Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Adler, F. Charles, (Frederick Charles), 1889-1959
Title:	F. Charles Adler Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1787-1959
Bulk Dates:	1936-1955
Quantity:	9 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence; printed material, including articles, clippings, programs; and phonodiscs. A large part of the correspondence pertains to the organization and development of the Saratoga Spa Music Festival, predecessor of the Saratoga Performing Arts Center seasonal concert series. Writings include those of Adler and his wife, Hannah Moriarta Adler. Memorabilia includes financial material and an assortment of printed items, including clippings, programs, publicity, research material, and reviews. Programs include those relating to Adler’s work with the Federal Music Project (1936-1941). Recordings consist mostly of Saratoga Spa Music Festival recordings.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

The F. Charles Adler Papers is a collection of materials, including correspondence, writings, and memorabilia, which reflects the conductor's career from 1936 through 1955. Born in London in 1889, Adler began his career in the United States as conductor of the New York Festival Orchestra, a component of the Federal Music Project which was sponsored by the Works Progress Administration. With his interest in contemporary musical compositions coupled with a belief that the most fertile ground for the growth of American music was outside the country's large cities, Adler founded the New York Chamber Orchestra in 1945, and shortly thereafter transferred his base of operations to Gansevoort, New York. Composed of selected members of the Philharmonic-Symphony Society of New York (later known as the New York Philharmonic), the New York Chamber Orchestra performed more than 40 new compositions at the Saratoga Spa Music Festival during the 1946-1947 seasons. Adler died in Vienna in 1959 at the age of 69.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Correspondence-Subject files (Boxes 1-13) contain both incoming and outgoing letters and related material, most of which was generated between 1936 and 1955, with composers, conductors, musicians and musicologists. Correspondence which is of greatest volume includes that with composers George Antheil, Will Gay Bottje, Charles Wakefield Cadman, Robert Casadesus, Avery Claflin, Henry Cowell, Norman Dello Joio, Arcady Dubensky, Vernon Duke, Isadore Freed, Anis Fuleihan, Vittorio Giannini, Eugene Goossens, Edward Burlingame Hill, Frederick Jacobi, Philip James, Werner Josten, Ernst Krenek, Otto Luening, Jacques de Menasce, Darius Milhaud, Douglas Moore, Paul Amadeus Pisk, Vittorio Rieti, Roger Sessions, Elie Siegmeister, Virgil Thomson, Ernst Toch, Burnet C. Tuthill, John W. Work, and Eric Zeisl; conductors Theodore Bloomfield, Dimitri Mitropolous, Alex North, and Leopold Stokowski; musicians Claire Coci, John Corigliano, Albert Elkus, Rudolf Kolisch, Boris Koutzen, Louis Krasner, Ray Lev, Eugene List, Carl Stern and John Wummer; and musicologists Oliver Daniel, Alfred Einstein, and H.C. Robbins Landon. The Correspondence-Subject files also contain a substantial amount of correspondence relating to the American Composers Alliance, the American-Soviet Music Society, the Bruckner Society of America Inc., the Philharmonic-Symphony Society of New York, the Saratoga Spa Music Festival, Inc., and the Society for the Publication of American Music, Inc. as well as that of a number of music publishers and recording studios, including Am-Rus Editions, Associated Music Publishers Inc., Boosey and Hawkes Inc., Elkan-Vogel Co., Carl Fischer, Inc., Edward B. Marks Music Corporation, Leeds Music Corporation, Music News, Inc., Sesac Inc., SPA Records (of which Adler was artistic director), Southern Music Publishing Company, Inc., Unicorn Records, and Vanguard Recording Society, Inc.

Memorabilia (Boxes 15-18) includes financial material and an assortment of printed items, including clippings, programs, publicity, research material, and reviews. The financial material is divided into Adler's personal expenses and bank transactions, and those relating to the Saratoga Spa Music Festival, Inc. Printed material includes various clippings and other items relating to Adler's sojourn in Austria in the early 1950s, his affiliation with the New York Chamber Orchestra, and miscellaneous personal notices. Programs include those relating to Adler's work with the Federal Music Project (1936-1941), concerts conducted by Adler in Germany, concerts for the Saratoga Spa Music Festival, and various miscellaneous concerts which Adler conducted as well as those with which he was not associated, but for which he received material. Publicity includes flyers and advance notices for miscellaneous concerts. Research material encompasses Adler's collection of clippings and articles pertaining to music, while reviews include those relating to Adler's career (1952-1953) as well as those of SPA Records. Memorabilia concludes with a selection of miscellaneous items, including articles, clippings, publicity and reviews which relate to the Saratoga Spa Music Festival.

Recordings (phonodiscs) include transcriptions (pressings made for distribution to radio stations) of the Saratoga Spa Music Festivals for 1937, 1946 and 1947 and an assortment of test pressings of SPA records. Although the ID numbers assigned to these items go up to adler_fc_090, there are in fact only 85 phonodiscs.

Writings (Box 14) include those of Adler, his wife Hannah Moriarta Adler, and a poem by an unidentified author, "Good Time Charlie On the Loose." Adler's writings include transcripts of an Open Forum discussion at Skidmore College between Adler and Frederick Schang, president of Columbia Artists Management, Inc., on the role of concert management in fostering an appreciation of music; program notes; miscellaneous manuscripts; and published material.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Series are arranged in alphabetical order. Within each series, material is arranged alphabetically by topic or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

F. Charles Adler Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Hannah Moriarta Adler, 1972.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Apr 1991
Revision history: 23 Oct 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 7 May 2015 - recordings added (BF); 20 Jun 2024 - media inventory updated and digitization note added (IRP); 12 Jun 2024 - location for adler_fc_078 added (IRP)

Return to top

Inventory

Note on alternate formats:

Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.

	Correspondence-subject files
Box 1		A (1 folder)
Box 1		Abbey, Denise
Box 1		Adler, Clarence
Box 1		Ahn, Eak Tai
Box 1		Albany Institute of History and Art
Box 1		American Automobile Association
Box 1		American Composers Alliance (2 folders)
Box 1		American Federation of Musicians
Box 1		American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP)
Box 1		American-Soviet Music Society
Box 1		Am-Rus Editions
Box 1		Anderson, Florence
			See also DuPage, Richard
Box 1		Anthiel, George (3 folders)
Box 1		Aschner, Bernard
Box 1		Associated Hospital Service of New York
Box 2		Associated Music Publishers, Inc. (3 folders)
Box 2		Audio-Scriptions, Inc.
Box 2		B (1 folder)
Box 2		Balogh, Erno
Box 2		Barber, Samuel
		Bardos, Arthur A.
			See Rot-Weiss-Rot
Box 2		Barrington-Coupe, W.H.
Box 2		Barzun, Jacques
Box 2		Beer-Walbrunn, Maria
		Behrendt, Lydia
			See Hoffman-Behrendt, Lydia
Box 2		Benjamin, Edward B.
Box 2		Bilotti, Anton
Box 2		Blaukopf, Kurt
Box 2		Bloomfield, Theodore
Box 2		Bonner, Eugene MacDonald
Box 2		Boosey and Hawkes, Inc.
Box 2		Bosmans, Arthur
Box 2		[Ed.] Bote and G. Bock
Box 2		Bottje, Will Gay
Box 2		Brand, Max
Box 2		Brendel, Alfred
Box 2		Broadcast Music, Inc.
Box 2		Bruckner Society of America
Box 2		Burdick, Lawrence & Moncsko
Box 2		Bureau International de l'Edition Mecanique (BIEM)
Box 2		C (1 folder)
Box 2		Cadman, Charles Wakefield (2 folders)
Box 2		Capitol Records
Box 2		Carman, Harry J. (2 folders)
Box 2		Carnegie Hall
Box 3		Carpenter, John Alden
		Carragan, Howard
			See Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Box 3		Casadesus, Robert
Box 3		Casella, Alfredo
Box 3		Cesana, Otto
Box 3		Chasins, Abram
Box 3		Chavez, Carlos
Box 3		[J.W.] Chestet, Ltd.
Box 3		Christlieb, Don
Box 3		Circle Blue Print Company
Box 3		Claflin, Avery
			See also American Composers Alliance
Box 3		Clayburgh, Alma
Box 3		Cluett & Sons
Box 3		Coci, Claire
		Cole, Lois Dwight
			See Whittlesey House
		Columbia Artists Management, Inc.
			See Columbia Concerts Inc.
Box 3		Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc.
Box 3		Columbia Concerts Inc. (2 folders)
Box 3		Columbia Transcriptions
Box 3		Committee for Netherlands Music
		Concert Management Arthur Judson, Inc.
			See Columbia Concerts Inc.
		Concert Program Magazines
			See Saratoga Spa Music Festival, Inc.
Box 3		Constable, William George
Box 3		Copland, Aaron
Box 3		Corigliano, John
Box 3		Cosden, Nell (Mrs. Joshua S,)
Box 3		Cowell, Henry (2 folders)
			See also American Composers Alliance
Box 3		D (1 folder)
		Daniel, Oliver
			See American Composers Alliance
Box 3		De Angilis, Joseph
Box 3		Dello Joio, Norman
Box 3		Dembinsky, William
Box 3		Dobyns, Cordelia (2 folders)
		Dowling, Walter
			See United States Foreign Service
Box 3		Downes, Olin
Box 3		Downs, Thomas McKean
Box 3		Drucker, Vladimir
Box 3		Dubensky, Arcady
Box 3		Duke, Vernon
Box 3		DuPage, Richard
			See also Anderson, Florence
Box 4		Eastman School of Music
		Eddy, Spencer B.
			See Saratoga Spa and Music Festival, Inc.
Box 4		Editions Salabert
Box 4		Edson, Bernard
Box 4		Effinger, Cecil
Box 4		Einstein, Alfred
Box 4		Elkan-Vogel Co. (4 folders)
Box 4		Elkus, Albert
		Elmore, Cyrus B.
			See Saratoga Spa and Music Festival, Inc.
Box 4		Encyclopedia Britannica
Box 4		Endich, Sara Mae
Box 4		Epstein, Lonny
Box 4		Erskine, John
Box 4		Etler, Alvin
Box 4		Eureka Specialty Printing Co.
Box 4		F (1 folder)
Box 4		Fairchild, Henry Pratt
Box 4		Farmer, Virginia
		Federal Music Project
			See Memorabilia: Printed Material: Programs
		Feist, Leonard
			See Mercury Music Corporation
Box 4		[Carl] Fischer, Inc.
Box 4		[Edwin H.] Fleischer Music Collection (Free Library of Pennsylvania)
Box 4		Fox, Harry
		Fox, Norman A.
			See SPA Records
Box 4		Francis, Muriel
Box 4		Fraser, Morris & Co., Inc.
Box 4		Freed, Isadore
Box 4		Freedman, Elaine
Box 4		Friedphil Realty Corp.
Box 4		Fuleihan, Anis
Box 5		G (1 folder)
Box 5		Ganz, Rudolph
		Gaskins, Ben A.
			See Columbia Concerts Inc.
Box 5		General Electric Company
Box 5		Giannini, Vittorio (2 folders)
Box 5		Girden, William M.
Box 5		Glasounow, Alexander
Box 5		Gold Star Recording Studios
		Goldberg & Wolff
			See Hays, Wolff, Schwabacher, Sklar and Epstein
Box 5		Goossens, Eugene
Box 5		Goss, Robert
Box 5		Graf, Uta
Box 5		Graham, Robert
Box 5		Granetman, Lola
Box 5		[H.W.] Gray Company
Box 5		Greene, Winthrop S.
		Greissle, Felix
			See Edward B. Marks Music Corporation
		Grey, Robert G.
			See Bruckner Society of America
Box 5		Guarnieri, Camargo
Box 5		Guenther, Felix
Box 5		Gutman, John
Box 5		H (1 folder)
Box 5		Haefner, Maria
Box 5		Harris, Roy
Box 5		The Hartford Times
Box 5		Hays, Wolff, Schwabacher, Sklar & Epstein (3 folders)
Box 5		Hayward, Dolores
Box 5		Hendl, Walter
Box 5		Hill, Edward Burlingame (3 folders)
Box 5		Hindemith, Paul
Box 5		Hoffman-Behrendt, Lydia
Box 5		Huberman, Bronislaw
		Hubert, Dave L.
			See New Sound
Box 5		I (1 folder)
Box 6		J (1 folder)
Box 6		Jacobi, Frederick (2 folders)
Box 6		Jacobi, Irene
Box 6		Jadeson, Walter J. and Annemarie (3 folders)
Box 6		Jaffe, Herman
		James, C. Lindell
			See Unicorn Records
Box 6		James, Philip (3 folders)
Box 6		Johns, Louis Edgar
Box 6		Johnson, Wright and Anne
Box 6		Josten, Werner (2 folders)
		Judson, Arthur
			See Columbia Concerts Inc.
Box 6		Juilliard School of Music
Box 7		K (1 folder)
Box 7		[Walter] Kaner Associates (2 folders)
Box 7		Karlin, Henry
Box 7		Katz, David
Box 7		Kaye, Harold
		Keller, Harold
			See New York (State). Department of Commerce
Box 7		Kenny, Margarita
Box 7		Keresey, Howard W.
Box 7		Kerr, Harrison
Box 7		Kolisch, Rudolf
Box 7		Korngold, Erich Wolfgang
		Kotschnig, Walter
			See United States. Department of State
Box 7		Koussevitsky, Serge
Box 7		Koutzen, Boris
Box 7		Krasner, Louis
		Kmety, Violet
			See Zenith Radio Corporation
Box 7		Krenek, Ernst (2 folders)
Box 7		Krueger, Karl
Box 7		Kurtz, Efrem
Box 7		Kurzweil, Fredric
Box 7		L (1 folder)
Box 7		Landon, H.C. Robbins
Box 7		Last, Siegmund
Box 7		Lawner, Max
Box 7		Leavitt. Max
Box 7		Leeds Music Corporation
Box 7		Lees, Benjamin
Box 7		Legler, ?
Box 7		Lehman, Herbert H.
Box 7		Leighton & Nelson, Advertising
Box 7		Lenchner, Paula
Box 7		Lev, Ray
Box 7		List, Eugene
Box 7		Little, Paul
Box 7		Loewenstein, Karl
Box 7		Lopatnikoff, Nikolai
Box 7		Luening, Otto
			See also American Composers Alliance
Box 7		M (1 folder)
Box 7		McDonald, Harl
		Macdonald, Robert M.S.
			See Rot-Weiss-Rot
		McKinney, Laurence
			See Saratoga Spa Music Festival, Inc.
Box 7		Macmillan, Ernst
Box 7		Mahler, Alma
Box 8		Makower, Mary
Box 8		[Alfred J.] Mapleson
Box 8		[Edward B.] Marks Music Corporation (3 folders)
Box 8		Martin Music Management
Box 8		Marvin, Frederick
		Matfeld, Julius
			See Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc.
		Mathews, Elizabeth
			See Columbia Concerts Inc.
Box 8		Meik, Siegfried
Box 8		Menasce, Jacques de
Box 8		Mercury Music Corporation
		Metropolitan Musical Bureau, Inc.
			See Columbia Concerts Inc.
Box 8		Milhaud, Darius
Box 8		Mitchell, Donald
Box 8		Mitropolous, Dimitri
Box 8		Moore, Douglas
Box 8		Moore, Henry T.
Box 8		Mundy, John
Box 8		Music News, Inc. (3 folders)
Box 8		Musical Courier
Box 8		Musicraft Corporation
Box 8		N (1 folder)
Box 8		Nagy, Elmer
Box 8		National Concert and Artists Corporation
		National Concert Magazines
			See Saratoga Spa Music Festival Inc.
Box 8		National Music League, Inc.
Box 8		National Poster Stamp Society
		Neuman, Herman
			See WNYC (radio station)
		New England Music Critics Symposium 1948
			See The Hartford Times
Box 8		New Sound
Box 8		New York (State) Department of Commerce
Box 8		New York Public Library
Box 9		Newlin, Dika
Box 9		Nola Recording Studios
Box 9		Nola n & Twichell Advertising Agency, Inc.
Box 9		North, Alex
Box 9		Novik, Morris S.
			See also WNYC (radio station)
		Noyes, Pierrepont B.
			See Saratoga Spa Music Festival, Inc.
Box 9		Nozzi, Michel
Box 9		Oesterreichische Lehrmittelanstalt
Box 9		O'Neil, Perry
Box 9		Orkin, Ruth
Box 9		Ornest, Naomi (2 folders)
Box 9		Outhwaite, Gilbert B.
Box 9		Ovanin, Nikola Leonard
Box 9		Owen, Bessie
Box 9		P (1 folder)
Box 9		Pan American Union, Music Division
Box 9		Parke-Bernet Galleries, Inc.
Box 9		Pauly, Rose
Box 9		Peck, C.L.
Box 9		Persichetti, Vincent
Box 9		[C.F.] Peters Corporation
		Philharmonic-Symphony Society of New York
			See Van Praag, Maurice
Box 9		Philosophical Library
Box 9		Piket, Frederick
Box 9		Pisk, Paul Amadeus (2 folders)
Box 9		Pogany, Imre
Box 9		Price, Vincent
Box 9		Quasha, William H.
Box 9		R (1 folder)
Box 9		Radhuber, Guenther
Box 9		Rathaus, Karol
Box 9		Ratner, Leonard G.
Box 9		Ravag
Box 9		Read, Gardner
Box 9		Record Hunter
Box 9		Reichle, Elisabeth
Box 9		Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Box 9		Renzi, Dorothy
Box 9		Rieti, Vittorio
Box 9		Roche, Emmeline
Box 9		Rodzinski, Artur
Box 9		Rosenberger, Walter E.
Box 10		Rosenker, Michael
Box 10		Rosenthal, Leon and Fanny J.
		Rosenwald, Hans
			See Music News, Inc.
Box 10		Rot-Weiss-Rot
			See also United States Foreign Service
		Rothe, Friede F.
			See Tourel, Jennie
Box 10		Roy, Klaus George
Box 10		Rozsa, Miklos
Box 10		Rubin, David W.
Box 10		S (1 folder)
Box 10		Saratoga Musical Union
Box 10		Saratog Spa Music Festival, Inc. 1937-1951 (15 folders)
			See also Carman, Harry J., New York (State) Department of Commerce, Van Praag, Maurice
		Saratoga Springs Authority
			See Saratoga Spa Music Festival, Inc.
Box 11		Sargent, Malcolm
		Saxton, Stanley
			See Saratoga Spa Music Festival, Inc.
Box 11		[G.] Schirmer, Inc.
Box 11		Schnabel, Artur
Box 11		Schnabel, Helen
Box 11		Schnabel, Karl Ulrich
Box 11		Schnabel, Therese
Box 11		[Artur] Schnabel Memorial Committee
Box 11		Schollum, Robert
Box 11		[B.] Schott's Sohne
Box 11		Schuller, Arthur
Box 11		Schuster, Joseph
Box 11		Schwartz, Paul
		Scott, Tom
			See American Composers Alliance
Box 11		Secunda, Sholom
		Seeger, Charles
			See Pan American Union, Music Division
Box 11		Segal, Elizabeth
Box 11		Sesac Inc. (2 folders)
Box 11		Sessions, Roger
Box 11		Shilkret, Arthur
Box 11		Shilkret, Nathaniel
Box 11		Shuman, Davis
Box 11		Siegmeister, Elie
		Siena, Frank E.R.
			See Saratoga Spa Music Festival Inc.
Box 11		Simmons, Mary
		Skornia, Harry J.
			See Rot-Weiss-Rot
Box 11		Slade, John and Caroline
Box 11		Sloss, M.C. (Mrs.)
		Society for the Publication of American Music, Inc.
			See James, Philip
		Society of Participating Artists, Inc.
			See SPA Records
Box 11		Solomon, Carlton Z.
		Solomon, Maynard and Seymour
			See Vanguard Recording Society, Inc.
Box 11		Sorrell, Lise
Box 11		Southern Music Publishing Company, Inc.
Box 11		Sowerby, Leo
Box 11		SPA Records
Box 11		Spain Travel Agency
		Spaulding, E. Wilder
			See United States Foreign Service
Box 11		Stern, Carl
Box 11		Stichting Donemus
Box 11		[B.F.] Stevens & Brown Ltd.
Box 11		Still, William Grant
Box 11		Stillman-Kelley, Jessie
Box 11		Stokowski, Leopold
Box 11		Stueckgold, Grete
Box 11		Sullivan, Frank
Box 12		Sutermeister, Heinrich
Box 12		Szell, George
Box 12		T (1 folder)
Box 12		Talbot, Ona B.
Box 12		Tatham Stamp & Coin Company
		Taylor, Deems
			See American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers
Box 12		[Alec] Templeton
		Terry, Milton
			See United States Foreign Service
		Thompson, Llewellyn E.
			See United States Foreign Service
Box 12		Thomson, Virgil
Box 12		Tidmarsh, Elmer A. (2 folders)
Box 12		Toch, Ernest
Box 12		Tourel, Jennie
Box 12		Trimble, David
Box 12		Tuthill, Burnet C.
Box 12		U (1 folder)
Box 12		Unicorn Records
Box 12		United States Department of State
Box 12		United States Foreign Service
			See also Rot-Weiss-Rot
		United States Work Projects Administration
			See Memorabilia: Printed Material: Programs - Federal Music Project (WPA)
		United States Work Progress Adminstration
			See Memorabilia: Printed Material: Programs - Federal Music Project (WPA)
Box 12		Universal Edition A.G.
Box 12		Van Gordon, Cyrena
Box 12		Vanguard Recording Society, Inc.
Box 12		Van Praag, Maurice (3 folders)
Box 12		Vassar College
Box 12		Vernon, Ashley
Box 12		Vieland, Joseph
Box 12		Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Box 12		W (1 folder)
Box 12		WGY (radio station)
Box 12		WNYC (radio station)
Box 12		WQXR (radio station)
Box 12		Wagner, Joseph Frederick
Box 12		Walleck, Oskar
Box 12		Walter, Bruno
Box 13		Waters, Patti
Box 13		Webster, Frances
Box 13		Weintraub, Eugene
		Werfel, Alma Mahler
			See Mahler, Alma
Box 13		Werner, Vivian L.
Box 13		White, Walter
Box 13		Whithorne, Emerson
Box 13		Whittlesey House
Box 13		Wildgans, Friedrich
Box 13		Williams, Alexander
Box 13		Woolley, Monty (2 folders)
Box 13		Work, John W.
Box 13		Wummer, John and Mildred
Box 13		Y (1 folder)
Box 13		Young Men's Christian Association of Tahawus
Box 13		Yugoslav Information Center
Box 13		Zeisl, Eric
Box 13		Zenith Radio Corporation
Box 13		Zimbalist, Efrem
Box 13		Unidentified

	Memorabilia
		Financial
Box 15			Personal (10 folders)
Box 16			Saratoga Spa Music Festival, Inc. (3 folders)
Box 16		Legal - Hannah Moriarta Adler
		Printed material
			Personal
Box 16				Austria (3 folders)
Box 16				New York Chamber Orchestra (2 folders)
Box 16				Miscellaneous
			Programs
Box 16				Federal Music Project (WPA) 1936-1941, undated (5 folders)
Box 17				Germany (photostats)
Box 17				Saratoga Spa Music Festival Inc.
Box 17				Miscellaneous
			Publicity
Box 17				Miscellaneous concerts
Box 17			Research material (11 folders)
			Reviews
Box 17				Personal 1952-1953
Box 17				SPA Records
Box 17, 18			Miscellaneous (4 folders)
Box 18		Printer's block - Adler image (conducting at Saratoga Spa Music Festival)
Box 18		Saratoga Spa Music Festival (8 folders)

	Recordings
		Although the assigned ID numbers go up to adler_fc_090, there are in fact only 85 phonodiscs.
		Note on alternate formats: Recordings from the collection have been digitized. Please contact the repository listed above for more information.
Oversize 1		Beethoven: Triple concerto for violin, cello, and piano, side 7 undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_017)
			Triple concerto in C major, Op 56, Lydia Hoffmann Behrendt, pianist, John Corigliano, violin, Carl Stern, cello.
Oversize 1		Beethoven: Triple concerto for violin, cello, and piano, sides 1 and 2 undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_019)
			Triple concerto in C major, Op 56, Lydia Hoffmann Behrendt, pianist, John Corigliano, violin, Carl Stern, cello.
Oversize 1		Beethoven: Triple concerto for violin, cello, and piano, sides 3, 4, and 7 undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_018)
			Triple concerto in C major, Op 56, Lydia Hoffmann Behrendt, pianist, John Corigliano, violin, Carl Stern, cello.
Oversize 1		Beethoven: Triple concerto for violin, cello, and piano, sides 5 and 6 undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_020)
			Triple concerto in C major, Op 56, Lydia Hoffmann Behrendt, pianist, John Corigliano, violin, Carl Stern, cello.
Oversize 1		Brahms: Ballades, Anne Marie Spaeth 07/ 1952 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_087)
			Contains: Ballades Op 10 No. 1 in D minor; Op 10 No. 2 in D major; and Op 10 No. 4 in B major.
Oversize 1		Bruckner: Adagio from string quintet, side 2, WNYC 03/21/1945 - transcribed by Dr. Felix Guenther, first performance (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_016)
Oversize 1		Bruckner: Adagio from string quintet, sides 1 and 3, WNYC 03/21/1945 - transcribed by Dr. Felix Guenther, first performance (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_015)
Oversize 1		Bruckner: Symphony No. 9, side 4 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_034)
Oversize 1		Cadman: Dark Dancers of the Mardi Gras undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_029)
			Side 1 and 2: Dark Dancers of the Mardi Gras, NY Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra, John Barbirolli, conductor, Charles-Wakefield Cadman, piano.
Oversize 1		Cadman: Dark Dancers of the Mardi Gras undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_080)
			Dark Dancers of the Mardi Gras, NY Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra, John Barbirolli, conductor, Charles-Wakefield Cadman, piano.
Oversize 1		Charles Adler conducting WNYC Symphony Orchestra, sides 2 and 5, WNYC 10/26/1941 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_021)
			Side 2: I. Allegro vivace; Side 5: III. Menuetto. Allegretto Trio (cont.) IV. Finale. Molto allegro.
Oversize 1		Charles Adler conducting WNYC Symphony Orchestra, sides 3 and 6, WNYC 10/26/1941 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_022)
			Side 3: I. Allegro vivace (conclusion); II. Andante cantabile; Side 6: IV. Finale. Molto allegro (cont.).
Oversize 3		Gloria March; Leufer Fridli’s [?] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_090)
Oversize 1		Haydn: Symphony No. 88, Charles Adler conducting concert orchestra, side 3, WNYC 06/19/1941 - Symphony No. 88 in G Major Largo (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_009)
Oversize 1		Haydn: Symphony No. 88, Charles Adler conducting concert orchestra, sides 2 and 5, WNYC 09/18/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_004)
			Side 2: 1. Symphony No. 88 in G-Major, Adagio, Allegro (conclusion) 2. Symphony No. 88 in G-Major, Largo; Side 5: 1. Radio WPA announcement.
Oversize 1		Haydn: Symphony No. 88, Charles Adler, conducting concert orchestra, sides 1 and 4, WNYC 06/19/1941 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_010)
			Side 1: Symphony No. 88 in G Major Adagio allegro; Side 4: Symphony No. 88 in G Major Allegro con spirito (conclusion).
Oversize 1		Jacobi: Four dances from Prodigal Son, Alexander Smallens, conductor, side 1 and 3 08/04/1946 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_025)
Oversize 1		Jacobi: Four dances from Prodigal Son, Alexander Smallens, conductor, side 2 09/04/1946 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_024)
Oversize 1		Mozart: Symphony No. 41, Jupiter, Charles Adler conducting WNYC Symphony Orchestra, sides 1 and 4, WNYC 10/26/1941 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_023)
			Side 1: I. Allegro vivace; Side 4: II. Andante cantabile (cont.).
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 1 and 2, WEAF 09/18/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_013)
			Side 1 and 2: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major Allegro, by Johann Bach.
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 1 and 2, WJZ 09/11/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_012)
			Side 1 and 2: Piano concerto for string orchestra and piano, by Anis Fuleihan; first performance of the piece.
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 11 and 12, WEAF 09/18/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_014)
			Side 11: Des Soeurs De Bilitis, from a poem by Pierre Louys, Edwina Eustis; Side 12: And already the minutes, based on poem "And already the minutes, the hours, the days" by Conrad Aiken, Edwina Eustis.
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 3 and 4 , WEAF 09/18/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_006)
			Side 3: 1. Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major I. Allegro (conclusion), II. Adagio, by Johann Bach; Side 4: 1. Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major III. Allegro (conclusion); 2. Dover Beach.
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 3 and 4, WJZ 09/11/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_005)
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 5 and 6, WEAF 09/18/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_003)
			Side 5 and 6: Dover Beach, by Samuel Barber, Edwina Eustis, contralto.
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 5 and 6, WJZ 09/11/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_008)
			Side 5 and 6: Piano concerto for string orchestra and piano, by Anis Fuleihan, first performance of the piece.
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 7 and 8, WEAF 09/18/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_002)
			Side 7 and 8: Suite of American Folk Tunes (cont.), by Charles Wakefield Cadman.
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 7 and 8, WJZ 09/11/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_007)
			Side 7 and 8: Pastorale, by Gian Carlo Menotti; with announcement.
Oversize 1		Saratoga Spa Music Festival, sides 9 and 10, WEAF 09/18/1937 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_001)
			Side 9: Suite on American Folk Tunes, by Charles Wakefield Cadman; Dido's Lament, by Henry Purcell, Edwina Eustis, contralto; Side 10: Dido's Lament (cont.).
Oversize 3		Shostakovich: Music to Hamlet, Pantomime March 03/21/1945 (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_011)
			Side 1: Hamlet Suite, Op. 32a: VII. Musical Pantomime Allegro (conclusion); Hamlet Suite, Op. 32a: V. Fontinbras March. The recording was made in Mary Howard's recording studio. Mary Shipman Howard (1911–1976) was one of the earliest female recording engineers and recording studio owners.
Oversize 1		SPA: Sassus, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_038)
Oversize 1		SPA 20/22: Mahler: Symphony No. 3, 1st Movement, Pt. II undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_043)
Oversize 1		SPA 20/22: Mahler: Symphony No. 3, side 3 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_044)
Oversize 1		SPA 20/22: Mahler: Symphony No. 3, side 4 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_045)
Oversize 1		SPA 20/22: Mahler: Symphony No. 3, side 5 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_046)
Oversize 2		SPA 20/22: Mahler: Sympohy No. 3, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_060)
Oversize 2		SPA 32: Schonberg: Early Songs, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_064)
Oversize 2		SPA 32: Schonberg: Early Songs, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_063)
Oversize 1		SPA 40: d’Albert: Tiefland undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_035)
Oversize 1		SPA: [d’Albert]: Tiefland, side 5 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_036)
Oversize 2		SPA: Beethoven: Piano Concerto, Op. 61, [side 2] undated - Columbia test pressing; note on sleeve: “Charlie: Note this is the fourth master we made on this side. C.” (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_068)
Oversize 2		SPA: Beethoven: Piano Concerto, Op. 61, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_067)
Oversize 1		SPA: Bruckner: Symphony No. 3, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_030)
Oversize 1		SPA: Bruckner: Symphony No. 3, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_031)
Oversize 1		SPA: Bruckner: Symphony No. 3, side 3 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_032)
Oversize 1		SPA: Bruckner: Symphony No. 3, side 4 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_033)
Oversize 1		SPA: Busoni, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_037)
Oversize 2		SPA: Busoni, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_071)
Oversize 2		SPA: Busoni, side 2 05/04/1954 - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_070)
Oversize 2		SPA: C. P. E. Bach: Piano Concerto in D undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_048)
Oversize 2		SPA: C. P. E. Bach: Trio [sonata] undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_047)
Oversize 2		SPA: de Falla: Master Peter’s Puppets undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_058)
Oversize 2		SPA: de Falla: Master Peter’s Puppets, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_055)
Oversize 2		SPA: de Falla: Master Peter’s Puppets, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_057)
Oversize 2		SPA: Denkmaler Der Tonkunst, Fuse, side 1 12/22/1953 - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_078)
Oversize 2		SPA: Denkmaler Der Tonkunst, Fuse, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_074)
Oversize 2		SPA: Denkmaler Der Tonkunst, Tirolese, side 3 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_073)
Oversize 2		SPA: Denkmaler Der Tonkunst, Tirolese, side 4 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_072)
Oversize 2		SPA: J. J. Fux: Instrumental Music, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_077)
Oversize 2		SPA: J. J. Fux Instrumental Music, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_069)
Oversize 1		SPA: Janacek, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_026)
Oversize 1		SPA: Janacek, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_027)
Oversize 1		SPA: Lonny Epstein, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing. (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_042)
Oversize 1		SPA: Lonny Epstein, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_041)
Oversize 2		SPA: Madrigal, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_056)
Oversize 2		SPA: Malipiero: Poemi Asolani undated - Columbia test pressing. (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_054)
Oversize 2		SPA: Quartet for Flute and Cello, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_052)
Oversize 1		SPA: Sassus, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_038)
Oversize 1		SPA: Schnabel Piano Concerto undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_040)
Oversize 2		SPA: Schubert Variations, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_051)
Oversize 2		SPA: Schubert: Songs undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_053)
Oversize 2		SPA: Senlin, side 2 12/23/1953 - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_075)
Oversize 2		SPA: Senlin, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_076)
Oversize 2		SPA: Songs of the Hebrides, side 1 undated - Columbia test pressing. (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_066)
Oversize 2		SPA: Songs of the Hebrides, side 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_065)
Oversize 2		SPA: Strauss: [Sonata] Op. 5, Five Piano Pieces undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_049)
Oversize 2		SPA: Strauss: Sonata Op. 5, Op. 3 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_050)
Oversize 1		SPA: Tartini: Concerto in A minor undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_039)
Oversize 2		SPA: W. Josten: Endymion undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_059)
Oversize 2		SPA: Werner Josten: Concerto Sacro, part 1 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_062)
Oversize 2		SPA: Werner Josten: Concerto Sacro, part 2 undated - Columbia test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_061)
Oversize 2		T. D.; Fugue undated - test pressing (Vinyl record) (ID#: adler_fc_088)
Oversize 1		[Untitled disc] I, sides 1 and 2 undated - solo violin and orchestra, sounds modern 1930s? (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_082)
Oversize 1		[Untitled disc] II, sides 1 and 2 undated - solo violin and orchestra, sounds modern 1930s? (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_081)
Oversize 1		[Untitled disc] III, sides 1 and 2 undated - solo violin and orchestra, sounds modern 1930s? (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_083)
Oversize 1		[Untitled] undated (Lacquer disc) (ID#: adler_fc_028)
			Side 1: Spoken word in German, single speaker, recording of a speech at the occasion of Adler receiving the Arnold Schönberg Medal in Vienna. The speaker stresses Adler’s relationship to Vienna through his past working with/learning from Gustaf Mahler [calls Adler Mahler’s ‘famulus’]. The speaker also praises Adler’s music event organization at a Saratoga spa resort [Saratoga Springs?]. Synopsis translation by Sebastian Modrow; Side 2: Spoken word in German, two consecutive speakers, musical instruments can be heard in prep for performance at the end, perhaps pre concert speeches and intro. Reflects on the importance of Schönberg, who died 2 years earlier and in whose honor the medal is given out, for the Austrian music scene as a ‘symbol of idealism without concession, a symbol of a strict artistic pragmatism and purity’ which the speaker conveys to the new laureate as an obligation. Adler [?] thanks him and stresses that he has done and will do in the future a lot for modern music but stresses also that without an instrument there is no music and flatters his Vienna audience by stating that with their Vienna Symphony they posses one of the most precious instruments in the world. [Synopsis translation by Sebastian Modrow].

	Writings
		F. Charles Adler
Box 14			Open Forum discussion, Adler/Schang (Skidmore College) (2 folders)
Box 14			Program notes (7 folders)
			Miscellaneous
Box 14				Manuscripts (2 folders)
Box 14				Published material
Box 14		Hannah Moriarta Adler - miscelleneous manuscripts
Box 14		Unidentified - poem, "Good Time Charlie On the Loose"

Return to top