Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Bethlehemites. |
| Title: | Bethlehemite Order Handbook |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1700-1746 |
| Quantity: | 1 volume |
| Abstract: | Handwritten and printed rules and regulations for the Order of Bethlehemite Brothers in Lima, Peru; bound into a single volume with limp vellum covers |
| Language: | Spanish |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The Order of Bethlehemite Brothers are a monastic order founded in Guatemala in the 1650s. They provided medical care and assistance to the local population throughout colonial Latin America; at its height the order ran 20 hospitals in various towns and cities. As of 2007 the order had declined to 17 members, all of whom were living in a single community at La Laguna, in Tenerife. (Two other Catholic orders are also known as Bethlehemites.)
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Bethlehemite Order Handbook contains handwritten and printed rules and regulations for the Order of Bethlehemite Brothers in Lima, Peru, bound into a single volume with limp vellum covers. Among the items bound into the volume are "Religion regla de Nuestro Padre San Augustin" and a papal statement granting privilieges to the order. All text is in Spanish. Two dates, 1739 and 1746; appear in the volume, but some items likely date from much earlier.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Bethlehemite Order Handbook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2024
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 8 Apr 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| Miscellaneous | |||||||||||
| SC 893 | [Rules and regulations for the order] circa 1700-1746 - handwritten and printed items bound into a single volume with limp vellum covers | ||||||||||
| Contains the following: Religion regla de la Nuestro Padre San Augustin - printed Constitusiones de la Sagrada Religion Bethlemitca - handwritten Actas formadas en el capitulo gral zelebrado en Lima el dia 11 de Junio 1739 anos - handwritten Benedicto Papa XIV - handwritten Clemens Papa XI ad perpetuam rei memoriam - printed, granting of mendicant order privileges to Bethlehemites [untitled item] - handwritten, 1746, signed Barnabe Balcazar, two other unidentified names |
|||||||||||