Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Wilhelm, Kate, 1928-
Title:	Kate Wilhelm Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1954-1964
Quantity:	6.0 linear ft.
Abstract:	American author, science fiction short story writer, playwright, novelist. Typescript draft and manuscript novels, plays, and short stories; galley proofs, clippings, correspondence, and notes.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Kate Wilhelm (1928- ) is an American author, science fiction short story writer, playwright, and novelist. Over her career she has written science fiction, fantasy, mysteries, drama, humor, stage productions, and radio plays, and her novels and stories have been translated to more than a dozen languages. Both she and her husband, science fiction author Damon Knight, influenced and assisted hundreds of aspiring writers through their classes, lectures, workshops, and other teaching opportunities in the United States, South America, and Asia. The two were instrumental in establishing the Clarion Writer's Workshop and the Milford Writer's Conference, which have launched the careers of numerous award-winning writers.

Wilhelm has won one Hugo (for her novel Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang) and three Nebula Awards, and her stories been nominated more than twenty times for Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Awards.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kate Wilhelm Papers consist of writings and miscellanea. Writings contains books, plays, and short stories, including the book Mate in Four, co-authored with Damon Knight. Miscellaneous contains advertising, clippings, correspondence, notes, personal material, and various publications, as well as a degree from the British Interplanetary Society.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Writings are subdivided alphabetically by type and within that arranged alphabetically by title. Miscellaneous is arranged alphabetically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

See also the Damon Knight Papers. In addition, our holdings include papers from a number of other well-known science fiction authors; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for more information.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Kate Wilhelm Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MPK
Date: 25 Oct 1978
Revision history: 31 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

	Writings
		Books
Box 1			A Dark Night for Seeing - typescript
Box 1			April Fool's Day Forever - typescript
Box 1			The Breaking Point - typescript (2 folders)
Box 1			Christine - typescript
			The Downstairs Room
Box 1				Typescript
Box 1				Galleys (3 sets)
Box 1			The End of Summer - typescript
Box 1			Every Way is Up - typescript (2 folders)
Box 1			The Galactic Handout - outline
Box 1			The Haunted Planets - typescript
Box 1			Jelly World - notes
			The Killer Thing
Box 2				Typescript (3 folders)
Box 2				Galleys (3 sets)
			Let the Fire Fall
Box 2				Typescript (3 folders)
Box 2				Galleys (5 folders)
Box 3				Book (unbound)
			Margaret and I
Box 3				Rough draft
Box 3				Typescript (2 folders)
Box 3				Photocopy
Box 3				Correspondence
Box 3				Galley
			Mate in Four
Box 3				Typescript
Box 3				Carbon copy
			More Bitter Than Death
Box 3				Rough draft
Box 3				Typescript (2 folders)
			The Nevermore Affair
Box 3				Typescript (3 folders)
Box 4				Typescript
Box 4				Galleys (2 folders)
Box 4				Miscellaneous
Box 4			The Phlopp - typescript
			Quote Me No Ravens
Box 4				Notes
Box 4				Typescript
			Walk a Tightrope
Box 4				Outline
Box 4				Rough draft
Box 4				Typescript
Box 4				Carbon copy
Box 4				Revised edition (2 folders)
Box 4			What Extent Fear - typescript
			Year of the Cloud
Box 5				Typescript (2 folders)
Box 5				Galleys (2 sets)
		Plays
Box 5			Andover and the Android
Box 5			Go Search the Shadows
			Tiger
Box 5				Notes
Box 5				Typescript
		Short stories
Box 5			A-C
				Apostolic travelers All about Ginnie Automatic washer Andrean Way Beau for Aunt Carrie Bungling Cabin in the woods Caesar's wife Custer's last stand
Box 5			D-H
				Daisy chain Dark night for seeing (corres. only) Decision The gel (Jellyworld) The guessing House call
Box 5			I-N
				I write science fiction Into the valley and out I've had it! Lady in waiting Let there be music Long, long road a'winding Long weekend Mr. Crillion Money in the bank No light in the window [untitled plot outline]
Box 5			O-S
				Ordeal on Tycho's flank Other one percent Pigeon bait Psychic betrayal Push in the right direction Sets Some dialogues they'll never use
Box 5			T-Y
				Third side of the fence To keep Felicia happy Unvanquished heart Vanishing partners Villain of the piece Way for those different Weaker sex What goes up You can't take the king

	Miscellaneous
Box 6		Advertising
Box 6		Clippings
Box 6		Correspondence
Box 6		Degree
Box 6		Notes
Box 6		Personal - family, sons
Box 6		Publications

Return to top