Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Nelson Bond Collection Relating to Forrest Ackerman
An inventory of the ccollection at Syracuse University
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Bond, Nelson Slade, 1908- |
| Title: | Nelson Bond Collection Relating to Forrest Ackerman |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1972-1996 |
| Quantity: | 0.25 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Correspondence, clippings, and other miscellaneous material related to science fiction editor and "super-fan" Forrest J Ackerman |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Forrest J (no period after the middle initial) Ackerman (1916-2008) was an American science fiction and horror editor, writer and literary agent. He was a significant force in the genesis of science fiction fandom, an expert on science fiction, horror, and fantasy films, and an avid collector of books and memorabilis in those genres.
Nelson Slade Bond (1908-2006) was an American author, known particularly for his fantasy and science fiction short stories, many of which were published in the "pulp" magazines of the 1930s and 1940s. In 1998 he received the Nebula Author Emeritus award for lifetime achievement, Bond was a pioneer in early science fiction and fantasy.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Nelson Bond Collection Relating to Forrest Ackerman consists primarily of correspondence (letters from Ackerman to Bond). There are also clippings about Ackerman, as well as a few items (articles, essays, form letters) by Ackerman. Some of these items have handwritten additions or annotations from Ackerman, so presumably he sent them to Bond, but this can't be known for sure.
When the collection was received, all material had already been removed from its envelopes; the empty envelopes have been retained at the end of the collection.
Arrangement of the Collection
Material is subdivided into Correspondence and Clippings; within that, material is arranged chronologically (where date is known).
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Nelson Bond Collection Relating to Forrest Ackerman,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2011.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 23 Jan 2018
Revision history:
Inventory
| Clippings | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | About Ackerman 1979-1981, 1983, 1987-1989, 1991, undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | By Ackerman 1983, 1989, undated | ||||||||||
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | [General] 1972, 1976-1977, 1979-1981, 1983, 1986-1990, 1992-1993, 1996, undated (6 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Empty envelopes | ||||||||||