Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Abarbanell, Lina, 1879-1963. |
| Title: | Lina Abarbanell Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1873-1940 |
| Quantity: | 1.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Signed photograph from the German-American Jewish opera singer, and theater programs from performances in Broadway and in London |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Lina Abarbanell (1879-1963) was a Jewish American opera singer.
She sang in public from the age of seven, performing with opera companies in her native Germany, touring Europe, and giving command recitals before royalty. In 1905 she and her husband and daughter came to the United States, and Abarbanell embarked on a thirty-year career giving concerts and performances around the country. After the death of her husband in 1934 she retired from performing but continued to work in the theatre as a casting director and Broadway producer.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Lina Abarbanell Collection consists of printed material related to theater productions in New York City and London in the late 1800s and early 1900s. While this collection is named for Abarbanell, she does not seem to have compiled this collection. Nor does she seem connected to the other printed material in this collection that don't bear her name.
The main series is Printed material divided into three categories: Lillian Russell, Lina Abarbanell, and miscellaneous. Lillian Russell consists of three clippings and a program. Lina Abarbanell consists of a program of her performance as Madam Sherry in that titular play. There is an inscription to Murray Bennett along with the program and her image. Miscellaneous consists of a vaudeville program from the Imperial Music Hall, a program for "The Romany Rye" performed at Hammerstein's Columbus Theatre staring Frank Losee; Noel Coward's "The Vortex" performed at the Little Theatre staring Molly Kerr; performance of "My Lady's Dress" at the Royal Adelphi Theater staring Lilian Braithwaite, Gladys Cooper, Irene Browne, Molly Kerr, Noel Coward, and more; and an ad promoting Charlotte Cushman and L. R. Shewell in "Guy Mannering, or The Gypsy's Prophecy" performed at the Boston Theater in 1873.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Lina Abarbanell Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unspecified, circa 1964.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 10 Sep 2010
Revision history: 24 Jul 2023 - processed (RMH)
Inventory
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Lillian Russell 1894, 1940, undated | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Lina Abarbanell 1910-1911 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Miscellaneous 1873, 1886, 1889, 1892-1894, 1910-1911, 1914, 1921-1925, undated - vaudeville programs and programs for performances with Frank Losee, Noel Coward, Molly Kerr, Gladys Cooper, Lilian Braithwaite, Charlotte Chushman and more | ||||||||||