Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Table of Contents

Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Administrative Information

Index to cartoons

Inventory

Cartoons

printer friendly version

Richard Q. Yardley Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection
Creator: Yardley, Richard Q., 1903-1979
Title: Richard Q. Yardley Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1941-1965
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: 43 original political cartoons and 2 copies of original cartoons.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Richard Q. Yardley (1903-1979) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Born in Baltimore, Maryland on March 11, 1903, Yardley attended the Friends School and the Maryland Institute. Yardley started as an artist-retoucher in the news department at the Baltimore Evening Sun in 1923 and moved into creating local news and commentary cartoons in 1934 for the Morning Sun.

In 1949 he became the Sun’s editorial cartoonist after Edmund Duffy’s retirement. From 1961 until 1965 Yardley also drew the daily comic strip panel, Our Ancestors which was syndicated by the Newspaper Enterprise Association. In addition to these works, his cartoons appeared in the New Yorker and the Reporter. Yardley was a member of the National Cartoonists Society, the American Association of Editorial Cartoonists and the National Press Club.

Richard Q. Yardley retired in 1972 and died on November 25, 1979.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Q. Yardley Cartoons consist of 43 original political cartoons and 2 copies of cartoons. Twelve cartoons are dated and 31 cartoons are undated. One of the cartoons is signed, "W. Hogarth Yardley" and it is unknown if this cartoon was drawn by Richard Q. Yardley. Satire and sarcasm were regularly used elements in Yardley’s cartoons.

The cartoons were drawn with ink on illustration board as well as paper with traces of blue pencil visible. The cartoons vary in size.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The cartoons bearing dates are arranged in chronological order. Cartoons without specific dates are arranged in alphabetical order by caption. Two copies of cartoons are located at the end of the collection.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Yardley, Richard Q., 1903-1979.

Corporate Bodies

Sun (Baltimore, Md. : 1837)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
Political cartoons.
World politics -- 1945-1989 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Q. Yardley Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Richard Q. Yardley, 1965.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: DMW
Date: 10 Oct 1979
Revision history: 12 Oct 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC); 28 Sep 2009 - added detailed inventory and index, expanded bio (SK); 3 Jul 2012 - added 1960 item (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Cartoons
See below for an index to the cartoons.
Oversize 1, Folder 1 1941 (1 item)
23 Jun 1941
Oversize 1, Folder 2 1948 (2 items)
9 Apr 1948; 3 Dec 1948
Oversize 1, Folder 3 1955-1958 (8 items)
7 Jul 1955; 19 Jun 1956; 12 Sep 1956; 20 Mar 1956; 1957; 1958; 10 Jul 1958
Oversize 1, Folder 4 1960-1964 (3 items)
1960, no date; 11 Jun 1964; 18 Aug 1964; 3 Sep 1964
Oversize 1, Folder 5 A-D undated (5 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 6 G-J circa 1953, circa 1959, undated (5 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 7 L-O circa 1965, undated (9 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 8 P-V circa 1964-1965; undated (8 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 9 W undated (3 items)
Oversize 1, Folder 10 Cartoon signed W. Hogarth Yardley 20 Feb 1950 (1 item)
Oversize 1, Folder 11 2 copies of cartoons undated (2 items)

Return to top

Index to cartoons

The following is a list of predominant people, places and subjects appearing in the editorial cartoons in this collection. The list is not exhaustive. Some subjects may require you to browse with alternative terms.

B= Box, F= Folder. For example: B1F1= Box 1 Folder 1.

Return to top