Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Bail, Grace Shattuck.
Title:	Grace Shattuck Bail Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1942-1979
Quantity:	2.5 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American poet, composer, arranger. Bail often set Biblical passages to music. Collection includes correspondence (1942-1979); musical compositions, poems, and memorabilia.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Grace Shattuck Bail (1898-1996) was an American pianist, violinist, musicologist, and poet. A member of the American Poetry League, N.L.A.P.W., Eugene Field Society, Mark Twain Society, Chaparral Poets, and many other professional organizations, Bail's published works included compositions, songs, poems, and books. Her work appeared in periodicals such as Evening Star (Washington, D.C.), Etude, Arizona Highways, Listen, The American Bard, and The Pen Women, as well as occasionally in such non-mainstream publications as the horror/fantasy monthly Weirdbook.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Grace Shattuck Bail Papers are comprised of two separate accessions which have not been integrated.

The original accession contains two series: Correspondence, 1944-1965, and a few Subject files (awards, copies of poems, published pieces, clippings).

The 1980 accession consists of four series. Correspondence contains correspondence from 1942-1979. Memorabilia includes biographical information, a photograph, and other items. Published material contains reviews and clippings. Writings is the largest series and contains books, music, songs, and poetry.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by topic. Memorabilia and writings are arranged alphabetically by type; writings are further arranged alphabetically by title. Note that since the two accessions have not been integrated, box numbers are not unique; please specify box number and accession when requesting material.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Grace Shattuck Bail Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Grace Shattuck Bail, 1967-1984.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Jul 1967
Revision history: Jun 1980 - additions - CMV; 25 Jan 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence
Box 1		Undated
Box 1		1944-1945, 1947
Box 1		1953-1955
Box 1		1957-1965 (3 folders)

	Subject files
Box 2		Awards
Box 2		Biographical material
Box 2		California Federation of Chaparral Poets 1964-1965

	Correspondence (1980 additions)
Box 1		1942-1979
Box 1		undated

	Memorabilia (1980 additions)
Box 1		Biographical information
Box 1		Lists
Box 1		Miscellaneous
Box 1		Photograph 1977
Box 1		Poetry judge name card

	Published material (1980 additions)
Box 1		Clippings
Box 1		Reviews

	Writings (1980 additions)
		Books
Box 1			Cantabile 1974
Box 1			Golden Days 1970
Box 1			Heartstrings 1968 (2 volumes)
		Music
Box 2			"A-Mour"
Box 2			Anthem, "Morning Song"
Box 2			"April Day"
Box 2			"Autumn"
Box 2			"Ballet"
Box 2			"Beatitudes" 1954
Box 2			"The Betrayal - John Chapter 18 - Chapter 19" 1955
			Cantatas
Box 2				"Galatians Chapter 1" 1954
Box 2				"John, Chapter 3" 1954
Box 2				"John, Chapter 10" 1954
Box 2				"Peter's denial foretold - John, Chapter 13" 1954
Box 2				"Psalm 3" 1955
Box 2				"Psalm 8" 1955
Box 2				"Psalm 9" 1955
Box 2				"I Thessalonians, Chapter 5 - II Thessalonians" 1954
Box 2				"The way, the truth and the life - John, Chapter 14" 1954
Box 2			"Christ further comforts his disciples - John, Chapter 16" 1955
Box 2			"Christmas morning" 1955
Box 2			"Christ's prayer to be glorified - John, Chapter 17" 1955
Box 2			"Clarissa"
Box 2			"Consolation"
Box 2			"I Corinthians, Chapter 6 - Chapter 8" 1954
Box 2			"Cradle music for baby" 1963
Box 2			"The Crucifixion - Mark, Chapter 15"
Box 2			Cycle from cantata - "Psalm 91"
Box 2			"Desert Wind"
Box 2			Flute - "Song of the flute"
Box 2			"Genealogy of Noah - Genesis, Chapter 5 - Chapter 7" 1954
Box 2			"Genesis, Chapter 10 - Chapter 11" 1955
Box 2			Harp - "Etudes for harp"
Box 2			"Harvest"
Box 2			"Hebrews, Chapter 1 - Chapter 4" 1954
Box 2			"Hushaby"
Box 2			"Isaiah, Chapter 55" 1954
Box 2			"Job, Chapter 13 - Chapter 14" 1954
Box 2			"John, Chapter 8" 1954
Box 2			"Little Tunes"
Box 2			"Love on another - John, Chapter 15"
Box 2			"Minuet for two violins"
Box 2			"Miss you so"
Box 2			"Naïve"
Box 2			"Noah's Ark - Genesis, Chapter 7 - Chapter 9" 1954
Box 2			"Nocturne" 1955
Box 2			"Only a dream"
			Oratorios
Box 2				"Creation - Genesis, Chapter 1 - Chapter 3" 1954
Box 2				"Galatians, Chapter 2 - Chapter 3" 1955
Box 2				"Palm branches - John, Chapter 12" 1954
Box 2			Organ or piano - "Summer Day" 1955
			Piano
Box 2				"Chaconne"
Box 2				"The dream"
Box 2				"Dutch iris"
Box 2				"Interlude" (2 folders)
Box 2				"Low tide" 1945, revised 1955
Box 2				"Overture enfatico"
Box 2				"Regret"
Box 2				"Soliloquy" 1956
Box 2				"Soliloquy I"
Box 2				"Theme"
Box 2				"Whispering leaves" 1955
Box 2				"White lilacs" 1957
Box 2			Piano duet - "Ballet" 1956
Box 2			"Psalm 7" 1955
Box 2			"Psalm 27" 1955
Box 2			"Psalm 91" 1954
Box 2			"Psalm 105"
Box 2			Quartet for women's voices - "Endwing spring" 1956 (2 folders)
Box 2			"Rain drops"
Box 2			"Reflections"
Box 3			Sacred chorus - "Praise to our Father"
Box 3			"Sea lore"
Box 3			"Sleepy song"
Box 3			"The spring"
Box 3			"Story for baby" 1959
			String quartets
Box 3				"Cherry blossoms" 1956
Box 3				"Melody" 1956
Box 3				"Nocturne" 1956
Box 3				"Penseroso" 1956
Box 3				"Spring morning" 1956
Box 3				"White iris"
Box 3				"White roses" 1956
Box 3				"Wild wheat" 1956
			String trios
Box 3				"Allegretto" 1956
Box 3				"Cantabile" 1956
Box 3				"Nocturne" 1956
Box 3				"Romance" 1956
Box 3				"Serenade" 1956
Box 3				"South wind" 1956
Box 3			Bb trumpet with piano - "Woodland song"
			Tuba
Box 3				"Larghetto"
Box 3				"Romance" 1956
Box 3			"Valse dream"
			Violin and piano
Box 3				"Caprice" 1959
Box 3				"The mocker's song"
			Violin solos
Box 3				"California poppy"
Box 3				"Cavatina" 1955
Box 3				"The crystal stream" 1968
Box 3				"Golden poppy"
Box 3				"Larghetto" 1956
Box 3				"Love song"
Box 3				"The mocker's song" 1965
Box 3				"Spring morning" 1976
Box 3				"Theme" 1969
Box 3				"Twilight"
			Vocal
Box 3				"How can one sleep?" 1965
Box 3				"Spring song"
Box 3			Vocal (medium voice) - "The babe"
		Poetry
Box 4			Miscellaneous 1966-1972
		Published songs
Box 4			"A bird sings in May" 1971
		Published poems
Box 4			"A president's dream" 1969
Box 4			"April hour" 1971
Box 4			"August night" 1968
Box 4			"Forever and ever" 1969
Box 4			"Gentle hand" 1969
Box 4			"In memory of Grace" and "To a friend" 1967
Box 4			"Joyous water ouzel" 1969
Box 5			"Love" 1967
Box 5			"Mass for a deer" 1977-1978
Box 5			Miscellaneous 1965-1978
Box 5			"My heart remembers" 1971
Box 5			"Nocturne" 1978
Box 5			"One day" 1969
Box 5			"Safe harbor" 1978
Box 5			"Singing poems anthology" 1968
Box 5			"Solo" 1978
Box 5			"Spring brought me gifts" 1972
Box 5			"Tunneling scalopus" 1970

Return to top