Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Betts, Samuel T., Jr., d. 1948. |
| Title: | Samuel T. Betts Jr. Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1934-1947 |
| Quantity: | 4.5 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Active member of civic organizations and owner of stamp and printing company. Collection contains correspondence, receipts, and photographs. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Samuel T. Betts Jr. (d. 1948) was a businessman in Skaneateles, New York. Betts was a long-time resident of Skaneateles and an active member of civic organizations such as the Skaneateles Library Association, Skaneateles Rotary Club, and on the board of appeals for the Village of Skaneateles. He was on the board of trustees for the Skaneateles Savings Bank and founded the Skaneateles Stamp Company, his main business venture.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Samuel T. Betts Jr. Papers contains correspondence, financial material, and memorabilia.
Correspondence consists of correspondence with family members and various clients of Betts' printing and stamp company, Skaneateles Stamp Co.
Financial material includes checks and bank statements from the National Bank and Trust Co. of Skaneateles and Betts' receipts, both personal and business.
Memorabilia consists of photographs of unknown individuals who could possibly be Betts's family, numerous calling cards and membership cards, souvenir postcards, and so on.
Arrangement of the Collection
Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by name of correspondent, and within each folder chronologically. Financial material and memorabilia are arranged alphabetically by title, type, or topic.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Samuel T. Betts Jr. Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Unspecified, 1966.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 3 May 2010
Revision history: 22 Jun 2015 - corrected bio (MRC);
12 Jul 2021 - collection processed, inventory and bio updated (RMH)
Inventory
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Family circa 1940 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Addressograph-Multigraph Corporation 1939-1944 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Andrews, Ross, Sr. and Jr. 1938-1944 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Baltimore Philatelic Society 1939 | ||||||||||
| Libraries (4 folders) | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Amityville Free Library circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Belmont Public library circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brownsville Free Library circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Camden Free Public Library circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | David A. How Public Library circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Jeannette Public Library circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Ripley Free Public Library circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Saugus Public LIbrary circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Scotia Public LIbrary circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | White Plains Public Library circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Late card forms circa 1945 (4 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Late card form samples circa 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Postcards 1934-1944 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Rotary Club 1939-1944 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Skaneateles Country Club 1938-1939, 1942, 1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Skaneateles Stamp Company 1938-1942 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Syracuse Stamp Club 1939 | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Washington Service 1937-1940 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 3 | Miscellaneous, A-L 1938-1945 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Miscellaneous, M-Z 1938-1945 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Financial material | |||||||||||
| Box 4 | National Bank and Trust Co. of Skaneateles 1940-1944, 1947 - bank statements and checks (9 folders) | ||||||||||
| Receipts | |||||||||||
| Box 5 | A. J. Wright and Co. circa 1940 | ||||||||||
| Box 4 | Abbott, Proctor and Paine circa 1940 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Addressograph-Multigraph Corporation 1938-1944 (3 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Alling and Cory Co. circa 1940 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Associate Laundries 1938-1944 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Bentley and Thomas 1938-1944 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | J. and F. B. Garrett Co. 1938-1944 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Insurance 1937-1947 - package and car insurance | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | New York Telephone Company 1937-1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Sands, J.D., M.D. 1940-1947 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Schicht System Shop 1937-1945 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Stewart, Ivan J. 1939-1947 | ||||||||||
| Box 5 | Miscellaneous, A-G 1937-1947 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Miscellaneous, H-W 1937-1947 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Miscellaneous 1937-1947 - handwritten notes, check stubs, membership reciepts, etc. | ||||||||||
| Memorabilia | |||||||||||
| Box 6 | Business and calling cards | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Membership cards 1938-1944 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Newspaper clippings 1942 | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Photo postcards | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Photographs - Betts family, others | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Photographs - Betts family, others | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Syracuse University 91st Commencement for the New York State College of Forestry 1949 - program | ||||||||||
| Box 6 | Miscellaneous - blank envelopes with addresses, event programs, handwritten notes, etc. | ||||||||||