Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Wolseley, Roland Edgar, 1904-1998.
Title:	Roland E. Wolseley Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1898-2009
Quantity:	45 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American journalist, author, and journalism professor at Syracuse University, including material relating to his study of the Black press in America.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Ave., Suite 600 Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center/university-archives

Biographical History

Roland Edgar Wolseley (1904-1998) was an American journalist, author, and journalism professor whose career spanned more than six decades.

Born in New York City as Rolando, he was known throughout his life as Roland. An only child, he traveled extensively with his parents during early childhood. When his parents separated when he was 12, he never saw his biological father again. His mother remarried Alfred J. Thompson, a man who had little interest in having a child in the home, leading Wolseley to spend much of his teenage years living with relatives or in foster care.

Wolseley attended Schuylkill Seminary (now Albright College) in Reading, Pennsylvania, where he began his journalism career by writing for both the school and local newspapers. He later earned a master's degree from the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University, where he also taught for eight years. His tenure at Medill ended when he was dismissed for his outspoken pacifist views during World War II.

In 1946, Wolseley joined the faculty at Syracuse University, where he would go on to teach journalism for more than 25 years. Known as a demanding yet respected educator, he mentored generations of students, two of whom went on to receive Pulitzer Prizes. His leadership and reputation helped elevate the Newhouse School to national prominence and played a key role in attracting publisher Samuel Newhouse to invest in the school during the early 1960s.

Beyond the classroom, Wolseley was a prolific writer and researcher. He published more than 1,000 articles, and wrote, co-wrote, and edited over 25 books. From 1952 to 1954 he served as a Fulbright instructor in India where he helped establish journalism schools and wrote on Indian journalism. He also served for 65 years as book review editor for Quill and Scroll magazine.

A pioneer in the study of the Black press in America, Wolseley founded the first university-level course on the subject at Syracuse University. Frustrated by the lack of textbooks available on the subject, he authored Black Press U.S.A in 1972, one of the earliest comprehensive surveys of African American journalism.

Besides his professional life, Wolseley was married to his wife Bernice for over 30 years until her death in 1980. They had no children. He later married Isabel, and they remained married until his death. He had personal interests in stamp collecting and tennis. While at Syracuse University, he often played doubles tennis with fellow journalist professor Philip Burton, university administrator Frank Wingate, and Chancellor William Tolley. "Tolley hated to lose," Wolseley once remarked, "so we let him win often."

Wolseley died in Syracuse, New York on May 31, 1998 at the age of 94.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Roland E. Wolseley Papers span the entirety of Wolseley's professional and personal life, and includes academic materials, biographical materials, correspondence, memorabilia, photographs, printed material, subject files, and writings.

Academic materials documents Roland's experiences as both a student and professor. It includes faculty reports, lecture notes, reports, and transcripts. The series also contains conference materials such as articles, correspondence, newsletters, and pamphlets.

Biographical materials consists of biographical sketches, clippings, correspondence, diary entrees, identification cards, his resume, and a memorial book. The correspondence includes condolence letters sent to Wolseley's widow, Isabel, following his death. The diary entrees document his 1958 trip Cuba.

Correspondence comprises both personal and professional correspondence. The correspondence is primarily outgoing. There is correspondence with institutions, colleagues, friends, and publishers. There is also correspondence while he was a Fulbright Scholar in India from 1952-1954.

Memorabilia contains awards, certificates, an honorary degree academic hood, printing plates, travel pamphlets, and a wax stamp with Roland's face on it.

Photographs features images of Wolseley and his family, including photos of his mother's house in Havana, Cuba.

Printed material consists of clippings, academic journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers, primarily relating to the Black press.

Subject files covers the topics of Black journalists, journalism, and religious journalism. Wolseley was also a stamp collector, so there are several folders relating to postage stamps.

Writings comprises the majority of the collection and is divided into articles, books, and speeches. Articles address topics such as journalism in India, the Black press, freedom of the press, public relations, and race. Files related to Books include correspondence, drafts, manuscripts, illustrations, photographs, promotional material, reviews, and research material. Additional materials include book covers, scrapbooks, and publishing agreements. Books represented include The Black Press, U.S.A (1971), Careers in Religious Communications (1977), The Changing Magazine (1973), The Modern Viking: The Story of Fridtjof Nansen (unpublished), Understanding Magazines (1969), and Writing for the Religious Market (1956). Speeches primarily focus on the Black press.

Wolseley’s original organization and folder titles have been largely retained, which means that material on a given topic may appear in multiple places. The researcher is advised to review the entire inventory to ensure they locate all relevant materials.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically mainly by name of correspondent, although in the middle of the series are correspondence related to Wolseley's time in India. Writings are subdivided by type and within each type arranged alphabetically by title. All other series are arranged alphabetically by topic or type of material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

More than 400 books were removed from the collection and sent to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items (search on "Gift of Roland Wolseley" or "Gift of Roland E. Wolseley").

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Roland E. Wolseley Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Roland E. Wolseley and Isabel C. Wolseley Torrey, 1999-2009, 2023.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 26 Aug 2010
Revision history: Sep 2025 - collection processed (DTF and PMK)

Return to top

Inventory

	Academic materials
		Conferences
Box 1			Articles 1950, 1954 undated - regarding various conferences
Box 1			Christian Writers' and Editors' Conference 1954-1970, undated (5 folders)
Box 1			Conference summaries 1951, 1956
Box 1			Correspondence 1950, 1954
			Curriculum Writers' Conference
Box 1				Correspondence 1960
Box 1				Workshop materials 1960
			International Christian Writers Seminar
Box 1				Articles 1962 - regarding the conference
Box 1				Basic writing course 1962
Box 1				Conference information 1961-1962 - materials provided to attendees
Box 1				Correspondence undated
Box 1				Outlines 1962
			Newsletters 1956-1957
Box 1			Pamphlets and flyers 1951, 1955-1970
Box 1			Writers' conferences 1944, 1948-1950, 1955-1958, 1962-1963, undated
Box 1		Contemporary thought notebook 1927
Box 1		Englewood Evening High School 1932
Box 1		Faculty load reports 1946, 1952-1972 - from Syracuse University
		Lectures - given by Wolseley
Box 2			"How to train for Christian writing," Christian Writers Institute undated
Box 2			"You could have better newspapers" 1970
Box 2			"New goals for religious journalism: I. Does the church communicate successfully?" 1964
Box 2			"New goals for religious journalism: II. A look at church publishing philosophies" 1964
Box 2			"New goals for religious journalism: III. A possible change" 1964
Box 2			"New goals for religious journalism: IV. Report on an educational experiment" 1964
Box 2		Official transcripts 1941 - Wolseley's transcript as a graduate student at Northwestern University
Box 2		SCWG Seminar undated - full name of seminar unknown, bibliography (2 folders)
Box 2		Schuylkill College bulletin 1925
Box 2		Schuylkill College handbook 1925
Box 2		Seminar proceedings 1969
Box 2		"A study of diversification of the operations among the United States magazine publishing companies" 1963 - college student project Wolseley assisted with and wrote introduction for
Box 2		Miscellaneous 1939-1941, 1950, 1972, undated

	Biographical materials
Box 3		Bibliography and resume 1950, 1990, 1995-1997, undated
Box 3		Biographical writings 1959, 1992-1994, undated - includes those by Wolseley and others
		Book group memorial for Bernice - materials from a memorial for Wolseley's deceased wife held by her book club
Box 3			Articles 1981
			Correspondence
Box 3				Gulson, Edgar 1981
Box 3				Upstate Medical Center 1980-1981
Box 3				Upstate Medical Center Foundation Inc. 1981-1982
Box 3				Miscellaneous 1950, 1981-1982
Box 3			Notes 1951
Box 3			Wolseley memorial collection 1987
Box 3			Miscellaneous 1980-1981
Box 16		Clippings about Wolseley from Quill and Scroll 1951-1952 - includes book reviews written by Wolseley
Box 3		Condolence letters on Wolseley's death 1998 (5 folders)
Box 4		Condolence letters on Wolseley's death 1998 (10 folders)
Box 5		Condolence letters on Wolseley's death 1998 (5 folders)
Box 5		Correspondence in regards to Wolseley 1998-2003, 2006-2008
Box 65		Death certificate and funeral arrangements 1998
Box 6		Cuba trip diary 1938-1939
Box 5		Cuba trip diary entries 1958
Box 9		Get well soon cards 1971, undated
Box 5		Identification cards 1934-1999
Box 5		Memorial book 1998
Box 6		Memorial book material 1998 - clippings, letters, and funeral booklets for the memorial book (2 folders)
Box 6		Thompson, Alfred J. 1898, 1931, 1937, undated - Wolseley's stepfather, includes poems that Thompson wrote, government documents, and certificates
Box 65		Thompson, Alfred J. 1936
Box 6		Thompson, Erminie Rath Wolseley 1916, 1922, 1941, 1967, 1987, undated - Wolseley's mother, includes certificates and obituary
Box 65		Miscellaneous 1948, 1969, 1973, undated

	Correspondence
Box 72		Address cards 1957-1996
Box 6		Allen, Gina 1961-1962
Box 6		Armstrong, Margorie 1975-1981, 1991, 1994
Box 6		A, miscellaneous 1971-1981, 1990-1994 (3 folders)
Box 6		Barnhart, Margaret 1976-1979
Box 65		Barrow Information Group 1987-1990
Box 7		Burge, Sylvia 1952, 1980
Box 7		B, miscellaneous 1969-1981, 1984, 1990-1994 (5 folders)
Box 7		Caruana, Claudia 1975-1981, 1990-1994 (3 folders)
Box 7		Carty, Jim 1971-1981, 1990
Box 7		Chilton Company, Book Division 1958-1960 (2 folders)
Box 7		Confer, Vince and Bettsy 1972-1978
Box 8		C, miscellaneous 1925, 1930-1931, 1968, 1971-1994 (5 folders)
Box 8		Diesen, Lilly 1971-1981, 1990-1993
Box 8		D, miscellaneous 1971-1981, 1990-1994 (3 folders)
Box 8		E, miscellaneous 1927, 1953, 1957, 1971-1981, 1989-1994, undated
Box 9		Fench, Tom 1977-1979, 1993
Box 9		F, miscellaneous 1972-1983, 1990, 1993-1994, undated (3 folders)
Box 9		Gilmore, Hayden 1975
Box 9		G, miscellaneous 1970-1979, 1989-1994 (2 folders)
Box 9		Hale, Meg 1965, 1971-1974
Box 9		H, miscellaneous 1945, 1962, 1971-1981, 1990-1994 (5 folders)
		India - Wolseley had this correspondence grouped together, which was retained
Box 9			The Christian Council of India and Pakistan 1950-1951
Box 9			Conference Board of Associated Research Councils 1950-1951
Box 9			Moses, David 1952
Box 10			United States, Department of State 1951-1952
Box 10			United States Educational Foundation in India 1951-1953
Box 10			United States Information Service 1952
Box 10			Miscellaneous 1952-1953
Box 10			No name/illegible 1952, undated
Box 10		I, miscellaneous 1965, 1971-1980, 1990-1991, undated
Box 10		J, miscellaneous 1950-1951, 1971-1980, 1987, 1991, 1997 (2 folders)
Box 10		Kent, Ruth 1971-1981, undated (6 folders)
Box 10		K, miscellaneous 1971-1983, 1990-1991
Box 11		K, miscellaneous 1993-1996
Box 11		Leaves, Vivien and Dorris 1969-1981, 1990-1991
Box 11		L, miscellaneous 1960-1962, 1971-1977, 1981-1984, 1990-1991 (2 folders)
Box 11		Maroney, Sheila 1971-1981, 1990-1994 (2 folders)
Box 11		Miller, Elmer 1924-1928, 1965
Box 11		M, miscellaneous 1933, 1962, 1971-1981, 1990-1995, undated (3 folders)
Box 11		Nicholas, David 1971-1972, 1979, 1991-1993
Box 11		N, miscellaneous 1928, 1969, 1971-1981, 1990-1991 (4 folders)
Box 11		O, miscellaneous 1966, 1971-1976, 1979-1982, undated
Box 12		P, miscellaneous 1971-1981, 1991-1994, undated (3 folders)
Box 12		Quayle, Ed and Mary Jane 1939-1942, 1955 1971-1972 (4 folders)
Box 12		Quill and Scroll 1972-1975, 1979-1985, 1990-1994, undated
Box 12		Q, miscellaneous 1974, 1978-1979, 1993
Box 12		R.J. Berg and Co., Inc. 1988-1989
Box 12		Rawlings, Elden 1974-1976
Box 12		R, miscellaneous 1955, 1971-1981, 1993-1994, undated (3 folders)
Box 12		Soth, Connie 1979-1981, 1990-1993
Box 12		Syracuse University 1955, 1968, 1980, 1993
Box 12		S, miscellaneous 1961-1962, 1965, 1971-1975 (2 folders)
Box 13		S, miscellaneous 1976-1980, 1983, 1988-1994, undated (3 folders)
Box 13		T, miscellaneous 1933-1937, 1971-1979, 1991-1994 (2 folders)
Box 65		T, miscellaneous 1978
Box 13		U, miscellaneous 1957, 1961, 1969-1979, 1991, 1994 (2 folders)
Box 13		V, miscellaneous 1971-1978, 1993-1994
Box 13		Who's Who in America 1973, 1994-1996
Box 13		Wolseley, Bernice 1943, 1974-1978, undated (2 folders)
Box 13		W, miscellaneous 1971-1977 (3 folders)
Box 14		W, miscellaneous 1978-1981, 1990-1994, 1997, undated (2 folders)
Box 14		Y, miscellaneous 1971, 1974-1976
Box 14		Zissa, Robert 1990-1993
Box 14		Z, miscellaneous 1976-1977
Box 14		First name only 1932-1942, 1957, 1962, 1971-1978 (11 folders)
Box 15		First name only 1979-1981, 1990-1994, undated (7 folders)
Box 15		Unidentified 1976-1978 (3 folders)

	Memorabilia
Box 15		Articles about Wolseley 1938, 1941-1942, 1948-1952, 1955, 1960-1962, 1966-1969, 1972-1988, 1992-1993, 2001, 2009, undated (3 folders)
Box 15		Autograph book for reception honoring the Wolseleys 1947
Box 65		Award for dedication to journalism, Christian Writer's and Editor's Conference 1966
Box 15		Certificate of Literacy 1947
Box 15		Citation for the Black Press USA, Kappa Tau Alpha 1990
Box 15		Citation of Honor, Associated Church Press 1984
Box 16		Clippings about Wolseley, Syracuse University In Focus 1949 - includes story with photos of Wolseley
Box 3		Clippings about Wolseley's death 1998
Box 15		Dinner honoring Wolseley, Syracuse University Newhouse School Alumni Association 1988
Box 15		Golden reunion certificate, Northwestern University Alumni Association 1978
Oversize 1		Honorary degree hood 1955 - presented to Wolseley by Albright College
Box 15		Honorary Doctor of Letters, Albright College 1927, 1955
Box 15		Joint Resolution honoring Wolseley, Associated Church Press 1969
Box 15		Membership certificate, Sigma Delta Chi undated
Box 15		Membership certificate, Theta Alpha Kappa 1983
Oversize 1		Printing block undated - portrait of Wolseley
Oversize 1		Printing plates undated - portrait of Wolseley (2 items)
Oversize 2		Retirement award 1972
Box 15		Travel pamphlets for India 1959, 1962, 1965-1967
Box 16		Travel pamphlets for India 1962, 1966 (2 folders)
Box 63		"Walter and Mary" 1979 - artwork from Mexico
Oversize 1		Wax stamp undated
Box 16		Wolseley Award, United Methodist Association of Communications 1979, 1986-1988

	Photographs
Box 16		"ET and AJT J SI house, Havana" 1949, undated - Wolseley's mother and stepfather's home in Cuba
Box 16		Thompson, Alfred J. 1919, 1928, 1938 - Wolseley's stepfather
Box 16		Thompson, Erminie Rath Wolseley 1904, 1921, 1924, undated - Wolseley's mother
Box 16		Vancouver trip, hummingbird nest undated
Box 16		Wolseley, Roland 1925, 1928-1930, 1943, 1949-1961, 1964-1965, 1968, 1974, 1984, 1992, undated (4 folders)
Oversize 2		Wolseley, Roland 1922, 1925-1926, undated
Box 16		Wolseley's 65th birthday party at Andy Fountaine's 1969
Box 16		Wolseley's mother's home in Cuba undated

	Printed materials
Box 65		The Black newspaper in America: A guide, 3rd edition 1973
Box 65		The Black press in America: A guide 1970
		Journals - full issues of academic journals mostly regarding the Black press
Box 65			A, miscellaneous 1973-1974, 1987
Box 65			Beav-Cocoa 1970
Box 65			The Black scholar 1970, 1974
Box 65			B, miscellaneous 1970-1973
Box 65			Center for Communication Research 1973
Box 65			First world: An international journal of Black thought 1977
Box 65			Freedomways 1981
Box 65			Negro American literature forum 1967
Box 65			P, miscellaneous 1957
Box 65			The review of Black political economy 1970
Box 66			Sage: A scholarly journal on Black women 1988
Box 66			Scrawl: A literary quarterly 1924-1928 (3 folders)
Box 66			Sistahs: The bulletin for Black corporate women 1987
		Magazines - full issues of primarily Black press magazines used by Wolseley for research into the Black press
Box 66			About time 1995-1997 (2 folders)
Box 66			American visions 1986
Box 66			The Black collegian 1996-1997 (2 folders)
Box 66			B, miscellaneous 1969-1972, 1986
Box 66			C, miscellaneous 1960, 1969, 1985-1987
Box 66			Dawn magazine 1987
Oversize 2			Ebony 1974, 1979
Box 66			Equal opportunity: The minority student magazine 1972
Box 67			E, miscellaneous 1973, 1988-1989
Box 67			F-G magazine 1989
Box 67			H, miscellaneous 1972, 1990
Box 67			J, miscellaneous 1968-1969, 1985-1986
Box 67			M, miscellaneous 1967, 1975
Box 67			N, miscellaneous 1970, 1986
Box 67			P, miscellaneous 1970-1976
Box 67			Relevant 1972
Box 67			R, miscellaneous 1983, 1987
Box 67			S, miscellaneous 1972-1974
		Newsletters
Box 67			The capstone 1987
Box 16			Edmundite missions 1987
Box 67			The Lincoln journalism newsletter 1944-1951 (3 folders)
Box 68			The Lincoln journalism newsletter 1952-1955
Box 68			The network 1983
Box 68			NNPA intercom 1971-1979 (3 folders)
Box 68			The parents' notebook 1986
Box 68			Programs 1980, 1987
Box 68			Reports 1969-1970
		Newspapers - issues of Black newspapers used by Wolseley for research into the Black press
Oversize 6			A-B 1970, 1973-1974, 1986-1989, 1996
Oversize 6			C-G 1970, 1974-1975, 1979-1983, 1987-1988, 1994-1995
Oversize 6			East side news 1981-1987
Oversize 6			H-P 1974, 1983, 1987-1988, 1992-1996
Oversize 5			The impartial citizen 1980, 1989
Oversize 5			Pittsburgh courier 1974, 1985, 1990-1996
Oversize 5			R-W 1970, 1974, 1977-1978, 1985-1989
Oversize 5			The St. Louis American 1987
Oversize 5			St. Louis argus 1981-1986
Box 16		Miscellaneous clippings 1947, 1965-1968, 1974, 1978, 1981, 1988, 1990-1994, undated

	Subject files - Original folder titles and structural organization retained
Box 16		Authorship 1988
Box 16		Bass, Charlotta undated
Box 16		Bates, Daisy undated
Box 16		Beasley, Delilah Leontium undated
Box 17		Bennett, Gwendolyn undated
Box 17		Berry, Mary Frances undated
Box 17		Biography 1990-1992, 1995, undated
		Black journalists
Box 17			A, miscellaneous 1975-1989
Box 17			B, miscellaneous 1956, 1970-1975, 1980, 1987-1991, undated
Box 17			C-D, miscellaneous 1973-1995
Box 17			E-G, miscellaneous 1971, 1974-1975, 1978, 1985-1995, undated
Box 17			G, miscellaneous 1971-1972, 1977-1979, 1987-1991, undated
Box 17			H, miscellaneous 1976-1994
Box 17			J, miscellaneous 1974-1989
Box 17			L-M, miscellaneous 1973-1991
Box 17			P, miscellaneous 1949, 1971-1978, 1985-1994, undated (2 folders)
Box 17			R, miscellaneous 1968-1994
Box 17			S-T, miscellaneous 1972-1994
Box 18			W, miscellaneous 1972-1994
Box 18			Y, miscellaneous 1971-1973, 1990
Box 18		Black newspapers 1990-1996 (5 folders)
Box 18		Black press 1969-1976, 1987-1997, undated
Box 18		"The Black press: A bibliography" 1968 (2 folders)
Box 18		Black studies and Black press 1967-1969, 1972-1978, 1986-1987, undated
		Black women journalists
Box 18			Notes undated
Box 19			Research materials 1977, 1982, 1989-1990, 1993-1995, undated
Box 19		Bluford, Lucile 1989
Box 19		Bonner, Alice undated
Box 19		Camper, Diane 1988-1990
Box 19		Christian communications with the elderly 1980 - group interview that includes Wolseley
Box 19		Cook, Mary V. undated
Box 19		Cooke, Marvel undated
Box 19		Dunbar-Nelson, Alice undated
Box 19		Dunnigan, Alice Allison 1990, undated
Box 19		Education and training 1970-1974, 1985, 1988-1989, undated
Box 19		Employment, Black journalists 1988-1993
Box 19		Evanston Daily News Index 1935-1942, 1949, 1986, undated (2 folders)
Box 19		Franklin, Ada C. 1983
Box 19		Garland, Hazel 1975, 1988, undated
Box 19		Garland, Phyllis T. 1993, undated
Box 19		Giddings, Paula undated
Box 19		Graham, Shirley undated
Box 19		Johnson, Thyra 1995
Box 19		Journalism
Box 19			American 1941, 1957-1958, 1964, 1982, 1986, 1993, undated
Box 19			Black 1978, 1987-1989, 1995-1996, undated
Box 20			In poetry 1936, 1973, undated
Box 20			International 1933, 1947, 1951, 1960, 1967, 1971, 1976, 1979, 1983-1984, 1987, 1995
Box 20			Religion in 1945-1950, 1953, 1957-1962, undated (2 folders)
			Religious
				See also Writings: Articles: Subject: Journalism: Religious.
Box 2				Articles 1940, 1945-1953, 1958-1961, 1969-1970, undated
Box 2				College course catalogs 1950, 1955, 1960, undated
Box 2				Conference programs 1951, 1957-1961, undated
Box 2				Correspondence 1947-1954, 1958, 1960-1962, undated
Box 2				Newsletters 1948-1951, 1955-1958
Box 2				Pamphlets 1960, undated
Box 2				Miscellaneous 1950, 1956, 1960, undated
Box 20		Laubach, Bob 1976
Box 20		Lewis, Ida Elizabeth 1972-1973, undated
Box 20		Lists of Black newspapers undated
Box 20		Literary agents undated
Box 20		Martin, Lawrence 1935-1941
Box 20		Matthews, Victoria Earle undated
Box 20		Mossell, Gertrude Bustill undated
Box 20		"Perspectives of the Black press" 1974-1975
Box 20		Plagiarism 1936, 1956-1958, 1982
Box 20		PM Daily 1940-1952 (2 folders)
Box 20		The progressive party and the 1948 election 1948 - transcript of radio program featuring Wolseley and others
Box 20		Quill and Scroll 1939, 1959, undated
Box 20		Religion in radio, television, and motion pictures 1948-1956
Box 21		Religion in radio, television, and motion pictures 1948-1956 (4 folders)
Box 21		Religious journalism in America 1928-1931, 1941-1960 (6 folders)
Box 22		Religious journalism in America 1960-1986, undated (9 folders)
Box 22		Religious journalist II 1957-1976 (2 folders)
Box 23		Religious journalist II 1976
Box 23		Reynolds, Barbara 1976, 1988, 1990, undated
Box 23		Ruffin, Josephine undated
Box 23		Sacramento Observer 1970-1972
Box 23		Semantics 1941-1949, undated (2 folders)
Box 23		Shadd, Mary Ann 1975, undated
Box 23		Stamp collecting 1978-1998, undated (8 folders)
Box 24		Stamp collecting undated (4 folders)
Box 24		Stewart, Maria W. undated
Box 24		Syndicates 1947-1951, 1969, undated (4 folders)
Box 24		Talbot, William Henry Fox 1975-1977 (2 folders)
Box 25		Talbot, William Henry Fox 1976, undated (2 folders)
Box 25		Thompson, Era Bell 1976-1977, 1986-1987
Box 25		Upcoming Black magazines 1975, 1987-1991
Box 25		White press coverage on Black media 1943, 1947, 1950-1959, 1962-1972, 1975-1980, 1985-1987
Box 25		Worthy, William 1961, 1971, 1982-1985

	Writings
		Articles
			Black journalist series
Box 25				Correspondence 1974-1977, undated
Box 25				Drafts undated (2 folders)
Box 25				Notes undated
Box 25				Research materials 1972-1973, 1977
			"The Black press challenge to young people"
Box 25				Correspondence 1989-1991
Box 25				Manuscript 1989
Box 25				Research materials 1989, undated
Box 25			Book reviews 1929-1934, 1962-1966, 1972, 1975-1976, 1979-1980, undated
Box 63			Book reviews 1976-1978, 1981-1982, undated - unpublished
Box 25			Children's articles 1932-1933, 1957
Box 25			Editorials 1970-1979, undated (2 folders)
Box 26			Editorials undated
Box 26			Freelancing 1957-1958, 1961-1963, 1971-1974, 1980 - articles relating to freelancing (5 folders)
Box 26			"Freedom's journal" 1990
Box 26			"He was a champion skater at 17" undated
Box 26			"Magazine history and stamps" 1991
Box 26			"Only slips of paper but postage stamps tell the world about some noted African Americans" 1994
Box 26			Photographs for articles undated
Box 26			Promotional articles 1953
Box 26			"Religious journalism: What's that?" 1956
Oversize 4			Scrapbooks 1922-1923 - clippings of Wolseley's early newspaper writings (2 items)
Oversize 4			Scrapbooks 1935-1937 - clippings of Wolseley's writings for the Evanston Daily (2 items)
			Subject - articles by Wolseley organized by subject
Box 26				Biography 1930-1935, 1946-1947, 1954-1959, 1965, 1968, 1974-1977, 1980, undated - biographies of others (4 folders)
Box 6				Book writing 1962-1963, 1971, 1974, 1978-1980
Box 27				Current events 1950, 1970, 1973-1975, undated
Box 27				Fiction 1974, 1978
Box 27				Human interest, humor, satire 1931-1932, 1935-1940, 1945, 1949-1951, 1954-1959, 1962-1966, 1969, 1976-1980, undated (3 folders)
Box 27				India, descriptive (travel) 1955-1956
Box 27				India, journalism 1952-1954, 1961-1963, 1966
Box 27				India, social problems 1952-1959, 1962-1963, 1976, undated
Box 27				India, miscellaneous 1952-1963, 1976-1978 (3 folders)
				Journalism
Box 27					Black 1938-1939, 1945, 1949-1950, 1969, 1972-1976
Box 28					Criticism of 1931-1934, 1937-1946, 1950, 1956-1957, 1961-1963, 1975, undated (2 folders)
Box 28					Education for 1942-1943, 1963-1966
Box 28					Education publications 1934, 1942-1943, 1948, 1955, 1961-1966, 1971, 1975 (3 folders)
Box 28					Library 1933-1934
Box 28					Literature of (biblio) 1939, 1943-1948, 1951, 1955-1959, undated (2 folders)
Box 28					Magazine 1944, 1948, 1951, 1954, 1957-1959, 1962-1965, 1970, 1973 (4 folders)
Box 29					Magazine 1977 (2 folders)
Box 29					Press freedom 1947, 1951-1955
Box 29					Religious 1935, 1940-1942, 1946-1964, 1965-1970, 1976, 1980-1981, undated (7 folders)
Box 29					Techniques 1931-1935, 1938-1941, 1944-1947
Box 30					Techniques 1951, 1955-1962, 1967, 1972 (2 folders)
Box 30					Vocational aspects 1934, 1946-1951, 1954-1956
Box 30					Miscellaneous 1931-1936, 1939-1940, 1943-1946, 1949, 1952-1953, 1956-1961, 1964-1965, 1969-1971, 1975, undated (3 folders)
Box 30				Peace 1932-1933, 1942, 1948, 1955-1959, 1966, 1980 (2 folders)
Box 30				Public relations, church 1931-1935, 1950-1955, 1959-1962, 1965-1967
Box 68				Public relations, church 1931
Box 30				Racial problems 1955
Box 30				Railroads 1928-1936, undated
Box 30				Religion 1932-1935, 1938, 1942, 1947-1949, 1956-1957, undated
Box 31				Socialism 1932-1934
Box 31				Sports 1926, 1976
Box 31				Travel 1932, 1959, 1964-1965, 1968-1981, undated - regarding international travel (7 folders)
Box 31			Trade journal 1931-1933, 1959, 1975
Box 31			Units, curriculum materials 1932-1937
Box 31			Miscellaneous 1932-1934, 1937, 1941, 1944-1946, 1951-1962, 1965, 1969, 1975-1976, 1979, undated (2 folders)
Box 32			Miscellaneous 1965
		Books
			Black achievers in American journalism
Box 32				Bibliography sources undated
Box 32				Carbon copy undated
Box 32				Chapter copies and correspondence undated (2 folders)
Box 32				Copyright registration form undated
Box 32				Corrections 1996
				Correspondence
Box 32					Bertha Klausner International Literary Agency Inc. 1971-1974
Box 32					Iowa State University Press 1972, 1988-1992
Box 32					Proposed manuscript submissions 1992 (2 folders)
Box 32					Winston, Derek 1992-1995
Box 32					Miscellaneous 1973-1975
				Drafts - names are the subjects of the drafts
Box 32					Abbot, Robert S. 1993
Box 32					Cornish, Samuel E. undated
Box 32					Delaney, Martin R. undated
Box 32					Douglass, Frederick undated
Box 33					DuBois, W.E.B. 1973, undated
Box 33					Fortune, T. Thomas undated
Box 33					Gillespie, Marcia Ann 1993
Box 33					Johnson, James Weldon undated
Box 33					Johnson, John H. 1973-1989, undated
Box 33					Johnson, John Sr. and Carl undated
Box 33					Lee, William H. undated
Box 33					Parks, Gordon 1991-1992
Box 33					Payne, Ethel undated
Box 33					Rule, Shelia 1987-1988
Box 33					Russwurm, John B. undated
Box 33					Stone, Chuck undated
Box 33					Taylor, Susan 1991, undated
Box 33					Trotter, William Monroe undated
Box 33					Ward, Samuel Ringgold undated
Box 33					Wells-Barnett, Ida B. undated
Box 33				Final draft 1993 (2 folders)
Box 33				First duplicate undated (2 folders)
Box 34				First duplicate undated
Box 34				First version undated (2 folders)
Box 34				Mailing list 1989-1995, undated (2 folders)
Box 34				Original copy undated (3 folders)
Box 34				Manuscript undated (4 folders)
Box 35				Manuscript 1993, undated (12 folders)
Box 36				Photographs 1990-1991, 1995, undated
Box 36				Photographs used undated
Box 36				Promotional articles 1990, 1995-1996
Box 36				Promotional information 1987, 1995, undated
Box 36				Reviews 1995
				Research materials
Box 36					Bibliography 1968, 1972-1973, 1989, undated
Box 36					Cornish, Samuel E. 1987
Box 36					Delaney, Martin R. 1972
Box 36					Douglass, Frederick 1969-1972, 1979, 1988, 1991-1992, undated
Box 36					DuBois, W.E.B. 1963, 1970-1975, 1979, 1983, 1994-1996, undated
Box 36					Fortune, T. Thomas 1972-1974, 1978, undated
Box 36					Gilliam, Dorothy 1973, 1993-1994
Box 36					Hunter-Gault, Cherlayne 1972, 1981, 1986-1987, 1990-1995, undated (2 folders)
Box 36					Johnson, James Weldon 1997, 1980, undated
Box 36					Johnson, John H. 1973-1977, 1984-1987, undated (2 folders)
Box 37					Johnson, John Sr. and Carl 1972-1973, 1978
Box 37					Lee, William H. 1990-1991, 1993
Box 37					Parks, Gordon 1972-1977, 1987-1988, 1990-1995, undated
Box 37					Payne, Ethel 1972-1974, 1991-1992 (2 folders)
Box 37					Russwurm, John B. 1970, 1974-1975, undated
Box 37					Sengstacke, John H. 1973, undated
Box 37					Stone, Chuck 1971, 1975-1977, 1988, 1991, undated (2 folders)
Box 37					Taylor, Susan 1985-1987, 1990, 1995, undated
Box 37					Trotter, William Monroe 1968, 1971, undated
Box 37					Ward, Samuel Ringgold 1972, 1976-1978, 1988, undated
Box 38					Ward, Samuel Ringgold 1980
Box 38					Wells-Barnett, Ida B. 1975-1978, 1989-1990, undated
Box 38				Miscellaneous 1992-1995
			The Black press, U.S.A. - no edition listed
Box 38				Bibliographic entries 1970, 1976, 1980, undated
Box 38				Bibliographic references 1951, 1961-1963, 1968-1969, 1974-1978, 1986, undated (3 folders)
Box 38				Bibliography 1972
Box 70				Bibliography cards undated
Box 71				Bibliography cards undated
Box 38				Clippings for publication 1970
				Drafts
Box 38					Chapter drafts and notes undated
Box 38					Chapter 1 undated
Box 38					Index undated
Box 38				Illustrations 1968-1975, undated (2 folders)
Box 38				Permissions 1969-1970, 1974, 1987-1989, undated
Box 38				Photographs 1974-1978
Box 39				Photographs undated (5 folders)
Box 39				Photographs, extra undated (2 folders)
Box 39				Photographs used undated (2 folders)
Box 40				Photographs used undated
Box 40				Photographs used, photocopies undated
Box 40				Promotions and reviews 1971-1974 (2 folders)
				Reference materials
Box 40					Chapters 1-11 1962-1963, 1968-1983, 1986-1987, undated (14 folders)
Box 41					Chapters 11-17 1949-1951, 1968-1984, 1987, undated (9 folders)
				Research materials
Box 41					Black magazine 1973, 1988-1997, undated
Box 63					Black magazines seen in the years 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992 1989-1992 - binder
Box 41					Defunct newspaper and magazine reviews 1970
Box 41					General 1948, 1965, 1969-1977, 1983, 1986-1987, undated (4 folders)
Box 42					Gorham, Thelma Thurston 1973, 1982, 1987-1988, 1992, undated
Box 42					Magazines to be found 1967-1973, 1977, undated (2 folders)
Box 42					Newspaper reviews circa 1970, 1987-1992 (2 folders)
Box 42					Not used 1989-1966, undated
			The Black press, U.S.A, 1st edition
Box 42				Correspondence 1968-1971 (6 folders)
Box 43				Correspondence 1971-1977, 1984, 1987, undated (2 folders)
				Drafts
Box 43					Bibliography 1971
Box 43					Chapters 1-17 1971 (17 folders)
Box 43					Illustrations legend 1971
Box 44					Index 1971
Box 44					Notes 1971
Box 44				Galley proof 1971 (5 folders)
Box 44				Galley proof, carbon copy 1971 (2 folders)
Box 44				Illustrations not used 1971-1972, 1995, undated
Box 44				Manuscripts, front matter 1969-1970
Box 69				Notes 1970 (2 folders)
				Notes and research materials
Box 45					Chapters 1-6 1941-1943, 1947, 1950, 1961, 1963-1971, undated (10 folders)
Box 46					Chapters 7-11 1944-1946, 1950-1951, 1954-1955, 1959-1971, 1999, undated (11 folders)
Box 47					Chapter 11-15 1950, 1958, 1961-1971, undated (12 folders)
Box 48					Chapters 15-16 1942-1943, 1946, 1956, 1962, 1965, 1968-1971, undated (2 folders)
Box 48				Old draft undated (8 folders)
Box 49				Old draft [cont.] undated (3 folders)
Box 49				Promotional materials 1970-1972
Box 49				Reviews 1971-1976 (2 folders)
			The Black press, U.S.A., 2nd edition
Box 49				Copyright 2001
Box 49				Copyright registration form 1990
Box 49				Correspondence 1987 (8 folders)
Box 50				Correspondence, error controversy 1989-1992
Box 50				Correspondence, Iowa State University Press 1987-1988, 1991 (2 folders)
Box 50				Correspondence, update bibliography 1988-1989
Box 50				Index 1988-1989
Box 50				Notes undated
Box 50				Promotional materials 1989-1990 (2 folders)
				Research files
Box 53					Black publications 1972, 1988-1989
Box 50					Chapter 1 1938-1968, 1971-1987 (3 folders)
Box 51					Chapters 2-8 1942, 1947, 1950-1989 (11 folders)
Box 52					Chapters 8-11 1951, 1967-1988, undated (13 folders)
Box 53					Chapters 11-17 1971-1988, undated (9 folders)
Box 54					Chapter 15-17 1950-1951, 1963, 1972-1984, undated
Box 50					General 1981-1989 (2 folders)
Box 54				Reviews 1990-1992
Box 54				Tables undated
			The Black press, U.S.A., 3rd edition
Box 54				Bibliography undated
Box 54				Bibliography and notes 1997, undated (2 folders)
Box 54				Correspondence 1994-1997 (6 folders)
				Drafts
Box 55					Front matter 1996
Box 55					Chapters 1-4 1997 (4 folders)
Box 55					Chapters 7-9 1997 (3 folders)
Box 55					Chapters 11-12 1997 (2 folders)
Box 55					Chapter 16 1997
Box 55				Loose pages from 2nd edition undated (2 folders)
Box 55				Manuscript 1997, undated (4 folders)
Box 56				Manuscript undated
Box 56				Manuscript 1997 - final changes (4 folders)
				Manuscript
Box 69					Front matter 1996
Box 69					Chapters 1-16 1996 (4 folders)
Box 56				Permissions 1969-1970, 1990-1994
Box 56				Photographs 1990-1996 (3 folders)
Box 56				Queries 1991-1997
Box 56				Research files 1974-1997 (3 folders)
Box 57				Research files 1985-1986, 1990-1996, undated
Box 57				Research materials 1980, 1987-1995, undated - chapter 12 (2 folders)
Box 57				Tait, Alice 1996-1997 (2 folders)
			Careers in religious communications
Box 69				Published copy 1955 - includes Wolseley's handwritten edits
Box 57				Reviews 1975-1981, undated
			The changing magazine
Box 68				Galley undated
Box 68				Galley duplicates undated
Box 57				Manuscript 1972
Oversize 3				Promotional materials and reviews 1972-1974 - binder
			The copyreader's workshop
Box 57				Reviews 1934
			Exploring journalism
				Correspondence
Box 8					Permission letters 1953-1955
Box 8					Practice Hall 1953-1957
			Gandhi: Conqueror of violence
Box 57				Third draft 1961 (2 folders)
			How to report and write the news
Box 57				Correspondence 1957-1961 (3 folders)
			Journalism in modern India
Box 57				Reviews 1953-1954, 1964
			The journalist's bookshelf
Box 69				Supplements 1947-1949
			The journalist's bookshelf, 2nd edition
Box 69				Published copy 1939
			The journalist's bookshelf, 3rd edition
Box 69				Draft 1943
			The journalist's bookshelf, 7th edition
Box 58				Correspondence 1939, 1943-1946, 1950-1951, 1955-1956, 1959-1962 (3 folders)
			The journalist's bookshelf, 8th edition
Box 58				Promotional materials 1984
			The modern Viking: The story of Fridtjof Nansen - unpublished
Box 58				Chronology 1970, 1979
Box 58				Correspondence 1969-1973, 1979-1980, 1993-1995 (4 folders)
				Drafts
Box 58					Bibliography 1991-1992, undated
Box 58					Front matter 1993
Box 58					"The final years" 1958, 1973
Box 58					"First time at sea" undated
Box 58					"The great decision" undated
Box 58					"Honors" undated
Box 58					"Humanitarian" undated (2 folders)
Box 58					"Over the icy waters" 1976, undated
Box 58					"Those who followed Nansen" 1977-1978, 1983, undated
Box 58					"The young Nansen" undated
Box 59					Miscellaneous undated
Box 59				Outlines 1973, 1993
Box 59				Phone list 1995
Box 59				Photographs undated (2 folders)
Box 59				Research materials 1978-1981, 1987, 1992-1996, undated (4 folders)
Box 59				Synopses undated - includes chapter sample
			Still in print
Box 59				Promotional materials undated
			Three notable women of India
Box 59				Sample chapters 1975
Box 59				Reviews 1976
			Understanding magazines
Box 59				Promotional materials 1976
Box 59				Reviews 1969, 1976
			Understanding magazines, 2nd edition
Box 60				Bibliography undated
				Drafts
Box 60					Bibliography undated
Box 60					Chapters 1-12 undated (12 folders)
Box 61					Chapters 12-25 undated (14 folders)
Box 61					Front matter undated
Box 61					Glossary undated
			Writing for the religious market
Box 61				Correspondence 1955 (3 folders)
Box 61				Reviews 1956, 1965, undated
			Writing to inspire
Box 62				Promotional materials 1982
Box 62			Untitled manuscript undated - on US magazines (11 folders)
			Miscellaneous
Box 63				Bibliography, a partial list of books undated
Oversize 2				Book cover poster, Face to face with India undated
Box 63				Book covers undated
Box 32				Illustrations 1942, 1953, 1959, 1964-1966, 1982-1984, undated
Box 63				Notebook listing writings 1952-1953 - describes writings by Wolseley written while he was in India
Box 73				Publications records 1932-1987
Box 63				Publishing agreements 1932-1933, 1937-1943, 1947, 1950-1966, 1983, 1993
Box 63				Reviews 1954-1955, 1958, 1967, 1974, undated - about books by Wolseley (3 folders)
Box 63				Scrapbook 1940-1956 - book reviews
Box 64				Scrapbook 1954-1962 - book reviews
Box 64				Scrapbook 1961-1963 - includes reviews of the following books: Careers in religious journalism; Writing for the religious market; Journalism tomorrow; Critical writing for the journalist
Oversize 3				Scrapbook 1965-1968 - promotional materials and reviews for the following books: Understanding magazines, 1st and 2nd editions; Careers in religious journalism
Oversize 3				Scrapbook 1964-1965, 1969-1971 - promotional materials and reviews for the following books: The low countries; Gandhi; Journalism in modern India 1st and 2nd edition; Asian newspapers
		Lectures
			See Academic material: Lectures.
		Speeches
Box 2			"The Black press: Its problems and its future" 1989
Box 2			"The Black press and its publisher's problems" undated
Box 2			"Black press USA" 1972
Box 2			"The developing world of Black journalism: undated
Box 2			"Seeking professional standards in religious journalism" undated
Box 2			Miscellaneous untitled speeches undated

Return to top