Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | General Beauregard Telegrams |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1862-1865 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Telegrams to General Beauregard, C.S.A., during the American Civil War |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Pierre Gustave Toutant-Beauregard (1818-1893) was an American military officer. He attended the United States Military Academy at West Point and served in the Mexican-American War (1846-1848) and then as a member of the Army Corps of Engineers managing the Mississippi and Lake defenses in Louisiana. He is known for being the Confederate officer who started the American Civil War by firing on Fort Sumter on April 12, 1861. He usually omitted his first name, signing correspondence as G.T. Beauregard.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Spanning 1862 to 1865, the General Beauregard Telegrams comprises sixty two telegrams received by Conederate States of America (CSA) Brigadier General P.G.T. Beauregard during the American Civil War.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
General Beauregard Telegrams,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Source and date of acquisition unknown/
Finding Aid Information
Created by: Michele Combs
Date: 28 Jun 2024
Revision history: