Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Bank of Newburgh (Newburgh, N.Y.) |
| Title: | Bank of Newburgh (N.Y.) Records |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1812-1836 |
| Quantity: | 1 folder (SC) |
| Abstract: | Checks, promissory notes and correspondence from the Bank of Newburgh located in Newburgh, New York. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The village of Newburgh, New York was incorporated in 1800. Located on the Hudson and offering easy access to west, northwest, and southwest, the river town grew rapidly and became a major hub of commerce in during the mid to late 19th century. Ships from Newburgh traded internationally, steamboats stopped on the route between Albany and Manhattan, turnpike roads brought yet more trade, and many manufacturing businesses located in Newburgh to take advantage of the transportation network.
To support this thriving trade, Newburgh had five local banks before the Civil War; the first was the Bank of Newburgh, chartered in March of 1811, and for 23 years it remained the only banking institution in the district. The bank expanded quickly to meet the financial needs of a growing commercial population, opening a branch in Ithaca in 1818 which operated for twelve years. So successful was the Bank in making loans "to the westward" that it soon began sending its cashiers and two directors west on business trips to make loans, effect exchanges, and transact other business. Banks at this time were permitted to print their own money, and the designs for the Bank of Newburgh bills included "views of romantic scenery between this place and West Point."
In 1935 the name was changed to the National Bank of Newburgh. In 1959 it merged with County National Bank, in 1970 with Empire National Bank, and in 1983 with Bank of New York.
[Prepared with the assistance of Heather Henricksen-Georghiou of the Newburgh Free Library.]
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Bank of Newburgh (N.Y.) Records consist of checks, promissory notes, and correspondence, arranged chronologically.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Bank of Newburgh (N.Y.) Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Transferred from Argosy I, 6/20/1969.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 19 Jul 2007
Revision history: 14 Aug 2007 - Bank history updated (MRC)
Inventory
| Checks | |||||||||||
| SC 197 | Miscellaneous 1812, 1814 (2 items) | ||||||||||
| Promissory notes | |||||||||||
| SC 197 | Miscellaneous 1813 (2 items) | ||||||||||
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| SC 197 | Miscellaneous 1813-1814, 1817, 1819, 1822-1823, 1825, 1834, undated | ||||||||||