Collection inventory

Overview of the Collection
Creator:	Brisbane family.
Title:	Brisbane Family Papers
Inclusive Dates:	1819-1965.
Quantity:	129.25 linear ft.
Abstract:	The Brisbane Family Papers are a collection of documents, mostly correspondence dated 1819-1965, by and about the Brisbane family. The collection has been divided into three sections: items relating to social reformer Albert Brisbane (1809-1890); those of his journalist son, Arthur (1864-1936), and his descendents; and documents pertaining to journalist Elizabeth Cochrane Seaman ("Nellie Bly") (1867-1922).
Language:	English
Repository:	Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center

Biographical History

Albert Brisbane (1809-1890), social reformer, was born in Batavia, N. Y., the son of James and Mary (Stevens) Brisbane. He was sent to a boarding-school on Long Island, and then studied in New York City under private tutors. He traveled to Europe, where he was influenced by the ideas of Charles Fourier, the French utopian socialist. Poor health on his return to the United States in 1834 dampened his Fourierism campaign, but in 1840 he published Social Destiny of Man: or, Association and Reorganization of Industry. After striking up a friendship with Horace Greely, he began writing for the Tribune. His "hasty propaganda" gave birth to numerous experiments in Associationism, as he called his theories, the general failure of which caused a waning of interest in the whole movement. In 1876, he published General Introduction to Social Sciences containing the essence of Fourier's social theory and a translation of his History of Universal Unity. Brisbane was a highly educated man with a vigorous mind, but he failed as a social reformer because he lacked an ability to lead, as well as a realization of the practical difficulties in the way of a universal panacea for evil. He wrote with comparative ease as well as fervor, but only as object lessons in social reform have his writings survived the movement of which they were a part. [adapted from American Authors 1600-1900, (1938)]

With his first wife, Sarah White, Albert had three children, one of whom, Arthur (1864-1937), would go on to become a successful writer and newspaper editor. After completing his education in the United States and Europe, Arthur Brisbane took his first newspaper job as a reporter with the New York Sun. He went on to hold jobs as an editor at the Sun, the New York World, and the New York Evening Journal. He remained editor of the Evening Journal until 1921 and continued to write for the paper as a columnist until his death. Brisbane was known for his punchy prose style and fondness for short, blaring headlines. By the time of his death he was the highest paid newspaper writer in the world ($260,000 a year). [ Adapted from from World Authors 1900-1950, (1996)]

Born in Cochran's Mills, Pennsylvania, Elizabeth Cochrane Seaman (1864-1922) adopted the pen name Nellie Bly from a popular song when working as a journalist for the Pittsburgh Dispatch, where she reported on issues of reform and taboo subjects such as divorce. Moving to New York, she worked for Joseph Pulitzer's World, writing dramatic exposés of working conditions, women prisoners, and other issues. She was given an assignment to travel around the world in less than 80 days, which she achieved in 1889. Her accounts of the expedition, which was undertaken by public transport, became front-page news. She worked with Arthur Brisbane at the New York World and the New York Evening Journal. [from Chambers Biographical Dictionary, (1997)]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Brisbane Family Papers are a collection of documents, mostly correspondence dated 1819 to 1965, by and about the Brisbane Family. The collection includes two accessions, which have not been integrated: the original Brisbane Family Papers and the February 2001 Addition.

The Brisbane Family Papers has been divided into three sections: items relating to social reformer Albert Brisbane (1809-1890); those of his journalist son, Arthur Brisbane (1864-1936), and his descendants; and Arthur's correspondence with Nellie Bly (Elizabeth Cochrane Seaman) (1867-1922).

The Albert Brisbane documents (Box 1) include Biographical Material by Arthur E. Bestor and Brisbane's great-grandson, Michael McCrary; Family correspondence; and Writings. Family correspondence comprises the bulk of the material, and includes transcripts of letters dated 1819 to 1844 from the Cary family. Also included are letters to Albert's wife, Sarah White, and letters from Adele Le Brun Della Rocca to the Carys. The collection also contains a number of Albert Brisbane's letters to his children, and while most were written to son Arthur between 1886 and 1889, there are also a number of letters dated 1875 through 1889 to his daughter Alice. Writings include both published and unpublished material, and feature an item entitled "Biography," designated "London, June 16, '81," and two diaries (1830-32) which were written while Albert toured Italy, Paris, and Berlin. The original copies of the diaries have been restricted but are available on microfilm. In addition, there is a copy of General Introduction to Social Science (1876) to which Albert Brisbane contributed "Introduction to Fourier's Theory of Social Organization."

The Arthur Brisbane section of the Papers (Boxes 2-11) has similarly been organized into Biographical material, Correspondence, Writings, and Memorabilia. The Biographical Material includes two typescript manuscripts, "A Talk with Arthur Brisbane" by Samuel Crowther and "The Early Arthur Brisbane" by David Gray. In addition, there is a one-page travel log from 1927-1936 which outlines Brisbane's travel agenda during those years.

The Correspondence has been arranged in three categories: Family, General, and Legal. The Family correspondence (Boxes 2-5) spans 1907 through 1965, and includes over 500 letters between Arthur and his wife, Phoebe (Cary) Brisbane. Also included are letters between Arthur Brisbane and his children, as well as those with other family members. The Family correspondence continues with Phoebe Brisbane's correspondence with her children and various family members, and is followed by the Brisbane children's correspondence with their siblings and other family members. Arranged such that incoming and outgoing letters are interfiled, the relationship between parties is indicated where known. General correspondence (Boxes 5-8) encompasses both incoming and outgoing business and personal letters, and includes those of Arthur Brentano, Robert Hobart Davis, Thomas Alva Edison, Edward Filene, James Farley, Bernard Gimble, William Randolph Hearst, Fiorello LaGuardia, Mabel Dodge Luhan, John D. Rockefeller, and William Butler Yeats. Also among the General correspondence are a number of letters relating to the Boy Scouts of America. Legal correspondence (Boxes 8-9) reflects Arthur Brisbane's extensive business dealings and real estate holdings.

Writings (Boxes 9-10) include autobiographical material as well as notes, drafts and published versions of Arthur Brisbane's journalistic work. There are also writings by other family members, including that of cousin Jim Mullins, and Arthur's sister, Alice (Brisbane) Thursby.

Memorabilia (Box 10-11) includes French cartoons, children's drawings and writings, clippings about Arthur Brisbane, financial material, memo pads, photographs, report cards, and two miscellaneous items of writing by Mabel Dodge Luhan and Wendell Phillips. There are also 63 oversize scrapbooks (Oversize 1-63) which contain correspondence, newspaper clippings, writings by and about Brisbane, and other items of memorabilia.

The Nellie Bly documents (Box 12) encompass more than 60 items of correspondence dated 1907 through 1914 between Bly and Arthur Brisbane. The Nellie Bly material also includes three letters to her mother, six items of correspondence between Bly and Alice Brisbane Thursby, two letters from Arthur Brisbane in which Bly is the subject, and a few miscellaneous pieces of her correspondence. The original correspondence between Arthur Brisbane and Nellie Bly is fragile and therefore restricted, however photocopies of these documents are provided.

The February 2001 Addition to the collection comprises Biography-Interviews and notes, a Biography manuscript by Boyden Sparkes, Business correspondence, Family correspondence, Newspaper articles and editorials, material relating to biographer Boyden Sparkes, and Memorabilia.

Biography-Interviews and notes (Boxes 1-3A) consists of clippings and handwritten notes collected for a biography of the Brisbane Family. This series is arranged alphabetically by interviewee or subject. The Biography manuscript (Box 4) consists of various chapters, pages, and sections of the manuscript by Boyden Sparkes, many of which are incomplete. Business correspondence (Box 4-5) includes miscellaneous articles and editorials, fan mail, and letters arranged alphabetically by recipient. Family correspondence (Box 5) includes a letter from Seward Brisbane, letters arranged alphabetically by recipient, and letters to miscellaneous friends. Newspaper articles and editorials (Box 6) consists of a bound volume spanning 1884-1940, in addition to columns, ideas, and miscellaneous items. The Boyden Sparkes material includes letters and writings. Memorabilia contains addresses, manuscripts, photographs, postcards, writings by others, and miscellaneous items.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Corporate Bodies

Subjects

Places

Genres and Forms

Occupations

Return to top

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Brisbane Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Sarah Brisbane Mellen, 1963-1973.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Nov 1991
Revision history: Feb 2001 - Additions (-); 1 Mar 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 16 Oct 2019 - formatting cleanup (MRC); 12 Feb 2020 - scrapbooks housed in archival boxes (MRC, DTF)

Return to top

Inventory

	Albert Brisbane 1809-1890
		Biographical material
Box 1			"Albert Brisbane : Propagandist for Socialism in the 1840's" / Eugene Bestor April 1947 - reprinted from New York History ) "With the author's compliments"
Box 1			"Albert Brisbane (1809-1890)" / Michael McCrary - typescript manuscript by Albert Brisbane's great-grandson
		Family correspondence
Box 1			Albert / Alice (daughter) 1875-1889
Box 1			Albert / Arthur (son) 1886-1889, undated (2 folders)
Box 1			Albert / Children (collectively) 1888
Box 1			Albert / Cary, Walter 1865
Box 1			Albert / Mrs. Mullins 1886
Box 1			Albert / White, Sarah (wife) undated
Box 1			Carys 1819-1833, 1844 - typescript transcriptions
Box 1			Della Rocca, Adele (Le Brun) 1863-1864
Box 1			Unidentified undated (4 folders)
		General correspondence
Box 1			Unidentified re: Brook Farm 1885
		Writings
Box 1			"Biography" - 56 p. holograph manuscript; "London, June 16, '81"
Box 1			Diary, "Malta, Sicily, Calabria, Naples" 14 Oct 1830-5 Jan 1831 - original restricted; microfilm available
Box 1			Diary, "Paris & Berlin" 26 Sept 1831-29 Jan 1832 - original restricted; microfilm available
Box 1			Extracts from letters together with miscellaneous writings and clippings
Box 1			"Introduction to Fourier's Theory of Social Organization" / Albert Brisbane from General Introduction to Social Science 1876

	Arthur Brisbane 1864-1936
		Biographical material
Box 2			"The Early Arthur Brisbane" / David Gray 20 Jan 1939 - typescript manuscript with an item of correspondence to Phoebe Brisbane
Box 2			"A Talk with Arthur Brisbane" / Samuel Crowther 5 Dec 1925 - typescript manuscript of article for Collier's Weekly with an item of correspondence to Arthur Brisbane
Box 2			Travel log 1927-1936
		Family correspondence
Box 2			Arthur / Phoebe (Cary) (wife) 1907-1936, undated (22 folders)
Box 3			Arthur / Alice (daughter) 1933-1936, undated
Box 3			Arthur / Elinor (daughter) 1935-1936, undated
Box 3			Arthur / Emily (daughter) 1926-1936, undated
Box 3			Arthur / Sarah (daughter) 1913-1936, undated (5 folders)
Box 3			Arthur / Seward (son) 1923-1936, undated (8 folders)
Box 3			Arthur / Children (collectively) 1923-1936, undated
Box 3			Arthur / Bleistein, Dorothy 1934
Box 3			Arthur / Brisbane, George (cousin) 1919-1922
Box 3			Arthur / Brisbane, H. P. (cousin) 1918
Box 3			Arthur / Brisbane, Margaret H. 1919-1922
Box 3			Arthur / Brisbane, Margaret L. 1917
Box 3			Arthur / Brisbane, Redelia (step-mother) 1918-1933, undated (8 folders)
Box 3			Arthur / Cary, Allithea 1933
Box 3			Arthur / Cary, Emily (mother-in-law) 1925-1931
Box 3			Arthur / Cary, George (cousin) 1933-1935
Box 3			Arthur / Cary, George Jr. (cousin) 1933-1934
Box 3			Arthur / Cary, Seward (father-in-law) 1931-1934, undated (2 folders)
Box 3			Arthur / Cary, Walter (cousin) 1930-1933, undated
Box 3			Arthur / Curtiss, Sarah C. (cousin) undated
Box 3			Arthur / Fiske, Evelyn 1934
Box 3			Arthur / Hartzell, Amy 1920
Box 3			Arthur / Hodge, Jean ("Hodie") 1925
Box 3			Arthur / Hodge, Robert 1926-1928, undated
Box 3			Arthur / Hurley, Sarah 1928-1934
Box 3			Arthur / Lord, Evelyn Rumsey (cousin) 1930, undated
Box 3			Arthur / Love, Maria (aunt) 1920-1924
Box 4			Arthur / McCrary, J. H. Reagan ("Tex") (son-in-law) 1936, undated
Box 4			Arthur / McSweeney, James (cousin) 1919
Box 4			Arthur / McSweeney, John Jr. (nephew) 1920
Box 4			Arthur / Martha (cousin) 1927
Box 4			Arthur / Mullins, Ada (cousin) 1920
Box 4			Arthur / Mullins, James (uncle) 1919-1920
Box 4			Arthur / Mullins, James (cousin) 1919-1921, undated
Box 4			Arthur / Mullins, William H. (cousin) 1919-1922, undated
Box 4			Arthur / Plumb, Julia Cary (cousin) 1931
Box 4			Arthur / Rumsey, Jennie C. (cousin) 1932
Box 4			Arthur / Scatcherd, Alice 1932
Box 4			Arthur / Scatcherd, Anne 1930-1933, undated
Box 4			Arthur / Thursby, Alice Brisbane (sister) 1886-1936, undated (3 folders)
Box 4			Arthur / Wright, Dorothy Mullins (cousin) 1920
Box 4			Phoebe / Alice (daughter) 1932-1944, undated (4 folders)
Box 4			Phoebe / Elinor (daughter) 1938-1940, undated (4 folders)
Box 4			Phoebe / Emily (daughter) 1931-1944, undated (2 folders)
Box 4			Phoebe / Sarah (daughter) 1939-1945, undated (4 folders)
Box 4			Phoebe / Seward (son) 1924-1945
Box 4			Phoebe / Children (collectively) 1938
Box 5			Phoebe / Brisbane, Redelia Bates (step-mother-in-law) undated
Box 5			Phoebe / Cary, Elizabeth 1920, undated
Box 5			Phoebe / Cary, Emily (mother) 1914
Box 5			Phoebe / Cary, George (uncle) 1940
Box 5			Phoebe / Cary, George Jr. (cousin) undated
Box 5			Phoebe / Cary, Seward (father) 1931-1939, undated
Box 5			Phoebe / Dorothy 1937, undated
Box 5			Phoebe / Goodyear, Charles W. (nephew) 1930
Box 5			Phoebe / Hodge, Jean ("Hodie") 1937
Box 5			Phoebe / Hodge, Robert 1937
Box 5			Phoebe / McCrary, Michael (grandson) and Gail 1940
Box 5			Phoebe / Martha 1936-1940
Box 5			Phoebe / Mellen, Chase Jr. (son-in law) 1944, undated
Box 5			Phoebe / Plumb, Julia Cary (cousin) 1944
Box 5			Phoebe / Thursby, Alice Brisbane (sister-in-law) 1936-1938, undated
Box 5			Phoebe / Miscellaneous 1935-1938, undated
Box 5			Alice / Thursby, Alice Brisbane (aunt) undated
Box 5			Elinor / Curtain, Rose undated
Box 5			Elinor / Sarah (sister) 1938
Box 5			Elinor / Miscellaneous 1938, undated
Box 5			Emily / Elinor (sister) 1938-1940, undated
Box 5			Emily / Thursby, Alice Brisbane (aunt) 1938-1942
Box 5			Sarah / Alice (sister) undated
Box 5			Sarah / Cary, George (great uncle) 1944
Box 5			Sarah / Emily (sister) 1940, undated
Box 5			Sarah / McCrary, Michael (son) undated
Box 5			Sarah / Seward (brother) 1944, undated
Box 5			Sarah / Thursby, Alice Brisbane (aunt) 1939-1945, undated
Box 5			Sarah / Miscellaneous undated
Box 5			Seward / Alice (sister) 1937
Box 5			Seward / Elinor (sister) 1935
Box 5			Seward / Hugo (brother) undated
Box 5			Seward / Family (collectively) 1936-1938
Box 5			Seward / Miscellaneous 1933-1938, undated
Box 5			Cary, Seward / Smith, Elinor Cary (daughter) undated
Box 5			Cary, Walter / Curtiss, Sarah C. 1926
Box 5			Smith, Courtland (Arthur's brother-in-law) 1937, 1965
Box 5			Thursby, Alice Brisbane / Miscellaneous 1932-1940, undated
Box 5			Miscellaneous correspondence by and about the Brisbane family 1919-1934, undated
		General correspondence
Box 5			Ammarell, H. C. 1927-1936
Box 5			Annenberg, Moses Louis 1923
Box 5			Blackton, James Stuart 1916
			Bly, Nellie
				See Nellie Bly (Box 12).
Box 5			Boy Scouts of America 1929-1934
Box 5			Brentano, Arthur 1918-1920
Box 5			Britton, Edward Elms 1917
Box 5			Brown, Anne 1916-1922, undated (4 folders)
Box 6			Chambers of Commerce 1923-1936
			Cochrane, Elizabeth
				See Bly, Nellie (Box 12).
Box 6			Davies, John Vipond 1931
Box 6			Davis, Robert Hobart 1929-1934
Box 6			Edison, Thomas Alva 1925
Box 6			Farley, James Aloysius 1936-1938
Box 6			Filene, Edward Albert 1917
Box 6			Firestone, Harvey Samuel 1927
Box 6			Foxcroft School 1935-1941
Box 6			Gimbel, Bernard F. 1926-1937 (2 folders)
Box 6			Grace, Ashley (and family) 1913-1934
Box 6			Gray, Albert Z. 1944
Box 6			Griffith, William 1901
Box 6			Guck, Homer 1934
Box 6			Harvard University 1931-1937, undated
Box 6			Hearst, Millicent undated
Box 6			Hearst, William Randolph 1923-1938, undated (5 folders)
Box 6			Hearst, William Randolph Jr. 1936
Box 6			Hoftyzer, Ernest 1929-1944
Box 6			Jerman, Sylvia 1934-1936, undated (3 folders)
Box 6			Kirkover, Harry D. 1932-1936
Box 6			Krause, L. B. 1934-1936, undated
Box 6			LaGuardia, Fiorello Henry 1937-1939
Box 6			Lawrenceville School 1933-1934
Box 6			Luhan, Mabel Dodge 1936
				See also Memorabilia: Writings by others.
Box 6			McDonald, Bob 1938-1941, undated
Box 6			MacMonnies, Frederick 1936
Box 6			Medical 1931-1934, undated
Box 6			Meredith, Violet 1934-1935, undated
Box 6			Mitchell, William 1933
Box 6			Mortier, J. J. 1936
Box 6			Namm, Benjamin H. 1911-1926
Box 6			Navacelle, Claire de 1928-1944, undated
Box 6			Newspapers, A-F (2 folders)
Box 7			Newspapers, G-Z (3 folders)
Box 7			Newspapers and editorials 1887-1936, undated
Box 7			Patterson, Cissy 1933
Box 7			Patterson, Mrs. and Josephine 1929-1933
Box 7			Resettlement administration 1936
Box 7			Rockefeller, John Davidson 1929
Box 7			Rockefeller, Jr. 1937
			Roosevelt, Franklin D.
				See Resettlement administration.
Box 7			Russell, Charles Edward 1937
			Seaman, Elizabeth Cochrane
				See Bly, Nellie (Box 12).
Box 7			70th birthday album 1934
Box 7			Shepard, John 1932
Box 7			Shuckburgh, Homer 1936, 1944
Box 7			Sparkes, Boyden 1937
Box 7			Spence School 1937
Box 7			Stack, J. L. 1925
Box 7			Tallulah Falls School 1934
Box 7			Thomas, Elmer 1932
Box 7			"Today" editorials 1923-1936, undated
Box 7			Trapshooter Reilly Gold Mines 1933
Box 7			Upshaw, May Bradford 1920
Box 7			Wiley, Louis 1931-1932, 1926
Box 7			Willard, Daniel 1930
Box 7			Yeats, William Butler 1912
Box 8			Miscellaneous 1910-1937 (3 folders)
Box 8			Partial letters
		Legal correspondence
Box 8			Conklin, William R. 1920-1921
Box 8			Conklin and Reid 1915-1916
Box 8			Cowart, Samuel Craig 1928-1933, undated
Box 8			Curtis, Charles C. 1911
Box 8			Dobson & McCune 1900-1907
Box 8			Konta, Kirchwey, & Engel 1915-May 1930 (5 folders)
Box 9			Konta, Kirchwey, & Engel Jun 1930-1937 (6 folders)
Box 9			O'Connell & Tierney 1931
Box 9			Sokolow, Alexander T. 1929-1933
Box 9			Stanchfield, John B. 1918-1919, undated
Box 9			Tyrrell, William 1866, 1888
Box 9			Tyrrell and Ballard / Brisbane, James 1892-1893
Box 9			Miscellaneous 1892
		Writings
			Autobiographical material
Box 9				Diary 1883-1884
Box 9				"Escapade in French school"
Box 9				Untitled undated - 7 pp. typescript
Box 10			Brisbane Editorial Review, vol. 1 no. 1 April 1922
Box 10			Clippings, miscellaneous
Box 10			"Ed. for bathing suits" undated - original restricted
Box 10			How to be a Better Newspaperman, King Features Syndicate 1930
Box 10			"The Mainspring of Business Success - Advertising," The Advertising Almanac Sept 1936 - galleys
Box 10			Outline of Arthur Brisbane broadcast 6 Aug 1933
Box 10			Why Read Books? "... from the columns of the New York American" undated
Box 10			"The Wisdom of Napoleon" - draft; original restricted
Box 10			"The Wisdom of Napoleon" - draft; research copy
Box 10			"The Wisdom of Napoleon" - draft with revisions
Box 10			"The Wisdom of Napoleon" #7-13, The Washington Times Nov 1917
Box 10			Notes for "Today" column
Box 10			Notes, miscellaneous
		Writings by other family members
Box 10			Mullins, Jim / "A Letter from a Chap in a Sanatorium to his Mother"; "An Adventure on Storm King Mountain"
Box 10			Thursby, Alice Brisbane / "Remarks on the article of Arthur Brisbane"
		Memorabilia
Box 10			Address book, European
Box 10			Award
Box 10			Cartoons, French (2 folders)
Box 10			Certificates
Box 10			Children's drawings and writings
			Clippings
Box 11				About Arthur Brisbane 1906-1952, undated
Box 11				Obituaries 1936-1937
Box 11				Miscellaneous printed material 1910-1934, undated
			Financial material
Box 11				Bills and receipts 1887-1932, undated
Box 11				Check receipts, Seward Brisbane 1930
Box 11				City of New York Budget News Service 1911-1912
Box 11				Contracts 1911, 1930, 1933
Box 11				Expenses
Box 11				Prosperity Sales Plan Corporation
Box 11				Tyrrell and Ballard 1860-1892, undated
Box 11				Victoria Theatre 1933, 1936
Box 11			Household
Box 11			List of book reviews for The New York American 1933-1936
Box 11			List of books recommended by Arthur Brisbane
Box 11			List of names of nieces and nephews of Miss Maria M. Love
Box 11			Memo pads (15 items)
Box 11			Photographs (2 folders)
			Report cards
Box 11				Brisbane, Alice 1935-1939
Box 11				Brisbane, Elinor 1935-1942
Box 11				Brisbane, Emily 1938
Box 11				Brisbane, Seward 1932-1934
			Scrapbooks containing clippings, correspondence, and memorabilia
				[Volume 1] [Not owned by SCRC]
Oversize 1				[Volume 2] Scrapbook 1885-1888
				[Volume 3] [Not owned by SCRC]
Oversize 2				[Volume 4] Scrapbook 1893
Oversize 3				[Volume 5] New York Sun 1884-85
				[Volume 6][Not owned by SCRC] undated
Oversize 4				[Volume 7] New York Sun 1888-89
Oversize 5				[Volume 8] Journal Temperence Editorials 1901-1918
Oversize 6				[Volume 9] New York Journal 1898-1900
Oversize 7				[Volumes 10] Ben Hur 1904
Oversize 8				[Volumes 11] Ben Hur 1904
				[Volume 12] [Not owned by SCRC] undated
Oversize 9				[Volume 13] New York Journal 1906-07
				[Volume 14][Not owned by SCRC]
				[Volume 15][Not owned by SCRC]
Oversize 10				[Volume 16] New York Journal 1911-1912
Oversize 11				[Volume 17] New York Journal 1912-1913
				[Volume 18] [Not owned by SCRC]
Oversize 12				[Volume 19] New York Journal 1913
Oversize 13				[Volume 20] Clippings 1912-1917
Oversize 14				[Volume 21] Sunday Editorials 1912-1915
Oversize 15				[Volume 22] New York Journal 1913-1915
Oversize 16				[Volume 23] New York Evening Journal 1914-1915
Oversize 17				[Volume 24] New York Tribune 1918-1925
Oversize 18				[Volume 25] New York Herald Journal 1915-1916
Oversize 19				[Volume 26] New York Journal 1916-17
Oversize 20				[Volume 27] Washington Times 1917-1918
Oversize 21				[Volume 28] Washington Times 1917-1918
Oversize 22				[Volume 29] Washington Times 1918-1919
Oversize 23				[Volume 30] Wisconsin News 1918-1920
Oversize 24				[Volume 31] Miscellaneous 1915-1916
Oversize 25				[Volume 32] New York Journal 1917-1918
Oversize 26				[Volume 33] Women's Suffrage Editorials 1900-1920
Oversize 27				[Volume 34] New York Journal 1918-1920
Oversize 28				[Volume 35] New York Journal 1918-1919
Oversize 29				[Volume 36] New York Sunday American 1915-1919
Oversize 30				[Volume 37] New York Sunday American 1919-1923
Oversize 31				[Volume 38] Washington Times 1919-1920
Oversize 32				[Volume 39] New York Journal and America 1920-1921
Oversize 33				[Volume 40] New York Evening Journal 1921-1922
Oversize 34				[Volume 41] New York Journal and American 1922-1923
Oversize 35				[Volume 42] New York Sunday American 1923-1925
Oversize 36				[Volume 43] Today 1923-1925
Oversize 37				[Volume 44] New York Journal and American 1923-1925
Oversize 38				[Volume 45] New York Journal and American 1925-1926
Oversize 39				[Volume 46] New York Sunday American 1925-1927
Oversize 40				[Volume 46a] New York Sunday American 1926-1928
Oversize 41				[Volume 46b] New York Sunday American 1929-1930
Oversize 42				[Volume 47] New York Journal and American 1926-1927
Oversize 43				[Volume 48] New York Journal and American 1927-1928
Oversize 44				[Volume 49] New York Journal and American 1928-1929
Oversize 45				[Volume 50] New York Journal and American 1929-1930
Oversize 46				[Volume 51] Today 1929
Oversize 47				[Volume 52] New York Sunday American 1927-31
Oversize 48				[Volume 53] New York American and Journal 1930-31
Oversize 49				[Volume 54] New York American and Journal 1931-1932
Oversize 50				[Volume 55] New York Sunday American 1931-1935
Oversize 51				[Volume 56] Miscellaneous 1926-1932
Oversize 52				[Volume 57] New York Journal and American 1932-1936
Oversize 53				[Volume 58] New York Daily Mirror 1924-1926
Oversize 54				[Volume 59] New York American Daily and Sunday 1935-1936
Oversize 55				[Volume 60] New York Mirror 1935-1936
Oversize 56				[Volume 61] New York Journal and American 1934-1935
Oversize 57				[Volume 62] New York Journal and American 1935-36
Oversize 58				[Volume 63] New York American Book Reviews 1933-1936
Oversize 59				[Volume 64] New York Mirror 1936
Oversize 60				[Volume 65] New York Mirror 1936-1937
Oversize 61				[Volume 66] Miscellaneous 1894-1912
				[Volume 67] [Not owned by SCRC]
Oversize 62				[Volume 68] Miscellaneous 1933-1936
Oversize 63				[Volume 69] Miscellaneous 1923-1936
Box 11			Transcript, "In Senate" testimony of Thomas F. Grady May 31, 1911
Box 11			Washington Chamber of Commerce, "Washington's Tribute to Arthur Brisbane" 1932
Box 11			Will (Phoebe Brisbane)
Box 11			Wine lists
			Writings by others
Box 11				Luhan, Mabel Dodge / "Ballad of a Bad Girl"
Box 11				Phillips, Wendell / "Toussaint L'Overture"
Box 11			Miscellany (2 folders)

	Nellie Bly (Elizabeth Cochrane Seaman) 1867-1922
		Correspondence
Box 12			Bly, Nellie / Brisbane, Arthur 1907-1914, undated - original restricted (2 folders)
Box 12			Bly, Nellie / Brisbane, Arthur 1907-1914, undated - research copy (2 folders)
Box 12			Bly, Nellie / Cochrane, Mary Jane (mother) 1914-1915
Box 12			Bly, Nellie / Guibert, C. A. 1914
Box 12			Bly, Nellie / Thursby, Alice Brisbane undated
Box 12			Bly, Nellie / Jennie 1899
			Bly, Nellie / Miscellaneous (2)

	February 2001 addition
		Biography interviews and notes - Interviewees and subjects arranged alphabetically A-Z)
Box 1			[General] 1887, 1890-1893, 1895-1897, 1900-1901, 1903-1905, 1908-1911, 1913-1914, 1920-1923, 1925, 1927, 1930-1934 (31 folders)
Box 1			4 Reporters
Box 1			$50,000
Box 1			A
Box 1			Abbott
Box 1			Age
Box 1			Allaire
Box 1			Annenberg, Moe
Box 1			Art Department
Box 1			Astor, Vincent
Box 1			Athletics
Box 1			Bache, Jules
Box 1			B. Miscellaneous
Box 1			Bannon, Joe
Box 1			Barrymore, John
Box 1			Baseball
Box 1			Bates, Lena
Box 1			Belmont, August
Box 1			Belmont, Mrs. H.O.
Box 1			Belmont, Mrs. O.H.P
Box 1			Block, Paul
Box 1			Bogart, John D.
Box 1			Brewers
Box 1			Brinkley, Nell
Box 1			Brisbane, Albert
Box 1			Brisbane, Alice
			Brisbane, Arthur
Box 1				Advertising
Box 1				Advice giving
Box 1				Advice to Hoover
Box 1				Advises Nell
Box 1				Advises Taft not to run
Box 1				Affection for children
Box 1				Art department
Box 1				Athletics
Box 1				Begins to shuffle
Box 1				Card playing
Box 1				Changes in A.B.
Box 1				Characteristics
Box 1				Checks
Box 1				Chicago
Box 1				Cigarette smoking
Box 1				Circulation
Box 1				Complaints
Box 1				Copy blue
Box 1				Couldn't spell
Box 1				Death (2 Folders)
Box 1				Death bed query to doctor
Box 1				Depression
Box 1				Diary
Box 1				Dictaphone
Box 1				Dictation
Box 1				D. Miscellaneous
Box 1				Elizabeth Times
Box 1				Employer/employee relationship
Box 1				Estate
Box 1				Execution
Box 1				Extravagant living
Box 1				Family, feeling for
Box 1				Fanwood
Box 1				Farming
Box 1				Father complex
Box 1				Fight with Hearst
Box 1				Flying
Box 1				Funeral
Box 1				Fowall
Box 1				French wines
Box 1				Frustration
Box 1				Gambling
Box 1				Genesee Hunt Club
Box 1				Germs
Box 1				Getting John R. Hastings
Box 1				Good Habits
Box 1				Gourmet
Box 1				Health/Illness
Box 1				Horseback riding
Box 1				Hospital records 1914
Box 1				Humor
Box 1				Ideas
Box 2				Ideals
Box 2				Income
Box 2				Investments
Box 2				Japan
Box 2				London 1878
Box 2				London 1886-1896 (2 Folders)
Box 2				London experiences
Box 2				Macy fund
Box 2				Milwaukee
Box 2				Mirror
Box 2				Money making
Box 2				Montaigne's essays
Box 2				Mouquin's
Box 2				Music
Box 2				Nathan Strauss Backs
Box 2				Noticeable change in A.B.
Box 2				N.R.A
Box 2				Office of A.B.
Box 2				Original manuscript
Box 2				Outline and subject index
Box 2				Pasadena 1926
Box 2				Philosophies and theories
Box 2				Pictures
Box 2				Predicts F.D.R's re-election
Box 2				Restaurants
Box 2				Roosevelt confides in him
Box 2				Salaries
Box 2				Save your money
Box 2				Servants
Box 2				Shopping
Box 2				Sicker than 1,000 Cats in Europe
Box 2				Smith, Courtland
Box 2				Speculation
Box 2				Stops vote
Box 2				Sued by August Belmont
Box 2				Suffrage
Box 2				Sullivan, Mitchell
Box 2				Sunday Book Reviews
Box 2				Swinnerton, Jimmy
Box 2				Tax avoidance
Box 2				Tired of work
Box 2				To Europe
Box 2				Today column
Box 2				Today column starts
Box 2				Travel
Box 2				Understood Nell's drawing
Box 2				Vanderbilt called me Jack
Box 2				Wanted simple biography
Box 2				The world
Box 2				Wresting with Courtland Smith
Box 2				Writing and reporting (2 Folders)
Box 2			Brisbane, Emily
Box 2			Brisbane, Hugo (Brother)
Box 2			Brisbane, Hugo (Son)
Box 2			Brisbane, Phoebe
Box 2			Brisbane, Phoebe did A.B. drive her?
Box 2			Brisbane project
Box 2			Brisbane, Sarah
Box 2			Brisbane, Seward
Box 2			Brisbane, Sherard, Howard, George
Box 2			Brook Farm
Box 2			Brown, Annie
Box 2			Brown, Heywood
Box 2			Butes, Alfred
Box 2			Cameron, Simon
Box 2			Candid Biography
Box 2			Carlson, Oliver
Box 2			Cary, Emily (2 Folders)
Box 2			Cary, Emily, Seward and children
Box 2			Cary, Walter
Box 2			Cassatt
Box 2			Cavalho-Bus. manager
Box 2			Clubs
Box 3			C-Miscellaneous
Box 3			Conductor
Box 3			Coolidge
Box 3			Correspondence with family-notes
Box 3			Corsets cut consumption
Box 3			Dana, Charles
Box 3			Davis, Richard
Box 3			Davis, Rob
Box 3			De La Roca, Adele
Box 3			Detroit Times
Box 3			De Wolfe, Elsie
Box 3			D. Miscellaneous
Box 3			Dobson, Judge
Box 3			Dreiser, Theodore
Box 3			Edison, Thomas
Box 3			Education
Box 3			Edward, Duke of Windsor
Box 3			E-Miscellaneous
Box 3			Engel, Irving
Box 3			Fairfax
Box 3			Figures on newspaper carbon (2 Folders)
Box 3			Fleischacker, Herbert
Box 3			F-Miscellaneous
Box 3			Ford, Henry
Box 3			Fourier
Box 3			Fragments - miscellaneous interviews
Box 3			France
Box 3			Frostick William (2 Folders)
Box 3			Gasch, Marie
Box 3			Gibson, Charles Dana
Box 3			Gimbel, Bernard
Box 3			G. Miscellaneous
Box 3			Gottschalk, Dr. Charles
Box 3			Gould Family
Box 3			Grace, Ashley
Box 3			Grey, David
Box 3			H
Box 3			Hastings, John
Box 3			Hearst campaign for mayor
Box 3			Hearst, Millicent
Box 3			Hempstead
Box 3			Herriman, George
Box 3			Herschfield, Harry
Box 3			Horowitz, Louis
Box 3			Huberth, Martin
Box 3			Inglis, William
Box 3			Journal of Commerce
Box 3			Lessing, Bruno (Rudolph, Block)
Box 3			Lindner, Clarence
Box 3			Mager, Gus
Box 3			McCallister
Box 3			McKay, Windsor
Box 3			McManus, George
Box 3			Mc, miscellaneous
Box 3			McCrary
Box 3			McCrary Mrs. Sarah
Box 3			Mitchell, Sullivan
Box 3			Modisette, Robert
Box 3			Mort, Joseph
Box 3			Moquin's
Box 3			Murray, Frank
Box 3			N, miscellaneous
Box 3			Opper
Box 3			Patterson
Box 3			Phillips
Box 3			P, miscellaneous
Box 3			Pulitzer, Joseph
Box 3			Pullman
Box 3			Queen Marie
Box 3			Radicalism
Box 3			Radio
Box 3			Religious belief
Box 3			Robinson, Elsie
Box 3			Rockefeller, John C.
Box 3			Roosevelt, Franklin
Box 3			Roosevelt, Theodore
Box 3			Russell
Box 3			Russell, C.
Box 3			Sherman, Clarence
Box 3			S, miscellaneous
Box 3			Speed, Keat
Box 3			Steur, Max
Box 3			Stieglitz, Dr. Leopold
Box 3			Strauss, Isadore
Box 3			Steinhauser, Emile
Box 3			Sun
Box 3			Swinnerton, Jimmy
Box 3			Syndiacte
Box 3			T, miscellaneous
Box 3			Ulmer, Dolly (2 folders)
Box 3			V, miscellaneous
Box 3			Washington Times
Box 3			Wertheim, Sully
Box 3			Willicombe, Col. Joseph
Box 3			Winchell, Walter
Box 3			Young, Art
Box 3			World
Box 3			World characters
Box 3			X, Y, Z miscellaneous
Box 3A			Miscellaneous
		Biography manuscript by Boyden Sparkes
Box 4			Chapters 1-5
Box 4			Chapter 2, incomplete
Box 4			Chapter 3, incomplete
Box 4			Chapter 5, incomplete
Box 4			Miscellaneous pages
Box 4			Pages 14-102
Box 4			Section II, incomplete
Box 4			Section II copy, incomplete
		Business correspondence
Box 4			Articles and editorials
Box 4			Fan mail
Box 4			Brainard, C.
Box 4			Cresap, M.
Box 4			Curtis, Cyrus
Box 4			Durand, Nelson
Box 4			Ellinger, A.
Box 4			Fry, Wilfred
Box 4			Godwin
Box 4			Hastings, J.R.
Box 4			Hearst letters 1926-1928, undated (5 folders)
Box 4			Hill, Percival
Box 4			Hoyt, Charles
Box 4			Immsen, M.F.
Box 4			Johnson, Alfred
Box 4			Krause
Box 4			Landsburgh, Lester
Box 4			Leonard
Box 4			Loew, Marcus
Box 4			Ludlum, David
Box 4			Meigs, M.C.
Box 4			Messing, A.H.
Box 4			Miscellaneous (2 Folders)
Box 5			O' Reilly, L.J.
Box 5			Polachek
Box 5			Newspaper feature service
Box 5			Pabst, Gustave
Box 5			Roosevelt, Franklin
Box 5			Scholz, Emil
Box 5			Shaw, Edgar
Box 5			Shotwell, Thomas
Box 5			Stanton, C.S.
Box 5			Tobacco fund
Box 5			United Press
Box 5			Vantassel, C.B.
Box 5			Walker
Box 5			War Savings Campaign
Box 5			Wasey, L.R.
Box 5			White, Florenz
Box 5			Winery
		Family correspondence
Box 5			From Seward Brisbane 1935
Box 5			To Albert Brisbane 1866
Box 5			To Alice Brisbane 1933-1936, 1916
Box 5			To Emily, Alice and Elinor Brisbane 1923-1935
Box 5			To Hugo Brisbane 1922-1925
Box 5			To Phoebe Brisbane 1933-1934
Box 5			To Sarah Brisbane 1922-1932
Box 5			To Sarah and Seward Brisbane 1922
Box 5			To Sarah, Seward, Hugo and Emily Brisbane 1921-1925
Box 5			To Seward and Hugo Brisbane 1925
Box 5			To Elinor Smith 1929-1934
Box 5			To Evelyn Smith
Box 5			To friends, miscellaneous
		Newspaper articles and editorials
Box 6			[General] 1884-1940 (1 volume)
Box 6			Hearst columns 1941
Box 6			Ideas (2 Folders)
Box 6			Miscellaneous (2 Folders)
Box 6			New York American and Journal/New York Evening Journal
		Sparkes, Boyden
Box 6			Letters and writing
		Memorabilia
Box 6			Addresses
Box 6			Manuscript, Col. William Seaver's History of Batavia
Box 6			Menus and programs
Box 6			Miscellaneous
Box 6			News releases
			Photographs of Arthur Brisbane
Box 6				Magazines
Box 6				Miscellaneous
Package 1				Miscellaneous
			Photographs
Box 6				Pulitzer and Vanderbilt family members
Box 6			Postcards and prints
Box 6			Writings by others

Return to top