Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Baker, Bryant, 1881-1970. |
| Title: | Bryant Baker Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1910-1965 |
| Quantity: | 1.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | British-born American sculptor. Collection contains published material, correspondence and photographs. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Bryant Baker (1881-1970) was a British-American sculptor.
Baker was born in London, where his father and grandfather both worked on carvings at Westminster Abbey and taught him how to sculpt. Baker's first sculptures included decorative elements for the Victoria and Albert Museum, and he studied at the City and Guild Technical Institute and the Royal Academy of the Arts.
In 1916, Baker immigrated to the United States, using his skills to craft artificial limbs and face masks for wounded World War I soldiers in Army hospitals, and gaining recognition for his art. Throughout his career, Baker crafted hundreds of sculptures and busts, but the piece he is most known for is Pioneer Woman, a 17-foot sculpture in Ponca City, Oklahoma. He was elected to the National Academy of Design as an Associate member in 1957 and became a full member in 1959.
Baker never married, and died in New York City in 1970.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Bryant Baker Papers contains biographical material, correspondence, photographs, and printed material.
Biographical material contains a list of Baker's works.
Correspondence contains one letter.
Photographs contains photographs of Baker and his artwork.
Printed material consists of newspaper and magazine clippings, all of which contain articles about Baker, as well as several programs for unveilings of his work.
Arrangement of the Collection
Printed material and photographs are arranged chronologically within their series.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Bryant Baker Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Bryant Baker, 1966.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 3 May 2010
Revision history: 14 Sep 2022 - collection processed (GU)
Inventory
| Biographical material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | List of works undated | ||||||||||
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Hughes, Charles Evans 1943 | ||||||||||
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Baker 1913-1958 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Baker's work 1910-1965, undated (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Printed material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Clippings about Baker 1917-1964 | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Clippings about Baker 1932-1958 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Programs for bust unveilings 1950-1963 | ||||||||||