S. 1929
Box 5		Dryfoos, Orvil E. 1944-1946, 1948, 1953, 1957-1960
Box 5		Duckworth-Ford, R.A. 1930-1931
Box 5		Duer, Edward Rush 1931-1933
Box 5		Duggan, Stephen P. 1926
Box 5		Dulles, Allen W. 1919, 1933, 1938, 1952
Box 5		Dulles, John Foster 1932
Box 5		Dunn, Gano 1930
Box 5		Durand, E. Dana 1930
Box 5		Dutch Anti-War Council 1915
Box 5		D, miscellaneous 1920-1962
Box 5		Edge, Walter E. 1933
Box 5		Eisenhower, Milton S. 1953
Box 5		Encyclopedia Americana 1946, 1948, 1955
Box 5		Evans, Arthur H. 1929
Box 5		Fairchild, George H. 1926
Box 5		Farnol, Lynn 1956
Box 5		Farquhar, Francis P. 1956
Box 5		Far East trip 1925-1926
Box 5		Farr, Fred S. 1962
Box 5		Feis, Herbert 1931-1932
Box 5		Finley, John H. 1930-1931, 1945
Box 5		Fischer, Arthur F. 1926, 1930-1931
Box 5		Fisher, Harold H. 1949, 1955, undated
Box 5		Fisk, Harvey Edward 1930
Box 5		Flavin, Martin 1953, 1956
Box 5		Fletcher, Henry Prather 1933
Box 5		Ford, R. A. Duckworth 1932
Box 5		Foreign Policy Association 1927, 1932, 1954
Box 5		A front row seat 1953
			See also Writings : Books : A front row seat.
Box 5		Fullerton, William Morton 1928, 1933
Box 5		E-F, miscellaneous 1928-1968
Box 5		Gammack and Company 1931
Box 5		Gannett, Lewis 1957
Box 5		Gardiner, William Howard 1928-1932
Box 5		Garrett, John W. 1928-1933, 1955
Box 5		General Electric Company 1955, 1958
Box 5		Gerard, Paul 1951
Box 5		Gift acknowledgements 1962, 1971, 1981
Box 6		Gilbert, Newton W. 1930
Box 6		Gilbert, Prentiss B. 1930-1933
Box 6		Gilbert, Rodney 1928
Box 6		Gilmore, Eugene Allen 1929
Box 6		Gilmore, Melvin R. 1929-1932
Box 6		Goddard, Jack 1978
Box 6		Gordon, George A. 1933
Box 6		Grant, Madison 1930-1931
Box 6		Green, Joseph E. 1919, 1931-1932, 1939
Box 6		Green, Theodore Francis 1939
Box 6		Greene, Winthrop S. 1931
Box 6		Gregor, Joseph 1931
Box 6		Grey, Edward 1928
Box 6		Griffin, Allen 1949, 1953, 1966
Box 6		Gruenberger, Alfred 1930
Box 6		Gunther, John 1931-1933, 1956, 1959-1960
Box 6		G, miscellaneous 1925-1959
Box 6		Habsburg, Otto Von 1948
Box 6		Hagedorn, Hermann 1923-1924, 1930, 1950-1959
Box 6		Hanfstaengl, Ernst F.S. 1930
Box 6		Harbord, James Gutherie 1927-1930
Box 6		Harper and Brothers 1956-1960 (3 folders)
Box 6		Harvard Alumni Association 1954-1955
Box 6		Harvard Alumni Bulletin 1954
Box 6		Haussermann, John W. 1930
Box 6		Havas, Eugene 1932-1933, 1966
Box 6		Hayden, Joseph Ralston 1927
Box 6		Hayes, John S. 1952-1953
Box 6		Hays, William Harrison 1927, 1931
Box 6		Heiser, Victor G. 1926, 1930
Box 6		Henning, Arthur S. 1929
Box 6		Herter, Christian 1952
Box 6		Hilles, Charles D. 1934
Box 7		Hills, Lawrence 1933
Box 7		Hodgman, William A. 1931-1933
Box 7		Hodgson, Caspar W. 1929
Box 7		Hollister, Paul M. 1966
Box 7		Hoover, Herbert 1927-1940, 1974
Box 7		Hornbeck, Stanley 1930
Box 7		Horthy, Nicholas 1956-1957
Box 7		Houghton Mifflin Company 1950
Box 7		Houghton, Amory 1951
Box 7		House and Garden 1959-1960 - correspondence with the magazine
Box 7		Howard, Shafter L. 1938
Box 7		Howe, Louis 1933
Box 7		Howell, G. C. L. 1932
Box 7		Hubbel, J. L. 1913, 1930-1931
Box 7		Hubble, Edwin 1951
Box 7		Hull, Cordell 1940
Box 7		Hume, Edward Hicks 1930
Box 7		Humphrey, Grace 1933
Box 7		Hungarian American Chamber of Commerce 1932
Box 7		Hungarian American Society 1933-1937
		Hungary
Box 64			Appointment as minister to Hungary 1930
Box 64			Financial condition 1924, 1928-1932 (4 folders)
Box 64			Foreign bonds in the United States 1932-1933
Box 64			Legation 1932-1933
Box 64			Resignation 1933
Box 64			United States and 1932-1933 (2 folders)
Box 7		Hunt, George T. 1963
Box 7		Hunter, Gordon C. 1933
Box 7		Huntington Library and Art Gallery, San Marino, CA 1965
Box 7		Hurley, Patrick Jay 1930-1931
Box 7		Huxley, Julian 1930
Box 7		H, miscellaneous 1923-1960
Box 7		Institute of American History 1954
Box 7		Institute of International Education 1931-1932
Box 7		Irvine, Cecelia 1954-1956
Box 7		Irving Trust Company 1932
Box 7		Isaacs, Stanley M. 1926, 1930
Box 7		Janssen, Werner 1932
Box 7		Jenkins, Louisa Meyer undated
Box 7		Johns Hopkins Press 1956
Box 7		Johnson, Gerald White 1953
Box 7		Johnson, Harold B. 1935
Box 7		Johnson, Nelson Trusler 1926-1928
Box 7		Jones, Hilary Pollard, Jr. 1928-1929
Box 7		Jones, Thomas Jessee 1930
Box 7		Jusserand, Jean Jules 1914
Box 7		I-J, miscellaneous 1926-1957
Box 7		Kaltenborn, H.V. 1930
Box 8		Kandel, I.L. 1946
Box 8		Karo, George 1931
Box 8		Kean, Katherine Winthrop 1927
Box 8		Kellogg, Frank B. 1928-1929
Box 8		Kennedy, John F. 1960
Box 8		Kennedy, Sinclair 1930
Box 8		Kinney, Henry W. 1951
Box 8		Klebelsberg, Kuno von 1931
Box 8		Kleeman, Rita Halle 1953
Box 8		Klein, Julius 1931
Box 8		Knopf, Alfred A. 1954
Box 8		Knox, Frank 1932
Box 8		Kraus, Lili 1951
Box 8		Krehbiel, Henry E. 1922
Box 8		Krock, Arthur 1930-1932, 1950, 1953, 1956-1957
Box 8		K, miscellaneous 1927-1979
Box 8		La Follette, Philip 1930, 1933, 1956
Box 8		La Follette, Robert M., Jr. 1939
Box 4		De La Llana, Pedro 1930-1932
Box 8		La Mont, Thomas S. 1925, 1928, 1932, 1939
Box 8		Landon, Alf M. 1935, 1938
Box 8		Lawrence, David 1929
Box 64		League of Nations 1931-1933
Box 65		League of Nations 1925, 1927, 1931-1933 (9 folders)
Box 8		Lee, Ivy Ledbetter 1931
Box 8		Legation of the United States Belgrade 1932
Box 8		Lewis, Sinclair undated
Box 8		Library of Congress, Copyright Office 1955
Box 8		Lim, Vicente 1928
Box 8		Lingnan University 1926
Box 8		Lippmann, Walter 1930-1931
Box 8		Little, Brown and Company 1959
Box 8		Lodge, Henry Cabot 1932, 1939
Box 8		Loeb, William 1953
Box 8		Long Island Rail Road Company 1945
Box 8		Longworth, Alice Roosevelt 1930, 1938, 1956
Box 8		Lottinville, Savoie 1952-1960
Box 8		Lowe, Belle 1958
Box 8		Lowell, A. Lawrence 1914, 1938
Box 8		Lucas, Dione 1956-1958
Box 8		Luce, Henry R. 1933
Box 8		Lunt, Carroll 1930
Box 8		Lyon, Frederick B. 1932
Box 8		L, miscellaneous 1929-1978
Box 8		Mabon, Mary Frost 1959
Box 8		Macainag, Andres 1932
Box 8		MacCormac, John 1932
Box 8		MacDougal, Daniel T. 1954-1955
Box 8		MacMurray, John V. A. 1928
Box 8		MacNeil, Neil 1930
Box 8		Mallory, Walter H. 1928
Box 8		Mantica, Margit Veszi 1933
Box 9		Marriner, Guy 1933
Box 9		Marshall, George C. 1926
Box 9		Martin, Lawrence 1931
Box 9		Marvin, Langdon P. 1923, 1929, 1953
Box 9		Mason, Julian S. 1926
Box 9		Matthews, Herbert Lionel 1930
Box 9		Mayer, Ferdinand L. 1932
Box 9		Mayo, Katherine 1930-1932
Box 9		McCutcheon, John Tinney 1928-1930
Box 9		McPherson, Martha E. 1932
Box 9		Meloney, Marie Mattingly 1929, 1931, 1938
Box 9		Merrill, William K. 1962
Box 9		Meyer, C.F. 1926, 1930
Box 9		Millar, Melville B. 1974
Box 9		Miller, Henry 1957
Box 9		Millet, J.B. 1930
Box 9		Moffat, John Pierrepont 1932
Box 9		Moley, Raymond 1940
Box 9		Monterey (CA) Board of Supervisors 1966
Box 9		Monterey County (CA) Republican Central Committee 1952
Box 9		Monterey Peninsula College 1957
Box 9		Montgomery, John F. 1933-1946
Box 9		Moreno, Jose 1931-1932
Box 9		Moro Commission on Separate Government 1926
Box 9		Morrow, Dwight W. 1929
Box 9		Moseley, George Van Horn 1930
Box 9		Moses, Robert 1963-1967
Box 9		Mowrer, Paul Scott 1930, 1943
Box 9		Munsterberg, Hugo 1916
Box 9		M, miscellaneous 1921-1960
Box 9		Nash, Ernest T. 1954
Box 9		National Park Service 1926-1930, 1965
Box 9		Nature Conservancy 1966-1968
Oversize 17		Navy League of the United States 1930 - list of ships
Box 9		Neal, E. Virgil 1931
Box 9		Netherlands Embassy, Washington, D.C. 1952
Box 9		Nevins, Allan 1949-1960, 1965-1966
Box 10		New York World's Fair 1935-1936
Box 10		Newell, Moyca 1959
Box 10		Newell, Wilbur K. 1953
Box 10		Norman, Emile 1957, undated
Box 10		Norton, Garrison 1929, 1956
Box 10		Noyes, Alexander Dana 1931
Box 10		Oakes, John B. 1967
Box 10		O'Brien, Robert Lincoln 1953
Box 10		Ochs, Adolph S. 1925, 1931, undated
Box 10		Orvis, Louise 1927
Box 10		Osborne, Lithgow 1915-1916
Box 10		Oulahan, Richard V. 1926, 1928, 1930
Box 10		Owings, Margaret Wentworth 1965
Box 10		Owings, Nathaniel A. 1956
Box 10		N-O, miscellaneous 1923-1965
Box 10		Page, Frank C. 1930
Box 10		Parsons, Geoffrey 1929-1933
Box 10		Payne, F. H. 1930
Box 10		Pelenyi, John 1928-1933
Box 10		Pell, John 1930-1932
Box 10		Pennell, Joseph 1908
Box 10		Pershing, John J. 1926, 1966
Box 10		Philippine Islands 1905 - studies in Moro history, law, and religion
Box 10		Philippine Islands 1930 - appointment of Vice Governor, congratulations
Box 10		Philippine Islands 1926-1930, 1936 - miscellaneous correspondence
Box 10		Philippine Society of Southern California 1930
Box 10		Phillips, William 1933
Box 10		Platt, S. Phelps 1966
Box 10		Plemp van Duiveland, Lambertus Joannes 1932
Box 10		Poor, Henry V. and Elizabeth 1963, 1966, 1972
Box 10		Porters, Robert 1931-1932
Box 10		Pratt, William V. 1930
Box 10		Prince, John Dyneley 1932-1933
Box 10		Prittwitz und Gaffron, Friederich von 1930
Box 10		Procter, William 1930, 1938
Box 10		Public Affairs Institute 1949
Box 10		Putnam, Carlton 1958-1959
Box 10		P, miscellaneous 1927-1972
Box 10		Quezon, Manuel L. 1928-1930
Box 11		Radvanszky, Albert 1931
Box 11		Reinhardt, Aurelia Henry 1941
Box 11		The restless pacific 1928 - correspondence related to Roosevelt's book
			See also Writings : Books : The restless pacific.
Box 11		Reston, James "Scotty" 1960, 1966
Box 11		Riis, Roger William 1930
Box 11		Roberts, Roy 1953
Box 11		Robinson, Arthur R. 1929
Box 11		Robinson, Corinne 1931
Box 11		Robinson, Edgar and Lisette 1948-1960, 1977
Box 11		Rockefeller, Nelson A. 1946
Box 11		Roerick, William 1966
Box 11		Roosevelt family 1912 - letters from Nicholas Roosevelt addressed to "Family"
Box 11		Roosevelt, Archibald B. 1931, 1947-1960, 1977-1978
Box 11		Roosevelt, Andre and Anna 1927, 1957
Box 11		Roosevelt, Belle undated
Box 11		Roosevelt, Christine 1930
Box 11		Roosevelt, Eleanor 1936, 1938, 1960, undated
Box 11		Roosevelt, Franklin Delano 1920, 1929-1943
Box 11		Roosevelt, George Emlen 1944, 1953
Box 11		Roosevelt, James F. 1957
Box 11		Roosevelt, James West 1872, 1886, 1892, 1894, 1896, 1927, undated
Box 11		Roosevelt, Jean 1956, 1977
Box 11		Roosevelt, Kermit 1915
Box 11		Roosevelt, Laura Henriette 1903, 1912-1916 (5 folders)
Box 12		Roosevelt, Laura Henriette 1917-1945, undated (8 folders)
		Roosevelt, Lorraine
			See Warner, Lorraine Roosevelt.
Box 12		Roosevelt, Oliver W. 1919, 1930-1933
Box 12		Roosevelt, P. James 1966, 1979
Box 12		Roosevelt, Philip 1931, 1953
Box 12		Roosevelt, Selwa undated
Box 12		Roosevelt, Silas Weir 1846, 1851-1854 1882, 1908
Box 12		Roosevelt, Theodore Sr. 1899-1908 - majority of correspondence between President Roosevelt and Nicholas's mother, Laura Roosevelt (3 folders)
Box 13		Roosevelt, Theodore Sr. 1911-1916, undated (2 folders)
Box 13		Roosevelt, Theodore Sr. 1902-1908 - White House invitations (5 folders)
Box 13		Roosevelt, Theodore Jr. 1932
Box 13		Roosevelt, Tweed undated
Box 13		Root, Elihu 1933
Box 13		Royal Hungarian Legation 1930
Box 13		R, miscellaneous 1930-1957
Box 13		Sachs, Alexander 1931
Box 13		Sackett, Frederick M. 1930-1933
Box 13		Saito, Hiroshi 1932
Box 13		Salazar, R. Custodio 1930
Box 13		Saltonstall, Leverett 1927, 1929, 1951, 1959, 1962, 1978
Box 13		Sanger, Elliott M. 1956
Box 13		Sansom, Sir George Bailey 1951-1952, 1957, undated
Box 4		De Sarkany, Julius 1931
Box 13		Satterlee, Herbert L. 1927-1930, 1938, 1944, 1947
Box 13		Sawada, Shinsaku 1930
Box 13		Scenic Hudson Preservation Conference 1962
Box 13		Schoenfeld, Rudolf E. 1931-1933, 1951, 1977
Box 13		Schuyler, Louise Lee 1916, 1924, undated
Box 13		J.H. Sears and Company 1926-1927
Box 13		Sedgwick, Ellery 1927
Box 13		Seldes, George 1940
Box 13		Shaw, Albert 1925
Box 13		Shaw, G. Howland 1931-1933
Box 13		Shirer, William 1932-1933
Box 13		Shotwell, James T. 1930-1932
Box 14		Siegfried, Andre 1931, 1953-1956
Box 14		Sierra Club 1947, 1965
Box 14		Simonds, Frank H. 1919
Box 14		Sizer, Theodore 1958
Box 14		Smith, Corinna Putnam 1930, 1950-1959
Box 14		The Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Speakers, University of Iowa undated
Box 14		The Society of American Historians 1950
Box 14		Sonnenberg, Benjamin 1938, 1953-1956
Box 14		Spice Islands Company 1956-1957
Box 14		Standard Oil of New Jersey 1940
Box 14		State Charities Aid Association 1944-1945
Box 14		Steed, Wickham 1930
Box 14		Stillman, Henry 1930
Box 14		Stimson, Henry L. 1927-1930
Box 14		Stockton, Gilchrist B. 1932-1933
Box 14		Stokes, Harold Phelps 1933, 1953, 1956, 1958
Box 14		Stone, David Lamme 1939
Box 14		Stout, Rex 1956
Box 14		Strawn, Silas H. 1927-1932
Box 14		Strong, Austin 1931
Box 14		Sulzberger, Arthur Hays 1930-1931, 1953, 1958
Box 14		Sun Yat Sen Group 1944-1945
Box 14		Swenson, Laurits S. 1932
Box 14		Szent-Györgyi, Albert 1932
Box 14		S, miscellaneous 1929-1966
Box 14		Taft, William Howard 1926
Box 14		Taylor, Frank J. 1963, 1967
Box 14		Teleki, Pál 1930, 1933, 1941
Box 14		Temperley, Harold W.V. 1933
Box 14		Theodore Roosevelt Association 1966
Box 14		Thompson, Carmi A. 1926
Box 14		Tilby, A. Wyatt 1930
Box 14		Tobin, Richard M. 1925, 1930
Box 14		Toklas, Alice B. 1956
Box 14		Toolman, Harry undated
Box 14		Toynbee, Arnold J. 1950-1951, 1967
Box 14		Tredwell, Roger C. 1931
Box 14		Tsurumi, Yusuke 1930
Box 14		Tuck, S. Pinckney 1930
Box 14		Turner, Charles M. 1931
Box 14		Tyler, William Royall 1931, 1966
Box 14		T, miscellaneous 1930-1967
Box 14		United States Army, Reserve Officer Training Corps 1917, 1919
Box 14		United States Bureau of Insular Affairs 1926, 1930
Box 14		United States Department of Agriculture 1957
Box 15		United States Department of Commerce Bureau of the Census 1946
Box 15		United States Embassy, Budapest, Hungary 1929
Box 15		United States Embassy, Paris, France 1915, 1928 (2 folders)
Box 15		United States Embassy, Rome, Italy 1931
Box 15		United States Legation, Budapest 1932-1933
Box 15		United States Office of War Information 1942-1943
Box 15		University of California, Los Angeles 1962, 1966
Box 15		University of Oklahoma Press 1953-1954 (3 folders)
Box 15		Valentine, Alan and Lucia 1955-1960
Box 15		Van Kleffens, Eelco 1955, 1957
Box 15		Van Nuys, Frederick 1939
Box 15		van Oss, Salomon Frederik 1925-1933
Box 15		Vandenberg, Arthur H. 1938-1939
Box 15		Veloso, Antonio C. 1930
Box 15		Vertesy, Alexander de 1933
Box 15		Villamin, Vicente 1927, 1930
Box 15		Wadsworth, James W. 1937
Box 15		Wagner, Robert F. 1930, 1939
Box 15		Wainwright, J. Mayhew 1930
Box 15		Warner, Langdon and Lorraine 1915, 1933, 1938, 1959, undated
Box 15		Warner, Lorraine Roosevelt 1914
Box 15		Warnshuis, Abbe Livingston 1930
Box 15		Warren, Earl 1943, 1949-1950
Box 15		Warren, Fletcher 1954
Box 15		Watkins, Armitage 1933, 1950-1960 (4 folders)
Box 16		Watkins, Armitage 1965-1967
Box 16		Weingand, Alvin 1965
Box 16		Welles, Sumner 1953
Box 16		Wendell, Evert 1923
Box 16		Weston, Edward 1950-1952
Box 16		Wheeler, Raymond H. 1945
Box 16		White, John R. 1931
Box 16		White, Laura Chanler 1915
Box 16		Whitney, Frederick C. 1956, 1959, 1963
Box 16		Whittlesey, Charles B. 1944-1946
Box 16		Who's Who in America 1947, 1950
Box 16		Whyte, William H. 1962, 1967 1967
Box 16		Wile, Frederic William 1930
Box 16		Wiley, Louis 1929-1933
Box 16		Williams, Daniel R. 1926-1931
Box 16		Williamson, David 1933
Box 16		Willkie, Philip H. 1953
Box 16		Willkie, Wendell L. 1940
Box 16		Willys, John N. 1932
Box 16		Wilson, Charles S. 1931
Box 16		Winslow, Rollin S. 1930-1933
Box 16		Wood, Leonard 1917-1926, 1932
Box 16		WQXR 1945-1950
			See also Sanger, Elliot M.
Box 16		Wright, J. Butler 1930-1932
Box 16		Writer's Service Syndicate 1930
Box 16		Wyeth, Marion Sims 1931
Box 16		Wythe, George 1932
Box 16		Yale University Press 1933
Box 16		Ybarra, T.R. 1932
Box 16		Yosemite National Park 1927
Box 16		Zsigmondy, Kalman 1931
Box 16		Zwicky, Fritz 1961
Box 16		W-Z, miscellaneous 1928-1974
Box 16		Incomplete or illegible 1914-1962 (2 folders)
Box 17		Incomplete or illegible undated

	Financial and legal files
Box 17		Contract agreements 1926, 1952, 1956, 1959
Box 17		Contract for lease of the cutter Atlantico 1932
Box 17		Expense accounts 1925-1926 - for Far Eastern trip
Box 17		Invoices, receipts, royalty statements, etc. 1924-1930, 1954-1958

	Memorabilia
Box 17		Address book, Hungary and Austria 1930-1933
Box 17		Awards and honors, decorations, Belgian and Hungarian 1926
Box 65		Awards and honors, The Order of Merit of the Kingdom of Hungary 1932
		Book reviews - clippings of reviews of Roosevelt's books
Box 17			Creative cooking 1957-1958
Box 17			A front row seat 1953 (2 folders)
Box 17			Good cooking 1959
Box 17			A new birth of freedom 1938
Box 17			The Philippines: a treasure and a problem 1926-1927
Box 17			The restless pacific 1928
		Clippings
Box 17			"Across the painted desert: Nicholas Roosevelt in Northern Arizona, 1913," The Journal of Arizona History 1987
Box 17			The Continental Times 1915
				fragile newspaper clippings
Box 18			The Continental Times 1915 (3 folders)
				fragile newspaper clippings
Box 18			Home and Garden undated (2 folders)
Box 19			Hungarian appointment 1930 (2 folders)
Box 19			Hungary 1931-1932
Box 18			Philippines 1927-1930 (4 folders)
Box 65			Roosevelt, Theodore 1883-1884 - photocopies
Box 19			Miscellaneous 1916, 1918-1936 1933-1949, 1955-1959 (5 folders)
		Diaries - arranged chronologically; titles given below are as written on the item
Box 66			[Untitled] 1906
Box 19			Travels in Arizona 1911
Box 19			[Untitled] 1912
Box 19			Arizona, trip with Theodore Roosevelt 1913 - volumes 1-2 (2 folders)
Box 20			Paris diaries 1914-1916 - volumes 1-3 (3 folders)
Box 20			Diary and letters from Spain 1916-1917
Box 20			Austria and Hungary 1918-1919 (4 folders)
Box 66			[Untitled] 1925
Box 20			[Untitled] 1929
Box 21			Budapest 1930-1931
Box 21			Hungary 1930-1933
Box 21		European trip 1923-1924 - includes money, addresses and itinerary, an introduction letter from Herbert Hoover
Box 21		Evans School roster of former students 1938
Box 21		Family papers
Box 21			"Cousin Alice" recipe book 1939
			D'Oremieulx-Gibbs records and letters
				This material was originally stored in a box which was written "D'Oremieulx-Gibbs records and letters." That heading, and the original order of material, have been retained. D'Oremieulx was the family name of Roosevelt's mother Laura.
Box 66				[General] 1814-1891 (6 folders)
Oversize 16				[General] 1823, undated
Oversize 17				Freemasonry Grand Orient de France 1787
Oversize 6				French manuscript circa 1720 - bound volume by or about Pierre Jacques D'Oremieulx; includes printed biography by Laura D'Oremieulx is included and partly reads, "Pierre Jacques D'Oremieulx esquire, lord of Neuville, which estate he inherited from the de Laviers…he served as councilor of the king in the jurisdiction of Ponthieu and in the presidial court of Abbeville"
			D'Oremieulx, Laura
Box 22				Account book 1879
Box 22				Diary 1930-1931
Box 22				"Miscellaneous questions" 1871-1872 - notebook with educational facts and notes
Box 21			Genealogy 1917-1939
Box 21			Genealogy, draft of booklet prepared by Laura D'Oremieulx circa 1940
Box 21			Genealogy, prepared by Dixon Wector undated (2 folders)
Box 22			Genealogy, Roosevelt family 1950 (2 folders)
Oversize 16			Roosevelt, Clinton 1833 - photocopy of his book, The mode of protecting domestic industry, consistently with the desires both of the south and the north, by operating on currency
Box 66			Roosevelt, Theodore 1894, 1904, 1910-1912 - copies of letters
Box 22		In memoriam of Abraham Lincoln 1865 - printed collection of Lincoln's speeches
Box 22		Invitation to Nicholas Roosevelt from President Woodrow Wilson and the French Ambassador of the United States 1918
		Maps
Box 64			Europe undated
Box 22			Glason's auto-special map of Arizona undated
Box 22		Memoranda for Nicholas Roosevelt 1924-1925
Box 23		Oral history interview with Nicholas Roosevelt by Raymond Henle 1967 - transcript of interview done for Herbert Hoover Presidential Library
Box 69		Oral history interview with Nicholas Roosevelt by Raymond Henle 1967 - trancscript of interview done for Herbert Hoover Presidential Library
Oversize 16		Passport 1919 - Roosevelt's special passport for conducting government business in Europe
		Photographs
Box 23			Roosevelt, Nicholas undated
Box 23			Roosevelt, Theodore 1902, undated
Oversize 16			Roosevelt, Theodore undated
Box 23			Through the painted desert undated - negatives
		Postcards
Box 23			Schuyler mansion
Box 23			Washington D.C. and President Theodore Roosevelt 1901-1905
Box 23		Programs
Box 23		Programs, "Peace jubilee and Roosevelt reception," Oyster Bay, L.I. Sep 21, 1898
Box 23		Promotional material 1935, 1956 - promotions for a lecture series delivered by Roosevelt, includes a biographical sketch of Roosevelt
		Scrapbooks
Oversize 15			America and England? 1930 - scrapbook of clippings and reviews relating to Roosevelt's book
Box 23			Articles by Roosevelt 1935-1937
				See also Writings : Articles.
Oversize 9			Clippings about Roosevelt 1932-1933
				See also Memorabilia : Clippings.
Oversize 13			Clippings about Roosevelt 1935-1936
Oversize 10			Clippings about Roosevelt 1936-1937
Oversize 11			Clippings about and articles written by Roosevelt 1922-1930
Box 24			Clippings about and articles written by Roosevelt undated
Box 24			China, Japan, and Philippines 1926-1927
Oversize 14			Conservation: now or never 1970 - scrapbook of clippings and reviews relating to Roosevelt's book
				See also Correspondence-subject files : Conservation: Now or never.
Oversize 1			Creative cooking 1956
				See also Writings : Books : Creative cooking.
Box 24			Editorials by Roosevelt 1934
				See also Writings : Editorials.
Box 25			Editorials by Roosevelt 1936-1938 (3 volumes)
Box 26			Editorials by Roosevelt 1940-1942 (2 volumes)
Box 26			Editorials and articles by Roosevelt 1934
Box 27			Editorials and articles by Roosevelt 1933-1935 (3 volumes)
Box 28			Editorials and articles by Roosevelt 1935-1939 (3 volumes)
Box 29			Editorials and articles by Roosevelt 1939-1940 (2 volumes)
Box 29			France trip 1914-1915
Oversize 1			A front row seat - scrapbook of clippings and reviews relating to Roosevelt's book
				See also Writings : Books : A front row seat.
Oversize 5			Hungary
Oversize 4			Hungary and the Philippines 1930-1933 - regarding Roosevelt's assignments
Oversize 8			A new birth of freedom 1938 - scrapbook of clippings and reviews relating to Roosevelt's book
Oversize 2			Newspaper articles 1926-1930 (2 volumes)
Oversize 3			Newspaper articles 1926-1930 (2 volumes)
Oversize 7			Theodore Roosevelt: The man as I knew him - scrapbook of clippings and reviews relating to Roosevelt's book
				See also Writings : Books : Theodore Roosevelt: The man as I knew him.
Oversize 12			"Tribune" articles and editorials by Roosevelt 1921-1923
				scrapbook in poor and fragile condition
Box 29			Trip around the world 1915, 1925-1926
Box 30		Tourism magazines, Monterey Peninsula and Big Sur
Box 30		Travel itinerary undated
Box 65		World War I propaganda and clippings 1915

	Writings
		Articles
Box 30			Asia magazine 1934 - regarding Japan
Box 30			China 1926 - drafts
Box 30			Conservation and Informed Public Opinion 1946
Box 30			Foreign Affairs 1929-1960 (2 folders)
Box 30			National Republican Builders 1935-1936 (2 folders)
			Newspapers
Box 30				The Annalist 1924
Box 30				Austria and Hungary 1919 (2 folders)
Box 30				Christian Science Monitor 1934
Box 30				European trip 1923-1924
Box 30				Far eastern trip 1925-1926 - a series of articles that Roosevelt wrote about Asia for The New York Times
				Foreign - articles that Roosevelt wrote for foreign newspapers
Box 30					Dutch 1919, 1923
Box 66					Dutch 1921-1924
Box 31					French 1921-1923 (4 folders)
Box 31					German 1922
Box 31					Le Temps 1922-1925 (6 folders)
Box 32					Le Temps 1922-1925 (3 folders)
Box 66					Le Temps 1922
Box 32					Neue freie presse 1919
Box 66				Foreign Affairs 1912, 1922-1934
Box 32				Los Angeles Times 1929
Box 32				New York Herald Tribune 1923, 1933-1940 (6 folders)
Box 32				New York Times 1923-1933, 1938 (2 folders)
Box 32				This Week 1938-1939
Box 32				Washington Conference on Limitations of Naval Armaments 1921
Box 33				Miscellaneous undated
Box 66			"The Roosevelt record" undated - galley proofs
Box 33			Washington naval conference circa 1922
Box 33			Unpublished 1933-1939, 1966 1966
Box 33			Untitled undated
		Books
			Creative cooking
				Drafts
Box 33					Table of contents, acknowledgments, foreword, Chapters 1-6 undated (12 folders)
Box 34					Chapters 6-18 undated (17 folders)
Box 35					Postscript, index, fragments undated (3 folders)
Box 67				Galley proofs 1956 (2 folders)
Box 35				Jacket copy undated
Box 35				Proof 1957
				Research notes
Box 35					Campbell Soup Company 1953-1956
Box 35					Directions for cooking Borden's meat biscuit 1955
Box 35					House of herbs undated
Box 35					Pressure Cooking Institute undated
Box 35					United States Department of Agriculture 1951-1956
Box 35					Miscellaneous undated
Box 35				Specifications undated
Box 35			Divided They Stand 1930 - manuscript
			Economic forces in the development of American history
				Drafts
Box 35					"Food" undated
Box 36					"Health" undated
Box 36					"Immigration" undated
Box 36					"Isolation" undated
Box 36					"Politics" undated
Box 36					"Religion" undated
Box 36					"Social" undated
Box 36					Fragments undated
Box 67				Notes and research undated (6 folders)
Box 68				Notes and research 1941-1951 (3 folders)
Box 36				Outline undated
			A front row seat
Box 36				"As published," Chapters 1-30 1966 (3 folders)
Box 36				Blurb undated
Box 36				Carbons and notes #1 undated
Box 37				Carbons and notes #2 undated
Box 37				Corrections undated
				Drafts
Box 37					Blurb, table of contents, Chapters 5-32, epilogue undated (9 folders)
Box 37					Pages 1-210 undated (2 folders)
Box 38					Pages 211-333 undated
				Early drafts
Box 38					Chapters 1-30, epilogue 1950 (6 folders)
Box 39					"Birth of Bull Moose" undated
Box 39					"The break-up of an empire" undated
Box 39					"China" undated
Box 39					"Diplomats, archdukes and aristocrats" undated
Box 39					"The dust of New York" undated
Box 39					"The east through Dutch eyes" undated
Box 39					"From Manila to Budapest" undated
Box 39					"A gallery of individualists" undated
Box 39					"Goodbye to Europe" undated
Box 39					"A Habsburg postlude" undated
Box 39					"Hungary" undated (3 folders)
Box 39					"Other presidential aspirants" undated
Box 39					"Paradise on Long Island" undated
Box 39					"Spanish interlude" undated
Box 40					Fragments undated (4 folders)
Box 40				Extracts 1953
				First draft
Box 40					Table of contents undated
Box 40					Chapters 1, 3, 22 undated (3 folders)
Box 40					Chapters "B-E" undated (4 folders)
Box 40				Research notes
				Rough draft
Box 41					Pages 2-136 undated
Box 41					"Americanizing Malays" undated
Box 41					"Arizona" undated
Box 41					"Herald Tribune" undated
Box 41					"In the neighboring capitals" undated
Box 41					"MacArthur" undated
Box 41					"Manchuria" undated
Box 41					"New York Times" undated
Box 41					"Office of War Information" undated
Box 41					"On the lecture front" undated
Box 41					"Paris in World War I" undated
Box 41					"T.R. and the 1912 campaign" undated
Box 41					"Spanish interlude" undated
Box 41					"Time to think" undated
Box 41					"The Vienna mission" undated
Box 41					"Visiting the front" undated
Box 41					"With Wilson in Paris" undated
			Good cooking
Box 42				Author's copy with corrections 1959 (5 folders)
Box 42				Blurb undated
				Drafts
Box 42					Chapters 1-3 undated (3 folders)
Box 43					Chapters 5-9 undated (13 folders)
Box 44					Chapters 9-17 undated (13 folders)
Box 45					Chapters 18, appendix, chapter outline, index, and fragments undated (6 folders)
Box 68				Galley proofs 1959 (5 folders)
Box 45				Notes and research undated
Box 45				Recipes undated (3 folders)
			Hungary - unpublished
Box 45				Drafts undated (2 folders)
			A new birth of freedom
Box 45				Drafts, chapters 1-17 undated (2 folders)
			The Philippines: a treasure and a problem
Box 46				Foreword undated
			Stream of liberty
Box 46				Chapter outline undated
				Early drafts
Box 46					Foreword, introduction, table of contents, chapters 1-7 undated (24 folders)
Box 47					Chapters 8-16 1954, undated (33 folders)
Box 48					Chapters 17-23 1954 (23 folders)
Box 49					Chapters 24-28 1954 (19 folders)
Box 50					Chapters 28-34 1954 (16 folders)
Box 51					Chapter 34, epilogue, discards, and fragments 1954 (11 folders)
Box 51				Final draft undated (2 folders)
Box 52				Final draft undated (4 folders)
Box 52				Final draft, 1954 version 1954 (2 folders)
Box 53				Final manuscript 1954 (2 folders)
Box 54				Final manuscript 1954 (2 folders)
Box 55				First carbon undated (3 folders)
Box 55				Review copy with notes by Allan Nevins 1963 (2 folders)
				Roots of American freedom version
Box 55					Preface, chapters 1-27 1964 (3 folders)
Box 56					Chapters 1-27 undated (3 folders)
Box 56					Drafts 1963 (3 folders)
Box 56					Final drafts, preface, chapters 1-21 1964
Box 57					Final drafts, chapters 11-28 1964
				Working copy
Box 57					Chapters 1-29, footnotes undated (3 folders)
			Theodore Roosevelt: The man as I knew him
Box 58				Corrections undated
				Early drafts
Box 57					Table of contents, foreword, chapters 1-8 undated (9 folders)
Box 58					Chapters 9-15, footnotes undated (8 folders)
Box 58				Galley proofs undated
Box 58				Illustration proofs undated
				Research notes
Box 58					Adams, Henry undated
Box 58					Clippings undated
Box 59					"Extracts from TR speeches collected by Jacob Riis" undated
Box 59					"Friends and associates" 1964-1965
Box 59					Hay, John undated
Box 59					Interviews 1954-1955, 1964
Box 59					Lee, Alice undated
Box 59					Mahan, Alfred Thayer 1965
Box 59					"Mind and character" 1965
Box 59					Quotes from NR's diary 1965
Box 59					Quotes from TR's autobiography undated
Box 59					Republican party machine undated
Box 59					Roosevelt, Alice 1964
Box 59					"TR as reformer" undated
Box 59					Miscellaneous 1964-1965, undated
Box 59			United States foreign policy 1916 - unpublished
Box 59		Book reviews - written by Nicholas Roosevelt
Box 69		Book reviews 1923-1941 - written by Nicholas Roosevelt (3 folders)
Box 69		Dispatches, United States embassy in Hungary to United States Department of State 1931-1933 (3 folders)
Box 59		Editorials 1917
Box 69		Editorials 1927-1930 (3 folders)
Box 59		Letters to the editor 1920-1921, 1956-1958
		Personal narratives and reflections
Box 59			Account of Republican convention, 1912 undated (3 folders)
Box 60			Arizona notes 1913 - typed and bound, includes photographs
Box 60			Diary of far eastern journal 1925 - typed and bound
Box 60			European trip 1923-1924 (3 folders)
Box 60			The great rainbow natural bridge undated
Box 61			A history of a few weeks 1919 - typed and bound
Box 61			Paris diary, volume 1 1914-1916 - typed and bound (3 folders)
Box 62			Paris diary, volumes 1-2 1914-1915 (10 folders)
Box 62			Through the painted desert to the North Rim of the Grand Canyon of Arizona undated
Box 62			Washington conference on limitations of naval armaments 1921-1922
			Western trip 1933
		Speeches
Box 62			"America in the making" 1938 - delivered at the dedication of the Hungarian Garden, Cleveland
Box 62			American journalism undated
Box 62			American motorhome exhibit opening speech, Philadelphia, PA 1935
Box 62			Citations by the Kiwanis Club to certain New York newspapers, extension of remarks of Hon. Albert Hawkes 1945
Box 62			"Conservation and informed public opinion" 1946 - delivered at the North America Wildlife Conference
Box 62			"Creative dollars abroad" 1940
Box 63			Foreign Policy Association remarks 1936
			"Is a world system possible?" 1937
Box 63			"Leaving the Philippines" 1935
Box 63			Leydon University lectures on American journalism 1932
Box 63			Mills College lecture series 1941 (2 folders)
Box 63			Nixon for president speech circa 1968
Box 63			Radio address 1940
Box 63			"The right to a free press" 1941
Box 63			Savings Banks Women's Association of the Metropolitan Area, New York 1940
Box 63			"The shape of things to come: a look towards the year 2000" 1958 - delivered at Monterey Peninsula College
Box 63			"Should we stay in the Philippines" 1940
Box 63			Statement for Philippine Herald 1930
Box 63			Statement for the United Press 1935
Box 63			Town meeting of the air remarks 1940
Box 63			"Two amazing years" 1935
Box 63			"Which road to peace now?" 1936
Box 63			"Who Owns America?" 1935
		Miscellaneous
Box			Book chapter draft, "Season to taste" 1970
Box 63			Memorandum of conversation with Admiral A. Andrews about the Normandie fire 1942
			Notes
Box 63				Far eastern trip 1926
Box 69				Loans to foreign nations undated
Box 63				Mussolini 1933
Box 63				On lace undated
Box 63				Vienna 1919
Box 63				Miscellaneous undated
Box 63			Poem, "Ballad of English" 1914
		Writings by others
Box 63			Addresses and speeches given by Leonard Wood 1912, 1917-1918, undated
Box 70			Brief on behalf of Scenic Hudson Preservation Conference, reply on behalf of Scenic Hudson Preservation Conference 1966
Box 63			Memorandum on Albania, by Franz Nopcsa 1919
Box 65			Poems written by others undated
Box 70			Private approaches to the preservation of open land, by Russell L. Brenneman 1967

Return to top