Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Schweitzer, Albert, 1875-1965.
Title:	Albert Schweitzer Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1896-1965
Quantity:	18 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the theologian, philosopher, physician, organist, and music scholar; born in Alsace, France. Founded a missionary hospital in Lambaréné, French Equatorial Africa (now Gabon). Received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1952 for his advocacy of the brotherhood of nations. Collection includes correspondence (1901-1965); 123 notebooks (1918-1965); manuscript essays and lectures on religion, philosophy, and medicine; and sermons. Correspondence includes nearly 1400 letters between Schweitzer and wife Hélène Bresslau (1901-1939); 396 letters (1950-1965) written in German to Erica Anderson; 180 letters to daughter Rhena Schweitzer Miller; and 70 letters to various recipients, including 3 to Rudolf Bultmann. Notebooks document Schweitzer's daily life in Lambaréné, the diseases and stories of his patients, and the arrival of visitors to the mission. They also contain poems, quotations, excerpts from books on philosophy, religion, and history; clippings from French, German, English, and African newspapers; reports on world politics; and commentaries on himself and his work.
Language:	Majority in English, some in French and German
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Albert Schweitzer (January 14, 1875-September 4, 1965), German theologian, philosopher, musician, musicologist, doctor, surgeon, and medical missionary, was born in Kaysersberg, Alsace (French territory then occupied by Germany), the son of a liberal Lutheran minister, Louis Schweitzer, and Adele (Schillinger) Schweitzer. He began music lessons at age five, went on to study theology and philosophy at Strasbourg University and, briefly, philosophy at the Sorbonne in Paris. In 1902 he became a lecturer in the faculty of theology at Strasbourg University, and in the following year principal of the Theological College of St. Thomas.

Even at this young age, Schweitzer was well-known throughout Europe for his achievements in music and theology. He was an exceptional performer and critic of Bach as well as an influential organ-builder whose published works were to change the pattern of organ restoration and installation. In theology and philosophy, his unorthodox ideas about the need for reason and truth within Christian dogma were earning him controversy and praise. The publication in 1906 (1910 in English) of his The Quest of the Historical Jesus, in which Schweitzer took a new look at the Synoptic gospels and tried to understand exactly what Jesus really believed, was a landmark in Christian theology.

In 1896, despite a sucessful scholastic career, Schweitzer decided that he could not live a life purely devoted to academia. "I decided that I would make my life my argument," he said, intending to act out his beliefs rather than just preach them. At the age of thirty he returned to Strasbourg University to study medicine and in 1913 he became a fully qualified doctor, with a specialization in tropical diseases. He began actively to raise funds for the establishment of a hospital in equatorial Africa. Although his unorthodox theology was received by most mission societies with suspicion and disapproval, the Paris Missionary Society at last agreed to sponsor his venture and gave him land on which to build his hospital. This he did, with the help of his wife, Hélène Bresslau, who had qualified as a nurse to help with his mission.

The Schweitzers set up their hospital in Lambaréné, a fiercely tropical area of French equatorial Africa. Schweitzer's unorthodox medical methods (he ran Lambaréné like a typical African village) were frequently criticized but Schweitzer believed that blending African culture with his own techniques would address the needs of the population better than the imposition of a purely Western style upon them. The affection and trust he inspired in those who came to him for treatment and the success of his hospital over the years would seem to confirm this view. The villagers christened him "Oganga," meaning "the fetishman," a term of respect. By the time of his death, Lambaréné had about seventy buildings and attracted dedicated and talented medical staff from around the world.

At the outbreak of World War I he and his wife, both German citizens, were palced under house arrest and eventually taken to an internment camp in France, where they stayed until the end of the war. In 1924 he returned to Lambaréné, rebuilt the hospital on a new site, and spent the rest of his life devoted to its development, traveling regularly to Europe to give concerts to raise funds. Hélène's health suffered after her experience in the internment camp and she remained in Europe, apart from the occasional visit, but their daughter Rhena trained as a laboratory technican so she could work alongside her father.

Prior to the outbreak of World War II, Schweitzer continued to visit and lecture in Germany until the increased power of the Nazis made it no longer safe. The war itself drove Lambaréné to the brink of closure, but assistance from the Unitarian Service Committee in America enabled it to recover.

Schweitzer's ethical system, which he termed Reverence for Life, centered on a belief that everything on earth is equally sacred. "Man's ethics," he said, "must not end with man, but should extend to the universe." In his view, it is up to mankind to invest living with moral value, since nature and the universe are neutral. Schweitzer elaborated this theory in his writings and exemplified it in his own life, refusing to kill anything, even insects, unless it was absolutely essential. (Part of the responsibility of this approach, he knew, was the need to accept that in some situations killing is necessary.)

In 1952 Schweitzer was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, the money from which he put towards building a leper colony near the hospital. In 1957 Hélène died, and thereafter he remained at Lambaréné. He became increasingly outspoken on the issue of nuclear weapons, joining with some of the greatest intellects in the world to discuss and denounce their proliferation. In 1958 he made three radio appeals from Oslo entitled "Peace or Atomic War?," and until the end of his life he welcomed visiting journalists or politicians who wished to discuss this issue with him.

He died, peacefully, in 1965, and was buried alongside his wife at Lambaréné.

(Biographical statement adapted from World Authors 1900-1950 (1996) Copyright (c) by The H. W. Wilson Company)

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Assembled from a variety of sources, the Albert Schweitzer Papers spans the years 1896 to 1965 and comprises Correspondence, Writings and Memorabilia of the Nobel Peace Prize-winning humanitarian doctor (1875-1965). Of Alsatian background, Schweitzer spoke both French and German, and his notebooks and family correspondence move freely, at times randomly, between the two. In 1913 Albert Schweitzer relinquished a promising career as a theologian and musician to travel to French Equatorial Africa where he established a hospital at Lambaréné on the Ogowe River. Documenting Schweitzer's realization of his own philosophy of "reverence for life," the collection offers an intimate look at the thoughts and daily life of one of the most revered men of the twentieth century.

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence/subject files (boxes 1-5) consists primarily of original letters which Schweitzer wrote to his wife Hélène (née Bresslau), his daughter Rhena, and his biographer and friend Erica Anderson. Other correspondents include Emory Ross, Director of the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship, biographer Hermann Hagedorn, and John F. Kennedy, to whom there is a draft of a Schweitzer letter.

Writings (boxes 6-21) includes a working copy with notes for revisions of the book More from the Primeval Forest; essays, including drafts for his three radio messages on the dangers of nuclear proliferation; 127 notebooks covering the years 1918 to 1965; program notes for an organ concert; thoughts on nuclear weapons testing; the script for the documentary film "Albert Schweitzer;" as well as a short story, speeches and sermons.

Constituting the bulk of the Writings and arranged chronologically, the notebooks (boxes 7-19) "make up the core of what might be generally considered Albert Schweitzer's personal journal." (Ursula Berkling "The Albert Schweitzer Papers at Syracuse University", Syracuse University Library Associates Courier, vol.XXI, no.2, Fall 1986, p.27) They embrace a wide variety of topics, including official hospital records and accounts of daily life at Lambaréné, as well as travel diaries of Schweitzer's many concert and/or lecture tours to Europe and the United States. The notebooks also contain observations about people and world events; explorations of ideas in philosophy, theology, linguistics and music; records of and excerpts from Schweitzer's correspondence; financial and personnel records; construction hints; poems; recipes; and many other items indicating a mind that seems to have been interested in everything. Together with the dates and Schweitzer-provided titles for most notebooks, a partial description of their contents is listed.

A watercolor painting by Lambaréné nurse Gloria Coolidge; clippings; photographs, some signed by either Schweitzer or photographer Erica Anderson; a book on harmony and a pamphlet about French missionary work in Africa, both inscribed by Albert Schweitzer to his daughter; two copies of an autograph typescript essay, "Les Deux Frères," by Nikos Kazantzakis; and some early documents from Schweitzer's days as a student at the University of Strassburg constitute Memorabilia (box 22 and oversize package 1). Also included is a mahogany box, possibly made at Lambaréné, which is inscribed "avec mes bonnes pensées Albert Schweitzer."

Original Schweitzer letters to Raymond P. Currier, Hermann Hagedorn, and Emory Ross were relocated to this collection from the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship Records, as were original Schweitzer letters to Clarence F. Avery from the Albert Schweitzer Center Records.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The library also holds the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship Records (one series of which is the Albert Schweitzer Center Records). Other Albert Schweitzer-related material at Special Collections Research Center may be found among the papers of Rudolf Bultmann, Edwin T. Dahlberg, Hermann Hagedorn, and Charles R. Joy. See also the Johanna Reitzer Collection on Albert Schweitzer.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Albert Schweitzer Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, in part, by Library Associates from Rhena Schweitzer Miller.

The bulk of the notebooks and the correspondence with both Hélène Schweitzer and Rhena Schweitzer were purchased from Rhena Schweitzer Miller with funds provided by Syracuse University Library Associates. Additional letters and notebooks, Albert Schweitzer's early papers, and the Nikos Kazantzakis manuscripts are the gift of Rhena Schweitzer Miller.

Copies of Schweitzer's letters to Rudolf Bultmann, an original letter to Hauptverband Baumwollindustrie Frankfurt, a map of Lambaréné, and an Erica Anderson portrait of Albert Schweitzer are the gift of Antje Bultmann Lemke.

A letter to Mrs. Otto A. Pokorny and an autograph portrait of Albert Schwietzer are the gift of Mrs. Carl H. Grathwol.

Letters to Irving Townsend, Columbia Records gift of Elizabeth Nestor, 2009.

The William P. Tolley Endowed Library Fund supported the purchase of concert program notes and a printed autograph portrait of Albert Schweitzer.

The mahogany box bearing Schweitzer's inscription is the gift of Kimberlee T. Knauf.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: unknown
Revision history: 14 Oct 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 8 Jan 2010 - additions (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence/subject files
		American Leprosy Mission
			See Currier, Raymond P.
		Anderson, Erica
Box 1			Inventory of Erica Anderson correspondence
Box 1			Correspondence 1950-1965 (18 folders)
				See also Writings: Scripts
Box 2		Avey, Clarence F. 1946-1965
Box 2		Boegner, Alfred July 9, 1905
Box 2		Bresslau, Harry Dec. 22, 1911
		Bresslau, Hélène
			See Schweitzer, Hélène
Box 2		Bultmann, Antje Oct. 11, 1931
Box 2		Bultmann, Rudolf 1929, 1931
		Christian Medical Council for Overseas Work
			See Hume, Edward
Box 2		Columbia Records (Irving Townsend) 1952
Box 2		Courboin, Charles N. Dec. 28, 1946
Box 2		Currier, Raymond P. May 12, 1956
Box 2		Dahlberg, Edwin T. Apr. 23, 1945
		Eckert, Rhena
			See Schweitzer, Rhena
		Ehretsmann, Louisa
			See Memorabilia: Correspondence by others
Box 2		Schweitzer, Louisa
		Evangelical Women's Union
			See Pokorny, Mrs. Otto A.
Box 2		Hagedorn, Hermann 1944, n.d.
Box 2		Hauptverband der Baumwollindustrie Frankfurt June 28, 1955
Box 2		Heuss-Knapp, Elly 1950
		Hill, Jerome
			See Writings: Scripts
Box 2		Hume, Edward 1942-1944
Box 2		Kennedy, John F. 1962
Box 2		New South Wales Peace Committee July 15, 1962
Box 2		Pokorny, Mrs. Otto A. June 11, 1933
Box 2		Riedert, J. Mar. 14, 1906
Box 2		Ross, Emory 1941-1965 (17 folders)
		Schweitzer, Hélène
Box 2			Selected list of correspondence
Box 2			Correspondence 1901-1906 (9 folders)
Box 3			Correspondence 1907-1913 (9 folders)
Box 4			Correspondence 1919-1939 (20 folders)
		Schweitzer, Louis
			See Memorabilia: Correspondence by others
		Schweitzer, Louisa
			See Memorabilia: Correspondence by others
		Schweitzer, Rhena
Box 5			Selected list of correspondence
Box 5			1925-1965 (31 folders)
Box 5		Steinwascher, Rolf 1959
Box 5		Urquhart, Clara May 12, 1962
		Von Halen, Luise
			See Memorabilia: Correspondence by others
		Von Schubert, Margaret - recipient
			See Memorabilia: Correspondence by others
		Unidentified
Box 5			"Dear Friend" June 10, 1908
Box 5			Re: request for medical supplies 1963

	Writings
		Books
Box 6			More from the Primeval Forest - working copy with notes for revision and photographs
		Essays
			"Friede oder Atomkrieg"
				"Erster Appell: Verzicht auf Versuchsexplosionen"
Box 6					Typescript - autograph
Box 6					Holograph notes
Box 6					Typescript - English translation
Box 6					Typescript with notes - French translation
				"Zweiter Appell: Die Gefahr eines Atomkrieges"
Box 6					Typescript with notes - 4 copies, one bearing a signature
Box 6					Typescript with notes - French translation
				"Dritter Appell: Verhandlungen auf höchster Ebene"
Box 6					Typescript with notes - 4 copies, one bearing a signature
Box 6					Typescript with notes - French translation
Box 6			"Für Japan"
Box 6			"Für Reform des Orgelbaus" 1927
Box 6			"Die Geziehungen zwischen und farbigen Rassen"
Box 7			"Jesus und wir" Jan. 23, 1906
Box 7			"Los von Unmenschlichkeit, los von Atomwaffen"
Box 7			"Nachtrag zu 'Orgelbaukunst'" Feb. 1927
			"Paix ou Guerre Atomique"
				See "Friede oder Atomkrieg"
			"Peace or Atomic War"
				See "Friede oder Atomkrieg"
Box 7			"Von Neuen Testament"
		Notebooks
Box 7			[untitled] 1918-1919 - names, addresses, schedules, notes for lectures
Box 7			"Reise Herbst 1921 Reise Schweiz" 1921 - diary of the Switzerland trip
Box 7			"Reise nach Schweden Herbst 1921" 1921 - diary of a concert and lecture tour through Sweden
Box 7			[untitled] 1921 - names, addresses, memory aids, timetables, income tax calculations
Box 7			"Concert-r[?] Vortragsreise Schweden. Januar - April 1922 Reise Schweden-Berlin-Paris-England - Schweden" 1922 - notes from the concert and lecture tour
Box 7			"Reise England Früjahr 1922" 1922 - notes on programs, organs and people during a concert tour of England
Box 7			"Tournée in Dänemark Herbst 1922" 1922 - notes about lectures, sermons, concerts and organs; remarks about people and accommodations; plans for a trip to Germany
Box 7			[untitled] 1922 - addresses; comments about people, organizations, and contributors
Box 7			[untitled] 1922 - addresses; comments about people in England, Ireland, Canada and the United States
Box 7			"Reise nach Prag und München Januar 1923" 1923 - notes from a concert tour to Prague
Box 7			[untitled] 1923 - addresses; notes on construction, medical problems, supplies needed for Africa; comments on book reviews
Box 7			"Afrikareise Februar 1924" 1924 - detailed description of the trip from Bordeaux to Africa; addresses; notes on medical issues
Box 7			"Reise Schweden Herbst 27, Reise Dänemark Herbst 27 Rückkehr durch Deutschland Herbst 27" 1927 - notes on a concert tour through Sweden and Denmark
Box 7			"Reise Holland September 1927 Reise nach England September 1927" 1927 - notes on a concert tour through the Netherlands and England
Box 8			"Concerte Schweiz Herbst 1928" 1928 - addresses; descriptions of programs and organs on a concert tour through Switzerland
Box 8			"Concertreise Deutschland Herbst 1928" 1928 - addresses; descriptions of programs and organs on a concert and lecture tour through Germany
Box 8			"Reise Holland Früjahr 28, Reise England Früjahr 28, Rückkehr durch Holland Früjahr 28" 1928 - descriptions of programs and organs; notes about people; addresses
Box 8			"Notizbuch 1928" 1928 - notes about lectures and concerts in the Netherlands and England; poems; hymns; addresses; royalty statements; notes on tropical diseases; a list of lectures given at the University of Strassburg from 1902 to 1912
Box 8			"Concert und Vortrage Reisen in Elsass und Deutschland 1929_Januar bis Juni" 1929 - notes on programs, organs, people and accommodations; timetables; information about distribution of donations
Box 8			"Voyage Strassbourg - Lambaréné Nov.-Dec. 1929" 1929 - baggage list; addresses; expenses; notes during the voyage to Africa
Box 8			"Notizbuch 1929" 1929 - notes on daily events, incoming letters, and organs; poems; lists of books, clothing, medical supplies and potential personnel for Lambaréné; recipes; thoughts on the Apostle Paul
Box 8			"Comm[andes] médicam[ents] Hôpital Schweitzer 1930-1951" 1930-1951 - orders for medicine, medical instruments, and books
Box 9			"Notizbuch 1930" 1930 - hospital accounts; supplies; names; addresses; comments about people who have applied to work at the hospital; clippings; quotes; jokes
Box 9			"Therapeudische Notizen" 1930 - medical notes
Box 9			"Notizbuch 1931" 1931 - notes on hospital business matters; clippings; quotes; abstracts of letters; notes on the history of the church in Günsbach; plans for future lecture tours
Box 9			"1932 April Reise Holland Früjahr" 1932 - notes on a concert and lecture tour through the Netherlands
Box 9			"England Früjahr 1932" 1932 - addresses; comments on people, concerts and lectures; notes on the conferring of an honorary doctorate at Oxford
Box 9			"Paris - Berlin 1932 12 Nov." 1932 - addresses; appointments; notes about a meeting with Gerhard Hauptmann and Albert Einstein
Box 9			"Vorträge und Konzerte 1932 Deutschland" 1932 - lists of individuals and associations to be invited to concerts
Box 9			"Notizbuch 1932" 1932 - notes on salaries for doctors; travel notes from Germany, France, Switzerland, the Netherlands and Scotland; remarks on concerts and interviews; some family research; a list of expenditures; thoughts on the Goethe centennial; ideas on philosophy; plans for meetings with Ina Seidel, Widor, Einstein, Gerhard Hauptmann and Cosima Wagner
Box 9			"Voyage à Paris 25_II_1933, 17 Avril 1934, 6_VII_1934" 1933-1934 - notes, names and addresses from the concert tour to Paris. (The page following the entries for April 18 and 19, 1933 has a note written by Marcel Dupréon which Schweitzer has written "for Rhena Schweitzer - autograph of Marcel Dupré.")
Box 9			"IVe Voyage à Lambaréné avec Brazza-Afrique 18 Marz - 22 April 1933" 1933 - diary of the 4th Africa voyage, including expenses, events, and addresses for letters of thanks
Box 9			"Listes des malades pour lesquelles il y a à établir une facture 1931" 1933 - a list of patients who had been billed in 1931; notes on Chinese and Indian languages
Box 9			"Notizbuch 1933" 1933 - notes for the upcoming trip to Africa; remarks on books and lectures; quotes; poems; accounts; addresses with personal comments; list of birthdays of the Schweitzer family; a speech in Latin for Oxford University; technical notes on organs and medicine
Box 9			"Voyage en Angleterre octobre 1934" 1934 - addresses, schedule and notes from the concert tour to England and France
Box 9			"Anfragen für Concerte Vorlesungen und Vorträge in England, zussamengestellt Reiseheften und Briefen - dazu Adressen" 1934 - addresses from England, with inquiries about and invitations for concerts and lectures
Box 9			[untitled] 1934 - addresses; book and medical supply orders; notes on philosophy and language; memoranda about lectures, medical treatments, and a planned trip to England; newspaper clippings; poems; an abstract of a letter from Mendelssohn
Box 10			"Vorträge in Schweiz Januar 1935" 1935 - notes from a lecture tour through Switzerland, with themes, appointments, addresses, and a list of donations
Box 10			"Départ pour Lambaréné. Docteur 5 février 1935" 1935 - notes from the 5th voyage to Africa, with a baggage list
Box 10			"Voyage en Angleterre - Herbst 1935 - Gifford - lectures II" 1935 - plans for the trip to England; notes; addresses; technical information about organs; notes on concerts and lectures; clippings; quotes; poems; lists of purchases and orders; names of candidates for Lambaréné; a list of recordings; a review of the year 1936
Box 10			"Voage[sic] Lambaréné - Lausanne aôut-septembre 1935" 1935 - notes from the 5th voyage to Africa, with a baggage list
Box 10			Diary from the 5th voyage to Africa, and from the voyage to Europe; 1935 - Addresses; comments about books; clippings; poems; notes on personnel matters; technical details about organs; thoughts on the philosophy of civilization; plans for future lecture tours
Box 10			"Vorträge + Konzerte Schweiz April - Mai 1936" 1936 - notes on programs, itinerary, and participating conductors and organizers; addresses; expenses of the concert and lecture tour through Switzerland
Box 10			[untitled] 1936 - notes on concerts and lectures; clippings; quotes; poems; lists of purchases and orders; names of candidates for Lambaréné; technical details about organs; a list of recordings; a review of the year 1936
Box 10			"Sur succession des ----- -----" 1937 - notes on preparations for the 6th voyage to Africa; addresses; comments on correspondence; quotes; poems; thoughts about philosophy; a diary of the voyage
Box 10			"Voyage sur --- Foucauld, Bordeaux-Port Gentil. Départ Afrique avec Foucauld (ancièn) 29_I_1937" 1937 - notes made on the 6th voyage to Africa, including names of the crew and a detailed baggage list
Box 10			"Uber werk bei --------" 1938 - diary from Lambaréné, including medical issues, personnel matters, addresses; information about donations; plans for the upcoming trip to Europe; a review of the year 1938
Box 10			"2 voyages. Voyage de retour Lambaréné - Günsbach janvier 1939 sur Asie (11_1 - 2_2_39) et retour Lambaréné 14_2_39" 1939 - notes on the two voyages; baggage list
Box 10			[untitled] 1939 - notes from two voyages (to and from Europe) and from a sojourn in Alsace, including information about supplies ordered; poems; notes on correspondence; clippings; lists of contributors; comments about the imminent outbreak of war in Europe
Box 10			"Calculs de la déclarations de l'impôt sur la revenu" 1940-1955 - customs forms; lists of supplies
Box 11			[untitled] 1940 - addresses; notes on correspondence, medical and personnel matters; expenditures; remarks about the war, including an extensive description of the 20 day seige of Lambaréné
Box 11			"Cahier des Editeurs 1941_1942_1943_1944_1953" 1941-1944, 1953 - addresses of editors, with notes about financial agreements
Box 11			[untitled] 1941 - addresses; a description of life at Lambaréné, including Hélène Schweitzer's arrival; quotes; recipes; notes on personnel matters; remarks about astronomy and gardening
Box 11			"Medizinische Notizen Heft III" 1942 - medical notes 1942 list of hospital personnel; poems; quotes; recipes; notes on medical issues; addresses, with comments about people; a review of the year 1942
Box 11			[untitled] 1943 - list of hospital personnel; poems; quotes; recipes; reminiscences; addresses, with comments about people; thoughts about religion; clippings; a review of the year 1943
Box 11			[untitled] 1944 - notes on daily events; addresses; recipes; personnel matters; quotes; remarks about the American capture of Strassburg; comments about a will; a review of the year 1944
Box 11			[untitled] 1945 - notes on daily events at Lambaréné; comments about the end of the war; notes on correspondence
Box 11			"Déclaration de Revenues 1946_1947_1948_1949_1950_1951_1952_1953_1954" 1946-1954 - income tax returns
Box 11			"Medizinische Notizen Heft IV" 1946-1950 - medical notes 1946 addresses; excerpts from correspondence; poems; recipes; notes about Jean Paul Sartre and about the Strassbourg-Basel railroad line; lecture notes; clippings; a review of the year 1946
Box 12			"11 Adresses importants 21 lettres à ecrire" 1947-1948, 1953-1954 - addresses and notes about correspondence to be answered
Box 12			[untitled] 1947 - addresses; notes on books; quotes; poems; clippings; comments about construction projects at Lambaréné
Box 12			"Reise Schweiz 2_11_48" 1948 - addresses, with comments about people
Box 12			[untitled] 1948 - notes about daily events and politics; addresses; comments about people and correspondence; historical dates in African history; history of the Schweitzer family; poems; lecture invitations; concert programs
Box 12			"Voyage en Amérique 22_6_49" 1949 - addresses; comments about people; and other notes from the U.S. trip
Box 12			"Voyage en Amérique 22_6_1949 Günsbach Alsace" 1949 - notes about the U.S. trip; lists of addresses
Box 12			"Voyage Scandinavie-Hollande 8_9_1949" 1949 - notes about the trip through Scandinavia and the Netherlands; addresses; timetables; comments about people
Box 12			"Paris octobre 1949" 1949 - short notes; addresses from the trip to Paris
Box 12			"Départ 28 octobre 1949 Brazza pour Lambaréné" 1949 - addresses; short notes
Box 12			"Voyage Suisse 1949" 1949 - addresses, with comments about people; other notes from the trip to Switzerland
Box 12			Daily events in Alsace 1949 - notes about Bach and Goethe in preparation for the U.S. trip; addresses; poems; quotes; excerpts from letters; comments on books
Box 12			A diary from Lambaréné 1950 - including comments on greetings for Schweitzer's 75th birthday; names of candidates for Lambaréné; quotes; clippings; historical notes; recipes; a list of authors and actors banned from East Germany
Box 12			"Voyage Lambaréné-Günsbach par Foucauld quittant Bordeaux le 19 juin 51" 1951 - notes from the trip to Europe, including addresses; a list of baggage; a detailed description of the voyage
Box 12			"Frankfurt 16_9_51" 1951 - mostly a list of addresses
Box 12			"Paris 22_9_51" 1951 - short notes on schedules and people
Box 12			A diary from Lambaréné, 1951 - including notes about medical issues, politics, and religion; excerpts from letters about book and recording contracts; comments about the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship; clippings; various notes from the trip to Europe
Box 13			"Voyage Bordeaux - Lambaréné sur Foucauld. Départ 28_11_52" 1952 - notes form the voyage, including information about people, addresses, and a list of baggage
Box 13			"Voyage Lambaréné - Alsace par Foucauld 5-23 juillet 1952" 1952 - notes from the voyage, including a list of baggage, the names of the crew
Box 13			"Liste der im Jahre 1952 beantworteten Briefe" 1952 - a list of letters answered in 1952
Box 13			"Paris 1952" 1952 - names; addresses; comments about people
Box 13			[untitled] 1952 - notes on daily events; orders; excerpts from books; poems; timetables; comments about people
Box 13			"Medizinische Notizen" 1953 - medical notes
Box 13			[untitled] 1953 - addresses; notes about daily events at Lambaréné and in the world; quotes; notes on medical issues and personnel matters; orders; comments about correspondence. Also included are Schweitzer's comments about the message from the Nobel committee notifying him of his selection as recipient of the Peace Prize
Box 13			"cahiers spéciaux des calculs des Revenus en: 1954_1955_1956_1957_1958_1959_1960_1961_1962_1963_1964_1965." 1954-1965 - a list of income by year
Box 13			"Affaire Réduction Impôts des Français en USA à 15% calculs à présenter lettre Paris 18 sept." 1954-1958 - records of income in the United States
Box 13			"Oslo 1954" 1954 - addresses
Box 13			"Général LeClerc - Voyage Günsbach - Lambaréné. Embarquement 10 déc. 1954. Port-Gentil 27 déc. 54" 1954 - notes from the voyage, including a list of baggage 1955 "Voyage Angleterre automne 1955" addresses, with comments about people
Box 13			"Voyage Paris automne 1955" 1955 - notes from the trip to Paris and Switzerland
Box 13			"Cahier 1955" an extensive diary, including poems, reminiscences, notes about medical issues and incoming letters 1955
Box 14			"Notes médicales 1956_1957_1958. Et Esquires de Commandes" 1956-1958 - orders for medical supplies
Box 14			"Commandes et envois de sont genre attendées et arrivés" 1956-1957 - addresses, with comments about people
Box 14			[untitled] 1956 - extensive diary with personal thoughts and poems
Box 14			"Voyage Lambaréné - Bordeaux sur Brazza 2-20 aôut 1957" 1957 - notes from the voyage to Europe, including addresses; a list of baggage
Box 14			"Voyage Bordeaux - Lambaréné déc. 1957 Brazza" 1957 - travel documents; a baggage list
Box 14			"Lambaréné 1957" 1957 - addresses, with comments about people
Box 14			"Voyages en 1957" 1957 - addresses, with comments about people
Box 14			[untitled] 1957 - addresses, with comments about people; notes on daily events and personnel matters; clippings with notes about atomic testing issues; financial records; excerpts from correspondence
Box 15			"Devant liste des lettres pressées" 1958-1959 - addresses; excerpts from correspondence; a list of exchange rates for various currencies
Box 15			[untitled] 1958 - addresses; excerpts from correspondence; notes on daily events
Box 15			[untitled] 1958 - extensive notebook from Lambaréné, with clippings; comments on current events and history; notes on personnel and patients; poems; excerpts from correspondence
Box 15			"Voyage en Europe de aôut à fin novembre" 1959 - addresses; schedule; a list of baggage; comments about people and accommodations
Box 15			"Voyage Bordeaux - Port Gentil sur Général Leclerc 9 dec.-27 dec. 1959" 1959 - a list of baggage; some comments on people
Box 15			"Cahier 1959" 1959 - addresses; clippings with comments
Box 15			"Notices 1959" 1959 - clippings, with comments on a wide variety of subjects
Box 16			"Zeitungsnachrichten und gedanken über Atom problem" 1959 - notes on world events; clippings, with comments
Box 16			[untitled] 1959 - notes on daily events; addresses, with comments about people
Box 16			[untitled] 1959 - (cover missing) clippings, with a few comments
Box 17			[untitled] 1960 - addresses; comments about people and contributions
Box 17			[untitled] 1960 - mostly clippings, with comments
Box 17			"Atom. nouvelles sur la question" 1961 - clippings, with comments
Box 17			"Cahier 1961" 1961 - clippings, with comments; quotes; poems
Box 17			"Lettres et affaires 1961" 1961 - some clippings; notes on correspondence
Box 17			"Ausschnitte in Atomsachen 1962" 1962 - clippings, with comments, mostly concerning nuclear testing and the Cuban Missile Crisis
Box 18			"Cahier 1962" 1962 - mostly clippings, with comments
Box 18			"1) Courrier 1962 2) Notices sur affaires 1962" 1962 - notes on correspondence; a list of expenses
Box 18			"Notizbuch für Hosentasche" 1962 - addresses with comments about people; contributions
Box 18			"Lettres envoyés 1963" 1963 - a list of letters answered
Box 18			"Nouvelles et notices Notizbuch" 1963 - clippings, with comments covering a variety of subjects
Box 18			"Atom Waffen Sachen und Politik" 1964 - clippings, with comments
Box 18			"Taschen Notizbuch" 1964 - daily events; notes on correspondence and donations
Box 18			"Notizbuch 1965" 1965 - a few clippings, with comments
Box 18			[untitled] 1965 - mostly clippings, with comments; a few addresses
Box 19			"Medizinische Notizen Heft II" undated - medical notes
Box 19			"Medicaments Suisse" undated - list of medication available from Swiss medical supply firms
Box 19			"Medicaments USA" undated - list of medication available from U.S. medical supply firms
		Program notes
Box 20			Draft of program notes for November 28, 1920 organ concert at Fraümunster, Zürich - holograph manuscript, printed program, and English translation
		Scripts
			"Albert Schweitzer" - a film biography
Box 20				Notes for director Jerome Hill
Box 20				Shooting scripts with notes 1953, undated (3 folders)
Box 20				"Skizzen des Film, notizen für Erica" Oct. 26, 1953
Box 20				"Text zu den Bildern" Dec. 1954
Box 20				"Text zu den Günsbachszenen" undated
Box 20				"Text zu den szenen in Günsbach" undated
Box 20				Miscellaneous notes 1963, undated (3 folders)
		Sermons
Box 20			Lambaréné Jun. 22-Sept. 28, 1930
		Short Story
Box 20			"Moderne Berufe - der Wanzenzüchter" undated
		Speeches
Box 20			"Goethe als Denker und Mensch"
Box 20			"Message pour la centenaire/ de deBrazza/ de la naissance fêté à Alger le 15 fevrier " 1952
		Miscellaneous
Box 20			"Der Stromschnellen-Fetisch von Theodor Steimen"
Box 20			"Meddelanden från Professor Albert Schweitzer" 1928, 1945
Box 20			Notes on atomic weapons testing and disarmament 1960, 1961, undated (9 folders)

	Memorabilia
Box 21		Selected list of memorabilia
		Artwork
Box 21			Watercolor painting "Le Docteur Schweitzer et Monsieur Eckert devant la maison à Gunsbach" by Gloria Coolidge
Box 21		Clippings 1903, 1910, 1965, undated (2 folders)
Box 21		Concert programs and schedules 1912, 1928, 1929, undated
		Correspondence by others
Box 21			Schweitzer, Louis to Hélène Bresslau Mar. 13, 1912
Box 21			Schweitzer, Louisa to Hélène Schweitzer Dec. 28, 1926
Box 21			Von Halen, Luise to Margaret Von Schubert 1963
		Manuscripts by others
Box 21			"Les Deux Frères" by Nikos Kazantzakis - autograph typescript (2 copies)
		Photographs
			Portraits of Albert Schweitzer
Box 21				"Night Rounds" by Erica Anderson, and bearing her signature
Box 21				Lambaréné, with Albert Schweitzer signature 1944
Box 21				Printed portraits (2), each with Albert Schweitzer signature (2 folders)
Box 21				Portraits (4), no signatures
Oversize 1				Portrait of Schweitzer mounted with scene of Lambaréné, by Erica Anderson, and bearing her signature undated
			Miscellaneous
Box 21				Scenes of Lambaréné
Box 21				Printed portrait of Carl Ludwig Schleich with holograph note by Albert Schweitzer
		Printed material
Box 21			"Contrepoint et Harmonie" A. Dommel-Diény
Box 21			"Mission du Congo Français sur les Rives de l'Ogooué" inscribed "À ma fille Rhéna. Albert Schweitzer Lambarènè" 28_6_1961
		Miscellaneous
Box 21			Class schedules from Strassburg 1906-1908, undated
Box 21			List of students and their fees
Box 21			Map of Lambaréné with Albert Schweitzer signature 1954
Box 21			Pi Kappa Lambda membership certificate and pin 1948
Box 21			Themes for the theological "Staatsexamen" 1896
Box 21			Miscellany
Oversize 1			Mahogany box inscribed "avec mes bonnes pensées Albert Schweitzer"

Return to top