Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Toney, Anthony.
Title:	Anthony Toney Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1932-1969
Quantity:	7.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American painter. Collection includes correspondence (1932-1969); artwork, and printed material, including articles, clippings, and exhibition catalogs.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Anthony Toney (1913- ) is an American painter and teacher. Born in Gloversville, New York, to Syrian immigrant parents, Toney graduated from Syracuse University and studied at L'Academie de la Grande Chaumiere and L'Ecole Superieur des Beaux Arts. He served with the Abraham Lincoln Brigade during the Spanish Civil War and in the United States Navy during World War II.

Toney had his first one-man show in 1941, followed by numerous shows and exhibits in New York City. He painted murals and taught mural painting under the auspices of the WPA in the early 1940s and taught for more than forty years at the New School for Social Research. In 1955 he received an honorary DFA from Teacher's College, Columbia University, and in 1985 he -- along with other veterans of the Abraham Lincoln Brigade -- was honored by the Spanish government for their service. He is also the author of four books.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Anthony Toney Papers consist of correspondence, memorabilia, news clippings, painting-related material, printed material, and writings.

Correspondence spans more than thirty years. Memorabilia consists mainly of social invitations but also includes biographical and financial material. News clippings holds assorted clippings relating to Toney.

Painting has a few original drawings, some copies, and critiques. Printed material contains catalogs, magazines and educational material. Writings includes a number of Toney's student work (term papers, etc.) and a few published articles.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically; all other series are arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Anthony Toney Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: circa 1966
Revision history: 26 Nov 1979 - additions (DMW); 11 Mar 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Undated (2 folders)
Box 1		1932-1965 (10 folders)
Box 2		1966-1969 (4 folders)

	Memorabilia
Box 2		Advertising and personal
Box 2		Biographical
Box 2		Invitations, reports (4 folders)
Box 3		Invitations, reports
Box 3		Miscellaneous (2 folders)
Box 3		Personal
Box 3		Receipts

	News clippings
Box 3		Miscellaneous (5 folders)
Box 4		Miscellaneous (2 folders)

	Painting
Oversize 1		Artwork, original (19 items)
Oversize 1		Artwork, reproductions (10 items)
Box 4		Critiques

	Printed material
Box 4		Exhibition catalogs (5 folders)
Box 4		Magazines (2 folders)
Box 5		Educational materials (4 folders)
Box 5		Bulletins, articles
Oversize 1		News clippings (338 items)

	Writings
		College papers on art
Box 6			Typescripts (3 folders)
Box 6			Typescripts, notes
Box 6			Papers (14 folders)
Box 6		Published articles
Box 6		Advertising

Return to top