Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Barnes, James, -1865. |
| Title: | James Barnes Letters |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1862-1865 |
| Quantity: | 52 items |
| Abstract: | Papers of the Civil War soldier of the 146th Regiment, New York State Volunteers. Chiefly correspondence to his wife, Catherine Barnes (1862-1865). Other correspondents to Mrs. Barnes are William T. Tull, chaplain at the Washington Street Hospital and Arthur B. Johnson. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
James Barnes was a Civil War soldier of the 146th Regiment, New York State Volunteers. He died at Washington Street Hospital, in Petersburg, Virginia.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The James Barnes Letters consist of letters from the Civil War soldier to his wife Catharine from army camps and hospitals in Virginia and Washington, D.C.. The letters describe the day-to-day life of a Civil War soldier and the movements of his regiment, with a few brief accounts of unidentified battles. Two letters from a chaplain at Washington St. Hospital, Petersburg, Va., to Mrs. Barnes announce her husband's death and give further details.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
James Barnes Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Finding Aid Information
Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 1993-08-03
Revision history: 23 Aug 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)