Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Syracuse University. -- Libraries. -- Special Collections Research Center. |
| Title: | Book History Teaching Collection |
| Inclusive Dates: | 2003-2019 |
| Quantity: | 2 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Teaching collection, with models and other materials for instruction on the history and techniques of book production. |
| Language: | English, Greek, and Spanish |
| Repository: |
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
The history of the book began with the development of writing. Tablets, scrolls, and sheets of papyrus are early precursors of books, which has evolved to the modern-day business of book printing. Books as we understand them today began with bookbinding. Bookbinding is the process of physically assembling a book of codex format from an ordered stack of paper sheets. The codex form was developed around the first century AD by the Romans, superseding earlier formats such as the scroll, tablet, or concertina. A codex consists of folded written sheets ("quires") attached along one edge, and protected by some type of cover. At first quires were attached using a variety of sewing techniques; modern methods also include gluing, stapling, spiral binding and plastic comb binding. Before the widespread availability of paper, books were usually written on papyrus, vellum or parchment. Covers were originally of leather or wood (hence the term "boards" for a rigid cover) and were sometimes elaborately decorated with gold, silver, paint, and gems; modern book covers are typically of cardboard, fiberboard, or heavy glossy paper. The quality of book's paper and binding directly affect its cost; limited and special editions may have particularly ornate or unusual bindings.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Book History Teaching Collection contains a papyrus codex facsimile and models for instruction on the history and techniques of book production. The Facsimile series contains a facsimile, transcription, and translation of the letters of St. Peter. More information of the reproduction is provided in the inventory. The Models consists of 12 models of bookbinding. More information of the models is provided in the inventory.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Corporate Bodies
Subjects
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Book History Teaching Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Purchase, 2019-2020.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: MRC
Date: 18 Sep 2019
Revision history: 23 Nov 2021 - Papyrus codex facsimile added, collection title changed
Inventory
| Facsimile | |||||||||||
| Oversize 1 | Beati Petri Apostoli Epistulae (Papiro Bodmer VII) Biblioteca Apostolica Vaticana 2003 | ||||||||||
| A gathering of thirty-six pages produced by Testimonio Compania Editorial. A full-size color reproduction of what is known as Bodmer VIII Papyrus 72 and was originally part of a larger work known as the Bodmer Miscellaneous Codex, an Egyptian manuscript dating to the third and fourth centuries. The pages are the oldest and most complete versions of the New Testament texts known as the First and Second Letters of Peter. The facsimile reproductions are presented in a velvet lined case stamped in gold with two interior compartments. The top compartment holds the facsimiles with a transparent cover and the lower compartment holds the transcription and translation. | |||||||||||
| Models | |||||||||||
| Oversize 2 | Reverse Engineering Historical and Modern Binding Structures 2019 | ||||||||||
| Set of 12 models produced by Biblio Tech. Set contains the following bindings: tacketed, Ethiopian, medieval, leather (fine), boarded, split board, simplified, German case, non-adhesive paper case, crossed structure, sewn boards, and scaleboard. There is also an informational booklet with explanations of each binding type, and a bibliography. | |||||||||||