Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Verbeck, William Jordan, 1904-1965.
Title:	William Jordan Verbeck Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1942-1963
Quantity:	6 linear ft.
Abstract:	American Army General and career military officer. Collection includes manuscripts, printed material, subject files and correspondence.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

William Jordan Verbeck (1904-1965) was an American military officer who retired with the rank of General. His father, Brig. Gen. William Verbeck, was head of The Manlius School, a military academy in Aurora, New York. During World War II General Verbeck was named commander of the 21st Infantry Division and then chief of staff of the 24th Infantry Division, and during the Korean War he was senior advisor to the G3, Republic of Korea Army. He was decorated numerous times, including the Distinguished Service Medal, Silver Star with oak leaf cluster, Legion of Merit with oak leaf cluster, Bronze Star Medal with valor device and two oak leaf clusters, Army Commendation Medal and Purple Heart with oak leaf cluster.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William Jordan Verbeck Papers includes manuscripts, printed material, subject files and correspondence. Please see the box listing below for more details.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection has received minimal processing and remains in original order as received.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William Jordan Verbeck Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of William Jordan Verbeck, 1963.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: circa 1964
Revision history: 27 Oct 2010 - converted to EAD (MRC); 23 Mar 2022 - oversize memorabilia rehoused, description expanded (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Box listing
Box 1		Script for "The Army Hour," 28N43, plus "Infantry in Alaska" by WJV
Box 1		Address on Aleutian campaign
Box 1		"Emergency foods in the Aleutians" 1943
Box 1		"Action on Attu" 1943
Box 1		Scrapbooks of Japan and Europe
Box 1		Map of Mindanao, award, 2 files of material on Verbeck's service
Box 1		Miscellaneous material on the Phillipines
Box 2		Letters from 21st Infantry men received after the war
Box 2		Japan
Box 3		1955 register of graduates of West Point
Box 3		Photographs of Verbeck
Box 3		Citation from The Manlius School 1955
Box 4		Photograph album, Antilles
Box 4		Photographs of China, etc.
Box 4		Miscellaneous printed material, including Manlius Old Boys Bulletin with story by Verbeck
Box 5		A Regiment in Action by Verbeck 1946 - history of 21st Infantry in the Phillipines
Box 5		File on Dutch harbor and Amchitka Jun 1942-Jan 1943 - includes photographs, radiograms, lists of personal unit journal
Box 5		Leyte historical report of the 24th Infantry Division landing team Oct 1944-Dec 1944
Box 5		File of "secret" memo re war in Alaska
Box 5		Photograph album, Attu, Massacre Bay
Box 5		File on Aleutians, map of Amchitka
Box 6		Scrapbook of clippings of Alaska, Philippines, Japan
Box 6		Packet of ID cards
Box 6		"The enemy on Kiska" compiled by the Asst. Chief of Staff - includes one volume of illustrative material
Box 6		Photograph albums, Philippines, Escola Superior de Guerra
Box 7		Certificates, awards, orders, decorations, letters re promotion 1957
Box 8		The 24th Infantry Division: a brief history, other printed material
Box 8		Army orders file 1945-1959
Box 8		Personnel records jacket USA for Verbeck
Box 9		Miscellaneous memorabilia, clippings, some on Fort Devens
Box 9		Public Achievement Award from University of Massachusetts 1962
Box 9		Other awards, photographs
Box 10		Children of Yesterday / Valtin, San - on Philippine Islands campaign
Box 10		The Howitzer 1927 - annual of U.S. Corps of Cadets, West Point
Box 10		Photograph album of visits to hospitals and divisions
Oversize 2		Military commissions - commissions, awards, Distinguished Service Medal text, etc.
Oversize 2		Photograph of Verback 1956 - formal portrait photograph of Verbeck in uniform
Oversize 1		Photograph of first graduating class of the National War College 1946 - formal group portrait, with names printed below
Oversize 2		[Photography log] 1956 - ledger listing names, addresses, descriptions etc of people, places, and animals photographed
Oversize 1		USS Constitution cruise certificate 1946
Oversize 2		Miscellaneous certificates - diplomas, "Neptune Society," honorary citizenship, etc.

Return to top