Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
| Ask a question |
| Request a visit |
| Potentially harmful content statement |
Overview of the Collection |
|
| Creator: | Brockway family. |
| Title: | Brockway family Papers |
| Inclusive Dates: | 1805-1962 |
| Quantity: | 1 linear ft. |
| Abstract: | Papers of the members of the Brockway family (of Central New York State, Syracuse, N.Y, and Fulton County, N.Y.). The collection consists of correspondence (largely incoming, to various family members), account books, church records, diaries, financial and legal papers, and memorabilia. |
| Language: | English |
| Repository: | Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue Syracuse, NY 13244-2010 https://library.syracuse.edu/special-collections-research-center |
Biographical History
Tiffany Brockway (1774-1866) brought his family -- including his father, Nathan (1736-1822) -- from Rensselaer County to the central New York area, near what would become Broadalbin, in 1791. The unusual appellation had been Nathan's mother Elizabeth's maiden name; Nathan also had a brother named Tiffany Brockway (b. 1740).
In 1805 Tiffany Brockway and his first wife, Lucy Alvord (1778-1819), settled on a nearby farm called Locust Grove and eventually produced four daughters and two sons. He served as a major in the War of 1812 and for many years as a colonel in the local militia. Colonel Brockway was the first outspoken abolitionist in Broadalbin, and his home at Locust Grove was a known stop on the Underground Railroad that sheltered and assisted fugitive slaves. Brockway and his second wife, Mary G. Owen, had no children, but one of his sons by Lucy Alvord, Tiffany Brockway, Jr. (b. 1813), inherited the farm at Broadalbin.
Members of the Brockway Family were associated with Central New York State, Syracuse, N.Y, and Fulton County, N.Y.
[Portions of this biographical sketch obtained from "Obituaries and Biographies of Broadalbin," compiled by Dave Bixby and available online at http://fulton.nygenweb.net/bios/DBobitsBR.html.]
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The Brockway Family Papers consist of biographical material, correspondence, subject files, manuscripts, and published material relating to Colonel Tiffany Brockway, his father Nathan, son Tiffany Jr., and various other family members.
Biographical material includes genealogy notes and biographical sketches of various family members. Correspondence, largely incoming, contains letters to and from various family members, a letter about the family, and transcripts of letters. Subject files include account books, church records, diaries, financial papers, land surveys, legal agreements, newspaper clippings, photographs, settlement of estate, a speech, and unidentified miscellanea. The single item in Manuscripts is a speech by Tiffany Brockway, Jr. Published material contains a hymn by Helen Hale Brockway and a notice.
Restrictions
Access Restrictions
The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.
Use Restrictions
Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.
Subject Headings
Persons
Subjects
Places
Genres and Forms
Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Brockway Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
Acquisition Information
Gift of Mrs. Frederick Fuhrer and Anna B. Easton, 1962.
Finding Aid Information
Created by: --
Date: ca. 1965
Revision history: 15 Oct 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC);
13 Jul 2018 - rehoused, inventory updates/corrections (MRC)
Inventory
| Biographical material | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brockway genealogy notes | ||||||||||
| Biographical sketches | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brockway, Charles Tiffany | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brockway, Emma Hale | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brockway, Nathan | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brockway, Tiffany | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Easton, Anna Brockway | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Easton, James Irwin | ||||||||||
| Correspondence | |||||||||||
| Incoming | |||||||||||
| Babcock, Cornelia A. | |||||||||||
| See Brockway, Cornelia A. | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brockway, Cornelia A. 1835-1836 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brockway, Helen Hale 1918 | ||||||||||
| Brockway, Mary G. | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Barlowe 1815 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Chase, Fanny 1814 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | G--- 1808 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Hallett, Mollie 1864 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Matthews, John 1858, 1864 | ||||||||||
| Owen, Emeline | |||||||||||
| See Owen, George W. | |||||||||||
| Owen, Francis R. | |||||||||||
| See Owen, George W. | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Owen, George W. 1829-1838, 1841-1864 (12 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Owen, John H. 1856, 1862-1863 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Owen, Marana | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Owen, Mary 1852, 1861, 1864, undated (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| See also Owen, John H. | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Post, Justus 1806 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Seeber, John 1817 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Smith, Abild 1835 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Smith, John 1830, 1833-1834 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Smith, Lucius 1842-1847, 1850-1858 (2 folders) | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Smith, Sidney 1830, 1834, 1839 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Webber, Christopher [1809?] | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Wells, Sarah L. 1863 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Unidentified | ||||||||||
| Brockway, Tiffany | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Smith, John 1829-1830, 1834 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Miscellaneous 1869 - photocopies | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brockway, Tiffany Jr. | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Fergason, Peter 1838 - photocopies | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Gordon, P.R. 1861 - photocopies | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Owen, George W. 1863 | ||||||||||
| Owen, Mary G. | |||||||||||
| See Brockway, Mary G. | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Owen, Stephen undated | ||||||||||
| Smith, John | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Lord, Benjamin 1813 | ||||||||||
| Smith, Lucius | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Brockway, Mary 1856 | ||||||||||
| Owen, George W. | |||||||||||
| See Brockway, Mary G. | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Smith, Marana 1847 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Unidentified undated | ||||||||||
| Smith, Mary | |||||||||||
| See Brockway, Mary G. | |||||||||||
| Wilson, Maria | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Wilson, Charles 1832 | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Transcripts from various family members | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Correspondence by others, concerning Brockway family 1892 - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Subject files | |||||||||||
| Account book (Tiffany Brockway, Jr.) 1838-1866 | |||||||||||
| Account book (unidentified) 1842-1845 | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Church records (Tiffany Brockway) 1835, 1868, undated - some photocopies | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Commission (Tiffany Brockway, Jr.) 1838 - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Diaries | |||||||||||
| Box 1 | Charles T. Brockway 1856 - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Box 1 | Nathan Brockway 1832 - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Tiffany Brockway, "An account of Tiffany Brockway's travel from New York to settle the estate of his brother in Ohio" 1837 - includes transcription | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Unidentified 1865 - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Financial papers | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Charles Brockway 1809 - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Mary G. Brockway 1866 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Nathan Brockway 1805-1814 - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Tiffany Brockway 1807, 1809-1812, 1815, 1817, 1839, 1848, 1859, 1862, 1864 - photocopies | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Tiffany Brockway Jr. 1828, 1839-1840, 1861, 1865 - mostly photocopies | ||||||||||
| See also Tiffany Brockway, above. | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Gilbert Fergason 1822 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Jos Ferguson 1852 - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Unidentified 1808, 1866, undated - photocopies | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Inventory (George W. Owen) 1865 | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Land surveys (Tiffany Brockway) 1854, 1861, undated - includes some photocopies | ||||||||||
| Legal agreements | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Elizabeth Brockway 1861, 1866 - photocopies | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Tiffany Brockway 1823, 1838, 1848-1849 - includes some photocopies | ||||||||||
| Tiffany Brockway Jr. | |||||||||||
| See Tiffany Brockway, above. | |||||||||||
| Newspaper clippings | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Charles T. Brockway 1922, 1962 - photocopies | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Helen Hale Brockway 1923 | ||||||||||
| Photographs | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Charles T. Brockway | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Cornelia Ann Brockway | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Tiffany Brockway | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Tiffany Brockway Jr. | ||||||||||
| Charles Brockway Hale | |||||||||||
| See Family of Charles Tiffany Brockway, below. | |||||||||||
| Jean Brockway Hale | |||||||||||
| See Family of Charles Tiffany Brockway, below. | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Ruth Hubbell | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Family of Charles Tiffany Brockway | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Family of Tiffany Brockway Jr. | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Home, Locust Grove, Broadalbin [Township, New York] | ||||||||||
| See also Tiffany Brockway, above. | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Prescription, unidentified - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Scrapbooks | |||||||||||
| See Subject files: Account book (Tiffany Brockway, Jr.) and Subject files: Account book (unidentified). | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Settlement of Estate (Nathan Brockway) 1838, undated - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Speech (Tiffany Brockway Jr.) 1887 - transcribed copy | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Stock certificate (Tiffany Brockway) 1813 - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Ticket, Central Park Carriage Service undated - photocopy | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Unidentified - photocopies | ||||||||||
| Manuscripts | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | Speech (Tiffany Brockway Jr.) 1887 | ||||||||||
| Published material | |||||||||||
| Box 2 | "Hymn to Crouse Irving" (Helen Hale Brockway) undated | ||||||||||
| Box 2 | Notice, "The Two Roads to Peace" circa 1865 | ||||||||||