Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Bontemps, Arna, 1902-1973.
Title:	Arna Bontemps Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1927-1968
Quantity:	42 linear ft.
Abstract:	Correspondence, manuscript plays, stories, songs, speeches, and book manuscripts and galley proofs.
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

African-American poet, critic, playwright, novelist, author of children's books, librarian.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1888 to 1997, the Arna Wendell Bontemps Papers comprises correspondence, writings and memorabilia of the educator, historian, librarian and Harlem Renaissance poet, novelist, playwright, and critic (1902-1973). While documenting Bontemps 21-year career as librarian at Fisk University, the collection also illuminates the life and work of this early chronicler of African-American culture. With the exception of some late 19th century secondary sources associated with Bontemps' research, the bulk of the original documentation dates from 1935 forward.

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence-Subject Files (Boxes 1-30) contains incoming letters and outgoing carbons as well as publicity, programs, and other printed material relating to lecture engagements, play productions, and writing projects. Correspondents whose letters are of greatest depth and duration include Paul Breman, publisher of Bontemps' book of poetry, Personals; Anvil editor Jack Conroy, Bontemps' collaborator on They Seek a City and three children's books; playwright Owen Dodson, with whom Bontemps served on the American Film Center's Committee for Mass Communication in Race Relations; poet Countee Cullen, Bontemps' collaborator on the play "St. Louis Woman"; composer W. C. Handy, for whom Bontemps acted as ghost writer for his autobiography, Father of the Blues; literary agents Maxim Lieber and John B. Turner; and Harlem Renaissance critic and photographer Carl Van Vechten. Bontemps' other correspondents include artists (Aaron Douglas, Jacob Lawrence); civil rights activists (Julian Bond, Mary White Ovington, Mary Church Terrell, Walter White, Roy Wilkins); composers (Harold Arlen, Verna Arvey, Thomas A. Dorsey, Ulysses Kay, William Grant Still, John W. Work); critics (Herbert Hill, Nick Aaron Ford, John T. Frederick, Blyden Jackson, Alain Locke, J. Saunders Redding, Darwin Turner); editors and journalists (Horace R. Cayton, Frank M. Davis, Hoyt W. Fuller, Harold Jackman, Roi Ottley, George S. Schuyler); historians (August Meier, Lawrence Dunbar Reddick); juvenile literature authors (Erick Berry, Mari Evans, Florence Crannell Means, Milton Meltzer, Charlemae Rollins, Ellen Tarry); novelists (William Demby, Ralph Ellison, John O. Killens, Clarence Major, Alice Walker); playwrights (Georgia Douglas Johnson, Robert Lucas, Schuyler Watts); poets (Amiri Baraka, Gwendolyn Brooks, Sterling Brown, Lucille Clifton, Marcus Christian, Frank S. Horne, Melvin B. Tolson); and sociologists (C. Eric Lincoln, Ira DeAugustine Reid). Although not characterized by a large number of letters, the Correspondence-Subject Files relating to educator W.E.B. Du Bois, novelist Jean Toomer, poet and playwright Langston Hughes, and sociologist Charles S. Johnson constitutes a unique group of documents which includes third-party correspondence, printed material by and about these figures, and manuscript writings.

Organizational correspondence includes that of cultural associations (American Society of African Culture, Association for the Study of Negro Life and History, Inc.); educational institutions (Dillard University, Fisk University, George Peabody College for Teachers, University of California, University of Chicago); fraternal organizations (Omega Psi Phi, Sigma Pi Phi); newspapers (The Chicago Defender, The Chicago Sun, The Chicago Tribune, The New York Herald-Tribune); periodicals (Common Ground, The Crisis, Ebony, Negro Digest, The Saturday Review of Literature); publishers (American Book Company, Dodd, Mead & Company, Doubleday & Company, Follett Publishing Company, Grolier, Inc., Hill and Wang, Inc., Houghton Mifflin Company, McGraw-Hill Book Company, Macmillan Com pany, John C. Winston Company); professional organizations (American Library Association, Association for Childhood Education, Authors League of America, P.E.N.); religious groups (American Friends Service Committee, Seventh-day Adventists, the Methodist Church); and theatrical companies (Establishment Theatre Company, Inc., Karamu Theatre). Of particular interest among the organizational files are the materials relating to the Julius Rosenwald Fund, a philanthropic institution which awarded Bontemps a fellowship, and for which he later served on its selection committee.

Arranged by format, Writings (Boxes 31-76) includes research material, notes, drafts, manuscripts and/or published material for articles and essays, book reviews, books, play and radio scripts, poems, song lyrics, speeches and stories. Articles and essays range from biographical sketches ("Rock, Church, Rock") to medical pamphlets ("The Low-Down on TB"), personal reminiscences ("The Awakening: a Memoir") to professional publications ("Special Collections of Negroana"). As both a librarian and a creative writer, Bontemps was uniquely qualified (and therefore often called upon) to contribute to a variety of publications that included American Scholar, Arts in Childhood, Film News, The Message Magazine, Phylon, and Tomorrow. Reflecting his eclectic interests and extending them to the book format, Bontemps produced anthologies (The Book of Negro Folklore, Great Slave Narratives, The Poetry of the Negro); histories (They Seek a City, 100 Years of Negro Freedom); children's fiction (Lonesome Boy, Sam Patch, Slappy Hooper); juvenile biographies (George Washington Carver, Young Booker); novels (Chariot in the Sky, Drums at Dusk); and collections of his poems (Personals) and stories (The Old South). Written mostly as collaborative efforts, playscripts include "Creole Square" (with Schuyler Watts); "The Great Speckled Bird" (with Jack Conroy); "St. Louis Woman" (with Countee Cullen); and "When the Jack Hollers" and "Jubilee" (with Langston Hughes), the latter staged for the 1940 Negro Exposition in Chicago, and subsequently produced for radio broadcast. Spanning 1939 to 1966, the radio and television scripts document Bontemps' media appearances and book promotions. His close association with Harlem Renaissance figures, together with his practical knowledge of both librarianship and book publishing, brought Bontemps a steady barrage of invitations to deliver speeches at church services, public school assemblies, librarians' conferences, teachers' convocations, university seminars, and writers' symposiums. Characterized by an anecdotal prose style, Bontemps' stories aren't reliably distinguishable from his essays, at least one of which, "3 Pennies for Luck," was published as both fiction and non-fiction. Unpublished biography ("Young King Cole"), juvenile literature ("Bon-Bon Buddy"; "Boy of the Border"; "Tom-Tom Treasure"), novels ("The Chariot in the Cloud"; "Of Many Waters"; "Yielding Seed"); anthologies ("Rat Tales"; "Sugar Hill") and unfinished projects constitute Miscellaneous Writings.

Memorabilia (Boxes 77-85) includes address books, citations, financial material, clippings about Bontemps, reviews, travel-related items, including guidebooks and souvenirs, and research material, mostly printed, on Africa, civil rights in the U.S., and Langston Hughes. Periodical issues of The Colored American Magazine, The Crisis, The Messenger, Opportunity , andThe Voice of the Negro, as well as small amount of ephemera, have been added to the Library's rare book collection.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Writings are subdivided by type (e.g, articles, book reviews) and within each subseries are arranged alphabetically by title. Memorabilia is arranged alphabetically by type.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

A number of items, mostly issues of periodicals, were removed from the collection and transferred to Rare Books for cataloging, as follows:

• The Colored American Magazine - 1901, Aug; 1906, Oct; 1909, May and Nov
• The Crisis - 1926; 1927, Jan-Apr and June-Dec; 1928, Jan-Nov; 1929; 1930; 1931, Jan-Feb
• The Messenger - 1925, Dec; 1926, Jan-June and Aug-Dec; 1927, Jan-Mar and May
• National Negro Conference Proceedings - 1909 (1st)
• Northwestern University on the Air: Of Men and Books - 1941, Nov. 18, "Negro Writers" (guest, Arna Bontemps); 1942, Nov. 18, "Children's Books and American Unity" (guest, Arna Bontemps); 1944, May 27, "Race Relations" (guest, Arna Bontemps)
• Opportunity - 1925, Dec; 1926, Jul, Sep, Nov; 1928, Jan; 1942, Feb
• Tops - Vol. 1, no. 2 (undated)
• The Voice of the Negro - 1904 May
• "Profiles of Black Achievement: Arna Bontmeps/Aaron Douglas" (Pleasantville, N.Y.: Guidance Associates, 1973) consisting of 2 filmstrips and 2 phonodiscs, with accompanying discussion guide

To locate these items, please refer to Libraries Search .

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Arna Bontemps Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Arna W. Bontemps, 1965-1973 , and Mrs. Alberta Bontemps, 1998.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: April 1999
Revision history: 7 Sep 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 10 Jan 2012 - magazine added to Box 78 (MBD); 18 Jun 2012 - LCSH updates (MRC); 26 Oct 2012 - extent revised (MBD); 3 Nov 2015 - recording IDs added, separated material described, cleaned up encoding (MRC); 10 May 2022 - media updated (RMH)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence-Subject Files
Box 1		A (2 folders)
Box 1		Aaron, Stephen
Box 1		Abrahams, Peter
Box 1		Abrahamson, Julia
Box 1		Abramson, Ben
Box 1		Adoff, Arnold
Box 1		Afro-American Newspapers
		Agricultural and Technical College of North Carolina
			See Turner, Darwin.
Box 1		Alabama State College
Box 1		Aladdin Books
Box 1		Alba, Nanina
		Alexander, Margaret Walker
			See Walker, Margaret.
Box 1		Alexander, Sally (Mrs. Ernest Raymond Alexander)
Box 1		Algren, Nelson
Box 1		Allen, Samuel W.
		Alliance Productions, Inc.
			See Salisbury, Leah.
Box 1		American Book Company (2 folders)
Box 1		American Film Center, Inc.
			See also Dodson, Owen.
Box 1		American Folklore Society
Box 1		American Friends Service Committee
Box 2		American Library Association (2 folders)
Box 2		American Negro Exposition admission pass
		The American Negro Reference Book
			See Phelps-Stokes Fund.
Box 2		The American Scholar
Box 2		American Society of African Culture (3 folders)
Box 2		American Studies Association
		Ames, Elizabeth
			See Yaddo.
Box 2		Amos, Preston E.
		Anderson, Margaret
			See Common Ground.
Box 2		Anderson, Thomas Jefferson
Box 2		Andrews, Regina
Box 2		Andric, Dragoslav
Box 2		Archer, Leonard Courtney
Box 2		Archon Books
Box 2		Arkansas Teachers Association
		Arlen, Harold
Box 2			"Blues-Opera" (based on "St. Louis Woman") - manuscript
Box 2			"Free and Easy" (based on "St. Louis Woman") - manuscript program
Box 2		Arvey, Verna
Box 2		Arvin, Newton
Box 2		Asch, Moses
		Associated Negro Press, Inc.
			See Barnett, Claude A..
Box 3		Association for Childhood Education
Box 3		Association for the Study of Negro Life and History, Inc.
Box 3		Atkins, Russell
Box 3		The Atlantic Monthly/Atlantic Monthly Press
Box 3		Aubert, Alvin
Box 3		Authors League of America 1937-1968, undated (5 folders)
Box 3		B (1 folder)
Box 3		Bailey, Pearl
Box 3		Baker, John
Box 3		Banks, Nathan
Box 3		Baraka, Imamu Amiri
		Barber, Ione Morrison Rider
			See Rider, Ione Morrison.
Box 3		Barnett, Claude A.
Box 3		Barrett, Lindsay
Box 3		Barrett, William M.
Box 3		Bass, Charlotta
Box 3		Bass, George
Box 3		Bayliss, John F.
Box 3		Beacon Press
Box 3		Beecher, John
Box 3		Bellegarde, Dantes
		Benet, William Rose
			See The Saturday Review of Literature.
Box 3		Bennett, Gwendolyn
Box 3		Bennett College (Greensboro, N.C.)
Box 3		Berkley, Constance E. G.
Box 3		Bernfeld, Henri Marcel
Box 3		Berry, Erick
Box 3		Berry, Gail
Box 3		Bethune, Lebert
		Birth Control Federation of America, Inc.
			See Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc..
Box 4		Blount, Mildred
Box 4		Bluford, Lucile H.
Box 4		Bond, Horace Mann
Box 4		Bond, Julian
Box 4		Bone, Robert
Box 4		Bonner, Mary Graham
Box 4		Bontemps, Charles-Auguste
Box 4		Borome, Joseph Alfred
Box 4		Bousfield, M. O.
Box 4		Braithwaite, William Stanley
Box 4		Brawley, Benjamin Griffith
Box 4		Breen, Robert
Box 4		Breman, Paul
Box 4		British Broadcasting Corporation
Box 4		Bromhall, Winifred
Box 4		Brooks, Gwendolyn
Box 4		Brooks, Helen Morgan
Box 4		Brown, Benjamin A.
Box 4		Brown, Elmer
Box 4		Brown, Isabella Maria
Box 4		Brown, Sterling Allen
Box 4		Browning, Alice C.
Box 4		Burden, Jean
Box 4		Burley, Dan
Box 4		Burns, Ben
			See also Ebony; Negro Digest.
Box 4		Burns, Loretta Susie
Box 4		Burnshaw, Stanley
Box 4		Burrell, Natelkka E.
Box 4		Burroughs, Margaret Taylor
Box 4		Burrows, Vinie
Box 4		Buster, Greene B.
Box 4		Butcher, Philip
Box 4		Byrd, James W.
Box 4		Bynner, Witter
Box 4		C (2 folders)
Box 4		Cahnman, Werner Jacob
Box 4		Cain, Stith Malone
Box 4		Campbell, Elmer Simms
Box 4		Campbell, S. Brunson
Box 4		Canaday, Nicholas
Box 4		Canady, Hortense
Box 4		Carew, Jan R.
Box 4		Carlson, Julie Ann
Box 4		Carrere, Mentis
Box 4		Carter, Elmer A.
Box 4		Cason, John Walter
Box 4		Catholic Adult Education Center (Chicago, Ill.)
Box 4		Cayton, Horace Roscoe
Box 4		Les Cenelles Society of Arts and Letters (New Orleans, La.)
Box 5		Chandler, Len
Box 5		Chapman, Abraham
Box 5		Chaput, Donald
Box 5		Chesnutt, Helen M.
Box 5		The Chicago Defender
Box 5		Chicago Public Library
Box 5		The Chicago Sun
Box 5		Chicago Tribune
Box 5		Chilton Books
Box 5		Christian, Marcus Bruce 1941-1963, undated (2 folders)
Box 5		Clarke, John Henrik
Box 5		Clifton, Lucille
Box 5		Cobb, William Montague
Box 5		Cole, Robert A.
			See also Writings: Miscellaneous: "Young King Cole: a Boy Who Earned a Fortune".
Box 5		Collins, Leslie M. (2 folders)
Box 5		Columbia University
Box 5		Commins, Saxe
		Committee for Mass Education in Race Relations
			See Dodson, Owen.
Box 5		Common Ground
Box 5		Conroy, Jack 1942-1957 (6 folders)
Box 6		Conroy, Jack 1958-1968, undated (6 folders)
Box 6		Cooper, Alvin
Box 6		Cooper, Wayne F.
Box 6		Cornish, Sam
Box 6		Council on Interracial Books for Children, Inc.
Box 6		Cowen, Joseph Robert
Box 6		Crews, Judson
Box 6		The Crisis
Box 6		Cullen, Countee 1942-1945 (2 folders)
Box 6		Cullen, Ida Mae Roberson
Box 6		Cuney, [William] Waring
Box 6		Curtiss, Mina Stein Kirstein
Box 6		Curtwright, Wesley
		Czechoslovak Theatrical and Literary Agency
			See DILIA.
Box 6		D
Box 6		Dabney, Wendell Phillips
Box 6		Dalton, Henry
Box 6		Danner, Margaret
Box 6		Daughtry, Willa Estelle
Box 6		Davis, Arthur Paul
Box 6		Davis, Frank Marshall
Box 6		Davis, Griff
		Davis, John P.
			See Phelps-Stokes Fund.
		Davis, Ossie
			See Du Bois Memorial Committee.
Box 6		Davis, Robert A.
Box 6		Davis, Toussaint L.
			See also John Street Baptist Church (Worcester, Mass.).
Box 6		Dawson, William Levi
Box 6		[John] Day Company, Inc.
Box 6		De Hartog, Jan
Box 6		Delaware State College
Box 6		Demby, William
Box 6		Detroit Alumni Club of Fisk University
Box 6		Detroit Children's Book Fair (1961)
Box 6		Detroit Federation of Teachers
		Detroit Fisk Alumni Club
			See Detroit Alumni Club of Fisk University.
Box 6		Dickinson, Donald C.
Box 6		Dickinson, Elizabeth M.
Box 6		DILIA
Box 6		Dillard University
Box 7		Dodd, Mead & Company 1941-1973, undated (3 folders)
Box 7		Dodson, Owen 1944-1963, undated (2 folders)
Box 7		Domino, Ruth
Box 7		Donahey, Mary D.
Box 7		Dorsey, Thomas A.
Box 7		Doubleday & Company, Inc.
		Doubleday, Doran and Company, Inc.
			See Doubleday & Company, Inc..
Box 7		Douglas, Aaron and Alta
Box 7		Dover, Cedric
Box 7		Dramatists' Guild
Box 7		Dreer, Herman
		Dryden Press, Inc.
			See Burnshaw, Stanley.
Box 7		DuBois, Rachel Davis
Box 7		Du Bois, Shirley Graham
Box 7		Du Bois, William Edward Burghardt - 1927-1961 see also (2 folders)
			See also Writings: Books: 100 Years of Negro Freedom, Writings: Miscellaneous: "The Free and the Fatherless" : W. E. B. Du Bois Section.
Box 7		Du Bois Memorial Committee
Box 7		Dumas, Henry
Box 7		Dunbar, Rudolph
Box 7		Duncan, Anne McKay
Box 7		Duncan, Rea Lubar
Box 7		Dunham, Katherine
Box 7		Durem, Dorothy (Mrs. Ray)
Box 7		Durham, Richard
Box 7		Du Sable High School (Chicago)
Box 7		[E. P.] Dutton and Co., Inc.
Box 7		E
Box 7		Ebony
Box 7		Edman, Marion
Box 7		Edmonds, Randolph
Box 7		Educational Services Incorporated (Cambridge, Mass.)
Box 7		Edwards, Colin D.
Box 7		Edwards, Thyra
Box 8		Eisenberg, Bernard
Box 8		Eldridge, Paul
Box 8		Ellis, Ethel Bontemps
Box 8		Ellison, James and Virginia
Box 8		Ellison, Ralph and Fanny
Box 8		Emanuel, James A.
Box 8		Embree, Edwin R.
			See also [Julius] Rosenwald Fund.
Box 8		Encyclopaedia Britannica
Box 8		English, Gladys
Box 8		Enright, James O.
Box 8		Epelle, Sam - "Meet Nigeria" manuscript
Box 8		[Paul S.] Erikson, Inc.
		Establishment Theatre Company, Inc. (New York, N.Y.)
			See Aaron, Stephen.
Box 8		Estes, David E.
Box 8		Evans, Eva Knox
Box 8		Evans, Mari
Box 8		Evansville (Ind.) Public Library
Box 8		F
Box 8		Fabio, Sarah Webster
Box 8		Fabre, Michel
Box 8		Fagin, Nathan Bryllion
Box 8		Faulkner, William J.
Box 8		Fauset, Arthur Huff
Box 8		Fauset, Jessie Redmon
Box 8		Ferguson, Blanche E.
Box 8		Ferris, Helen Josephine
Box 8		Field, Marshall
Box 8		Fields, Julia
		Fisk University
Box 8, 9			Printed material 1942-1972, undated (9 folders)
Box 9			Fisk University Centennial Writers Conference: "The Image of the Negro in American Literature" 22-24 Apr. 1966 - lectures
		Folkways Records
			See Asch, Moses.
Box 9		Follett Publishing Company
		Foner, Philip S.
			See International Publishers.
Box 9		Ford, Nick Aaron
Box 9		Ford Foundation
Box 9		Forgue, Norman W.
Box 9		Frank, Waldo
Box 9		Frederick, John Towner
Box 9		Free Library of Philadelphia
Box 9		Freeman, Carol
Box 9		Friends of Literature (Chicago, Ill.)
Box 9		Friendship Press
Box 9		Fuller, Hoyt W.
Box 9		G
Box 9		Galantiere, Lewis
Box 9		Gannett, Lewis
Box 10		Garber, Ethel
Box 10		Gates, Doris
Box 10		George Peabody College for Teachers
Box 10		Georgia State Department of Education
Box 10		Gibbs, James L.
Box 10		Gilbert, Lon
Box 10		Gilbert, Zack
Box 10		Gilden, Bert and Katya
Box 10		Gilpin, Patrick J.
Box 10		Ginn and Company
Box 10		Gleason, Ralph J.
Box 10		Goodwill Book Club (Memphis, Tenn.)
Box 10		Gorlier, Claudio
		Goss, Margaret Taylor see
			See Burroughs, Margaret Taylor
Box 10		Graham, Rudy B.
		Graham, Shirley
			See Du Bois, Shirley Graham.
Box 10		Granger, Lester B.
Box 10		Green, Archie
Box 10		Greene, Jay E.
Box 10		Gregory, Yvonne
Box 10		Grolier, Inc. 1961-1966, undated (2 folders)
Box 10		Gross, Edward
Box 10		Gross, Theodore L.
Box 10		Grosset & Dunlap, Inc.
Box 10		Grove, Thurman and Mary
Box 10		[John Simon] Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
Box 10		Gysin, Brion
Box 10		H
Box 10		Haines, Madge
Box 10		Hair, Paul Edward Hedley
Box 10		Hale, Frank W.
Box 10		Hall, Theresa H.
Box 10		Hampton Institute
Box 10		Handley-Taylor, Geoffrey
Box 10		Handy, William Christopher 1939-1940 (2 folders)
Box 11		Handy, William Christopher 1941-1958, undated (3 folders)
Box 11		Hanrahan, Virginia
Box 11		Harcourt, Brace and Company, Inc.
Box 11		Harcourt, Brace & World, Inc.
Box 11		Harlem Cultural Council 1966 - exhibition catalog
Box 11		"Harlem U.S.A." (WMCA radio program)
Box 11		Harmon Foundation
Box 11		Harper & Brothers
Box 11		Harper & Row
Box 11		Harper's Magazine
Box 11		Harrison, William
		Hartog, Jan de
			See De Hartog, Jan.
Box 11		Hayden, Robert Earl
Box 11		Hayes, Donald J.
Box 11		Haygood, William C.
			See also [Julius] Rosenwald Fund.
Box 11		Hazel, Robert
Box 11		Head School (Nashville, Tenn.)
Box 11		Hemenway, Robert
Box 11		Henry, Myrtle Catherine
Box 11		Hesse, Eva
Box 11		Hicklin, Fannie Ella Frazier
Box 11		Highroad
Box 11		Hill, Herbert
Box 11		Hill, Roy L.
Box 11, 12		Hill and Wang, Inc. 1961-1967 (4 folders)
Box 12		Hines, Carl Wendell
Box 12		Hines, Ida E. ("Aunt Idoo")
Box 12		Hogins, James Burl
Box 12		Hohmann, Walter H.
Box 12		Holman, M. Carl
Box 12		Holt, Nora Douglas
Box 12		Holt, Rackham
		[Henry] Holt and Company, Inc. see
			See Holt, Rinehart and Winston, Inc..
Box 12		Holt, Rinehart and Winston, Inc.
Box 12		Hopper, Franklin Ferguson
Box 12		Horn Book, Inc.
Box 12		Horne, Frank S.
Box 12		Hotel Theresa (New York, N.Y.)
Box 12		Houghton Mifflin Company 1937-1968, undated (5 folders)
Box 12		Howard University
Box 12		Howland, Frances
Box 12		Huber, Miriam Blanton
Box 12		Hudlin, Warrington
Box 12		Hudson, David
Box 12		Huff, William Henry
Box 12		Huggins, Kathryn Laverne
		Hughes, Langston
Box 13			Correspondence relating to expanded The Poetry of the Negro 1939-1967, undated (2 folders)
			Anthology manuscripts
Box 13				"Cats, Crickets, and Stars"
Box 13				"Poems That Just Grew"
Box 13				"Spread My Wings and Fly"
Box 13				"That's a Moon"
			Essay manuscripts
Box 13				"My Early Days in Harlem"
			Playscripts
Box 13				"Don't You Want to Be Free?" (Centennial version: 1963)
Box 13				"Emperor of Haiti" - 2 copies (2 folders)
Box 13				"Esther"
Box 14				"The Gospel Glory" - 2 copies (2 folders)
Box 14				"The Gospel Glow" - "revised rehearsal script"
Box 14				"Jerico-Jim-Crow" - "final revised acting script"
Box 14				"Just Around the Corner"
Box 14				"Little Ham"
Box 14				"Mulatto"
Box 14				"Mule Bone" - "Spring, 1930"
Box 14				"Mule Bone" - "Jeliffe-[Karamu] House"
Box 14				"The Prodigal Son"
Box 14				"Simple Takes a Wife"
Box 14				"Simply Heaven"
Box 14				"Soul Gone Home"
Box 14				"The Sun Do Move" - 2 copies (2 folders)
Box 15				"Tambourines to Glory"
Box 15		Hunt, Evelyn Tooley
Box 15		Hunter, Alberta
Box 15		Huntley, Leston
			See also Writings: Miscellaneous: "The Sunny Side of the Street".
Box 15		Hylton, Richard
Box 15		Hyman, Stanley Edgar
Box 15		I
Box 15		Illinois State University (Normal)
Box 15		Illinois Teachers College
Box 15		Indiana University Press
Box 15		Ingram, Rex
Box 15		International Institute of Arts and Letters
Box 15		International Press Agency Ltd.
Box 15		International Publishers
Box 15		Italiaander, R. B. M.
Box 15		J
Box 15		Jack and Jill
Box 15		Jackman, Harold
Box 15		Jackson, Blyden
Box 15		Jackson, Booker T.
Box 15		Jackson, Mahalia
Box 15		Jacobsen, Josephine
Box 15		Jelliffe, Rowena Woodham
Box 15		Jenkins, Welborn Victor
Box 15		Joans, Ted
Box 15		John Street Baptist Church (Worcester, Mass.)
Box 15		Johnson, Benjamin Tanner
Box 15, 16		Johnson, Charles Spurgeon - printed material by and about Johnson, Opportunity submissions, manuscript writings, notes, miscellany (11 folders)
			See also Fisk University.
Box 17		Johnson, Dorothy
Box 17		Johnson, Ethel A.
Box 17		Johnson, Georgia Douglas Camp
Box 17		Johnson, Helene
Box 17		Johnson Publishing Company, Inc.
			See also Ebony; Negro Digest.
Box 17		Jones, Eldred D.
Box 17		Jones, Laurence C.
		Jones, LeRoi
			See also Baraka, Imamu Amiri.
Box 17		Jones, Savannah
Box 17		Jordan, Joe
Box 17		Jordan, Norman
Box 17		K (1 folder)
Box 17		Kanin, Garson
		Karamu House (Cleveland, Ohio)
			See Jelliffe, Rowena Woodham.
Box 17		Kariara, Jonathan - "The Green Bean Patch" - script
Box 17		Kay, Ulysses
Box 17		Kennedy, Raymond
Box 17		Kent, George E.
Box 17		Kentucky State College
Box 17		Killens, John Oliver
Box 17		Kinnamon, Keneth
Box 17		Knollenberg, Bernhard
Box 17		[Alfred A.] Knopf, Inc. 1941-1970, undated (2 folders)
Box 17		Knoxville College
Box 17		Kornweibel, Theodore
Box 17		Koshland, Miriam G.
Box 17		L
Box 17		LaMarre, Hazel
Box 17		Lane, Wilson H.
Box 17		Langston University
Box 17		Larimer, Mary Ogden
Box 17		Larrick, Nancy
Box 17		Larsen, Carl
Box 17		Lawrence, Jacob
Box 17		Lawson, Edward
Box 17		Lazar, Irving Paul
Box 17		League of Allied Arts (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Box 17		Lee, George Washington
Box 17		Lee, Lloyd L.
Box 17		Lee, Mollie Huston
Box 17		LeMoyne College (Memphis, Tenn.)
Box 17		Lennon, Florence Becker
Box 17		Leonardi, Leon
Box 17		Lesser, Sol
Box 17		Lester, Julius
Box 17		Lherisson, Camille
Box 17		Liberty Book Club, Inc.
Box 17		Library Journal
Box 17, 18		Lieber, Maxim 1940-1963 (8 folders)
		Lieber, Minna Edith
			See Maxim, Lieber.
Box 18		Lincoln, Charles Eric
Box 18		Lincoln Institute of Kentucky
Box 18		Lincoln University (Jefferson City, Mo.)
Box 18		Linden, Margaret
Box 18		Link, Carolyn
Box 18		Link, Gordden
Box 18		Lipton, Lawrence
Box 18		Litten, Frederic Nelson
Box 18		Little, Brown & Company
Box 18		Liveright Publishing Corporation
Box 18		Livsey, Rosemary E.
Box 18		Llorens, Lucille
		Lochard, Metz
			See The Chicago Defender.
Box 18		Locke, Alain LeRoy
Box 18		Long, Herman Hodge
Box 18		Lorde, Audre
Box 18		Los Angeles Public Library
Box 18		Louisiana Education Association
Box 18		Love, Rose Leary
Box 18		Lowenfels, Walter
Box 18		Lucas, Robert "A Dramatization of Black Thunder" - script
Box 18		Luce, Clare Boothe
Box 18		Luckhardt, Mildred Madeleine Corell
Box 18		LuValle, James E.
Box 18		M (2 folders)
Box 19		MacDowell Colony
Box 19		McGinnis, Frederick A.
Box 19		McGraw-Hill Book Company
Box 19		McKay, Claude
Box 19		McLaren, Ken
Box 19		Macleod, Norman
Box 19		Macmillan Company
Box 19		Mahadevan, T. K.
Box 19		Major, Clarence
Box 19		Makerere College (Kampala, Uganda)
Box 19		Maltz, Albert
Box 19		Mamoulian, Rouben
Box 19		Mardus, Elaine
Box 19		Margolies, Edward
Box 19		Marinoff, Fania
Box 19		Market Place Gallery (New York, N.Y.)
Box 19		Marks, Jeannette Augustus
Box 19		Marshall, Thurgood
Box 19		Martinez, Maurice
Box 19		Maxon, Constance M.
		Meadowcroft, Enid La Monte
			See Grosset & Dunlap, Inc..
Box 19		Means, Carl
Box 19		Means, Florence Crannell
Box 19		Meier, August
Box 19		Meltzer, Milton 1953-1967 (3 folders)
Box 20		Memphis (Tenn.) city schools
Box 20		Menarini, Gianni
Box 20		The Message Magazine
Box 20		[Julian] Messner, Inc.
Box 20		The Methodist Church
Box 20		Meyer, Annie Nathan
Box 20		Michel, Lois A.
Box 20		Micheline, Jack
Box 20		Michigan Library Association
Box 20		Midwestern Writers' Conference
Box 20		Millender, Dharathula H.
		Millet, Garland see Oakwood College
Box 20		Milwaukee Public Library
Box 20		Minneapolis Teachers League
Box 20		Mitchell, Loften
Box 20		Mkapa, Benjamin W.
Box 20		Mobile Teachers' Association
Box 20		Modisane, Bloke - "The Situation" manuscript
Box 20		Moon, Bucklin
			See also Doubleday & Company, Inc..
Box 20		Moore, George Curtis
Box 20		Moore, Gerald
Box 20		Moore, William L.
Box 20		Mopper, Irving
Box 20		Morgan State College (Baltimore, Maryland)
Box 20		[William] Morrow & Company, Inc.
Box 20		Moss, Carlton
Box 20		Most, Marty
Box 20		Moten, Etta
Box 20		Motley, Willard
Box 20		Mottram, Eric
Box 20		Mouzon, Brunetta - "Popo and Fifina" script
Box 20		Mumford, Lewis
Box 20		Munger, Edwin S.
Box 20		Munson, Gorham
Box 20		Murphy, Beatrice M.
		Murphy, Carl
			See Afro-American Newspapers.
Box 20		Murray, Pauli
Box 20		Murray State College (Ky.)
Box 20		N
Box 20		Nashville, Tennessee
Box 21		National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)
Box 21		National Council of Negro Women, Inc.
Box 21		National Council of Teachers of English
Box 21		National Negro Congress (Chicago)
Box 21		National Tuberculosis Association
Box 21		National Urban League
		Negro American Literature Forum
			See Bayliss, John F..
Box 21		Negro Book Society
Box 21		Negro Digest
			See also Fuller, Hoyt W..
		Negro Radio Workshop
			See Lawson, Edward.
Box 21		Neider, Charles
Box 21		New School for Social Research
Box 21		New York Herald Tribune
Box 21		New York Public Library
Box 21		The New York Times
Box 21		Newman, Isidora
Box 21		Newsome, Effie Lee
Box 21		Nichol, Francis David
Box 21		Nineteenth Century Women's Club (Oak Park, Ill.)
Box 21		Njau, Rebeka - "The Scar" script
Box 21		Norfolk (Va.) school libraries
Box 21		Norford, George
Box 21		Norlev, Erling
Box 21		North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company
		North Carolina Negro Library Association
			See Bennett College.
		Norway, Nevil Shute
			See Shute, Nevil.
Box 21		O
Box 21		Oak Park (Mich.) Public Library
Box 21		Oakwood College (Huntsville, Ala.)
Box 21		Oden, Gloria
Box 21		Odunewu, Alade
Box 22		O'Hara, Frank Hurburt
Box 22		O'Higgins, Myron
Box 22		Ohl, John F.
Box 22		Oklahoma State University
Box 22		Oliver, Diane A.
Box 22		Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
Box 22		O'Neal, Frederick
Box 22		O'Neal, Regina S.
Box 22		Ortiz Oderigo, Nestor R.
Box 22		Osborne, Juanita Tyree
Box 22		Ottley, Roi
Box 22		Ovington, Mary White
Box 22		Oxford University Press
Box 22		P
Box 22		Pacific Union College
Box 22		Packwood, Cyril Outerbridge
Box 22		Palfi, Marion
		Pankey, Aubrey and Kay
			See Seven Seas Publishers.
Box 22		Parkway Community House (Chicago)
Box 22		Pasadena Inter-Racial Women's Club
Box 22		Patchen, Kenneth
		Patterson, Frederick Douglass
			See Tuskegee Institute
Box 22		Patterson, Ray
		P.E.N.
Box 22			Letters
Box 22			Postcards
Box 22			Printed material (2 folders)
Box 22		Peare, Catherine Owens
Box 22		Pearl High School (Nashville, Tenn.)
Box 22		Pegler, Westbrook
Box 22		Pennsylvania Library Association
Box 22		Petersen, Sydney Vernon
Box 22		Peterson, Dorothy
Box 23		Phelps-Stokes Fund
Box 23		Phi Delta Kappa
Box 23		Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity of America
Box 23		Phylon
Box 23		Picott, Rupert
Box 23		Piquion, Rene
Box 23		Pitcher, Oliver
Box 23		The Pittsburgh Courier
Box 23		Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc.
Box 23		Plymouth Congregational Church (Detroit, Mich.)
Box 23		Poag, Thomas E.
Box 23		Pool, Rosey E.
		Porter, Dorothy Burnett
			See Howard University.
Box 23		Porter, Kenneth Wiggins
Box 23		Poston, Ted
Box 23		Powers, James Farl
Box 23		Preece, Harold
Box 23		Preminger, Alex
Box 23		Prentice-Hall International, Inc.
Box 23		Presence Africaine
Box 23		Primeau, Ronald
Box 23		Public Library of Winston-Salem and Forsyth County (N.C.)
Box 23		[G. P.] Putnam's Sons
Box 23		Q
Box 23		Quint, Catherine
Box 23		R
Box 23		Ralston, Richard
Box 23		Randall, Dudley
Box 23		Ransom, John Crowe
Box 23		Raymond, Margaret T.
		Redd, George N.
			See Fisk University.
Box 23		Reddick, Lawrence Dunbar
			See also New York Public Library.
Box 23		Redding, Jay Saunders
Box 23		Reed, Ishmael
Box 23		Reid, Ira DeAugustine
			See also Du Bois, William Edward Burghardt.
Box 23		Reines, Bernard Jacob
Box 23		Reynolds, Louis Bernard
Box 23		Richardson, Joe Martin
Box 23		Rider, Ione Morrison
		Rinehart & Company, Inc.
			See Holt, Rinehart and Winston, Inc..
Box 23		Rive, Richard
Box 23		Rivers, Conrad Kent
Box 23		Robbins, Richard
Box 23		Roberson, Ed
Box 23		Robeson, Paul
Box 23		Robinson, Armstead Louis
Box 23		Rollins, Charlemae Hill
Box 23		Ronald, Rolanda
Box 23		Rosenberg, Dorothy
Box 23		Rosenwald, Lessing Julius
Box 24		[Julius] Rosenwald Fund 1938-1949, undated (2 folders)
Box 24		Row, Peterson & Company
Box 24		Rowan, Carl Thomas
		Roy, Savannah
			See Jones, Savannah.
Box 24		Rubin, Louis Decimus
Box 24		Rutland, Eva
Box 24		S (2 folders)
Box 24		Saher, Lilla van
Box 24		St. James Literary Forum (Cleveland, Ohio)
Box 24		Salisbury, Leah
Box 24		Salk, Erwin A.
Box 24		San Francisco Negro Historical and Cultural Society
Box 24		Sanford, Isabel
Box 24		The Saturday Evening Post
Box 24		The Saturday Review of Literature
Box 24		Savannah State College
Box 24		Savoy, Willard W.
Box 24		Saxon, Dan
		Scheer, George F.
			See World Publishing Company.
Box 24		Scholastic Magazines, Inc.
Box 24		Schuyler, George Samuel and Josephine
Box 24		Scott, Emmett J.
Box 24		Scott, Hazel
Box 24		Scott, Foresman and Company
Box 24		Seuell, Malchus M.
Box 24		Seven Seas Publishers
Box 24		Seventh-day Adventists
Box 25		Shank, Mary
Box 25		Sharon, Henrietta Bruce
Box 25		Shedd, Margaret Cochran
Box 25		Sheldon, William D.
Box 25		Shute, Nevil
Box 25		Sigma Pi Phi (2 folders)
Box 25		Silver, Reuben
Box 25		Simon, Adelaide
Box 25		Simon and Schuster, Inc.
Box 25		[L. W.] Singer Company
Box 25		Smallwood, Bill
Box 25		Smith, Arthur Lee
Box 25		Smith, Earle C.
Box 25		Smith, Jeffrey H.
Box 25		Smith, Mary Carter
Box 25		Smythe, Hugh and Mabel
Box 25		Snellings, Rolland
Box 25		Society of Midland Authors
Box 25		Soper, Francis A.
Box 25		Southern University (Baton Rouge, La.)
Box 25		Spellman, A. B.
Box 25		Spencer, Anne
Box 25		Spingarn, Amy
Box 25		Spingarn, Arthur B.
Box 25		Spivack, Bernard
Box 25		Spivey, Lenore W.
Box 25		State Agricultural and Mechanical College, Orangeburg, South Carolina
		State Teachers College (Montgomery, Ala.)
			See Alabama State College.
Box 25		Sterling, Dorothy
Box 25		Stewart, Donald Ogden and Ella Winter
		Still, Verna Arvey
			See Arvey, Verna.
Box 25		Still, William Grant
Box 25		Stock, Mildred
Box 25		Stoff, Michael B.
Box 25		Stokes, Anna J. - "The Autobiography of Anna J. Stokes" manuscript
Box 25		Stokes, Olivia Egleston Phelps
Box 25		Sutton, William Alfred
Box 25		Swank, Raynard Coe
Box 25		T
Box 25		Talladega College
Box 25		Tarn, Nathaniel
Box 25		Tarry, Ellen
		Taylor, Margaret
			See Burroughs, Margaret Taylor.
Box 25		Taylor, Patricia E.
Box 26		Teachers Union of the City of New York
Box 26		Telluride Association
Box 26		Temple, Ruth Janetta
Box 26		Tennessee Agricultural and Industrial State College
Box 26		Tennessee Agricultural and Industrial State University
Box 26		Tennessee Education Congress
Box 26		Tennessee Library Association
Box 26		Terrell, Mary Church
Box 26		Texas Southern University
Box 26		Texas State University for Negroes
Box 26		Thomas, Richard W.
Box 26		Thompson, Charles Hubbard
Box 26		Thompson, Era Bell
			See also Ebony; Negro Digest.
Box 26		Thomson, Virgil
Box 26		Time
Box 26		Tinker, Edward Laroque
Box 26		Tolson, Melvin Beaunorus
Box 26		Tomorrow
		Toomer, Jean
			Manuscripts
Box 26				"Meridian Hill" - holograph manuscript
Box 26				"The Wayward and the Seeking" - typescript manuscript
Box 26				"Winter Road" - typescript manuscript
Box 26			Material related to the Jean Toomer Papers at Fisk University
Box 26		Toomer, Marjorie Content
Box 26		Torrence, Ridgely
Box 26		Torres, John
Box 26		Tottress, Richard E.
		Trounstine, John J.
			See Turner, John B..
Box 26		Troy, Owen and Ruby
Box 26		Tunis, John Roberts
Box 26		Turner, Darwin T.
Box 26		Turner, John B. 1937-1950 (2 folders)
Box 26		Turner, Lorenzo Dow
Box 27		Tuskegee Institute (2 folders)
Box 27		[Charles E.] Tuttle Company
Box 27		U (1 folder)
Box 27		United States. Work Projects Administration
Box 27		University of California 1963-1966 (2 folders)
Box 27		University of Chicago
Box 27		University of Illinois at Chicago Circle 1966-1968, undated (2 folders)
Box 27		University of Minnesota
Box 27		University of Wisconsin
Box 27		Unterecker, John
Box 27		V (1 folder)
Box 27		Van Vechten, Carl 1939-1943 (2 folders)
Box 28		Van Vechten, Carl 1944-1954, undated (6 folders)
Box 28		Viking Press, Inc.
Box 28		Virginia Teachers Association
Box 28		Voorhees, Lillian Welch
Box 28		W (2 folders)
Box 28		WCFL (Chicago)
Box 28		WTTW (Chicago)
Box 28		Wagner, Jean
Box 28		Walcutt, Charles Child
Box 28		Walden, Daniel
Box 28		Walker, Alice
Box 28		Walker, Margaret
Box 28		Warfel, Harry Redcay
Box 28		Warren County (N.C.) Supervisors Office
Box 28		Watkins, Sylvestre C.
Box 28		Watts, Schuyler
		Waxman, Julia
			See [Julius] Rosenwald Fund.
Box 28		Webster, Harvey Curtis
Box 28		Weiss, Alexander
Box 28		Welch, Marie de L.
Box 28		Westerman, George W.
Box 29		Wheeler, Charles Enoch
Box 29		White, Clarence Cameron
Box 29		White, Nathaniel B.
Box 29		White, Walter Francis
Box 29		[John Hay] Whitney Foundation
Box 29		Wideman, John Edgar
Box 29		Wiley College (Marshall, Texas)
Box 29		Wilkins, Roy
Box 29		Williams, Clarence
Box 29		Williams, Eugene
Box 29		Williams, Fred Hart
Box 29		Williams, John
Box 29		Williams, Wilson A.
Box 29		Wills, Frances
Box 29		Wilson, Ernest J.
Box 29		[John C.] Winston Company 1947-1957 (3 folders)
		Winter, Ella
			See Stewart, Donald Ogden and Ella Winter.
Box 29		Wofford, Azile
Box 29		Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
Box 29		Wood, Milton
Box 29		Woods, Porter
Box 29		Work, John Wesley
Box 29		World Publishing Company
Box 29		Worthy, Ruth
Box 29		Wright, Bruce McMarion
Box 29		Wright, Charles
Box 29		Wright, Jay
Box 29		Wright, Richard
		Writers' Conference (Evanston, Ill.)
			See Midwestern Writers' Conference.
Box 29		Y
Box 29		Yaddo
Box 29		Yale University Library
Box 29		Yates, Elizabeth
Box 29		Young Women's Christian Association
Box 29		Z
Box 29		Zangrando, Robert L.
Box 29		Fan mail 1938-1955
Box 30		Fan mail 1956-1970, undated (4 folders)
Box 30		Unidentified

	Writings
		Articles and essays
Box 31			"The Administration of Fisk University" - notes, typescript manuscript
Box 31			"American Missionary Association Archives in Fisk University Library" - typescript carbon; brochure (Nashville, 1947)
Box 31			"American Negro Poetry" - typescript manuscripts, including a French translation "La Poesie Noire Americaine"
Box 31			"An American Original," Tomorrow June 1945
			"The Awakening: a Memoir" - typescript manuscript
Box 31			"Banneker's Strange 'Disturbance," The Message Magazine Sept. 1950
Box 31			"Black & Bubbling," The Saturday Review Apr. 5, 1952
Box 31			"Blues" - typescript manuscript
Box 31			"The Boy Who Wasn't Sure," Classmate Mar. 1945
Box 31			"Buried Treasures of Negro Art," Negro Digest Dec. 1950 - typescript manuscripts
Box 31			"Chestnutt Papers Go to Fisk" - Library Journal Aug. 1952 - typescript carbon (offprint)
Box 31			"Children's Books and American Unity," Northwestern University On the Air Nov. 18, 1942 - transcript of radio conversation
Box 31			"Countee Cullen," Film News Jan. 1946
Box 31			"Countee Cullen: American Poet" - The People's Voice Jan. 26, 1946 - dust jacket copy: Hold Fast to Dreams "7-8-68" manuscript
Box 31			"Even Money on John Chavis," Common Ground; "Even Money Bet on John Chavis," Negro Digest Autumn 1949; Feb. 1950 - typescript
Box 31			"The Exodus Train" (excerpt from They Seek a City), Common Ground Spring 1945
Box 31			"Facing a Dilemma," The Saturday Review Feb. 16, 1952
Box 31			"Famous WPA Authors," Negro Digest June 1950 - typescript manuscripts; carbon typescript title "Famous Authors of WPA"
Box 31			"Fiddler's Progress," Young People (American Baptist Publication Society) Apr. 1, 1945
Box 31			"Fisk University Library" - Fisk News Feb. 1956 - typescript manuscripts
Box 31			"Foreword: Selected Items from the George Gershwin Memorial Collection of Music and Musical Literature" undated - typescript manuscripts; brochure (Nashville: Fisk University Library)
Box 31			Grolier Encyclopedia biographies
Box 32			"Half a Life," The Message Magazine, Vol. XII, no. 10
Box 32			"Harlem in the Twenties," The Crisis Oct. 1966
Box 32			"The Harlem Renaissance," The Saturday Review Mar. 22, 1947
Box 32			"Harlem: the 'Beautiful' Years," Negro Digest Jan. 1965
Box 32			"He Got Fired!" Classmate Jan. 1945
Box 32			"He Was Fired," Pilgrim Neighborhood Feb. 1947
Box 32			"How I Told My Child About Race," Negro Digest May 1951 - typescript manuscript
Box 32			"How 'St. Louis Woman' Was Born" - typescript manuscript
Box 32			"How You Get T.B.," The Message Magazine June 1947 - typescript manuscript
Box 32			"Hughes, (James Mercer) Langston" from Encyclopaedia Britannica 1969
Box 32			"I Press On!" Classmate Apr. 1945
Box 32			"I Remember," Topic no. 5 - typescript manuscripts
Box 32			"In Choosing a College" - typescript manuscripts; brochure (Nashville: Fisk University, 1953?)
			Introductions
Box 32				The Autobiography of an Ex-Colored Man / by James Weldon Johnson - typescript manuscripts
Box 32				Biographical notes for Folkways Records recording (FP90) of readings by Sterling Brown and Langston Hughes - typescript manuscripts; printed material (artwork by Jacob Lawrence)
				Un Chant Nouveau / by Langston Hughes (Port-au-Prince, Haiti: Imprimerie de l'Etat) undated
					Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
Box 32				Black Thunder / by Arna Bontemps - typescript manuscript; photocopy from Boston: Beacon Press, 1968 edition
Box 32				Cane / by Jean Toomer - research notes; typescript manuscript; photocopy from New York: Harper & Row, c1969 edition
Box 32				Christmas Gif' / by Charlemae Rollins - typescript manuscripts
Box 32				Don't You Turn Back / poems by Langston Hughes, selected by Lee Bennett Hopkins - typescript manuscript; photocopy from New York: Knopf, c1967, 1969 edition
				Hold Fast to Dreams
					See "On Integrating the Old with the New".
Box 32				"Negro Poetry for Young People" (Folkways FC7114) - typescript manuscripts
Box 32				Not Without Laughter / by Langston Hughes - typescript manuscript
Box 32				100 Years of Negro Freedom / by Arna Bontemps - typescript manuscripts; photocopy from New York: Dodd, Mead & Company, 1961 edition
Box 32				The Poetry of the Negro "revised" / edited by Arna Bontemps and Langston Hughes - holograph; typescript manuscripts
Box 32				Unidentified work by or about Scott Joplin - holograph and typescript manuscripts
Box 32			"Is the Colored Press Necessary?"' unidentified newspaper, "Afro-Magazine Section" Feb. 9, 1957
Box 32			"The James Weldon Johnson Memorial Collection of Negro Arts and Letters," The Yale University Library Gazette Oct. 1943
Box 32			"The Jubilee Singers of Fisk University" - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"Langston Hughes" - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"The Line,"The Saturday Review Aug. 22, 1953
Box 33			"Literature for Intercultural Education," Arts in Childhood, Series III, Bulletin 2; The Ispescope, Vol. 1, no. 4 1948 - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"The Lonesome Boy Theme," The Horn Book Magazine Dec. 1966 - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"The Low-Down on TB," National Tuberculosis Association circa 1941
Box 33			"Maker of Demons," The Message Magazine Sept. 1949 - typescript manuscript
Box 33			"My dear young friends . . . " - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"The Negro Awakening: What Librarians Can Do," Library Journal Sept. 1, 1963 - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"The Negro Contribution to American Letters" - typescript manuscripts; photocopy of selection from The Black American Reference Book (1976) reprinted from The American Negro Reference Book (1966), edited by J. P. Davis (3 folders)
Box 33			"Negro Culture" - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"The Negro in White America: Cultural Status" - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"Negro Newspapers" Feb. 9, 1943 - memorandum to Ralph A. Beals, University of Chicago Libraries
Box 33			"Negro Poetry in the United States" - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"Negro Poets in the U. S. A." for Folkway Records anthology (FP91/2) - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"Negro Poets, Then and Now" - Phylon, Vol. XI, no. 4 - typescript manuscripts
Box 33			"The Negro Renaissance: Jean Toomer and the Harlem Writers of the 1920's" - research notes; typescript manuscripts (2 folders); photocopy of selection from Anger, and Beyond, edited by Herbert Hill (New York: Harper & Row, circa 1966)
Box 34			"The Negro Writer," The Peabody Reflector Jan. 1953 - typescript manuscript
Box 34			"Negro Writers," Northwestern University On the Air Nov. 18, 1941 - transcript of radio conversation
Box 34			"Negro Writers in Chicago," The Chicago Sun Bee undated
Box 34			"The New Black Renaissance," Negro Digest Nov. 1961 - typescript manuscripts (2 folders)
Box 34			New Standard Encyclopedia entry for "Civil Rights Movement" - photocopy
Box 34			"On Integrating the Old with the New" - typescript manuscripts; photocopy of Introduction for Hold Fast to Dreams (Chicago: Follett, 1969)
Box 34			"Only Half a Life" (Evanston, Ill.: National WCTU Publishing House, 1947)
Box 34			"A Pianist with a Mind of Her Own: Hazel Scott," Senior Scholastic Mar. 5, 1945
Box 34			"The Private Library and Personal Papers of W. E. B. Du Bois - typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"Race Relations," Northwestern University On the Air, May 27, 1944 - transcript of radio conversation; typescript
Box 34			"Ralph J. Bunche" - typescripts
Box 34			"Rare and Fine Books" by Bibliophilus, newspaper column in The Chicago Sun 1942-1943 undated
Box 34			"Reflections on Richard Wright: a Symposium on an Exiled Native Son" - typescript manuscripts of Bontemps' contribution to 1964 Asilomar Conference discussion; photocopy of selection from Anger, and Beyond, edited by Herbert Hill (New York: Harper & Row, circa 1966)
Box 34			"Remembering Cane" - holograph, typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"Report to Opportunity Fellowships Committee" - typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"A Response to Long Black Song: Essays in the Black American Literary Tradition / by Houston Baker, Jr. - typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"Richard Wright" - typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"Rock, Church, Rock!" - typescript manuscript
Box 34			"Rolf Italiaander at Fisk" - typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"Sad-Faced Author," The Horn Book Magazine Jan./Feb. 1939 - typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"Saturday Night: Portrait of a Small Southern Town, 1938" - typescript manuscript
Box 34			"The Secrets of Booker T. Washington" (a synopsis for an article) - typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"Sing a Soothing Song," Top of the News Mar. 1959 - typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"Six Voices" for Folkways Records "Anthology of Negro Poets" (FP91/1) - typescript manuscript
Box 34			"The Slave Narrative: an American Genre" (from Great Slave Narratives) - typescript manuscripts
Box 34			"Special Collections of Negroana" - The Library Quarterly July 1944 - typescript manuscripts (4 folders)
Box 35			"Spirituals" - typescript manuscripts
Box 35			"Story of the Negro," The Afro-American, 1949 (serialized); Negro Digest, July 1948 (excerpt)
Box 35			"The Talented Tenth," Negro Digest Dec. 1947
Box 35			"The Task of the Negro Writer as Artist: 'Statement by Arna Bontemps'," Negro Digest Apr. 1965 - holograph and typescript manuscripts
Box 35			"They Seek a City" (excerpt), Negro Digest Aug. 1945
Box 35			"3 Pennies for Luck," Chicago Tribune Books Today Dec. 4, 1966 - typescript manuscripts
				See also Writings: Stories.
Box 35			"Three Portraits of the Negro," The Saturday Review Mar. 28, 1953
Box 35			"Three Visitors to Tennessee," Tennessee Librarian June 1955 - typescript manuscripts
Box 35			"The Tradition of Black Poetry" - typescript manuscript
Box 35			"A Tribute to Du Bois" - Negro Digest, July 1964; Journal of Human Relations, 1966, 1st - typescript manuscripts
Box 35			"The Two Harlems," American Scholar Spring 1945 - typescript manuscripts
Box 35			"The University Library" - typescript manuscript
Box 35			"Versions of the Bible" (working title: "The Good Book"), The Message Magazine Nov. 1953 - typescript manuscripts
Box 36			"White Haitians" - typescript manuscripts
Box 36			"White Southern Friends of the Negro" (working title: "Southern White Friends of the Negro") - typescript manuscripts
Box 36			"Why I Returned" (working title: "Why I Stayed") - typescript manuscripts; photocopy of selection from The South Today, edited by Willie Morris (New York: Harper & Row, 1965) (2 folders)
Box 36			"William Still and the Underground Railroad," The Message Magazine June 1945
Box 36			"Words Like Freedom," The Journal (Louisiana Education Association), Jan. 1966; PLA Bulletin, Nov. 1966 - typescript manuscripts
Box 36			"Young Ben of West Point," Negro Digest Apr. 1945
Box 36			[Untitled]
Box 36			Essay-review on the Negro and children's literature for the New York Herald Tribune 1965
				Fisk University library Harassment of Langston Hughes, Oct. 15, 1963 1958-59 musical season at Fisk University Text for pamphlet for Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc.
		Book reviews (by title)
Box 36			A- N (9 folders)
Box 37			O-Z (4 folders)
		Books
Box 37, 38			American Negro Poetry [anthology]
				Research notes Contributors' manuscripts Biographical notes, rights and permissions Front matter, Introduction - manuscript Typescript manuscript - setting copy (2 folders) Index Galleys
Box 38, 39			Anyplace But Here [with Jack Conroy, revised and expanded version of They Seek a City]
				Research notes (2 folders) Typescript manuscript (4 folders) Typescript manuscript - setting copy
Box 39			Black Thunder [novel]
				Holograph manuscript (5 notebooks in 2 folders) Later revision titled "Gabriel's Attempt" (unfinished)
Box 39, 40, 41			The Book of Negro Folklore [anthology, edited with Langston Hughes]
				Research notes Typescript manuscript (6 folders) Galleys (2 folders)
Box 41			Bubber Goes to Heaven (working title: "Bubber Joins the Band") [juvenile] - typescript manuscript
Box 41, 42			Chariot in the Sky [novel] - typescript manuscripts
Box 42			Drums at Dusk (working titles: "The Scourge"; "Troubled Island") [novel] - typescript, miscellaneous pages
Box 43			Famous Negro Athletes [juvenile]
				Research material (5 folders) Typescript manuscript (3 folders)
Box 43			The Fast Sooner Hound [juvenile, with Jack Conroy] - typescript manuscripts (3 folders)
Box 43, 44			Frederick Douglass: Slave, Fighter, Freeman [juvenile]
				Typescript manuscripts (4 folders) Galleys
Box 44, 45			Free at Last: the Life of Frederick Douglass [juvenile]
				See also Writings: Books: 100 Years of Negro Freedom; Writings: Miscellaneous: "The Free and the Fatherless": Frederick Douglass section.
				Typescript manuscripts (5 folders) Galleys (3 folders)
Box 45			George Washington Carver (working title: "Carver's Green Thumb") [juvenile]
				Research notes Typescript manuscripts
Box 45, 46, 47			Great Slave Narratives [anthology]
				Introduction and notes Research material (4 folders) Manuscript - setting copy (6 folders) Galleys
Box 47, 48, 49			The Harlem Renaissance Remembered: Essays
				Research notes (2 folders) Manuscript submissions, A-Z by author (4 folders) Typescript manuscript (3 folders) Galleys (4 folders)
Box 49, 50			Hold Fast to Dreams: Poems Old and New [anthology]
				Manuscripts (miscellaneous) Miscellany, chiefly publication fee records for contributors
Box 50			Lonesome Boy [juvenile]
				Typescript manuscripts (2 folders) Galleys Page proofs
Box 50			Mr. Kelso's Lion [juvenile] - typescript manuscripts (3 folders)
Box 50			The Old South: "A Summer Tragedy" and Other Stories of the Thirties - typescript manuscripts; galleys (4 folders)
Box 51			100 Years of Negro Freedom - research notes; typescript manuscripts (8 folders)
				see also Writings: Miscellaneous: "The Free and the Fatherless".
Box 51			The Pasteboard Bandit [juvenile] - typescript manuscript
Box 51			Personals [poetry] - page proofs
Box 52, 53, 54			The Poetry of the Negro [anthology, with Langston Hughes]
				Correspondence with contributors (2 folders) Biographical material of contributors Notes (2 folders) Typescript manuscripts (15 folders)
Box 54			Sam Patch, the High, Wide, & Handsome Jumper [juvenile, with Jack Conroy] - research notes; typescript manuscripts (3 folders)
Box 54			Slappy Hooper, the Wonderful Sign Painter [juvenile, with Jack Conroy]
				Typescript manuscripts (3 folders) Page proofs
Box 54, 55			The Story of George Washington Carver [juvenile]
				Chapter outline Research notes Suggestions for re-write Typescript manuscripts (6 folders)
Box 55, 56			Story of the Negro
				Research notes (4 folders) Typescript manuscripts (3 folders) Galleys (2 folders)
Box 56			They Seek a City [with Jack Conroy, revised and expanded as Anyplace But Here] - research notes; typescript manuscripts (7 folders)
Box 57			We Have Tomorrow - typescript manuscripts, miscellaneous
Box 57, 58			Young Booker: Booker T. Washington's Early Days [juvenile]
				See also Writings: Books: 100 Years of Negro Freedom; Writings: Miscellaneous: "The Free and the Fatherless": Booker T. Washington section.
				Typescript manuscripts (2 folders) Manuscript - setting copy (3 folders) Galleys Page proofs (2 folders)
		Ephemera
			"The Low-Down on Tuberculosis" / by Arna Bontemps undated
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			"Only Half a Life" / by Arna Bontemps (Evanston, Ill.: National WCTU Publishing House, 1947?))
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
		Monographs
			American Missionary Association Archives in Fisk University Library / by Arna Bontemps (Nashville: s.n., 1947)
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
		Music scores
			"Golgotha Is a Mountain" Poem by Arna Bontemps; music by John W. Work (New York: Galaxy Music Corporation, 1959)
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			"Meine dunklen Hande: funf Negergedichte von Langston Hughes und Arna Bontemps" / Hermann Reutter (Mainz: B. Schott) undated
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			"Oh! I've Seen Many Mountains" Poem by Arna Bontemps; music by John W. Work (New York: Ethel Smith Music Corp., 1954) (2 copies)
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			"Songs of Separation" / by William Grant Still (New York: Leeds Music Corporation, 1949) Includes selection "Idolatry" from poem by Arna Bontemps.
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
			"St. Louis Woman" (New York: A-M Music Corporation, 1946)
				Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging.
				"Any Place I Hang My Hat is Home" "Cakewalk Your Lady" "I Wonder What Became of Me"
		Playscripts
Box 59			"Black Thunder" - typescript manuscript fragment
			"Careless Love"
				See "When the Jack Hollers".
			"Cavalcade of the Negro Theatre"
				See "Jubilee".
Box 59			"Les Cenelles" - research notes; typescript manuscript (4 folders)
				R
Box 59			"Creole Square" [with Schuyler Watts] - typescript manuscripts (3 folders)
Box 59			"The Domino Mask" (alternate title: "The Quadroon Ball") - typescript manuscripts (3 folders)
Box 59			"The Great Speckled Bird" [with Jack Conroy] - typescript manuscripts (4 folders)
Box 59			"Honey Child" - typescript manuscript
Box 59, 60			"Jubilee" [with Langston Hughes]
				Research notes (2 folders) Typescript manuscripts (6 folders)
Box 60			"St. Louis Woman" [with Countee Cullen] - typescript manuscripts (9 folders)
Box 60			"The Sparrow's House" (alternate title: "Keepers of the House") - typescript manuscript
Box 61			"When the Jack Hollers" [with Langston Hughes] - typescript manuscripts (4 folders)
		Poetry
Box 61			[Miscellaneous] - lists and tear sheets
		Radio and television scripts
Box 61			1939 May 6 "Know Your Authors" (WCFL Chicago)
Box 61			1940 June 25 "Off the Bookshelf" (WJJD Chicago)
Box 61			1940 Nov 28 "Sad-Faced Boy" (CBS American School of the Air adaptation)
Box 61			1941 Dec. 14 "Salute to Freedom" (CBS broadcast featuring an Arna Bontemps/Langston Hughes collaboration on "a radio poem on American folk heroes")
Box 61			1955 Nov. 12 "Books That Live" (WJW Cleveland)
Box 61			1963 Apr. 20 "Saturday Night Theatre" intermission feature (WTMJ-TV)
Box 61			1963 Apr. 22 "Critique" (WMVS-TV Milwaukee)
Box 61			1966 May 23 "Planet Earth"
Box 61			1966 June 16 [no title] (WDCN-TV on Jubilee Singers) - "What Can I Do?" (WBBM Chicago)
		Song lyrics
			These were written, in part, in collaboration with Langston Hughes [et al.] for the 1940 Negro Exposition, Chicago, Ill.
Box 61			"Boulevard Cowboy"
Box 61			"Chocolate Carmencita"
Box 61			"If You No Savvy I'll Make You Savvy Somehow"
Box 61			"Jubilee - Jubilee"
Box 61			"Little Flower of the Tropics"
Box 61			"Lonely Little Maiden by the Sea"
Box 61			"Market Day in Martinique"
Box 61			"Rhythm Club Fire"
Box 61			"Sweet Nothings in Spanish"
Box 61			"That's the Way We Do It in Chicago"
Box 61			"Voodoo Man"
Box 61			"When the Sun Goes Down in Rhumba Land"
		Speeches
Box 61			"Adventures in Authorship" - notes
Box 61			"American Negro Poetry" - typescript manuscript
Box 61			"The Black Renaissance of the 1920's known as the Harlem Renaissance" - typescript manuscript
Box 61			"Black Writing Today" - typescript manuscript
Box 61			"Booker T. Washington" - typescript manuscript
Box 61			"The Breaking Patterns of Segregation" - notes
Box 61			Commencement address at Hampton High School (Dickson, Tenn.) 1959
Box 61			"Forgotten Men of the Negro Press" - typescript manuscripts
Box 61			"4 Freedoms" - notes
Box 61			"Four Lies" - notes
Box 62			"Freedom Is a Powerful Word" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Great Readers Make Great Writers" - notes
Box 62			"The Harlem Renaissance" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Hold Fast to Dreams" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Intro"[duction] for Charles S. Johnson Fall 1948 - typescript notes
Box 62			"Introduction for Peter Abrahams" - typescript manuscript
Box 62			"The Literature of Freedom" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"The Lonesome Boy Theme" - typescript manuscript
Box 62			"Marian Anderson: an Introduction" - notes, typescript manuscript
Box 62			"The Meaning of Louis Armstrong: a public lecture on 'The Negro Contribution to American Culture'" - notes
Box 62			"Negro in American Culture" - notes
Box 62			"The Negro in Poetry & Drama" - notes
Box 62			"The Negro Renaissance: Jean Toomer and the Harlem Writers of the 1920's" - typescript manuscript
Box 62			"The Negro's Contribution Reconsidered" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Old Myths, New Negroes" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Opportunities for Development of Negro Talent" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Oration for Carl Van Vechten" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"The Poetry of the American Negro" - notes
Box 62			"The Poetry of the Negro" - notes
Box 62			"Public Oration for Paul E. Magloire" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Reading and the College Student" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Reading for Personal Development" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Recent Writing by Negroes" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"The Relevance of Dunbar" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"Remarks . . . [at] Student Convocation, Fisk, 1-4-'62" (re: literary contest) 1962
Box 62			"Remarks . . . in Presenting American Library Association's Liberty and Justice Book Award in Imaginative Literature to James Thurber for Further Fables for Our Time" Apr. 25, 1957 - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"A Renaissance Remembered" Apr. 14, 1962 - address delivered at the 26th Annual Educational Conference of the Teachers Union of the City of New York; typescript manuscripts, two versions
Box 62			"Significance of Charles S. Johnson Papers" - typescript manuscripts
Box 162			"A Statement . . . on Receiving Jane Addams Children's Book Award" 1956 - manuscript fragment
Box 62			"Three Negro Leaders" - notes
Box 62			"Why Negro History Week?" - notes
Box 62			"Words Like Freedom" - typescript manuscripts
Box 62			"The Writer's Window" - notes
			Untitled - A-Z by topic
Box 62				Books and libraries - notes and holograph manuscript
Box 62				Langston Hughes and the Harlem Renaissance - notes
Box 62				Librarianship and authorship - notes
Box 62				New Criticism and the African-American writer - notes
Box 62				On presentation of a book to the Detroit Public Library - notes
Box 62				Origins of African-American folklore - notes
Box 62				Poetry and the modern world - notes
Box 62				Miscellaneous lecture notes
		Stories
Box 63			"Aunt Viney's Confession" - holograph manuscript
Box 63			"The Avengers" - manuscript notes
Box 63			"Barrel Staves," New Challenge Mar. 1934 - photocopy
Box 63			"Big Six" - holograph manuscript
Box 63			"Boy Blue" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Cunning" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"The Cure" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Death at Heaven's Gate" - holograph, typescript manuscript
Box 63			"The Devil Is a Conjurer" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Don't Mind We Sisters" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Evil Woman" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Fast Sooner Hound" (excerpt), Children's Digest Sept. 1952
Box 63			"A Feather for Calcedonia" - holograph, typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Hair-trigger Kid" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Heathen at Home" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Hoppergrass Man" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Last Tag" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Let the Church Roll On" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Lonesome Boy, Silver Trumpet" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Saturday Night" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"A Summer Tragedy," Opportunity June 1933 - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"Talk to the Music" (working title: "The Blues She Sang") - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"3 Pennies for Luck" - typescript manuscript (2 folders)
				See also Writings: Articles and essays
Box 63			"Voodoo Killing in Marksville" - manuscript notes
Box 63			"The Vultures" - holograph manuscript
Box 63			"Where Willie Went" - holograph manuscript (fragment)
Box 63			"Winter Night in the Summer House" - typescript manuscript
Box 63			"A Woman with a Mission" - typescript manuscript
			Untitled - A-Z by first line
Box 63				"It must have been a matinee"
Box 63				"It was about the most disrespectfullest thing . . . ."
Box 63			Manuscript notes and plot outlines
		Miscellaneous
Box 64			"Adah" [synopsis for a biographical novel about Adah Isaacs Menken] - typescript manuscript, research material
Box 64			"American Original" [essay collection] - typescript manuscripts
Box 64			"Bon-Bon Buddy" [juvenile, with Langston Hughes] - typescript manuscripts (3 folders)
Box 64			"The Boy of the Border" [juvenile, with Langston Hughes] - typescript manuscripts (5 folders)
Box 64			"The Chariot in the Cloud" [novel] - typescript manuscripts (3 folders)
			Exhibitions:
Box 64				1940: American Negro Exposition (Chicago) - captions, legends, titles
Box 64				1967: National Negro History Week observance - suggested guidelines
			"The Free and the Fatherless" - combined biography project on Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, and W. E. B. Du Bois
				Prospectus
Box 64				Frederick Douglass section (published, in part, as Free at Last and 100 Years of Negro Freedom) - research notes; typescript manuscripts (8 folders)
Box 66, 67, 68, 69				Booker T. Washington section (published, in part, as Young Booker and 100 Years of Negro Freedom)
					Research notes (19 folders) Typescript manuscripts (5 folders)
Box 69, 70, 71				W. E. B. Du Bois section (published, in part, as 100 Years of Negro Freedom):
					Research notes (13 folders) Typescript manuscripts (3 folders)
Box 71, 72			"God's Country: the Negro Comes to Illinois" [WPA project edited with Jack Conroy, later re-worked and, in part, published as They Seek a City] (10 folders)
				Research material Synopsis Typescript manuscripts
			"The Negro in Illinois"
				See "God's Country: the Negro Comes to Illinois".
Box 72			"New Africa Series" - introductory description for proposed Hill and Wang, Inc. series
Box 73			"Of Many Waters" (working titles: "The Blue Battalion" ; "The Gaudy Island") [novel] - research notes; synopses; typescripts (8 folders)
Box 73			"Paul Antoine" [play, with Langston Hughes] - working notes, synopsis
Box 73, 74			"The Prizefighter and the Woman" [novel] - notes; holograph manuscript (notebook); typescript manuscript
Box 74			"Rat Tales" (working title: "Waterfront Streets") [anthology] - research material (2 folders)
Box 74			"Sugar Hill" [anthology] - typescript manuscripts (2 folders)
Box 74			"The Sunny Side of the Street / by L.H. & N.J., submitted by Arna Bontemps" - story outline; character sketches
				See also Correspondence-Subject Files: Huntley, Leston.
Box 74			"The Symbols of Despair" [book on origins of racism] - outline only
Box 75			"Tom-Tom Treasure" [juvenile] - typescript manuscript (6 folders)
Box 75			"Yielding Seed" [novel] - typescript manuscript (2 folders)
Box 75, 76			"Young King Cole: a Boy Who Earned a Fortune" [biography]
				See also Correspondence-Subject Files: Cole, Robert A.
				Research material manuscript notes Typescript manuscript (2 folders)
Box 76			Miscellaneous project proposals, synopses
Box 76			Miscellaneous notes, manuscript fragments

	Memorabilia
Box 77		Addresses and address lists, business cards, telephone numbers, etc.
		Audiorecordings
Box 86			Arna Bontemps - Portrait 06/17/1973 (Audio cassette) (ID#: bontemps_004)
Box 86			Interview with A.B. (Margaret Perry, University of Rochester, at Yale University) 12/11/1970 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: bontemps_003)
Box 86			[Interview with Arna Bontemps Pt. 1] 12/11/1970 - Interview with Arna Bontemps at Yale University by Margaret Perry, Education Librarian, University of Rochester Pt. 1 (Audio cassette; running time 46:11) (ID#: bontemps_001)
Box 86			[Interview with Arna Bontemps Pt. 2] 12/11/1970 - Interview with Arna Bontemps at Yale University by Margaret Perry, Education Librarian, University of Rochester Pt. 2. (Audio cassette; running time 34:16) (ID#: bontemps_002)
Box 77		Awards, citations
Box 77		Course outlines, notes, bibliographies
Box 77		Criticism and interpretation 1939-1997
Box 77		Family-related
		Financial
Box 77			Credit cards and related material
Box 77			Insurance, health
Box 77			Insurance, life
Box 77			Leases and housing-related material
Box 77			Pension reports
Box 77			Receipts
Box 77		Lecture itineraries, travel connections
Box 77		Photographs
		Printed material
			Clippings
Box 77				about Bontemps 1930-1940s (2 folders)
Box 78				about Bontemps 1950-1960s, undated (4 folders)
Box 78				Obituaries and tributes 1973-1974, 2002
Box 78				"St. Louis Woman" / "Blues Opera" / "Free and Easy" 1945-1960, undated
Box 78				Miscellaneous
Box 78			Programs for "St Louis Woman," various productions
Box 78			Miscellaneous
		Research materials
Box 82, 83			Africa
				Consists of printed material collected, in part, in connection with trip to East Africa, presumably as background for proposed "New Africa Series," for which Bontemps was to have been editor
Box 84			Civil rights in the U.S. - printed materials
Box 84			Time line on note cards of important historical dates
Box 85			Langston Hughes
				Assembled by Bontemps for biography of Langston Hughes, this material contains photocopies of correspondence from Yale University Library (?) with Bontemps, Walter Brough, Sylvia Chen, Countee Cullen, Ralph Ellison, Ezra Pound, Wallace Thurman, and Langston Hughes' father.
		Reviews
Box 78			American Negro Poetry
Box 78			American Negro Reference Book / edited by John P. Davis
Box 78			American Negro Short Stories / edited by John Henrik Clarke
Box 78			Anger and Beyond / edited by Herbert Hill
Box 78			Anyplace But Here
Box 78			Black Thunder
Box 79			The Book of Negro Folklore
Box 79			The Book of Negro Humor / selected and edited by Langston Hughes
Box 79			Chariot in the Sky
Box 79			Drums at Dusk
Box 79			Famous American Negro Poets / by Charlemae Rollins
Box 79			Famous Negro Athletes
Box 79			The Fast Sooner Hound
Box 79			Father of the Blues / by W.C. Handy (with the assistance of Arna Bontemps)
Box 79			Frederick Douglass: Slave, Fighter, Freeman
Box 79			God Sends Sunday
Box 79			Golden Slippers
Box 79			Hold Fast to Dreams
Box 79			Lonesome Boy
Box 79			The Old South: "A Summer Tragedy" and Other Stories of the Thirties
Box 79			100 Years of Negro Freedom
Box 79			Personals
Box 79			The Poetry of the Negro
Box 79			Popo and Fifina
Box 79			Sad-Faced Boy
Box 79			"St. Louis Woman"
Box 79			Sam Patch, the High, Wide, & Handsome Jumper
Box 79			Slappy Hooper, the Wonderful Sign Painter
Box 79			The South Today / edited by Willie Morris
Box 79			The Story of George Washington Carver
Box 79			Story of the Negro
Box 80			They Seek a City
Box 80			We Have Tomorrow
Box 80			You Can't Pet a Possum
		Travel-related material - guidebooks, Berlitz phrase books, etc.
Box 80			England
Box 80			France
Box 80			Haiti
Box 80			Italy
Box 81			Uganda
Box 81			Yugoslavia (2 folders)
Box 81			General (2 folders)
Box 81		Voter registration cards for Arna and Alberta Bontemps 1955
		Writings by others
Box 81			Dramatization by unknown author of "Wings on His Shoulders," from We Have Tomorrow

Return to top