Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Bercovici, Konrad, 1882-1961.
Title:	Konrad Bercovici Collection
Inclusive Dates:	1925-1964
Quantity:	2 linear ft.
Abstract:	Romanian-born American author. Manuscripts, memorabilia and correspondence.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Konrad Bercovici (1882-1961) was a Romanian-American author whose works included biography, travel, history (particularly of Eastern Europe) and fiction. He published his memoirs, It's the Gypsy In Me, in 1941.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Konrad Bercovici Collection consists of writings, memorabilia, and published books.

Writings range from handwritten manuscripts of short stories to galley proofs of novels. Included are several scripts for stage, radio and television production, some of which contain roles performed by Bercovici himself.

Memorabilia contains correspondence, clippings of newspaper and magazine articles, photographs, and flyleaf inscriptions. Correspondence consits of incoming letters from friends and relatives, including Menachem Begin and Louis Nizer..

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Series are arranged in alphabetical order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The collection originally included copies of books written or edited by Bercovici, ranging from Crimes of Passion (1917) to the late 1940s. These have been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to Libraries Search to locate these items.

The Internet Archive has a freely downloadable copy of It's the Gypsy In Me, available at http://www.archive.org/details/itsthegypsyinmet010056mbp.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Konrad Bercovici Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1983.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 22 Apr 2010
Revision history: 17 Apr 2013 - minor revisions (MBD); 18 Dec 2015 - 3 folders added (MBD); 6 May 2019 - added Rada Bercovici letter (KD)

Return to top

Inventory

	Writings
Box 1		Against the sky - typescript (2 folders)
Box 1		The American - typescript copy
Box 1		The American, in Country Gentleman May 1927 - printed material
Box 1		Authenticating my portrait by Modigliani - handwritten
Box 1		Authenticating my portrait by Modigliani 18 May 1905 - typed transcript used for publication in The Courier
Box 1		Black wedding - typsecript, annotated
Box 1		Black wedding - television script; typescript annotated
Box 1		Black wedding - miscellaneous pages
Box 1		Conquered, in Delineator Magazine Dec 1929 - printed material
Box 1		Fanica, in Collier's 16 Jan 1926 - printed material
Box 1		Firewood - typescript copy
Box 1		The flood, in Good Housekeeping Dec 1930 - printed material
Box 1		For a song - typescript copy
Box 1		Free land - typescript copy
Box 1		The French savage (The savage prodigal) - typescript copy
Box 1		Gita - typescript copy
Box 1		Gita, in Good Housekeeping Dec 1930 - printed material
Box 1		Horsemen - typescript copy
Box 1		Horsemen, in Delineator Magazine Jan 1928 - printed material
Box 2		I'm an American, script no. 27 24 Nov 1940 - copy; transcript of NBC radio broadcast
		Indian wind
			See There is money in poetry
Box 2		Lerla, in Good Housekeeping Oct 1929 - printed material
Box 2		Ludmilla, in Good Housekeeping Nov 1927 - printed material
Box 2		The master - typescript copy
Box 2		The mill on the river, in Good Housekeeping Jun 1924 - printed material
Box 2		Millstones - typescript copy
Box 2		Millstones, in Pictorial Review Nov 1924 - printed material
Box 2		Nancu, in McClure's undated - printed material
Box 2		Nina, in McCall's 1929-11 - printed material
Box 2		One moment please, in Delineator Magazine 1927-12 - printed material
Box 2		Outcasts, in College Humor undated - printed material
Box 2		Perta, in Good Housekeeping undated - printed material
Box 2		Royal intrigue in Romania, in Outlook and Independent Apr-Jun 1931 - printed material
Box 2		Savage prodigal
			See The French savage
Box 2		Seed - typescript copy
Box 2		Sirocco, in Country Gentleman Oct 1926 - printed material
Box 2		So beautiful, in The American Magazine Jan 1930 - printed material
Box 2		Steel against steel, in Good Housekeeping 1925 - printed material
Box 2		Story of the Gypsies - typescript, annotated
Box 2		The strong man of the lakes - galley proof
Box 2		The strong man of the lakes, in The American Magazine May 1930 - printed material
Box 2		There is money in poetry - handwritten
Box 2		There is money in poetry - script; typescript, annotated
Box 2		There is money in poetry - television script; mimeograph
Box 2		There is money in poetryin Harper's undated - printed material
Box 2		There is money in poetry 22 Feb 1940 - "Indian Wind" theatre program, Yale University School of Fine Arts
Box 2		The vineyard, in Good Housekeeping Jan 1925 - printed material
Box 2		What life means to me - photocopy
Box 2		What love is, in Liberty 13 Feb 1926
Box 2		What the Gypsies have told me - photocopy
Box 2		When faith returns - typescript copy
Box 2		The whip, in Country Gentleman Oct 1925 - printed material
Box 2		Yeshiva University benefit performance, "Creation" - typescript, annotated
Box 2		Youth to Youth, in Delineator Magazine Nov 1926 - printed material
Box 2		Youth to Youth, in The World's One Hundred Best Short Stories, Vol. 4 1927 - printed material
Box 2		Zailain Ladies Home Journal May 1930

	Memorabilia
		Correspondence
			Individuals are listed separately but contained in the same folder.
Box 2			Mayfield, John - from Bercovici family and friends
Box 2			Begin, Manachem
Box 2			Bercovici, Jean
Box 2			Bercovici, Rada
Box 2			Bercovici, Rion
Box 2			Birnie, William H.
Box 2			Colin, Rosica
Box 2			Elmo, Ann
Box 2			Farrar, John
Box 2			Finch, Helen
Box 2			Gruenblat, Maxa Nordau
Box 2			Howard, G. Wren
Box 2			Kingdon, Frank
Box 2			Malraux, Andre - by M. Brandin
Box 2			Marshall, Margaret
Box 2			McConnell, Jane T.
Box 2			Nizer, Louis
Box 2			O'Dwyer, Paul
Box 2			Rewald, John
Box 2			Rosenfield, Harry N.
Box 2			Rubin, Reuben
Box 2			Stevens, Roger L.
Box 2			Wheeler, Monroe - by Francis Keech
Box 2			Facsimiles of Misc. Correspondence
Box 3		Flyleaf inscriptions
		Newspaper and magazine articles about Bercovici
Box 3			Guyon, Louise Hubert. "Konrad Bercovici." Boston Globe 15 Aug 1925
Box 3			Hewes, Robert E. "Bercovici gives writer's views." Los Angeles Times undated
Box 3			Janacek, Pat. "Rada Bercovici contributes father's collection to University." Daily Orange 31 Oct 1963
Box 3			Mayfield, John. "Konrad Bercovici." The Courier Mar 1964
Box 3			Miller, Arthur. "Master of irony." Los Angeles Times Sunday Magazine 05 Feb 1939
Box 3			Noel, David. "Konrad Bercovici." The Scholastic 10 Jan 1925
Box 3			Obituary. New York Times 28 Dec 1961
Box 3			"Romany tales." Saturday Evening Post undated
Box 3			"The short story changes." The New York Nation 30 Nov 1961
Box 3			Swan, Gilbert. "In New York." Syracuse Herald 25 May 1931
Box 3		Photographs - of Bercovici, taken by Margrethe Mather and Muray; also of two portraits of Bercovici, painted by Mirel Bercovici Abbott and Modigliani.
Box 3		Three Lively Arts - contains article by Mirana Bercovici Abbott

Return to top