Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Brian, Denis.
Title:	Denis Brian Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1917-2015
Quantity:	5.75 linear ft.
Abstract:	Photos, unpublished manuscripts, clippings, correspondence, and interviews with the subjects of Brian's biographies and others.
Language:	Majority in English, some items in German.
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Denis Brian (1923- ) is a Welsh journalist and author, best known for his biographies.

Born in Cardiff, South Wales, he studied at the University of Southampton (1941-1942), the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art (1948-1950), and Columbia University (1958-1960).

Brian started his career as a reporter on the Irish News Service in London's Fleet Street between 1939-1941. From 1942-1946 Brian served in the Royal Air Force as a flight lieutenant. After his time serving in the military Brian worked as an actor, playwright, and stuntman in England, 1951-1957; a freelance writer, beginning in 1958; and as a literary agent, 1960-1962.

In 1959, he emigrated to the United States and worked as a freelance writer. He is the author of over 30 books, including biographies of Tallulah Bankhead, Albert Einstein, Ernest Hemingway, Truman Capote, and Jeane Dixon. Brian's style of biography is to interview those surrounding the subject of his work to provide deeper context to the story.

Brian married Martine Kisray in 1961, and the couple had one daughter, Danielle Gilda Anne. They now live in Florida, in the United States.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Denis Brian Papers consists of correspondence-subject files, interview transcripts, recordings, and writings.

Correspondence-subject files retains Brian's original arrangement by topic, whether a person (Tallulah Bankhead, Ernest Hemingway, Albert Einstein) or a specific subject (e.g. parapsychology). Notable individuals represented in the collection include Sir Lawrence Olivier, A.W. Lawrence, Mary Hemingway, Alan Dershowitz, and more.

Interview transcripts contains transcripts of interviews Brian conducted with individuals. Note that not all recordings present in the collection (see next series) have transcripts.

Recordings contains original audiorecordings of Brian's interviews with individuals.

Writings contains unpublished manuscripts of The Actor and Sherlock Holmes 3, and articles and clippings related to Brian's research on Einstein.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence subject files are arranged alphabetically by Brian's assigned subject. Interview transcripts and writings are arranged alphabetically by name or title. Recordings are arranged numerically by Brian's own numbering system and then alphabetically. There were evidently several separate numeric series but no master list was found, hence there are duplicates of many numbers -- for example, seven tapes are numbered "(1)".

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research. Access to audiorecordings requires advance notice to produce a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts, or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Subjects

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Denis Brian Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Denis Brian, 2016

Finding Aid Information

Created by: Lisa Marie Soltren
Date: 2022-04-26
Revision history: 22 Aug 2022 - updated finding aid (RMH); 22 Apr 2022 - collection processed (LMS)

Return to top

Inventory

	Correspondence subject files
Box 9		Bankhead, Tallulah - contains letters from Lawrence Olivier and 2 folders of photographs (3 folders)
Box 9		Einstein, Albert - includes photographs of Einstein and correspondence from Peter Bergmann, Thomas Bucky, Elizabeth Roboz Einstein, Eugene Wigner, etc. (3 folders)
Box 9		Hemingway, Ernest - includes photographs of Hemingway and correspondences from Gregory Hemingway, Lillian Ross, Sue Crist, Vivian Hemingway, Mary Hemingway, etc. (2 folders)
Box 9		History - includes letters from Alan Dershowitz, Durane West, Robert Bryan, A. W. Lawrence, Grace Tully, etc.
Box 9		Parapsychology - includes letters from Agatha Christie, Bernard Shaw, Samuel Beckett, Lillian Hellman, William Faulkner's daughter, Lord Hugh Dowding, etc. (2 folders)
Box 9		Scientists - includes letters from Eve Curie (Marie Curie's daughter), Helene Langevin-Joliot, Per Dahl, Theo von Laveson, etc. (3 folders)
Box 9		Writers - contains letters from V. S. Pritchett and Harper Lee

	Interview transcripts
Box 10		Bacon, James Undated
Box 10		Bankhead, Tallulah 1980 undated
Box 10		Brian, Denis on Marie Curie 2015
Box 10		Bucky, Thomas undated
Box 10		Capote, Truman undated
Box 10		Chapman, Eddie 1970
Box 10		Colby, William 1996
Box 10		Cranston, Alan 1987
Box 10		Dershowitz, Alan and Duane West undated
Box 10		Dickey, James L. undated
Box 10		Dowding, Hugh undated
Box 10		Dukas, Helen 1980
Box 10		Einstein, Elizabeth R. 1982
Box 10		Frost, Lesley 1982
Box 10		Greene, Graham encounter with Padre Pio undated
Box 10		Helms, Richard, Jack Anderson, and Gordon Liddy 1994
Box 10		Hemingway, Mary 1980
Box 10		Hitchcock, Alfred 1972
Box 10		Kemeny, John 1984, 1987-1988, 2015
Box 10		Lee, Alice 1989, 2015
Box 10		Longworth, Alice Roosevelt 1971
Box 10		Luce, Clare Booth 1980
Box 10		Menninger, Karl A. 1985
Box 10		Niven, David 1975
Box 10		Penfield, Wilder 1976
Box 10		Pepper, Claude 1984
Box 10		Rabi, Isidor 1982
Box 10		Reik, Theodor 1958
Box 10		Singer, Isaac Bashevas 1985
Box 11		Skinner, B. F. 1977
Box 11		Stephenson, William, Sir. undated
Box 11		Thomas, Lowell 1974
Box 11		Tully, Grace, Missy LeHand, and David Gray 1968, 1979
Box 11		Wald, George 1972 1988 (2 folders)
Box 11		Wallace, Mike 1970
Box 11		Wheeler, John 1979
Box 11		Wiesel, Torsten undated
Box 11		Wigner, Eugene 1982, 1989
Box 11		Wodehouse,P. G. 1974
Box 11		Woodward, Bob undated

	Recordings
		RESTRICTED: Access to recordings requires advance notice to produce a working copy.
Box 1		(1) Alan Dershowitz ; (2) Jim Sewell on serial killer Ted Bundy 01/25/1986 07/16/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_001)
Box 2		(1) Helen Dukas, Einstein's secretary; (2) Isidor Rabi 06/10/1980 10/31/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_065)
Box 3		(1) Jeffrey Meyers (two Hemingway biographers talk); (2) Lewis Clanahan (school friend); (3) Malcolm Cowley (Hemingway interviewer); (4) Earl Rovit; (5) Mrs. William Crist (school friend) 10/09/1986 10/13/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_138)
Box 5		(1) John Hersey / Hemingway; Isaac Bashevis Singer (faint) 02/21/1982 02/22/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_241)
Box 1		(1) Nobelist Arno Penzias and his dad 05/12/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_050)
Box 6		(1) Tallulah 05/12/1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_223)
Box 1		(1) Truman Capote; (2) Interviewer Bob Cromie 09/18/1970 09/24/1970 09/25/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_005)
Box 5		(2) Actor Hume Cronyn 06/14/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_229)
Box 1		(2) Dr. Murray Sherman on Theodor Reik 12/20/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_037)
Box 1		(2) Nobelist Arno Penzias May 14/16, 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_051)
Box 6		(2) Tallulah (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_224)
Box 5		(2) William F. Buckley, Jr 07/21/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_242)
Box 1		(3) About Capote's Aunt, Mrs. Rudisill; (4) Terrie Hersey 01/10/1988 01/11/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_006)
Box 5		(3) Actor Helmut Dantine; (4) Author Harry Altshuler 02/12/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_230)
Box 1		(3) David Wilentz, prosecutor, Lindbergh trial; (4) Dr. Thomas Lee Bucky re: Einstein; (5) Thomas Sanchez re: Hemingway 09/11/1984 10/07/1984 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_002)
Box 2		(3) Helen Dukas; (4) Banesh Hoffmann, Eistein friend & biographer 09/25/1976 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_066)
Box 5		(3) Lowell Thomas on T.E. Lawrence 09/09/1979 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_243)
Box 6		(3) Martine [?] & Denis Brian, questions for Theodor Reik interview. (reel to reel) (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_038)
Box 1		(3) Nobelist Arno Penzias 07/07/1979 01/27/1990 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_052)
Box 7		(3) Tallulah Bankhead 05/12/1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_225)
Box 1		(4) Dr. A.J. Luessenhop, neurosurgeon who operated on CIA director William Casey; Harper Lee's sister Alice re: Capote 10/10/1990 04/19/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_039)
Box 1		(4) Physicist Richard Feynman (lecture: summary & talk, not an interview) (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_053)
Box 7		(4) Tallulah Bankhead 05/12/1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_226)
Box 5		(4) TV's Irv Kupcinet; (5) Walt Rostow; (6) Hugh Sidey on JFK 09/05/1976 09/15/1976 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_244)
Box 5		(5) Lillian Hellman, playwright, author, on Tallulah & Dorothy Parker 07/21/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_231)
Box 1		(5) Mother of Susan, best friend of murdered Nancy Kidwell; (6) Capote's Aunt Rudisill; (7) Schulman on Einstein's missing daughter 01/17/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_007)
Box 1		(5) Nobelist Rober Jastrow, astrophysicist 02/09/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_054)
Box 2		(5) Otto Nathan, in charge of Einstein's estate 12/06/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_067)
Box 7		(5) Tallulah 05/06/1966 - cassette envelope date is: "May 14. 1966" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_227)
Box 1		(6) Dr. Cornelia Wilbur re: multiple personalities; (7) Faulkner's daughter 02/25/1985 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_040)
Box 2		(6) John Wheeler; (7) James R. Blackwood re: Einstein 04/07/1989 08/31/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_068)
Box 5		(6) Movie/stage director Morton de Costa; (7) Ted Hook, Tallulah's assistant ; (8) Danny Kaye's widow Sylvia Fine 03/02/1970 03/20/1970 (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_232)
Box 3		(6) Mrs. Stanfield (Hemingway's first love) 05/08/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_139)
Box 1		(6) Nobelist Arthur Schawlow; (7) Theodore von Laue 02/03/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_055)
Box 7		(6) Tallulah 05/12/1966 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_228)
Box 1		(6) William Colby, Former CIA director 09/30/1990 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_003)
Box 3		(7) Mr. Stanfield 08/21/1985 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_140)
Box 1		(7) Official CIA comment on Bob Woodward; (8) Schulman re: Einstein, ditto. 01/10/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_004)
Box 5		(7) Playwright Robert Anderson 09/12/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_245)
Box 1		(8) In Cold Blood witness Donald Cullivan, on Capote & Perry Smith (BB); (9) Rex Reed interview with Gov. Lester Maddox, Press Agent, Cass Canfield, Sr. (BB) 10/04/1970, 10/05/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_008)
Box 5		(8) James Bacon, Hollywood Reporter 05/18/1977 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_246)
Box 2		(8) John Wheeler / Einstein 05/30/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_069)
Box 3		(8) Mr. & Mrs. Stanfield; (9) Arnold Gingrich, Oct. 9, 1981; (10) Jeanie Higgins; (11) Psychiatrist Howard Rome 10/01/1981, 10/12/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_141)
Box 1		(8) Nobelist Charles Townes 02/14/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_056)
Box 1		(8) Psychiatrist Dr. Cornelia Wilbur re: multiple personalities 07/25/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_041)
Box 5		(9) Arnaud de Borchgrave on Woodward; (10) Dr. Bucky on Einstein 04/20/1990, 09/04/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_247)
Box 5		(9) Harreit Beal, Tallulah's dresser/wardrobe mistress; (10) Columnist Virginia Graham 03/02/1976 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_233)
Box 1		(9) John Wheeler on Werner Heisenberg and on survival 12/14/1985 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_057)
Box 2		(9) Lewis Clarahan [or, Morley Callaghan] (boyhood friend); Dr. Elizabeth Roboz re: Einstein 05/31/1984 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_070)
Box 1		(9) Psychologist B.F. Skinner; (10) Dr. Helmut Schmidt 11/19/1977, 11/20/1977 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_042)
Box 1		(10) Alice Lee, Harper Lee's sister, on Capote; (11) Interview with Ernest Fitzgerald about Bob Woodward, about Watergate; (12) Schulman on Einstein 10/30/1990 09/08/1993 09/09/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_009)
Box 1		(10) Dr. Linus Pauling on J.B. Rhine 03/06/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_058)
Box 2		(10) John Wheeler 07/08/1979 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_071)
Box 5		(11) Andy Rooney (Hemingway); (12) Physicist Dr. John Wheeler (Einstein) 04/29/1985 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_248)
Box 1		(11) B.F. Skinner 06/08/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_043)
Box 5		(11) Film director Otto Preminger; (12) Film actor Robert Ryan; (13) Movie producer & playwright Dore Schary 12/08/1969 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_234)
Box 2		(11) John Wheeler 06/18/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_072)
Box 1		(11) Nobelist Roger Sperry 06/06/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_059)
Box 2		(11) Wheeler; (12) Dr. Robert Jastrow 07/08/1979 07/12/1979 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_073)
Box 3		(12) Hadley Hemingway 08/10/1972 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_142)
Box 1		(12) John Wheeler 11/02/1995 - How is the world put together? “The think I'm trying to find out is this: if I were the Lord starting up the universe, what would convince me that I cannot make a go of it without the quantum principle?” (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_060)
Box 1		(12) Psychologist Dr. Henry Murray 09/09/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_044)
Box 3		(13) Elsie Byron; (14) John Hemingway; (15) Elizabeth Dos Passos; (16) Honoria Donnelly (Murphy) 02/27/1973 02/28/1973 03/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_143)
Box 1		(13) Henry A. Murray; (14) LBJ's press secretary George Reedy 03/13/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_045)
Box 1		(13) In Cold Blood prosecutor Duane West on Capote; (14) Eugene Wigner on Einstein 10/12/1980 11/27/1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_010)
Box 2		(13) John Wheeler 10/19/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_074)
Box 5		(13) Mike Wallace 07/12/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_249)
Box 2		(13) Scientist, Nobelist Dr. Torsten Wiesel 01/18/1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_061)
Box 5		(14) Actor/director Orson Welles about Tallulah; (15) Writer John Lardner; (16) Actor Tony Randall 03/29/1970 05/18/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_235)
Box 2		(14) Eugene Wigner 05/01/1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_075)
Box 2		(14) Linus Pauling 02/20/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_062)
Box 5		(14) Robert Cromie 09/27/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_250)
Box 2		(15) Hans Bethe 05/12/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_063)
Box 2		(15) Hans Bethe & (16) Weisskopf 05/07/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_064)
Box 2		(15) Jamie Sayen, Einstein biographer; Sayen, Schulman, Dr. Claire Gilbert 09/18/1989 1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_076)
Box 5		(15) Kay Halle on Randolph Churchill; credited persuading Congress to make Churchill US citizen 10/14/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_251)
Box 1		(15) Nina Murray, wife of Harry Murray; (16) Thomas Bucky re: Einstein 11/23/1994 12/03/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_046)
Box 2		(16) Ashley Montagu 02/24/1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_077)
Box 5		(16) Jill Faulkner Summers 02/10/1975 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_252)
Box 5		(17) Actor Walter Slezak; (18) Actor Douglas Fairbanks, Jr.; (19) Eadie van Cleef, Tallulah's agent; (20) Actress Carol Channing's husband; (21) Actress Peggy Cass; (22) Peter Pell 02/04/1970 02/06/1970 02/08/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_236)
Box 1		(17) Adrian Clark; (18) Frederic Wertham 07/21/1967 07/27/1967 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_047)
Box 2		(17) Banesh Hoffman / Einstein 10/29/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_078)
Box 1		(17) Capote biographer Gerald Clarke 01/06/1990 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_012)
Box 5		(17) Jill (Faulkner) Summers, Faulkner's daughter 10/14/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_253)
Box 3		(17) John Hemingway; (18) Gregory Hemingway; (19) Professor Francis Godolphin 02/26/1973 02/27/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_144)
Box 2		(18) Ashley Montagu re: Einstein; (19) John Kemeny 10/23/1987 11/15/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_079)
Box 1		(18) Capote Biographer Gerald Clarke 10/26/1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_013)
Box 5		(18) Charles Higham, biographer re: threats from Hollywood attorney Bantzer 07/12/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_254)
Box 1		(19) Capote Biographer Gerald Clarke 11/02/1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_014)
Box 5		(19) Charles Higham on movie stars 07/19/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_255)
Box 1		(19) Dr. Sally Feather and Dr. Louisa Rhine; (20) Rev. Dr. Schulze (exorcist); (21) John Wheeler 09/30/1980 10/04/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_048)
Box 5		(20) Clare Booth Luce, Sir George Weidenfeld; (21) Mary Hemingway 11/18/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_256)
Box 2		(20) Einstein by John Stachel 10/16/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_080)
Box 1		(20) Harper Lee's sister, Alice, on Capote; (21) Biographer David Heyman on Jackie Onassis's shock treatment 11/09/1989 11/12/1989 01/20/1990 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_015)
Box 3		(20) Malcolm Cowley; (21) Patrick Hemingway 08/15/1981 10/24/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_145)
Box 2		(21) Szilard's biographer on Einstein (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_081)
Box 3		(22) Carol & John Gardner (Mrs. Hemingway's sister's family [?]); (23) Harry Sylvester 10/31/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_146)
Box 5		(22) Martin Gardner 05/14/1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_257)
Box 2		(22) Photographer Halsman / Einstein 04/03/1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_082)
Box 1		(22) Psychologist Dr. Henry Murray 09/24/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_049)
Box 5		(23) Isaac Bashevis Singer; (24) Nobelist, split-brain expert Dr. Sperry; (25) Jim Sewell, expert on serial killer Ted Bundy 12/14/1985 12/16/1985 (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_258)
Box 5		(23) Tellulah's best friend Estelle Winwood 12/22/1969 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_237)
Box 2		(23) Weisskopf on first nuclear explosion; he played Einstein playing violin 05/29/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_083)
Box 3		(24) Leicester Hemingway, both sides, WW2 11/22/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_147)
Box 5		(24) Playwright/novelist James Leo Herlihy; (25) Playwright Mary Chase; (26) Friend Stanley Haggart; (27) Novelist Alec Waugh 03/11/1970 03/13/1970 03/14/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_238)
Box 2		(24) Weisskopf; (25) Bucky re: Einstein 06/06/1993 09/07/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_084)
Box 3		(25) George Seldes; (26) Patrick Hemingway 08/16/1986 08/21/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_148)
Box 5		(26) Mary Hemingway; (27) P.G. Wodehouse 05/22/1971 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_259)
Box 2		(26) Weisskopf; (27) Bill Gulley re: Woodward 02/22/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_085)
Box 3		(27) Patrick Hemingway re: Short Happy Life, and Denis Brian discusses his Hemingway bio 11/22/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_149)
Box 3		(28) Ada MacLeish; (29) Mary Hemingway 11/18/1970 07/31/1972 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_150)
Box 5		(28) Gay Talese; (29) George Plimpton 01/08/1971 06/16/1971 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_260)
Box 5		(28) Lillian Hellman; (29) Jeane Dixon witnesses 10/16/1969 09/04/1972 (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_239)
Box 2		(28) Weisskopf 06/28/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_086)
Box 2		(29) Weisskopf 11/23/1994 11/24/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_087)
Box 3		(30) A.E. Hotchner; (31) John & Gregory Hemingway 05/18/1970 05/20/1970 09/22/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_151)
Box 2		(30) Dirac / Einstein 02/25/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_088)
Box 5		(30) T. Harry Williams, biographer, Huey Long, problems of biography and interviewing; Lotte von Strahl, medium, exorcism 10/01/1974 10/27/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_261)
Box 7		(30) Tennessee Williams 01/19/1970 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_240)
Box 1		(31) Acress Mildred Dunnock; (32) Producer Herman Schumlin's wife; (33) Lillian Hellman; (34) Critic John Chapman; (35) Tallulah's agent Dalrymple (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: brian_d_016)
Box 5		(31) Ben Bradlee; (32) Melvin Laird; (34) Jack Anderson; (35) Former CIA Director Richard Helms; (36) Gordon Liddy 03/06/1994 03/10/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_263)
Box 2		(31) Mrs. Paul Dirac; (32) I.I. Rabi & Erik Erikson 02/27/1985 04/08/1985 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_089)
Box 5		(31) Pearl Buck 10/12/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_262)
Box 3		(32) John Hemingway 03/03/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_152)
Box 3		(33) Alvah Bessie; (34) John Hemingway 09/30/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_153)
Box 2		(33) Eugene Wigner 11/07/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_090)
Box 2		(34) Eugene Wigner 11/21/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: brian_d_091)
Box 2		(35) Eugene Wigner, Mrs. John Wheeler; (36) Wigner / Wheeler 01/24/1989 06/24/1989 06/25/1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_092)
Box 3		(35) Mrs. Stanfield; (36) Joseph Lash; (37) Malcolm Cowley 06/07/1980 08/02/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_154)
Box 1		(36) Playwright Mary Chase; (37) Dr. J.B. Rhine by his brother 05/15/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_017)
Box 5		(37) Denis Brian persuading Washing Post reviewer (Dirda) to review his Hemingway biography, The True Gen; Patterson 03/15/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_264)
Box 2		(37) I.F. Stone; (38) Dorothy Cummins, ditto 08/13/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_093)
Box 5		(38) Denis Brian on the art of interviewing 12/08/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_265)
Box 3		(38) Mr. Stanfield; (39) Mike [or Henry] Strater 10/24/1981 01/11/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_155)
Box 1		(38) Playwright James Kirkwood 03/11/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_018)
Box 2		(39) Christopher Stone; (40) Alice Kahler (Einstein's friend & neighbor), ditto 08/13/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_094)
Box 5		(39) Grace Tully, FDR's secretary; (40) Malcolm Cowley 08/28/1974 09/28/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: brian_d_266)
Box 1		(39) Herbert Bayard Swope, Jr., His memories of Tallulah during his radio interview with Denis Brian (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_019)
Box 1		(40) Eugenia Bankhead, Tallulah's sister; (41) Otto Preminger; (42) Alice Roosevelt Longworth (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: brian_d_020)
Box 3		(40) Leicester Hemingway 10/03/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_156)
Box 2		(41) Dr. Schulman on Einstein's daughter; Mrs. Kahler 10/01/1987 09/30/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_095)
Box 5		(41) Grace Tully, FDR's secretary 02/27/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_267)
Box 3		(41) Patrick Hemingway family 08/02/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_157)
Box 5		(42) David Niven 10/13/1975 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_268)
Box 2		(42) Schulman / Einstein 10/04/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_096)
Box 3		(42) Sir Stephen Spender (poet); (43) Mike Strater (artist); (44) Patrick Hemingway 11/06/1986 11/07/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_158)
Box 1		(43) Actress Joan Crawford; (44) Movie producer & playwright Dore Schary 01/10/1970 02/03/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_021)
Box 2		(43) Thomas Schulman 10/17/1989 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_097)
Box 2		(44) Schulman 10/16/1991 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_098)
Box 3		(45) Gregory Hemingway 02/07/1975 02/09/1975 (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_159)
Box 2		(45) Schulman 10/19/1991 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_099)
Box 1		(45) Tallulah's friend & dress designer Stephen Cole; (46) Lillian Hellman; (47) Estelle Winwood; (48) Film director Irving Rapper 08/08/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_022)
Box 3		(46) John Hemingway; Dr. Lyon (hypnotist) 03/03/1979 04/02/1972 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_160)
Box 2		(46) Schulman, Einstein's daughter 10/19/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_100)
Box 3		(47) Lewis Clarahan, Hemingway boyhood friend; (48) Rybovich 11/16/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_161)
Box 2		(47) Schulman 10/19/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_101)
Box 2		(48) Schulman 01/09/1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_102)
Box 2		(49) Linus Pauling 05/19/1979 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_103)
Box 3		(49) Susan Crist (school friend); (50) Lews Clarahan (school friend); (51) Prof. Edward Wagenknecht 08/09/1986 08/10/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_162)
Box 1		(49) Theater producer George Abbott; (50) Actress Buff Cobb 01/10/1976 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_023)
Box 2		(50) Linus Pauling 05/29/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_104)
Box 2		(51) Linus Pauling; (52) Abraham Pais; (53) Robert Schulman 01/02/1992 02/28/1992 03/04/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_105)
Box 3		(52) George Seldes (some background) 05/15/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_163)
Box 1		(53) Alfred Hitchcock; (54) Author Cleveland Amory 06/13/1972 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_025)
Box 3		(53) George Seldes 09/12/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_164)
Box 2		(54) Andrew Blackwood / Einstein; (55) Robert Jastrow 01/09/1995 01/10/1995 06/05/1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_106)
Box 3		(54) George Seldes, Spanish Civil War; (55) Morley Callaghan, WW2 01/21/1983 01/23/1983 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_165)
Box 1		(55) Tallulah, Acting Coach Lee Strasberg; (56) Actress Patricia Neal 04/11/1979 - Broken Splices Repaired; Tape Re-Shelled; Tape Rehubbed; Tape Has Loose Pack and is Stretched, Folded, and Twisted; Multiple Attempts Have Been Made at Transfer, Tape Will Not Play - No Digital Files Created; (per Media Preserve 2021-09-10) (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: brian_d_026)
Box 3		(56) George Seldes; (57) Milton Wolff 08/24/1986 09/07/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_166)
Box 2		(56) George Wald; (57) Dr. Erik Erikson 03/01/1978 03/02/1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_107)
Box 1		(57) Actor Burgess Meredith; (58) Tallulah's butler Robert Williams 03/26/1970 05/26/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: brian_d_027)
Box 3		(58) George Seldes (Hemingway); (59) Michael Reynolds; (60) Morley Callaghan, WW2 12/13/1980 11/29/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_167)
Box 2		(58) George Wald 03/11/1975 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_108)
Box 1		(59) Movie director Arthur Penn 02/23/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: brian_d_028)
Box 2		(59) Nobelist George Wald 02/27/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_109)
Box 2		(60) George Wald / Einstein 10/19/1985 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_110)
Box 1		(60) Orson Welles; (61) Alfred Hitchcock 07/07/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_029)
Box 3		(61) George Seldes 09/18/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_168)
Box 2		(61) George Wald 10/04/1991 (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_111)
Box 2		(62) Dr. Goldberg / Einstein; Mrs. Halsman / Einstein; (63) Einstein & Mongolians 05/13/1975 07/13/1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_112)
Box 3		(62) William Walton; (63) Earl Rovit; (64) George Seldes 09/27/1986, 10/04/1986, 10/05/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_169)
Box 2		(64) Dr. Mark Abrams - Einstein's doctor 06/25/1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_113)
Box 2		(65) Einstein schoolgirls, Mrs. Chapman 05/10/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_114)
Box 4		(65) Malcolm Cowley 09/23/1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_170)
Box 1		(65) Tallulah's dress designer Gene Coffin; (66) Actress Stephanie Powers; (67) Isaac Beshevis Singer 12/05/1970, 12/06/1970 (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_031)
Box 4		(66) Denis Brian interviewed on radio in Vancouver, Canada, about Tallulah, Michael Fisher; Robert Cowley, Hemingway, Cuba 09/23/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_171)
Box 2		(66) Mrs. Joseph Copp & Einstein, Peter Burr; Banesh Hoffman from other side, continued 10/28/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_115)
Box 4		(67) Malcolm Cowley; (68) Robert Cowley 06/29/1980, 10/27/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_172)
Box 3		(67) Mrs. Bernard Einstein, his great granddaughter 12/30/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_116)
Box 3		(68) James Blackwood, Einstein neighbor; (69) Martin Klein (Yale) 08/31/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_117)
Box 1		(69) James Leo Herlihy; (70) Mary Chase; (71) Joan Bennet; (72) Stanley Haggert 03/13/1970, 03/14/1970, 03/16/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_033)
Box 4		(69) Malcolm Cowley 06/29/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_173)
Box 3		(70) Einstein - Mrs. Curtis Chapman, Harry Darlington (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_118)
Box 4		(70) Robert Cowley on first meeting with Hemingway in Cuba 10/27/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: brian_d_174)
Box 4		(71) Malcolm Cowley re: Faulkner & Hemingway 09/25/1977 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_175)
Box 3		(71) Viereck; Abrams; (72) Oppenheimer son Griffin; Einstein girlfriend 07/29/1995, 09/12/1995, 09/19/1995 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_119)
Box 4		(72) William Walton; (73) Michael Straight & Stewart [illegible] 11/20/1986, 12/28/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_176)
Box 1		(73) Lee Strasberg 01/02/1990 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_034)
Box 3		(73) Thomas Bucky at Einstein's death; (74) Abraham Pais 12/23/1994, 12/29/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_120)
Box 4		(74) William Walton 03/18/1974 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: brian_d_177)
Box 4		(75) Arnold Gingrich (Hemingway); (76) Dr. Meyer Maskin, psychiatrist 03/17/1975 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_178)
Box 3		(75) Einstein by Dr. Bucky 10/13/1984 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_121)
Box 3		(76) Ashley Montagu 05/05/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_122)
Box 4		(77) Arnold Gingrich & Mrs. A.G. (Jane Mason) (Margot Macomber) 06/08/1975 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_179)
Box 3		(77) Congressman Claude Pepper on Einstein 09/24/1984 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_123)
Box 4		(78) Harold Loeb, Hemingways Cohen; (79) Dr. Kramer Reisenman re: Jeane Dixon 08/29/1972, 08/31/1972, 09/01/1972 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_180)
Box 3		(78) I. Bernard Cohen, last interviewer of Einstein 10/09/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_124)
Box 3		(79) Sidney Hook re: Einstein 10/14/1973 (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: brian_d_125)
Box 3		(80) Evelyn Einstein, Einstein's granddaughter 11/13/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_126)
Box 4		(80) Harold Loeb, re: Cohn in The Sun Also Rises 08/06/1972 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_181)
Box 4		(81) Milton Wolff, Spanish Civil War, Abraham Lincoln Brigade; (82) Nurse Joanie Higgons (Mrs. Don Anderson), Hemingway, Sun Valley 09/22/1981, 10/13/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_182)
Box 4		(83) Henry Strater (Artist / Friend), hated Hemingway, Harry Sylvester 10/30/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_183)
Box 3		(84) Dr. Theodore von Laue, son of Max von Laue; (85) Dr. Blackwood, scientist, Einstein's friend 09/06/1994, 09/27/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_128)
Box 4		(84) Philip Yount, Hemingway biographer; (85) Charles Scribner, Jr. 11/10/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_184)
Box 3		(86) Dr. Linus Pauling (1st interview about Einstein) 11/14/1982 (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_129)
Box 4		(86) Dr. Meyer Maskin, psychiatrist, World War 2 06/07/1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_185)
Box 3		(87) Dr. Bucky, after reading the Einstein galleys 11/01/1995 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_130)
Box 4		(87) Joeseph Dryer (Side One of Three) 07/26/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_186)
Box 4		(87) Joeseph Dryer (Sides Two and Three of Three) 07/26/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_187)
Box 4		(88) Denis Brian's Hemingway editor, Walter Bode; (89) Michael Straight; (90) Michael Straight; (91) Mike Strater (artist) 11/18/1986, 11/20/1986, 11/26/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_188)
Box 3		(88) Senator Cranston on Einstein 09/25/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_131)
Box 3		(89) Einstein by Stachel; (90) Schulman / Mansfield Williams re: Einstein 11/07/1991 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_132)
Box 3		(91) Dorothy Commins, woman friend of Einstein 09/05/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_133)
Box 4		(92) Gordon Sinclair on Hemingway in Toronto 06/21/1983 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_189)
Box 3		(92) Robert Schulman on Einstein's daughter; (93) Alice Kahler, friend & neighbor 11/01/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_134)
Box 4		(93) Peter Griffin, Hemingway biographer 02/15/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_190)
Box 4		(94) A.E. Hotchner; (95) BBC interviewer John Freeman; (96) S. Ralph Harlow (spiritualist); (97) Alice Roosevelt Longworth; (98) Journalist Victor Lasky 06/16/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_191)
Box 3		(94) Alice Kahler, Einstein's friend & neighbor 08/20/1988 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_135)
Box 3		(95) Ashley Montagu on Einstein's girlfriend at Princeton 11/23/1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_137)
Box 3		(96) Dr. Schulman on Einstein's women (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_136)
Box 4		(98) Mrs. Bill Horne; (99) Mike Strater; (100) Walter Bode, Denis Brian's editor of Hemingway biography; [crossed out: (101) Peter Griffin (faint but audible)] 04/07/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_192)
Box 4		(101) Alvah Bessie (Spanish Civil War); (102) Irwin Shaw (Hemingway & The Young Lions) 09/13/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_193)
Box 4		(103) William B. Crawford, CBS, World War 2, son of Kenneth Crawford; (104) Dick Strout 02/29/1984 08/29/1984 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_195)
Box 4		(105) Michael Reynolds / Hemingway; Meyer Maskin 06/07/1980 09/26/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_196)
Box 4		(106) Philip Young 11/10/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_194)
Box 4		(107) John Carlisle, WW2, “I fell in love with Hemingway” 02/12/1975 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_197)
Box 4		(108) Jeffrey Meyers (Hemingway biographer) 06/05/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_198)
Box 4		(109) Dr. Carlos Baker 01/13/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_199)
Box 4		(112) Pearl Buck, Arnold Gingrich 10/12/1970 10/13/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_201)
Box 4		(113) Thomas Sanchez, Jr. (Cuba/Communism/Hemingway); (114) Robert Cromie (WW2) 10/16/1986 11/02/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_202)
Box 4		(115) Harold Loeb 04/01/1973 (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_203)
Box 4		(116) Major General Buck Lanham, Rosemary, & Mother 01/14/1975 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_204)
Box 4		(117) General Lanham / ESP, Hemingway 06/07/1975 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_205)
Box 4		(118) Dr. Hugh Butt, doctor friend of Hemingway; Stephen Spender / Hemingway 09/30/1978 11/07/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_206)
Box 4		(119) Malcolm Cowley; (120) George Plimpton; (121) Philip Young 11/08/1986 11/10/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_207)
Box 4		(122) Dr. George Saviers; (123) Don Anderson; (124) William Walton 09/02/1981 08/04/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_208)
Box 4		(125) Dr. Schaefer, psychiatrists, analysis; (126) A.E. Hotchner; (127) Morley Callaghan 12/19/1986 01/07/1987 12/05/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_209)
Box 4		(128) Joseph Dryer (Hemingway friend in Cuba) / Walter Bode (editor); Greg Bautzer 01/25/1986 07/11/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_210)
Box 4		(129) Rex Reed; Lillian Ross 06/27/1970 07/09/1970 07/10/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_211)
Box 4		(130) Morley Callaghan; (131) Susan Crist; Peter Griffin / Hemingway 01/21/1986 08/10/1986 02/15/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_212)
Box 4		(132) Thomas Shevlin (Hemingway); (133) Winston Guest (Hemingway) 02/03/1972 02/08/1972 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_213)
Box 4		(134) Samuel Steward; (135) Walter Bode 12/13/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_214)
Box 4		(136) Prof. W. Seward; (137) Carlos Baker 11/07/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_215)
Box 4		(137) Dr. Howard Rome, Hemingway's psychiatrist 06/10/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_216)
Box 4		(138) Rob Cowley; (139) Dr. Louisa Rhine 04/03/1982 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_217)
Box 4		(140) Barnaby Conrad (Hemingway), George Reedy; Alex Haley 09/01/1970 09/02/1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_218)
Box 4		(141) Dr. Howard Rome; (142) Mike Strater, George Plimpton 01/26/1987 01/30/1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_219)
Box 4		(143) Dr. Howard Rome; (144) Mrs. Larry Johnson; (145) Dr. Saviers, Don Anderson 09/19/1981 09/20/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_220)
Box 4		(145) Peter Davies (move director, re: Martha Gelhorn); (146) Michael Reynolds (Hemingway), 09/26/1981 10/10/1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_221)
Box 4		(147) Dickey / Jack Hemingway, Alice Roosevelt Longworth; (148) Malcolm Cowley, Capote 06/26/1971 07/25/1971 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_222)
Box 7		Bloom, Philip M., Jewish Battalion; Dr. John Kemeny, Einstein (2) Oct. 17, 1987 Oct. 23, 1987 - cassette case and envelope note reads: "Einstein's assistant; Dr. John Kemeny, Dec. 6, 1994" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_272)
Box 8		Both Rhines (third interview) July 31, 1978 - cassette envelope note reads: "Margency 2, Hudson Hoagland" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_313)
			(5) Stuart, Honesfy, [Robert] Van De Castle, Stutter, Upton Sinclair; Weterhoff, [Harry] Houdini, Harvard, Thukas, Lady Wonder, Europe trip, [Carl] Jung, APA.
Box 8		Buck, Pearl, Christmas at Palm Beach (8) Dec. 25, 1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_279)
Box 1		Capote (15) In Cold Blood Prosecuting Attorney Duane West; (16) Justin Kaplan / Mark Twain [?] 10/30/1974, 02/14/1986 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_011)
Box 8		Capote, Truman; John Updike; Harris, Richard (7) Sept. 25, 1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_277)
Box 8		Cox, W. E.; Stanley Krippner re: J. B. Rhine March 30, 1978 - cassette envelope note reads: "Jacqueline Cochran dreams of Amelia Earhart's crash scene" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_307)
Box 8		Cukor, George; Stella Adler; Charles Lowe and Carol Channing [illegible]; Martin Manulis; Irene Selznick; George Oppenheimer (10) Feb. 27-28, 1970, March 1, 1970 - cassette envelope date: "Feb. 28, '75" (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_282)
Box 8		DAR radio: Albert Einstein 05/31/1996 - radio interview (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_294)
Box 8		Fryer, Robert, Sherry Netherland; Plimpton, [George] and Ross, Lillian (3) June 24, 1970, July 9, 1970 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_274)
Box 8		General Lanham Jan. 4, 1988 - envelope note reads: "Sandford Manelluis husband; transcript available" (Audio cassette; running time 40:00) (ID#: brian_d_297)
Box 8		Grant, Gary; Philip Garbo May 18, 1977 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: brian_d_287)
Box 8		Griffin, Peter/Hem [tape 1 of 2] Feb. 15, 1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_290)
			Side 1 and 2.
Box 8		Griffin, Peter/Hem [tape 2 of 2] Feb. 15, 1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_291)
			Side 3 and 4.
Box 8		Hellman, Lillian (copy) June 21, 1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_300)
Box 4		Hemingway friends (110) Dr. Hugh Butt; (111) Dr. George Saviers 09/30/1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_200)
Box 8		Hemingway, Hadley; Patrick Hemingway Aug. 10, 1972, Sept. 12, 1985 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_286)
Box 8		Hitchcock, Alfred; Tony Randall; Cleveland Amory; [illegible], John (7) July 09, 1969 (Audio cassette; running time 90:00) (ID#: brian_d_278)
			Possibly includes Ring Lardner, Jr.
Box 8		Kemeny, Mrs. John; Radio interview Fair Game Dec. 6, 1994 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_289)
Box 7		Langer, Dr. Walter Aug. 21, 1973 - note on cassette reads: "Hitler" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_270)
Box 7		Langer, Dr. Walter (2); Theodore Sorensen to JFK [illegible] April 26, 1976, May 25, 1974 - cassette and envelope have additional illegible information (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_271)
Box 8		McKinney, Prof. Fred re: Rhine & Levy April 3, 1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_308)
Box 8		Menninger, Karl, psychiatrist; Bundy, [Ted] and psychiatrists (3) July 10, 1985 - reused cassette with illegible notes (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_275)
Box 8		Montagu, Ashley (copy) Nov. 15, 1987 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_292)
Box 8		Muggeridge, Malcolm (6) Oct. 19, 1971 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_276)
Box 8		Newman, Edwin; Baker, Carlos, Hem (9) July 23, 1970, July 26, 1976 (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: brian_d_281)
Box 3		On Einstein: (81) Stachel; (82) Weisskopf, April 28, 1993; (83) Karl von Meyenn 04/28/1993 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_127)
Box 7		Padre Pio generals (3); Genevieve [sic] [Ginevra] King Dec. 2, 1974 - cassette case reads: "serial killer Ted Bundy & psychiatrists"; envelope note reads: "WW2; Scot Fitzgerald last girlfriend" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_273)
Box 8		Pope, Dorothy, Louisa Rhine Aug. 2-3, 1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_319)
Box 8		Preminger, Otto; Robert Ryan; Dore Schary (copy) Dec. 8, 1969, Dec. 11, 1969 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_299)
Box 8		Price, Vincent; Meredith Wilson May 10, 1970 (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: brian_d_295)
Box 6		reel-to-reel (51) Tennessee Williams; (54) Playwright Marc Connelly; (53) Playwright Terence Rattigan 07/15/1970 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_024)
Box 6		reel-to-reel (62) Tennessee Williams; (63) Mildred Dunnock; (64) Critic John Chapman 08/12/1970 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_030)
Box 6		Reel-to-Reel (68) Tamara Geva on Tallula 01/06/1970 (1/4 inch audio tape; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_032)
Box 8		Rhine, Dr. J. B., Durham, N. C. July 24, 1973 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_302)
Box 8		Rhine, Dr. Louisa May 31, 1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_316)
			Possible includes: Nandy.
Box 8		Rhine, Dr. Louisa June 7, 1980 - cassette envelope date mismatches the label: "July 7 1980" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_317)
Box 8		Rhine, Dr. Louisa July 8, 1980 - cassette envelope note reads: "re: John Wheeler charge that JBR [J. B. Rhine] faked experiments" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_318)
Box 8		Rhine, Dr. Louisa, Laura Huxley Dec. 22, 1979 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_315)
Box 8		Rhine, Dr. Louisa, We served like champions; Dr. Zirkle June 1974, Nov. 7, 1974 - reused cassette with additional notes (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_303)
Box 8		Rhine, Dr. Louisa; Dr. Betty McMahon April 4, 1987, April 25, 1987 - cassette envelope reads: "Dr. Louisa Rhine reviewing my bio of Rhine; about McDaugall" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_320)
Box 8		Rhine, Dr. Louisa; John Nebel June 19, 1975 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_304)
Box 8		Rhine, J. B. July 31, 1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_310)
Box 8		Rhine, J. B. July 31, 1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_311)
Box 8		Rhine, J. B. & Louisa July 5, 1978, July 31, 1978 - cassette envelope note reads: "Brian telling Rhine how he'd do research for his biography" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_309)
Box 8		Rhine, J. B. & Louisa July 31, 1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_312)
			Possibly includes: Henry Cross, Jackie Gleason; Bishop Pike, Yale & Fred Sheffield, Cleve Backster, Koestler; Leary, Rhine on orig. Breallform [?], Duke, Mrs. [illegible] van De Castle.
Box 8		Rhine, Lady Wonder August 17, 1979 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_314)
			Possibly includes [Louise] Rhine, Bokken.
Box 8		Rhine, Louisa July 21, 1975 - cassette envelope note reads: "talk of Marcus[?] Crandon" (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_305)
Box 8		Robert Frost's daughter, Hemingway; George Reedy, Hem/LBJ/ JKF (9) Dec. 25, 1970 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_280)
Box 8		Roosevelt, Elliott, FDR's son; Dr. Steuart Henderson Britt, APA [illegible] (4) April 6, 1975, Ap. 30, 1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_283)
			Possibly includes Dr. Bult.
Box 8		Schlesinger, Jr. Arthur; Buckley Aug. 2, 1970, Aug. 10, 1970 (Audio cassette; running time 120:00) (ID#: brian_d_296)
Box 8		Several Scientists in J. B. Rhine; Nobelists in J. B. Rhine Feb. 6, 1978 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_306)
			Possibly includes: Dr. Leo Sternbach and André Frédéric Cournand.
Box 7		Stephenson, Sir William (1) April 10, 1976 - note on cassette envelope reads: "Churchill's spymaster US WW2" (Audio cassette) (ID#: brian_d_269)
Box 8		Swope, Jr. Herbert Bayard; Tallulah [Bankhead] (copy) July 22, 1980 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_301)
			Denis Brian's interviews on radio.
Box 6		Theodor Reik. Tape 2. 03/09/1967 (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_036)
Box 6		Theodor Reik. Tape one, 6:45 to 8:45 03/09/1967 - tape old box date is: "May 9, 1967" (1/4 inch audio tape) (ID#: brian_d_035)
Box 8		Tully, Grace & Croyden Doorman April 13, 1974 (Audio cassette; running time 30:00) (ID#: brian_d_288)
Box 8		Ulam, [Stanislaw], Einstein; Jeane Dixon, Witnesses 1972, Nov. 2, 1982 - cassette has additional illegible content (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_293)
Box 8		Urey, Harold, Nobel Prize; [Richard] Feynman Sept. 22, 1976 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_298)
Box 8		Westovev, Dr. John; Professor Hans L. Trefousse, WW2, Hemingway (15) Oct. 29, 1983 - cassette include illegible content (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_285)
Box 8		Wheeler, Dr. John (14) Dec. 2. 1981 (Audio cassette; running time 60:00) (ID#: brian_d_284)

	Writings
Box 11		The Actor, draft 1 Undated (2 folders)
Box 11		The Actor, draft 2 Undated - pp. 1-277 (4 folders)
Box 12		The Actor, draft 2 Undated - pp. 278-344
Box 12		Articles 1937-2014
Box 12		Clippings 1996
Box 12		Sherlock Holmes the Third: Grandson of the World's Greatest Detective on Assignment in America Undated

Return to top