Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Beckman, Ronald H.
Title:	Ron Beckman Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1920-2010 [estimate]
Quantity:	1 linear ft.
Abstract:	Papers of the American industrial designer, architect, and professor.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Ronald H. Beckman is an American industrial designer. He was vice-president of the design firm George Nelson and Co. (whose clients included Herman Miller and General Electric), director of the Research and Design Institute (created to support economic development in New England and conduct design research to improve the quality of life), and an Associate Professor at Syracuse University. In 1967 Beckman received the first graphic design grant awarded by the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) to advance highway communication and safety.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed at this time and is still actively growing.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

The remainder of the collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ron Beckman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ron Beckman.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Mar 2016
Revision history: 27 Sep 2022 - recordings processed (IRP)

Return to top

Inventory

	[Papers]
		RESTRICTED: CLOSED: This portion of the collection is unprocessed and not open to researchers.

	Recordings
		RESTRICTED: Access to audiovisual material requires advance notice to produce a use copy.
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Dr. Charter, part 1 (tape 1 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_001)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Dr. Charter, part 2 (tape 2 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_002)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Dr. Irvin Altman, part 1 (tape 4 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_004)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Dr. Irvin Altman, part 2 (tape 5 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_005)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Robert Beck (tape 3 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_003)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Michael Brill (tape 6 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_006)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Dr. Steel (tape 7 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_007)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Ronald Beckman (tape 8 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_008)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Dr. Robert Kastenbaum (tape 9 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_009)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Questions to Beckman and Kastenbaum (tape 10 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_010)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Jivan Tabibian (tape 11 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_011)
Box 1		Socio-Physical Design Symposium: Questions and Answers of the Seminar (tape 12 of 12) 1969 - sponsored by Office Design Magazine (Audio cassette) (ID#: beckman_rh_012)

Return to top