Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Arbit Blatas / Regina Resnik Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | circa 1985-1995 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Material related to Arbit Blatas, artist and set designer, and his wife and creative collaborator, mezzo-soprano Regina Resnik. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Arbit Blatas (1908-1999) was a Russian-American painter and sculptor, known for his impressionist street scenes as well as for his series of paintings and sculptures of many of the modern masters with whom he worked and studied. His wife Regina Resnik (1922-2013) was an American opera singer wth a long career at the Metropolitan Opera in New York City. Resnik was also the stage director for a number European opera houses during the 1970s and 1980s, often in collaboration with her husband. Both intensely creative, intelligent, and passionate about stretching their artistic abilities, their partnership sparked a mutual explosion of creativity. "I think of myself as a 19th century person," Resnik said, "and Blatas as a painter of another epoch...we complement each other and it's volcanic - Vesuvius and Etna, with a lot of flowing lava!" [Opera News, 12/8/84].
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Arbit Blatas / Regina Resnik Collection contains artwork and posters.
Artwork contains original lithographs by Blatas, many of them featuring Resnik in operatic roles including The Queen of Spades.
Posters contains posters featuring artwork created by Blatas. The posters are for a variety of events, including exhibits of his work, collaborative performances by Blatas and Resnik, and one miscellaneous item.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Associated Titles
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Arbit Blatas / Regina Resnik Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Posters and artwork, gift of Amy Sperling, 2018.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 22 May 2024
Revision history:
Inventory
| Artwork | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | "Resnik Blatas," Les Editions Archee - hardbound poftfolio of ten signed lithographs inspired by the roles of Regina Resnik; limited edition, this one numbered "3" | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | "6 litografie di A. Blatas," Galleria Graziussi/Graziussi Edizioni - portfolio of lithographs related to a production of The Threepenny Opera; limited edition, this one numbered "XV / XIL" | ||||||||||
| Map-Case | Lithograph, woman - signed lithograph portraying Regina Resnik in "The Queen of Spades"; limited edition, this one numbered 185 of 200, | ||||||||||
| Map-Case | Lithograph, street scene | ||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Loose lithographs - duplicates of those in "Resnik Blatas" portfolio, above (8 items) | ||||||||||
| Posters | |||||||||||
| Map-Case | Exhibits 1986-1987 (5 items) | ||||||||||
| Map-Case | Performances 1995 (3 items) | ||||||||||
| Map-Case | Other 1 items | ||||||||||