Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | |
| Title: | Black Serviceman's Photograph Archive |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1968-1972 |
| Quantity: | 3 folders (SC) |
| Abstract: | Photographs of an unknown black serviceman during the Vietnam War. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Nothing is known of the creator of this material but his last name, Williams, and a possible first name, Cliff.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Black Serviceman's Photograph Archive consists of photographs depicting the personal life and military service of an unidentified Black soldier serving in Vietnam during the war and numerous family photographs at home. Several images show "Le Van Loc," a popular Vietnamese night club located on the Tan Son Nhut Air Base, near Saigon, indicating the soldier may have been stationed at or near that base.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Occupations
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Black Serviceman's Photograph Archive,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchased, 2023.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: RMH
Date: 24 May 2023
Revision history: