Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Title: | Henri Bonnart Dressed Print |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1694 |
| Quantity: | 1 item |
| Abstract: | Engraving by 17th century French printmaker Henri Bonnart, "dressed" in fabric |
| Language: | French |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Henri Bonnart (1642-1711) was a French engraver and print dealer. The Bonnart family is considered the inventors of fashion portraiture, showing notable individuals wearing fashionable clothing. Dressed prints, in which an engraving of a fashionably-dressed person was embellished through the addition of fabric scraps to bring their clothing to three-dimensional life, were popular in the 17th century.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Henri Bonnart Dressed Print consists of an engraving by Bonnart, portraying Marie-Louise de Montmorency-Laval, one of Louis XIV's mistresses. The print has been embellished with pieces of fabric -- brocade, silks, etc. -- to make her clothing more realistic and beautiful.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advance notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Henri Bonnart Dressed Print,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2022.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 27 Feb 2023
Revision history: